800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 171S-HZLP
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Gibson LPJ Guitar

With its mahogany body and 'traditional' weight-relief design, the LPJ feels and sounds like an original Les Paul, while maintaining modern versatility.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The WOW in WOW" submitted June 3, 2013

By James Sink in Miami Beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Average
Music Style: Rock, Blues Country Oldies 1950's 1960's 1970's 1980's 1990's 2000's
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Cannot believe someone can now own a TRUE Les Paul for under $1000 of this quality. I do not believe Gibson can continue selling these for this cheap for long. Great setup from the box, all I did was lower the bridge a little and tune. I bought the Chocolate Brown and it seems to be made of 2 pieces of wood both carved top and body, sounds great to me and stayed in tune as I played it. I bought an Epi Les Paul case with mine, the Gig bag is actualy nice as well. back to the guitar, it is made of all good materials all it is lacking is the finsih and crome/gold thrills...Mine is heavy, it is not carved out and maybe weighs 9 pounds or possibly more ... Pickups ROCK a clean to a dirty growl...The tone controls are also smooth and mellows out the harsh treble sounds...I don't like the truss rod cover and ordered one with a Les Paul logo...this thing equals any Fender Standard I own in quality and even sound...dont buy a copy, get the real thing before a possible price height or a discontinue of manufacture of Guitar ....The guitar is a really nice looking guitar and feels great and a dream to play...good frets intonation on spot....THIS IS A LES PAUL
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson LPG Les Paul (rubbed white)" submitted December 22, 2013

By T Wollblue in San Dimas, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar player - 25+ years
Music Style: Classic rock, alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just treated myself to Gibson LPG Les Paul. Looked everywhere for the best price and nobody could touch zZounds. They beat all competitors by a long shot. Guitar arrived in perfect condition in a matter of days. The guitar itself is amazing, particularly at this price. I own many high-end guitars and this one holds it's ground. Stays in tune, looks great and plays like a beast. There's nothing in this price range with this quality that I'm aware of. Do yourself a favor and buy one for $500 from zZounds.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"gibson LPJ 2013( colellectors discontinued model)" submitted December 24, 2013

By don thomas in los angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: im a producer .songwriter/play every instrument had a record deal, and touring/studio musician
Music Style: funk, hip hop, dancehall , tecknofunk, house edm,, metal hop ,punk hop, funk metal and surf funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I had a great experience buying my first les paul from zzounds , the guitar was packaged well, and there was no damage, and the price drop and pay to play option, made it a no brainer.the guitar is a gem. the same pick ups are on the 2013 studio and the premium model , I also like the blackcovers over the 490r/498 p/u)and minus 387 coats of laquer the wood looks good and sounds even better this is no junior guitar this is a tru les paul that screams out...... play me and it is a collectors item because it lasted one yea zzounds I will buy a Gibson from you next year
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"LPJ--A REAL Les Paul?" submitted December 28, 2013

By Gary Browning in New Albany, MS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur musician for 30 years, playing guitar, piano, saxophone, vocals, dabble at drums
Music Style: classic rock; contemporary Christian; classic country; blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Okay, I bit! The price was right, and I was gassing for another LP. Here's what I got: high quality mahogany body, maple neck (that's good), classic 490 & 498 humbuckers, Kluson tuners, and a rosewood fingerboard. What I didn't get: shiny finish, binding, and truss cover that says, "Les Paul". Bottom line: great wood, great electronics, great hardware=great sound. It may not look like your Dad's Les Paul, but I assure you, close your eyes and open your ears--It's a Les Paul!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson "LPJ"" submitted June 26, 2013

