800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175D-X2ZF
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: 2014 Les Paul Classic

Gibson hot-rodded this Les Paul! You get zebra-coil '57 Classic and coil-tappable Super '57 humbuckers, a 15 dB boost toggle, Orange Drop tone cap, and more.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The Better Choice" submitted February 24, 2014

By Ryan S in Irving, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 21 years as a hobbyist
Music Style: styles i enjoy playing: post-punk, stoner/doom/grunge, classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The classic 57 and Super 57 pickups sound incredible. Having owned a 2014 studio for a short time, I wasn't very excited about the coil split, but the LP Classic's coil split sounds great, much more of a Les Paul p90 sound when split(don't expect strat tones from this body type). Feature: The Weight relief is nice. do keep in mind though, that you can pcik your model on ZZounds, and the weights I saw varied from 8.4 lbs to 10.1lbs. If you prefer the heaver feel, go for it. DB Boost switch is nice, and helps push tubes harder(At bedroom level, this is a nice feature, but beware when using on clean channel). I see using it more as always on or off, than for soloing, as the switch is a bit awkward to hit while playing(for me anyways). Quality: The quality really shows in this product, from the finish, to the feel. Set up was great out of the box, I didn't have to adjust the neck, action, or intonation. Just tune up, and rock out. Value: This is a great value. If you are die hard LP traditionalist(wanting NIBs and a fourth tone control), you'll want to make the step up to Traditional. I've played a lot of Fenders in my day, so I'm used to just one tone control. That being said, this is the best guitar I've ever owned, and totally worth the money(you get what you pay for). Also the case is really nice. The Wow Factor: This guitar definitely has wow factor visually and sonically. Overall: I got the Vintage Sunburst model about a week ago, and have since put the guitar through it's paces. I had returned a 2014 studio, so making the jump to this price and level held pretty high expectations, and it passed them. I couldn't be happier.
24 of 24 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"As Advertised - An updated Classic" submitted July 6, 2014

By Michael Walker in Peterborough, ON
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 years playing music, 18 on guitar. piano, bass, brass and woodwinds, mandolin, harmonica. Played pro for a few years.
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Country, Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Got a 'blemished' model, couldn't really see any problems other than some fingerprints. Saved $600 doing it this way - highly recommend looking for these bargains! Got delivery of this ax a week ago (thanks zZounds shipping, amazing and quick). Opened the box. Tuned it up and rocked. Fit, finish and set-up were spot on. I haven't even changed the strings yet or made any intonation or action adjustments, it just was perfect out of the box, and I consider myself to be VERY picky about these things. Finish is pretty. I got vintage sunburst. Nice and Glossy. The top has a 'slight' flame in the maple which is nice and purdy.... the '57 classic pickups are amazing, the neck has a warm bluesy sound and the bridge has a little extra punch for some balls-out rock! the coil taps take you into Fender-ish territory. The 15db boost switch sounds great but I am more inclined to play without it and use pedals for boost, either way, the options are there and that is an awesome thing. There are no bad sounding settings on this guitar. Even the bridge pickup tapped sounds great, not shrill as one might expect. This guitar sustains for days. Due to the density and weight of the wood I'm sure, it has that classic Lester Paulster Sustainer! Pro Tip: Put the pickup selector in the middle, playing both pickups, then tap just the neck pickup... most amazing clean rhythm tone I have ever heard! I play through a fender Supersonic 22 with a bunch of pedals... sounds great on any setting. Con: This thing is ridiculously heavy. 9.2 pounds on my scale, as opposed to 5-6 pounds for most of my other guitars (Gibson SG, Fender Tele and Strat). I will be purchasing a new strap with more shoulder support. Seriously, this thing will give you back aches and I know it's weight relieved... Don't think I could play one that wasn't!!! Besides the weight. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guitar to anyone that can afford the relatively high price tag (but way better value that the Standard and Traditional models). It will do any type of music justice. Rock, Blues, Jazz, Big Band... whatever, this thing will do it. If I had to get rid of all my guitars but one, which is a lot of guitars (I have an addiction), I would keep this one, it's absolutely phenomenal. BUY IT!!! CLICK THE BUTTON NOW!!! GET IT!!! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!!!!????
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Been waiting to get this guitar for 15 years - very happy" submitted June 5, 2014

