800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 155L-4LZ5
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson LP Studio

This workhorse Les Paul Studio packs a pair of versatile split-coil humbuckers with coil-tapping, along with a super-playable granadillo fretboard.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Les Paul Studio Fireburst finish" submitted September 18, 2012

By Terry Burdette in Rantoul, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 40 yrs at home sometimes with others
Music Style: ROCK ROCKROCK
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The les paul arrived in good shape, well packed from zZounds. This is my second les paul since 1987,It has that trademark les paul sound and i really love the coil tap option, I have been playing on and off for nearly forty years so i guess i can review this studio,no complaints on fit finish or playability,love the weight, i like em heavier not lighter. If you are a fan of humbucker guitars you will be at home with it. This studio will be handed down to my sons then i hope grandsons, Yes i am a Gibson fan and proud of it. the transfer of energy from the strings and fretboard through the entire guitar is unmatched by anything i own. Made in USA
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awsome axe" submitted June 10, 2013

By a customer from email.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been involved with music and bands for more 25 years, have played guitar for 7 years.
Music Style: Metal, Hard Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: I ordered this guitar simply because I l've always wanted a real Gibson, and now I know why. Fell in love with this beast the moment I opened the case and took it in my hands. Mine is wine red and plays like charm. The intonation was absolutely perfect, however I had to lower the action a bit as I prefer it to be really low. I had previously read some bad reviews about the 490 and 498 pups, but I really like them, especially the 498 in the bridge. I often play with a lot of distortion, and it packs a really good punch. Clean sound is awsome on both pups, and the coil splitting adds fenomenal tonal variety. The weight relief really completes this guitar, and makes it one of the most comfortable guitars I've ever played. You add the fat sound of Les Paul to that and you have yourself a real beast of a guitar. Maybe some real hardcore critics can tell the difference in sound between a Standard and a Studio, but I sure as hell can't. And for $ 1100 I really don't care. Buy one now, you'll love yourself for it!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WORTH EVER CENT AND THEN SOME" submitted January 31, 2013

By Will J
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years
Music Style: Whatever I am in the mood to play.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Out of the box this guitar was set to scream. I know that there are fancier models with binding, mother of pearl inlays on the headstock, different names on the truss rod covers and burstbuckers or classic '57s - all of which are awesome, but this guitar is a player's dream. It is all business - exactly what an LP is supposed to be.. Just tell it what you want it to do. The push/pull pots give the single coil feel if you want it and you can find just about any tone you want from country to Jazz (not that I can play jazz but the clean tones are pristine). The guitar begs to be played. The stock tuners keep this beast in tune even with lots of bending. I will say the finish had a couple small defects but nothing I couldn't live with and nothing anyone else would even notice. Long story short: Badass guitar that will not disappoint.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul Studio--- blemished 1069.00 dollars. free shipping" submitted December 21, 2013

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Amazing. The purchase and delivery went perfectly well. The only blemish I could find was a very small scratch on the neck pickup cover plate. Barely visible.The guitar is magnificent. Everything advertised by Gibson is correct. Bought this unseen and never even picked one up. I am an intermediate player; planning on playing this the rest of my life. The features on this guitar are perfect. I thought I would never ever spend this much money on a guitar I had never felt but the Gibson name and quality were worth the risk. zZounds said they would take it back for any reason if I was unhappy and they would pay the shipping. I am so happy with it they would never get it back from me. I play it through my Marshall JCM 2000 and it sounds like the radio. I will do business with zZounds again. Jerry in Texas.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"1st Les Paul" submitted February 15, 2013

By Charles D in Glenwood, HI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Irregularly since "72". Acoustic guitar & uke. Electric guitar and bass. Non-pro/jam at home.
Music Style: Rock "classic & heavier", blues "acoustic, electric & blues-rock", Brad Paisley material "HE NEVER PLAYS THE SAME LEAD LICK TW
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This axe is so inspiring! My first personal Les Paul, but my 2nd personal Gibson, that being a "73 SG special" which I had to let go of in "79" along with a "67 strat"! That being, I thank zZounds for making it possible 33 yrs. later to recharge my musical aspirations even if it only amounts to playing along with my fellow band mates "recording artists" at fairly loud levels! Thank you for your 10 & 12 pymt. plans. I've been able to acquire a 2012 stat; fender super-sonic 22, and a 2012 Gibson Studio Les Paul. I now have such great tone & sustain when desired that simply put, in the words of one great inspiration of mine, the late Steve Marriott "ROCK ON"!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"First online purchase of a Gibson Les Paul and Zzounds made it an excellent experience" submitted January 21, 2014

