800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 155Z-RLZG
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson 2014 LP Studio Pro

This beauty is a beast! A workhorse Les Paul, the Studio Pro boasts coil-tappable '57 Classic and BurstBucker Pro pickups on a weight-relieved mahogany body.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"My First Les Paul" submitted January 8, 2014

By Ian F in Florence, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar and bass for 25 years. Play and record/mix at home
Music Style: Alternative, grunge, rock, industrial
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The 2014 Les Paul Studio Pro sounds great. Looks great. Easy to play. The coil tapping is a little underwhelming, but I've only had the guitar a few hours, so experimentation is in order. What else can I say? It's a Les Paul. Feature: Typical Les Paul. Mahogany body and neck with a maple top. I would've loved some locking tuners to come standard on this. Everything else is great. Ease of Use: Easy to get great tone. Playability is like butter. I have an ESP LTD EC-1000, and the Les Paul is a lot easier to play, and that's saying a lot. Quality: This guitar will be around long after I'm dead. Value: I think its still a little overpriced. It seems like Gibson does charge a lot for it's name, but then again the craftsmanship is worth it. Manufacturer Support: I've never dealt with Gibson. The Wow Factor: The teal blue candy is super sexy. Overall: This is my first Les Paul and I love it!
13 of 13 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome!" submitted February 28, 2014

By Kyle L in Seattle, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, Bass, stage and studio work.
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Alternative, Ambient
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great guitar! It has a lot of cool features like quick connect pickups and high gloss candy paint. The AA maple is still pretty flame-y and the guitar just sparkles. It has all the classic Gibson tone you expect from a a Les Paul. My only complaint is the Burstbucker sounds a little tinny unless it is driving the tube of a cranked amp, then it sounds amazing! Features: The coil splits are great for maximizing the versatility of the guitar. The upgraded quik-connect electronics and Orange Drop Caps are very cool and worth the upgrade over the standard studio alone. The case is classic Gibson protection Quality: Plays great, looks great, sounds great. I am very happy, the finish is beautiful and as shiny as a les paul should be! Manufacturer support: Not my first new Gibson, and I still haven't had to find out! Sound: The 57 classic sounds good all the time. Beautiful woman tone with the tone knob rolled back all the way, smooth single coil tones and nice warm clean tone. The Burstbucker is great when you are playing loud, but only so so if it isn't driving the tubes. It has endless combinations if you throw in the splits as well. Ease of use: It plays really nice, I like the plek system and what it does for the setup! Value: More than worth what I paid! The wow factor: I get lots of compliments on the look and sound. My breath hitched a little when I fist opened the case.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Price / Awesome Guitar" submitted March 30, 2014

By Greg W in New Market , MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play semi-professionally. I've been playing for 25 years. I play electric guitar, acoustic guitar, electric bass and mandolin
Music Style: Blues, Blues based rock, Christian, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love the sound, feel and finish on this beautiful LP. I can't afford a standard at this point, but I'm totally satisfied with this Studio Pro model. The pickups are great, dynamic and moldable via the tone, volume, and coil split. I was skeptical of the coil split at first, but I'm falling in love with the split coil bridge sound with a cleanish amp setting. The neck feels great and plays like butter. I was skeptical of the compound radius as well, but I can't believe how easy bends are up on the neck. Again, like butter. The fretboard was a bit dry when the guitar arrived so I put a bit of Lemon oil on it and now it looks great. I replaced the .009 dia string set with 10's and it feels and sounds great. I've never used my tone or volume knobs much on my electric guitars, but these will get you many variations in your sound. Really worth experimenting with. I'm glade Zzounds gives you 30 days to decide on an instrument, because it takes time to really experiment and see what the instrument is capable of. I'm extremely satisfied with this purchase. I bought the Cherry burst and it is a head turner. I heard a major talent say once that you should buy the best guitar you can afford and then go from there. This is the one for me.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson 2014 Les Paul Studio Pro Electric Guitar (with Case) " submitted March 1, 2014

By Bill M in Kent, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 55 years playing music, sing, play guitar, bass, drums, some keyboard.
Music Style: ROCK! and blues...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: VERY well packed, when I got it open it was FAR beyond what I thought it would look like, and I've seen them before but this one is MINE. Wow is the only thing that came to mind. Perfectly setup, only a touch of tuning on my Peterson strobe tuner and it was perfect, intonation was PERFECT. This guitar sounds and plays great, looks great to. I fear the day it gets it's first scratch as the finish is superb. And I mean perfect. But it will get used, a lot! Thanks ZZounds for that payment plan, even tho I expect to pay it early your plan made one of my bucket list items come true now.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"NICE GUITAR" submitted July 6, 2014

By BILLY C c in jackson, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 3 yrs,, home recording,, writing,
Music Style: rock, blues, heavy metal, and my own mix
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my first gibson, I'm a fender guy, And i must say, i will buy another one,, i think i'll get the black one next time,, the teal blue is hot a color,Thanks to everyone who put a review up, if it wasn't for you guys, i would have never got it,, its the first gibson with all 5 star rating that i have seen,,I have seen a lot of neg reviews for gibson ,,the guitar came in prefect shape, the case is outstanding,, I have only been playing for about three years, Im right hand, and i'm missing my left fore finger from a press accident, so trying to get all the cords & notes are a bIt** Try playing a guitar with three fingers& a thumb ,the gibson has a narrow neck so it helps me out alot,, i had a friend come from the band to put the gibson to the test,He took pink floyd to a whole in level, the tap tones to mix, are great, We had to call gibson for tect support ,,When we were in the middle position and had one mix level all the way down, we got nothing ,BAD GUITAR,,,NO, you must have the mix level at least set at 2 on the dial to hear anything, they both wired together as a master control,,Its the way gibson made it,,Thank you gibson, (tect support) and yes they answer right away over the phone, THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE GUITAR,, I put in the middle of my 9 fenders, and everyone seems to walk right to that one, when they come over,, and thank you ZZOUNDS you guys are great
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great LP for the money" submitted February 16, 2014