By Brian Roberts in Lake Worth, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 19 Years, originals and covers for fun...
Music Style: Pretty much everything.... I love Rock/Hard Rock and some metal - but im a classic rock guy for the most part. But there are goo
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The guitar is great, ive always wanted a classic since they resemble the same guitar used by Mr Page in the Song Remains the Same movie. The pickups are great, but im going to swap out the bridge to a 498t (Got other gibsons and they seem to drive plexis more than the 57's). Otherwise, Ive called this guitar the grail for many years as its the only non studio les paul I want. I have the heritage cherry one and I didnt realize at the time of checkout that you could pick the one you want... I want a heavier les paul, and I was happy that I got a 9.5lb one.... couldnt be happier with this if I tried. The setup out of the box was great, but the tones are amazing. The guitar has a nice sustain to it so no matter what pickups you have it will sound good. Only thing about the guitar is that the electronics are of the new modern pcb... so all the pots are soldered to the board - I like riding the volume control and prefer linear pots instead of audio taper.. the volume is a bit tough to turn, but I think over time it will loosen up a bit (Doesnt bother me anyway the guitar is wonderful to play). What is cool electronics wise is that when pulling out the battery, I still have a signal so i dont have to worry about the battery dying and cutting out signal - this is good news... Also pickup changes will be way simple if using other newer gibson pickups since its a quick connect. normally i would strip the electronics out and replace the pots with dimarzio linear taper but im going ot leave this guitar as is (With the exception of swapping the bridge to a 498t). The neck pickup sounds great on this guitar, the single coil sounds are great if you need a passable strat tone on stage. Im very pleased with this guitar, especially with the binding not covering the frets - I do wide swings on bends so this thing is perfect for me.. its the guitar ive been dreaming about for years and im glad I held out for the 2014 ones instead of the older ones. The neck profile btw is 60s slim which is exactly what I wanted. You wont go wrong with this guitar for sure, the finish is beautiful as well......
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2014 Gibson Les Paul Classic" submitted March 12, 2014

By Mike N in North Richland Hills, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 12 yrs. I'm not a pro but in a band
Music Style: Classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The 57 classic humbucker kicks major butt. Pure classic rock tones. Feature: The 15 db boost is a cool feature. When you need that push, it will give it to you. Take the 9 volt battery out that drives the boost and it's a killswitch. I don't use the coil splits as much because I love the humbucker tone. The 60's neck is like "butta", super fast. Quality: Quality on my guitar was flawless. No cosmetic issues. The Cherry Sunburst finish is simply BEAUTIFUL. Value: Selling price did not matter me to me. I was going to get it no matter what. The Wow Factor: I'll give this product a perfect 10. Completely satisfied with my purchase. Overall: I had the guitar for a month and 100% happy with my purchase.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Zzounds' customer service is a cut above the rest ! " submitted April 16, 2014

By Paul House in Delray Beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 yrs professionally
Music Style: all genres
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I previously posted a review about this guitar in regards to the headstock breaking off clean and unexpectedly. Zzounds took this guitar back and sent a replacement the same day I shipped the return. The replacement guitar is a major improvement and I don't feel like I lost 2k due to a broken headstock. Anybody I have talked to said no way, they will never replace that guitar even if you only had it one week etc... Thank you Zzounds I will look no further than your store for all of my future purchases.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Guitar Les Paul Classic" submitted May 20, 2014

