800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 160M-KM6W
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson J-35

Handcrafted in America, with a Baggs Element pickup, the classic round-shouldered Gibson J-35 acoustic-electric is a go-to guitar for singer/songwriters.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Absolute Cash Cow of an Acoustic Guitar" submitted September 30, 2013

By Matthew Laird in Pea Ridge, AR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Have played for 21 years.
Music Style: Blues, Jazz, Fusion, Country, Folk, Rock-a-billy, Rock, Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have owned and played a number of acoustic guitars from original Oregon Breedloves back in the 1990s to Guilds to Epiphones. I never bought a Gibson before though I have played too many to count. I did a lot of comparisons and research before I decided to buy this one. It literally came down to the J45 and the J35 at the end. Though I like the J45 and I prefer sunburst finished acoustics, the J35 won out. Its bracing and the little details affect the sound enough that to my ear, it just sounds better. It plays great and feels great. It is absolutely alive. Every note vibrates through the guitar from the endpin jack to the tuning machines. It resonates and the sound just booms forth out of it. I really believe that these are going to sell like crazy. In fact, this is the only guitar in its price category that I could see someone buying on an impulse buy because it is that good. Zzounds took great care of me on this purchase as well. I could not be happier. I wish I could afford to buy another one before Gibson lets this go out of production.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth Owning. A Gibson at an affordable price." submitted December 18, 2013

By Jim Riggs in Central Calif., CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 49 years. Play Guitar and some bass and keyboards.
Music Style: Rock, county, and blues...and blends of all.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Wasn't really sure when I first got and played the guitar, it sounded good but a little thin, but after I changed the strings to Martin 80/20 bronze light gauge (12-54) it sounds great. A full and beautifully balanced tone. And it plays like a dream. Nearly perfect setup right out of the box. If you want a REAL Gibson but can't justify the J45 cost you will LOVE this guitar for a good deal less. It has the J45 tone (some say better with it's AJ bracing pattern) but you don't pay for some of the frills. The ONLY thing I wish had been offered is a vintage sunburst finish but for this price I can live without it!
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"An amazing guitar" submitted April 18, 2014

By Kevin C in Silverado , CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15 years playing guitar, bass.
Music Style: Folk and bluegrass, western country, hard rock, rock, indie
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I researched this guitar extensively before purchasing, against Martin D-18s, D-28s, Gibson and some Gibson j-45s. I played them all multiple times at the nearest guitar center, and found this one to be an extremely pleasing guitar to play. Warm, yet bright tone, with an amazing bottom end making an impressive bass presence. An absolute delight. When I received this item from zZounds, it sounded even more amazing than the floor units I played at my local shop. Wow. This thing just absolutely amazed me. And, what impressed me even more was that I purchased a "blemished" unit from zZounds - I have to say, there is NO blemishes to be found. An incredible value for this amazing instrument. My first Gibson acoustic, and I will definitely be purchasing my next from zZounds from this awesome deal I got on this J-35. zZounds won me over exclusively for all of my music needs (and wants) in the future. Thank you !!!!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson J-35 ... wow" submitted January 1, 2014

By Larry Kile in Melbourne, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 28 years home and friend jams, open mics, the rare solo gig.
Music Style: Folk, Americana
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: After about 28 years playing I finally got a US made Gibson and couldn't be more thrilled. The hype hype is well deserved, as I've never heard clarity in the voice of an acoustic quite like this. Have owned it almost a month now, and have yet to change a thing but strings...factory set-up is near perfect...maybe a tiny bit higher than I like on the action, but the shorter scale makes it a non factor.Took a chance buying before playing one, and went into the purchase with the discipline in place to return it if it didn't meet the aural expectations I had. So week one was playing it at home, week 2 plugged into a Bose Compact for a little 30 minute set at the local pizza joint....holy orgasmic sounding! I do mainly Americana type songs...needing a solid bass punch, and an even mid and treble to blend with the vocals...the J-35 delivered it all with ease. Very satisfied with the guitar and my 4 year buying relationship with Zzounds.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar. Price and Sound is incredible." submitted July 7, 2013

By Kevin Buttry
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I own 5-6 Gibson acoustics. This model. is on par with any of Gibson's expensive line. The J 35 is the perfect gigging guitar. Quality instrument, at an affordable price. Sound and setup, is just as good as my J 45. If you want a great guitar, that you don't have to fret about live show abuse. Then the J 35 if for you.
8 of 11 people (72.73%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GIBSON J-35 ACOUSTIC GUITAR" submitted February 19, 2014

By BOBBY G in MADISONVILLE, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: JUST GETTING STARTED
Music Style: ROCK,COUNTRY,BLUES AND
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: GREAT PRICE, GREAT SERVICE AND FAST SHIPPING. THE INGREDIENTS OF A GREAT EXPERIENCE. HOPE TO VISIT AGAIN, SOON AS POSSIBLE.
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Another classic" submitted March 14, 2014

By Tim D in Ashland, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 36 yrs. songwriter. Also play bass, fiddle and mandolin.
Music Style: Rockabilly
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The guitar played wonderful after a setup.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Robust, articulate and affordable." submitted September 9, 2014

By Mike M in House Springs, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 years. Electric acoustic bass drums sessions.
Music Style: Blues Pop Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: For the size, weight, simplicity and cost, this J-35 is remarkable. Needed luthier set-up always required with a new instrument. Baggs absolutely kills. If you are tired, as I was, of the "low-end" guitars made by the giants, get one of these. It will last longer than you will.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson J-35" submitted October 9, 2014

By Mike Mitchell in House Springs, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro 45 years. All styles except classical.
Music Style: Blues Pop MOR Be-bop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The J-35,is exceptionally light, vibrant and robust with great mid-range, bass and sustain. The Baggs also surprised me with it's strength and clarity. If you are playing mid-level guitars from other makers, you might wish to try one of these.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 160M-KM6W. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!