By Robert R in Troy, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Casual musician
Music Style: Classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I must admit I was nervous about purchasing a four-figure guitar online - zzounds put all of my concerns to rest. Not only was it in mint condition when I received it, they continued to provide A+ customer service after purchase. All in all, between the price, service, and condition of the Les Paul, I couldn't be happier. I'll be a customer for many years to come.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul Studio-2012" submitted October 4, 2012

By Mustang Mike in Scottsdale, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40+ years Hobbyist
Music Style: Classic R&R, some Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought the Vintage Sunburst from zZounds, just received it. It's great, it has the sound and feel of a LP Standard. I really don't miss the binding that much. I love the neck, it's like none of my other (9) guitars. I would recommend this guitar to anyone who likes humbucking pickups and a bit of weight to an axe. Super price too.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great classic tone!" submitted November 6, 2012

By Jon Isley in Taylors, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25+years in the biz.Strats and pauls are the way buy american!
Music Style: Classic rock,Blues,and some metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very nice guitar for the price.I worked at guitar center for years so i have played some of the best.I never gave studio's a chance but I am sold.All the quality of the standards and most customs.Tone matches my 1991 custom. Better price,less weight.Out of the box the setup was perfect.Plug this guy into a tube amp and play away.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2012 Gibson Les Paul Studio" submitted October 3, 2012

By Derek Close in Kalispell, MT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing bass for 20+ years and am playing more guitar lately for my recordings.
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock, Instrumental Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm loving this guitar! It felt natural in my hands from the start and the more I play it, the more comfortable it becomes. I've named it Lester.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2012 Gibson Les Paul Studio" submitted December 13, 2013

By Tim Danley in Silt, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Trying to play for two years this Christmas
Music Style: Rock, blues, classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just received my new LP (First Gibson) from ZZounds. I bought it new but it came with a huge chunk of finish missing from the edge all the way to the wood. Also it stated that it was a 2013 but the serial number clearly says that it a 2012. ZZounds customer service was exceptional and gave me the option to return or keep with a price knockdown. I took the the deal and will repair it. This thing plays like a dream. I noticed the difference as soon as I hit my first chord. The neck, action and humbuckers are a true pleasure. The pull tone pots add an extra level of greatness. A team of angels singing a hymn can't come close to the sound of this thing.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2012 Gibson Les Paul Studio" submitted October 19, 2012

By Steve I in Hohenwald, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing since the age of nine and I am fifty this year. I play a variety of instruments, but guitar is my 'fave'
Music Style: I like to play classic rock and I have become enamored with the blues as of late. The Les Paul sound is ideal for both styles. Z
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The chambered body has a great resonance. I was concerned that the chambered body may lose some of the "Les Paul" tone that I desired, but, this thing is a beast. It has sustain for days. It is lighter than my friends '91 Studio, but this baby is still very substantial in weight and I like it that way. Feature: The coil tap feature is a God send. Why did they not think of this sooner? The single coil tone is not "Fullerton", but it is a great added tone feature. The new style of Grenadillo fingerboard had me a little worried due to my being unfamiliar with the wood. My worries were put to rest as this wood is nearly identical to Rosewood. Ease of Use: Great tones from this guitar. I have heard people talk about replacing the factory "pots" to get more range in the tone knobs, but I find the tonal range offered by the factory knobs to be perfect. I am not a fan of altering a guitar too much. My Les Paul...Gibson Les Paul came set up very nicely.The intonation was 'spot on' and I actually raised the action just a smidge. The strings that were on the guitar were good, but I have my preferred set of '10s on now and it is rocking. Quality: My axe came with a "Flamey" Maple top that I was not expecting. It is not AA or AAA but it looks great under the Wine Red finish. All of the frets are finished nicely. The set neck is installed beautifully. The Gold hardware is amazing. My guitar came with a cream pick guard that has actually grown on me after initial thoughts of replacement. Value: I feel the value is exceptional. My jamming buddy has a Standard model and my Studio gets better tone than his more expensive Standard. I do like his extra binding, but not enough to pay for it on my budget. Tone is what I desire and tone is NOW what I have. Manufacturer Support: Have not yet. It's a Gibson, so as long as I put it in the case(which is gorgeous too), when I'm not playing, all should be well. Comes with a great warranty from Gibson. I live about an hour from Nashville and I have visited the factory a couple of times so I'm not concerned about the lasting quality of my Les Paul...Gibson Les Paul. The Wow Factor: Gibson Les Paul -- In my opinion the WOW comes when someone asks me what kind of guitar I play. Today I am proud to let people know that "I play a Les Paul...A GIBSON Les Paul" Do you feel me? Overall: I had my Les Paul ( I still like the way that sounds---my Les Paul) delivered to my work because I am not home during the day. My co-workers were as excited as I when the package arrived via FedEx. My Les Paul was packaged very well and it was like Christmas as I opened the boxes and then the Gorgeous case that has the Gibson stenciled nicely on the front. There is Bond...James Bond. And now I've got the Les Paul...Gibson Les Paul...Nice...Very Nice !!! zZounds made it possible for me to play my dream guitar and make monthly installments. I am looking to purchase a nice tube amp when I get this baby paid off. Thank you zZounds.
7 of 9 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Les Paul Standard is okay" submitted February 16, 2013