By Pearl W in Prtland , OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ Pro level
Music Style: Pro rock alt/modern rock/blues Modern country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Guitar is a fabulous gem. Came set up perfectly. Stays in tune for days for the most part. It has 57 classic and classic plus pups instead of the creamic humbuckers earlier models came with. Split coil, 15 db boost orange drop cap's in the tone pot makes it huge treble/bright. Great work at Gibson. Its like getting a LP Standard for 1000's less
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great sound" submitted March 17, 2014

By Mike B in Jackson, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Country, Gospel, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is absolutely beautiful and has such smooth, creamy, clean sounds. Of course, it weighs around 9 pounds so be prepared to deal with some back issues, LOL. The selectable humbucking/single coil pickups are very cool. The 15db boost switch is OK, but I would personally rather they kept a separate tone control.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Versitile Les Paul" submitted September 23, 2014

By German O in Washington, DC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Awesome guitar !!! This is a gorgeous looking guitar (seafoam green) with a great sound and lots of tonal options. Is a little brighter than most Les Pauls, but the tone control works really good and lets you roll off without losing the character of the sound. In split coil mode of course is not a strat sound, but is a very nice chimey sound, specially with the 15db boost engaged. Used it with all my tube amps and sounds great with all of them. I'm on the east coast and in one day was at my door. Great service at zZounds
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2014 Gibson Les Paul Classic" submitted December 8, 2014

By Eirik Swensrud in Cody, WY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played guitar professionally for 25+ years
Music Style: 90's alt.rock, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound of this guitar is fantastic! The clean right up to the famed Gibson lp growl this guitar rocks! Feature: The boost! coil tapping! Humbuckers! What more do I have to say? all in all the most innovative, versatile Gibson I have seen or played! Ease of Use: If you can flip a switch or turn a knob ya got it it's that easy! Quality: Fit and finish on this guitar is more than fantastic! All guitars should be set up like this from the factory Value: WORTH EVERY PENNY! The Wow Factor: What can I say?!? WOW buy one and buy one from zzounds you wont be disappointed!!! Overall: I recently perchased a 2014 Gibson Les Paul classic from zZounds and I gotta' say hats off to zZounds!! The Guitar plays like no guitar I have ever played before. I have played and owned fender guitars for years and have never had a chance to play a modern Les Paul. It rocks right outta the box!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A (slightly blemished) Work of Art that Plays Beautifully" submitted August 15, 2014

By Philip H in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: For years, guitar and bass these days
Music Style: Blues, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'll get the bad stuff out of the way first. My Seafoam Green Classic had a factory blemish. It was some overspray on the binding -- or so I thought. Once I worked out a deal with zZounds I scraped the overspray and under magnification saw that it was that the maple wasn't properly routed and sanded, and was protruding -- both "up" and "out". So, the binding had had to be trimmed. Call it a production line workaround. Not bad work, but a definite re-sale value issue. Now, the good and great stuff: zZounds really took good care of me on this. Fair discount, no hassles, no BS. I felt bad that they lost their margin, but after the service I got I will definitely be buying more gear from them and recommending zZounds to others. So, they'll get some more money from me. Also, while the blem is a blem, as I said the workaround job was nice. Also, the rest of the finish is about perfect. This thing is truly a work of art, and I smile and feel lucky every time I take it out of its case. I know that sounds a bit like, "other than the ending, Mrs. Lincoln, how did you like the play?" But it really is that nice a finish otherwise. You hold this guitar and don't feel like it's not worth a lot of money. OK, as for the playability: Factory setup is about dead-on perfect. Unbelievable considering I bought it in summer, from a warehouse in Jersey, and had it shipped to LA. Didn't even need a trussrod adjustment, tuning stability is great and there are no buzzes or dead notes anywhere. The board is a bit dry but that's been the case with the recent Gibbys I've bought. I like the new "nibless" binding as well. The treble side fret ends could use a bit more filing, but nothing uncomfortable. Overall, the neck is thin and fast. This is not a rounded profile but a flat one that's a tad thicker than an orig. "slim 60s" if you have one. Nothing amiss in the pickups or electronics. The 15db switch really works. Bang! A little preamp to jump up your solos. Coil splits aren't like my Nighthawk or anything, but playing around gives you some nice tonal versatility -- especially for rhythm playing I find. Also, take the battery out and the 15db switch becomes a kill switch. I'm really impressed with the pickups. Never played '57 Classics but I can see why everyone raves about them. They are warm and versatile. In this configuration the two balance really well volume-wise. Overall, a bit brighter than most LPs, and not high output, but warm is the word that keeps coming back. Play it through your favorite tube amp and enjoy that rich, warm tone. Overall, I highly recommend this guitar, and zZounds. Yes, mine has a bit more "character" than most, but I'd pick it to save in a fire anyway. It's that impressive of a tone machine, and that nice to look at. Oh, and get the Seafoam green, it really is even better than the pictures.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Classic Les Paul" submitted September 3, 2014

