800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20N-2VLC
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Friday, Dec. 16 and select ground shipping.

Rating and Reviews: Gibson Les Paul Classic

This limited-edition Les Paul is about as classic as it gets. A beautiful plain maple top and two '57 Classic zebra humbuckers ooze vintage tone and style.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Gibson Les Paul "Classic"" submitted January 22, 2016

By Steve F in Sebastopol, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recreational Guitarist & Drummer Player since the mid 60's.
Music Style: Rock, Blues & Rockabilly.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The out of the box sound was better then I could of imagined. The 57 Classic Zebra Pick-Ups were bright, clean, raunchy & the sustain was worthy of the "Money Shot" playing Gary Moore's Parisienne Walkways! I play through a Fender Twin & a Marshall JCM 800 in tandem via a Boss ME-70 Combo Foot Switch Box that I will be replacing with individual Boxes. Feature: For me; it was the exposed Pick-Ups and the Honeyburst Finish. This being (probably) the only Les Paul I will own had to be special to me. I like the Gold-Top, the Black Beauty (which I own as an Epiphone) and the Sunburst. But the Honeyburst won out. It truly is a beautiful finish. Ease of Use: The obvious difference between this Guitar & the others is the weight. It is heavy, but it is a "GOOD" Heavy! The Controls rotate cleanly & evenly and the neck fits perfect in my hand. The Gibson Pegs work smoothly and stay in tune. Quality: It's a American made Gibson Les Paul; I EXPECT it to be exactly that! Value: I was very comfortable with the Price for this Guitar. And the kicker......the hard Case. The thing is a work of art within itself! Manufacturer Support: Have had no need at this point to contact the Manufacturer. The Wow Factor: The WOW factor is off the charts for me as this being my 1st. true Les Paul, it is (so far) bringing me a tremendous joy playing it. My Wife comments every time I practice how good the sound is, especially the sustain! Overall: Since the late 60's I always wanted to own & play a "REAL" American made Gibson Les Paul. After seeing Jeff Beck, Peter Green, Fogarty, Betts, Allman, Bloomfield, Page perform with one, I wanted one! I held back; couldn't justify the cost, wasn't a good enough player to own one etc. Always out of reach. Settled on playing foreign made Les Paul's, Strat's & Tele's. However now that I am of the "Bucket List" age, I said the heck with it all and bought my 1st. true Les Paul. After reviewing all of the possible choices, I selected the "Classic", for appearance ( I like the exposed Pick-Ups), for cost and most of all, I felt it was the best one for me. A choice I will never regret! It has made me a better Player.
25 of 25 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"amazing guitar for a good price " submitted December 7, 2015

By edward kocanda in spring hill, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: intermediate student trying to get a band going
Music Style: blues, hard rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: so i was unsure of this guitar. when I bought i figured i would return it for the 2015 traditional which isn't weight relieved and has the true hummbucker style pickups. however once i pulled it out of the box, (which was shipped very well it was in a biz zZounds box with a smaller gibson box that was totally wrapped in bubble wrap. The smaller gibson box when i opened that, it had the guitar case which was also wrapped in bubble wrap. the guitar was already setup from zZounds which i thought was a nice touch. plugged it in an this thing plays like a dream. everything about it is just perfect. and the sustain for even being weight relieved is still about 10 seconds. would definitely recommend this guitar at it will add to anyone collection it is an absolute dream to play. plus the 12 month no interest payments is amazing. As long as your responsible with it its a good program
27 of 27 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Absolute Beauty !" submitted April 9, 2016

By John B in Jacksonville, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing 20+ years - guitar only.
Music Style: Rock, Blues, & Metal
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is totally amazing - The neck pickup is smooth sounding This axe has fantastic sustain and warmth. Although don't be fooled because this LP Classic is capable of very aggressive sounds. Feature: I like the simplicity of the LP Classic - Something noticeable is the fretboard; it is a dark rosewood fretboard; my other LP's seem to have a lighter rosewood color. The 60's taper and the fretboard really standout with this one. Heck, it even came with a picture of my guitar on the Gibson tech's workbench! Ease of Use: It's a Gibson - it's "easy" to use. Quality: Gibson most certainly emphasized quality for the 2016 models, and this LP Classic is no exception. When I got it from zZounds, I immediately took it to a well-known guitar tech and he was floored by the quality, the build, and the feel of it. The Classic '57 pickups are phenomenal ! Value: I certainly feel the value of this guitar was worth the price I paid. Manufacturer Support: No Need. The Wow Factor: The wow factor is the build and sound... this ha made me a better player because it makes me want to play the guitar much, much more than ever before. I have a very hard time putting it down, and I've even gone to bed 2-3 hours later than usual because I enjoy playing it so much. Overall: First.... zZounds is without question the best music store I've ever ordered from. They offer the latest and greatest products - they have the BEST customer service of any on-line music gear retailer - they make ordering very easy and simplistic - and they offer the BEST payment plans in the business....by far! I won't even entertain doing musical gear business with anyone else - from now on, it's zZounds, and zZounds only for me and my family.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mad mojo" submitted April 1, 2016