By Billy G in Cuba City, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Worked at several M.I. retailers and have been playing for over 20 years
Music Style: Rock, blues, country after a few beers
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this when they started the 12 months pay as you go program and I am happy with the guitar. With that said it needed a set up when I got it out of the box and I have a suspicion that it was a return. It had no warranty card or tool kit with it. The neck is good not great and the neck pickup was way muddier than I was expecting. To be honest I wish I had purchased a second SG Standard. It is a superior guitar for less money. I do like the pickup coil tap feature and after changing the strings and fixing the action it is a decent guitar. The look of the thing is great but not perfect there a some chatter marks on the fretboard but the overall finish is decent. All in all a good classic guitar for a fair price.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Les Paul Studio" submitted February 2, 2014

By David Anderson in Tonasket, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have Played With some Great People,,,very Professionally...
Music Style: Blues and Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Nice Ax,,,Great Sound,,,Very Price,,,,,I Would Do it agian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing 2012 Gibson LP Studio" submitted October 11, 2012

By Jeff T in Hilliard, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for over 20 years; guitar, keys, bass, some drums
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: First off, when I received the shipment and opened the case and first saw my LP; it took my breath away. I ordered the wine red with gold hardware and she is a beauty! I noticed it wasn't too heavy, which is nice when I'm playing it. When I got home and plugged it in, I immediately noticed the power of the pickups. I have Seymour Duncans in my other Epi Les Paul and they sound good, but not like 490 & 498. The warmth was amazing and the bottom end thumped and the highs were crisp and cear without being shrilly. I have push-pull pots in my other LP as well, but with the new LP, it sounds better. I seem to have more control of the sound. This will be my #1 guitar right now b/c it does sound amazing; then again, it is a Gibson. Well built, beautiful and easy to play.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Les Paul" submitted January 1, 2014

By Michael P in Georgetown, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Southern Rock, bluegrass, fingerstyle for several decades
Music Style: Pretty much any
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent guitar with a wide range of sound capability. The ultimate rock guitar in my opinion. The workmanship is great. Definitely a good value. You can get about any electric guitar sound. I like the hollowbodies like Gretsch and while the LP does not give that sound it ain't bad.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Les Paul" submitted January 1, 2014

By Michael P in Georgetown, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Southern Rock, bluegrass, fingerstyle for several decades
Music Style: Pretty much any
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent guitar with a wide range of sound capability. The ultimate rock guitar in my opinion. The workmanship is great. Definitely a good value. You can get about any electric guitar sound. I like the hollowbodies like Gretsch and while the LP does not give that sound it ain't bad.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"a les paul studio with a few changes" submitted June 8, 2012

By john w in richmond, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: have several gibsons
Music Style: rock,blues,metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: gibson no longer has rosewood or ebony on its studios anymore i like the push pull pots on both pickups also the 60s slim neck which is rare before that except in the early 90s when you could get a studio lite with a sixtys neck they also got rid of the black plastic parts on all models except black the alpine white and classic white are gone too! changes are ok and price went up too!!
5 of 19 people (26.32%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 155L-4LZ5. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!