By Benjamin Columbia in Palm Coast, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitarist since age 8 (59yo)
Music Style: rock, blues, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent quality as always, but it's light, it's pickups are alive with raw tone and controls are extremely agile and the 15db switch is awesome. This is one of the best Les Pauls I have played. The 51 classics are wonderful and bright, but can growl and hum like butter. I love it. I now have two classic LPs, the HC model and the Zebra wood model. I wanted a Standard, but found this HC Classic had better electronics for my needs.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WOW!!" submitted November 7, 2014

By Eirik Swensrud in Cody, WY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played guitar for years and write music and play guitar professionally in a band called Idle Eye
Music Style: Alt. rock check us out reverbnation.com/idleeye
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have always played Fender guitars and have wanted a Gibson Les Paul for years but the older ones I have played on the neck was just not comfortable to play and the price well...Then I noticed the slim neck on the 2014 model and all the new features the boost and coil split and I was sold! Ordered it from zZounds on the 12 payment plan that makes it easy to get it now and not kill my wallet!!! It arrived fast and I opened the box and it was all set up and ready to go just tuned it up and MAN!! This guitar rocks!! The only thing that need to be changed is the strings some Ernie Ball slinkys would do the trick! Don't even stop to think about it, Order one and you will be amazed!!! Thank You zZounds!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson 2014 Les Paul Classic (WOW!)" submitted March 31, 2014

By Martin Flynn in Ithaca, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional full-time musician, 35 years experience
Music Style: Classic Rock, Rock, Country, Blues, Original
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: AMAZING! BEAUTIFUL! PLAYS LIKE BUTTER RIGHT OUT THE CASE!Everything that I expected and more!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My First Les Paul!" submitted March 31, 2014

By Scot R in Houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years guitar Lifetime on drums!
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've played other peoples LP but was always a Strat guy. I finally made the leap and glad I did. I've experienced the wow factor before but opening the case on this red goddess was amazing. Beauty and tone. I'm very happy with this purchase!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AFTER A LONG WAIT....." submitted October 16, 2014