By William Hannum in Philafelphia, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar ,bass
Music Style: Hard rock , blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just got my LesPaul classic in Cherry burst from zZounds I have a LesPaul traditional already but I want twd some thing with a 60's neck carve. Man this plays better than I expected, like butter . The neck is not to thin but faster than the traditional 59 neck carve . The pick ups in my opinion are the best set ya can put in a Gibson. Killer tone out of the box the set up and intonation were perfect , just live this cherry burst finish really a high quality guitar .like a old school classic . The price is very good for this guitar . Gibson got this right . If your lookin for a les paul with great features at a great pruce this vlassic is where its at if your thinkin bout it do it ya wont be sorry This is my second guitar from zZounds and I gotta say they are great folks Very helpful through the whole process and thier payment plans are a great way to get the gear ya want . very happy customer ,thanx zZounds
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Great Purchase Experience" submitted March 28, 2016

By Paul N in Williamsburg, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played professionally on and off for over 40 years.
Music Style: Blues and rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was worried because I never ordered a guitar this way. I called and talked to a customer service rep, who made me feel comfortable by answering my questions. I received my beautiful Les Paul Classic in honey burst when he said I would. The packing was outstanding and this guitar was playable right out of the box. They also gave me the best price I could find. I will purchase from them again.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar" submitted March 19, 2016

By Jim Vance in Cheyenne, WY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jsm at home
Music Style: Play mostly blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This Gibson Les Paul is fantastic!! The 60's slim taper neckmakes this guitar a joy to play as it is super comfortable. I love the zebra pickups for the wide ranges of sound from mellow jazz to growlin blues, this Gibson can handle it.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome!!!!" submitted February 7, 2016

By Eddie C in Newport News, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing music sinces I was a kid. Started with saxophone. Picked up the guitar to figure out harmonies.
Music Style: Hard Rock, metal, punk, R&B.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's exactly what I wanted. Intonation and action was perfect right out of the case. And it plays soooo easy. I am extremely happy about my purchase.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My First Les Paul" submitted May 23, 2016

By Mike Howe in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years
Music Style: Rock, Country, Jazz, R&B, Rock in Espanol and wherever the fret-board takes me.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I play Rock, country, R&B , rock in espanol and wherever my fretboard takes me. My first guitar was a Mosrite I bought back at guitar center in 73. Then I bought my first Gibson and L69 in 77. It was a great guitar and I always wished that I had not of sold it. I went on to buy my first Fender strat. It was a Ultra Strat with the Lace sensor pick-ups, Floyd Rose tremelo and locking tuners. I swear this guitar does not come out of tune. This has been my main guitar for the last twenty years. When zZounds came up with this offer for a Gibson Les Paul, I was hooked and the thought of owning this baby made me crazy. I couldn't sleep at night thinking about playing this girl. When it showed up on my door step, and I opened the box I nearly fell out. It was absolutely gorgeous. I have the 60s neck and I can tell you that she frets like out of this world, and is a better ax for my style and play. Thanks ZZ for giving me this opportunity of a life.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Why we play" submitted October 19, 2016

By Darrin Ros in Jonesboro, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years of playing. Anytime anywhere musician.
Music Style: What ever sounds good.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just opened the box, and it hit me, I have been loving Les Pauls since I was 10. I was born on June 9 (Les Pauls also) and saw my first one in Gulfport Ms in 75. I have owned many. This Heritage Sunburst is flawless. Stunning. Sounds like a beast. Love it. Thanks to the zZounds staff who helped me get just the right one.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Honeyburst Heaven" submitted October 12, 2016

By Joseph Tamagna in Larchmont, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 years
Music Style: Rock/Alternative Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Amazing LP. I have always loved LP classics. Lost my copper top classic years ago so when I saw this one, I fell in love. I picked the heaviest one. It's amazing, set up out of the box was perfect and plugged in it sounds perfect. the 57 and 57 plus humbuckers are perfect and the price is right. the plaintop is magnificent!!! zZounds is an amazing site and the customer service is awesome.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Exclusive Les Paul Classic" submitted December 7, 2016

By Kimberly Oxford in North Adams, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was so excited when I first got this guitar until I realized it doesn't stay in tune, EVER. On top of it the screws on the stop bar tail piece is all chipped underneath.Such a waste, but it's not even worth sending it back to wait 5 days just to get another that'll probably end up the same way.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20N-2VLC. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!