By John S in North Salem, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for 51 years and have played professionally for the majority of that time.
Music Style: "Blues and Rock"
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been playing guitar for 51 years now and in that time I have owned several Les Paul guitars, and like most struggling musicians, traded them off, or sold them to survive. I now own three "Gold Tops", the latest being the "Gibson LPJ". Out of the box, it's like every Gibson that I have ever owned,.. an excellent musical instrument by any standards. I have read several different blogs and reviews finding mixed up musicians tell me that the "J" stood for "Junior", or that it was just another faded series and wasn't as good as their "Studio", or that it wasn't a real Gibson,... Geesh, go figure jealous musicians! I play professionally and have already used my "LPJ" on several gigs in the last month,.... Plainly put, the Gibson "LPJ" delivers in playability as well as a fantastic spectrum of sound,... No problem at all with this guitar! If there was anything about this guitar that I would change, it would be a pick panel and a little more finish,.. but hey, I'm a happy man with my new "LPJ"! As far as the "blog boys" go,... all I can say is, "get out of your computer chairs, quit telling everyone about how much you know and go show us,... play a Gibson guitar and make a living at it for real. "Gibson Rules, (bloggers drool)"!!!
10 of 12 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Super Cool " submitted September 30, 2013

By Brian M in Huffman, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20; Bass, Guitar
Music Style: Metal, Blues.
Back to Product Information
Overall: I used to own a faded SG, and the LPJs’ are not the same guitar as the faded models. A lot of good guitar companies are making LP body style guitars with more features and finish for about the same price or less. But they aren’t Gibson. I believe these are way better than the other guitars in their price range. I played a Gold Top for about an hour and I’m sold. I’m getting one of these - screw the light bill. \M/ it’s not a progressive metal shredder’s guitar because the neck is kind of fat, although it is still very comfortable. I would replace those 490 pickups first opportunity because they don’t compliment the tonal possibility of this guitar. A hard shell case is a must. The only issue I observed was that the finish was a little screwed up around the neck pocket and the finish is thin. Maybe some polish would help protect and shine it up. Hey Gibson why not have the push/pull coil tap option as the Epi models?- whatever. I don’t believe there are too many Gibson models this cheap with a Gold Top option so that is a collectable red flag.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I am humbled at the magnificent guitar I have received. " submitted September 16, 2013

By Waymond L in Monroe , AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Since 1984, I play guitar, drums, bass, piano
Music Style: Blues, Rock. the likes of Iron Maiden, ZZ TOP, Megadeth, Metallica.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Please! I am begging you. Do not let this price fool you. This is an AMAZING guitar. I purchased the rubbed white... It is striking. It is like seeing a wonderfully beautiful woman nude for the first time. It will make you stare and drool. Gibson lost me for a while... I mean they were making some products that were not good...not finished well. Boy did they save themselves. This guitar is 700.00 and worth EVERY penny. It is built very very well... Of course they cut corners.. But mainly its the pretty stuff. This guitar looks like a guitar that could step in a boxing ring and beat some butt. I promise you this is the guitar to get if you want a Gibson and dont have a ton of money. Plus the pay as you play... I mean when will others learn. That is the way to go! It sounds and plays like an angel on acid. The neck is so rad... I am in love. I have never played a guitar I loved as much as this one now. My Fav was my Dean flying V 79... It has been moved aside for a while. Seriously don't worry about the price. It is an amazing guitar. Thank You Gibson, Thank You ZZounds.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson LPJ" submitted January 1, 2014

By Olivier B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a hobby player
Music Style: 70's rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Zzound people set me up with a great guitar and a great payment plan, my second guitar btw.They seem to always have the best deal on stuff and they are reliable.Definetely recommend !
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar, the mellow, fully sustain soundS, Thanks ZZound.com!" submitted November 27, 2013

By Vietxuan LE in los Angels, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar player 30+ years
Music Style: Blues- Pop - light Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Thanks to ZZoounds I got this Gibson. On sale with the lowest price fo the Holiday. Ship extremely Fast and well Protect boxing, Great Services!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Axe" submitted April 18, 2013

By Colton P in Gulfport, MS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar for 10 years, professionally for the last 7 years
Music Style: Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Bought the Gold Top and couldn't be happier. It plays great, set up was good out the box. The pickups sound great. No QC issues at all with mine. The 1 and only thing I can find on mine that I wish was different is the pickup selector switch is not the typical switch used by Gibson. There is nothing wrong with it, just not the normal one. The tip threads on instead of slides on. But overall the guitar is great.
6 of 10 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 171S-HZLP. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!