By RICK McCOIG in COLUMBIA, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I HAVE BEEN PLAYING MUSIC SINCE I WAS 12 YRS OLD. BEEN IN BANDS PLAYING FOR MONEY SINCE I WAS 15. GUITAR, BASS AND DRUMS.
Music Style: ROCK, COUNTY, FUNK, BEACH, AND MOTOWN.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I USE TO PLAY GIBSON GUITARS FROM 15 YRS OLD TO ABOUT 25. THEN I REALLY GOT INTO FENDERS AND STAYED WITH THEM MOST OF MY ADULT PLAYING TIME. I'M 52 NOW. TWO YEARS AGO I DECIDED TO GET ME ANOTHER GIBSON FOR SOME OF OUR MORE ROCKIN STUFF. WELL...I TRIED 3 OR 4 AND WAS REALLY DISSAPOINTED. THEY SOUNDED BAD AND WOULDN'T STAY IN TUNE. THEN I GOT A NEW NIGHTHAWK THAT WAS AWESOME. AS THE YEAR WENT BY PLAYING THE NIGHTHAWK I BEGAN TO WANT A FULL SIZE LES PAUL. MAN ARE THEY EXPENSIVE!!! BUT..ALONG COMES THIS 2014 CLASSIC AND WOW...IT FIT THE BILL AND THE PRICE IS MORE IN MY BALLPARK. I GOT THE LEMON BURST ONE. FIT AND FINISH BEAUTIFUL. AWESOME CASE. AFTER I PUT MY KIND OF STRINGS ON IT AND GOT EM STRECHED...IT WORKED FLAWLESSLY. THE 57 CLASSIC NECK PICKUP IS KILLER SMOOTH. THE 57 SUPER CLASSIC IS A LITTLE ON THE BRIGHT SIDE, BUT STILL VERY GOOD. ONE OF THE FEW GUITARS THAT THE COIL SPLITTING SOUNDS GOOD. THE BOOST SWITCH IS GREAT ON SOLOS. I AM ONCE AGAIN A HAPPY GIBSON CUSTOMER. YA CANT BEAT THIS DEAL.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awsome Service" submitted November 12, 2014

By Michael M in Ruma, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Gig approx 5-10 Per Month
Music Style: Band top 40 Country and two Piece Duo all types of Music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Recently Bought a 2014 Les Paul Seafoam Green Gibson. zZounds was awesome and the Product was even Better than I Hoped. As Far as I'm concerned zZounds is the ONLY Place to Purchase Musical equipment. This is the second Guitar I Have Bought from zZounds and was completely satisfied with their service and Product Thank You zZounds.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar" submitted August 6, 2014

By Victor P in San Diego, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20+ years professionally and now Amaturely
Music Style: Rock, Classic, Jazz, pop,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the first time I've ever owned a Les Paul and I have to say that it is a great guitar. I like the playability on this neck, I've played with friends older Les Paul's (59, 68, 72) and I have to say I like mine better. The sound and quality is outstanding and I like the boot and the added coil split. This guitar is very versatile and very comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson 2014 Les Paul Classic" submitted March 16, 2014

By paul h in boca raton, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20plus years playing own several guiatrs including 90s Les Paul standard.
Music Style: rock, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: ZZounds is great but the guitar I purchased was a complete "dud. the neck was a 50'S profile C shaped neck not the 60 thinner d shaped neck that Gibson states is standard for this guitar. the new Gibson over the binding frets are so rough my hand actually hand sore spots after playing about 2 hours. the guitar was not set up at all either. now the finale- I changed strings to 11 gauge and now the finale- I opened the case which was only moved from one side of room after my string change and found the headstock snapped cleanly from the back and broke off when I pulled out the guitar. I went to authorised Gibson warranty repair center and they stated the guitar is defective( something to do with the wood grain and over sanding to a" thin accident waiting to happen") and should have never left the shop to begin with. The local repair center swears that Gibson will replace because he sent it in. if Gibson does not honor his opinion then ZZounds is going to need to step up and get me as replacement. I paid via easy payments and still owe a 11 more payments which I hope helps me when resolving the issue. Right now I have faith ands hope for the best an prepare for the worst!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Quality" submitted November 21, 2014

By Tony L in Loves Park, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years, guitar player
Music Style: Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Love this guitar, feels and plays like a dream. I also own a 2013 Gibson LP Standard but it has the asymmetrical slim 60's neck. I prefer the regular slim 60's neck on this one. The second you pick up the guitar, you know that you've INVESTED in something. It's beautifully crafted and will last a lifetime.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing Guitar at Great price!" submitted October 5, 2014

By Chase S in Canal Winchester, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is one heck of a guitar. It was really great to be able to select which one I wanted from the website too. This is my first Les Paul and I will be playing this guitar for a long time!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2014 les paul classic" submitted November 3, 2014

By Joe Nelson in orange, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: novice since 1964
Music Style: Country, old rock, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Had an old Epiphone Les Paul Special. My dreams have come true this Les Paul has it all and the price can't be real. Both are for sure the best deal ever.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly!" submitted July 23, 2014