By Tiberius A in Glendale, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, metal, Blues, Country. What ever sounds good to me.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I wanted a real American Les Paul ever since I can remember, and with Zzounds easy monthly payments plan I finally decided to order one and make my long time dream come true. I received my LP Studio pro model the very next day. I still can't believe that I own a Gibson Les Paul thanks to Zzounds for making it possible. The guitar arrived in the morning while I was at work and could not wait to get home and open the package and see it for myself. When I finally got home I was holding and looking at the box for at least 2 hours before opening it, I was so nervous and excited to own my first genuine American made Gibson LP. I finally calmed down and opened the well packed box very slowly and carefully, when I saw the beautiful high quality brown case with the Gibson USA logo on it I was in disbelief, the case smells like sweet coconut candy even after 2 weeks. I opened the case and the guitar was so much nicer than it the photos and the guitar smells ever better than the case. The guitar came in perfect condition and all set up and ready to play, they even tuned it to perfection, it's everything I expected and more from Gibson USA, no complaints at all, I'm still very impressed and excited about the guitar, it sounds like a dream and easy to play, Gibson has really high standards and lives up to it's name and reputation, a little expensive but worth every penny. I will keep this guitar for the rest of my life, I LOVE IT!!!! I would strongly recommend it for any guitar player, beginner to professional, I just can't find anything wrong with it, it's perfect. Thank you Zzounds for making my dream come true, super customer service as well.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing! !!" submitted February 26, 2014

By Ryan P in Redlands, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: play guitar for 9 years
Music Style: Rock, blues and metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just got my les pual studio pro and I must say I am very impressed with it in every way. It's truly the perfect guitar. There are so many different tones you can get out of it and it's a real piece of art. Thank you zzounds
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My first Gibson!" submitted July 3, 2014

By Bryan C in Henderson, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Ive been playing off and on for over 20 years at home and church.
Music Style: Rock, Rockabilly, Country, Bluegrass and Gospel.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received my Black Cherry Pearl studio pro today. Only 48 hours after my order. I ordered a blemished guitar to save some money. I was dreading to see what the blemish was going to be. Suprisingly the only thing ive found wrong is the little plastic switch cap is busted. At the most a $5 part. If thats all that is wrong with it, I am super happy! Especially the amount of money I saved! It is beautiful!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Thank you ZZounds" submitted April 26, 2014

By Barry P in Blakeslee, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Closet Player
Music Style: Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Playing through an Ampeg tube amp...Sounds CRAZY... humbucking pickups are the Jam!!! Feature: Still Playing with controlsbut the weight and body fits me like a glove. Ease of Use: This guitar practically plays itself. Quality: I Expect to own this guitar till I die. She will last that long. Manufacturer Support: only put 3 star in Mnf support because I haven't had the need to deal with them. Overall: Always wanted a Les Paul but couldn't afford to purchase. Thanks to your payment plan I am Jamming on my new Les Paul studio Pro. I purchased the teal blue and it arrived the next day in perfect condition. This guitar looks, and sound AMAZING!!! It is better than I expected. Would recommend (and I have) for anyone to comfortably purchase through ZZounds. All my future purchases will be with you guys. Thanks.. Customer service is extremely friendly and knowledgeable too.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson 2014 Les Paul Studio Pro " submitted July 18, 2014

By Chris M in Ludington, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 28 yrs pro. and jam at home
Music Style: Rock, Blues and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have had my Studio Pro for almost 2 months now and it is just one of the better axes I've ever played and I have played a lot of guitars through the years but this one is like playing a stick of butter. Lately when gigging my standard has been my backup. The studio pro feels lighter the neck feels faster and there really is no different in the sound. And as far as quality in my opinion the only difference is the binding and phase nobs. But over all I am happy with the studio pro.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Sound" submitted April 30, 2014

By Jesse C in Woodstock, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play at home. Playing on and off since 2007
Music Style: Rock n Roll!!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the best guitar i've owned. It's easy to play and sounds great. It's beautiful and arrived in perfect condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Purchase and Return" submitted January 5, 2014

By Sherman K. Lee in Anniston, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years playing guitar, bass and drums. I play in a local praise and worship band
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recently purchase a 2014 Gibson Les Paul. The order went through without any problems and the product arrived in perfect condition. After about a week I realized that I am NOT an electric guitar guy, always having an acoustic.I Currently own a Taylor 414ce So I decided to return the Les Pau and contacted the CSR at Zzounds and set up the return. I returned the Les Paul and within three days after they recieved it my account was credited with the money that I had spent. I am about to order what I have wanted for the last year, a new Taylor 618e. I would without doubt recommend Zzounds. Very good experence!
3 of 7 people (42.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 155Z-RLZG. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!