By Robert B in Canfield, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 yrs playing guitar, both professionally and liesurely.
Music Style: Rock and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly...... Well I just received my brand new 2014 Les Paul Classic (in Heritage) and I thought I would take a minute to provide my thoughts on the guitar and Gibson. This is my 3rd Les Paul purchased this year. The Good- Fit and Finish are 99% flawless. Went over this guitar with a fine tooth comb and could only find one imperfection (see "The Ugly"). The neck is perfect. Action was set up perfect, with no string buzz or dead spots. The binding on the neck and the body was flawless as well as were the frets. All the knobs and hardware were perfect. Interesting that the stop tailpiece has the words "Advanced Plating Co." stamped on it. Love the tone of the 57 Classic pickups in humbucker mode. They really scream when pushed through my amps...Budda SD30 and a Carvin V3. So far I am pretty impressed. The Bad- Not much love (yet) for the coil-tapped sound. When playing clean you can hear a nice "wanna-be" Strat tone but once you kick in the overdrive on your amp, the tone get's lost and loses the single coil sweetness. It's going to take some tweaking on my amps to get the best of both worlds. Another bad is the strings that came on this guitar. IMO they are god awful strings. They say they are 10's but they feel like fishing line and sound about the same. Remove them and put a hook and worm on them or just throw them out. The Ugly- The nut.... whoever installed and/or filed this nut should be fired, or run over with a cement mixer. The slots were under filed, in fact the low e-string barely had a slot to rest in. All of the slots were very rough with some dark crud in them. Strange that 99% of the guitar was gorgeous and yet the nut looks like something you'd see on a guitar bought through JCPenney's! Not good Gibson, you can do better. Well that's all for now. You'll notice I haven't said anything about the 15db boost switch........ I am really on the fence about this one but maybe it will grow on me.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Good, The Bad, The Ugly" submitted June 30, 2014

By Robert B in Canfield, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional musician, 38 years, guitar (Les Pauls and Hamers)
Music Style: Rock and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly...... Well I just received my brand new 2014 Les Paul Classic (in Heritage) and I thought I would take a minute to provide my thoughts on the guitar and Gibson. This is my 3rd Les Paul purchased this year. The Good- Fit and Finish are 99% flawless. Went over this guitar with a fine tooth comb and could only find one imperfection (see "The Ugly"). The neck is perfect. Action was set up perfect, with no string buzz or dead spots. The binding on the neck and the body was flawless as well as were the frets. All the knobs and hardware were perfect. Interesting that the stop tailpiece has the words "Advanced Plating Co." stamped on it. Love the tone of the 57 Classic pickups in humbucker mode. They really scream when pushed through my amps...Budda SD30 and a Carvin V3. So far I am pretty impressed. The Bad- Not much love (yet) for the coil-tapped sound. When playing clean you can hear a nice "wanna-be" strat tone but once you kick in the overdrive on your amp, the tone get's lost and loses the single coil sweetness. I will say that playing through my Mesa Boogie 5:50 with the coils tapped, I got a really nice and glassy strat tone. It's going to take some tweaking on my amps to get the best of both worlds. Another bad is the strings that came on this guitar. IMO they are god awful strings. They say they are 10's but they feel like fishing line and sound about the same. Remove them and put a hook and worm on them or just throw them out. The Ugly- The nut.... whoever installed and/or filed this nut should be fired, or run over with a cement mixer. The slots were under filed, in fact the low e-string barely had a slot to rest in. All of the slots were very rough with some dark crud in them. Strange that 99% of the guitar was gorgeous and yet the nut looks like something you'd see on a guitar bought through JCPenney's! Not good Gibson, you can do better. Well that's all for now. You'll notice I haven't said anything about the 15db boost switch........ I am really on the fence about this one but maybe it will grow on me. So until then............Rock On!
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175D-X2ZF. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!