800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15GF-GD3V
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson CS-336 Custom Shop

Carved from a single block of wood, this is the first tonally carved guitar. It creates a resonant and natural, wood-like tone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

Gibson CS-336 Custom Shop Customer Review submitted November 17, 2007

By a customer from methode-aecd.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: weekend rock and roller, been gigging since 1970
Music Style: hard rock, classic rock, metal
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: I would place the sound of this guitar close to an ES 335 with a hint of Les Paul. With the tone controls you can really vary the sound (just like most Gibsons) Feature: Guitar has the best materials and I love the design concept. Its slightly lighter than my Les Paul 59 RI's and the tone is just as sweet and woody. You can spend a lot more money and not get a much better tone. Ease of Use: This guitar is very easy to play. No problems with set up at all. I use 10 - 52 as I tune down half a step. The only complaint I have about the playability is the tight fit of my hand in the cut-away when playing in the upper registers (above G). Quality: Once again the quality is top notch. Mine is a flamed top in tangerine burst. I always get comments on how good it looks and sounds. Value: I believe this guitar is priced correctly for the build quality, tone and design. Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it. The Wow Factor: Already stated. It's nice to look at. It has great visual appeal, sound good, is easy to play, feels good in your hands, nice and solid, like a Gibson. Overall: Actually, I am considering purchasing a CS-356 (I wish they made one with the Varitone control, like my old ES-345).
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson CS336 Review" submitted June 14, 2012

By Vince Agwada in Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar since I was 9. Have played professionally since 1982.
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Jazz, Reggae, R&B, Funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Tone for days! I play a variety of styles and this is one of the most versatile guitars I have ever had the pleasure of playing. I really can't think of a scenario that it wouldn't be suited for and no; I don't work for Gibson... Feature: Just your meat-and-potatoes Gibson 2-humbucker feature set Ease of Use: Mine came setup perfectly out of the box. No problems using it at all... Quality: Overall it's pretty much perfect with the only exception being that the pickguard has some imperfections: There are black specks in the white layers of the pickguard that appear to be cracks but upon close inspection it seems as if it was cut while hot or something and some of the black plastic melted into the white. Not a deal breaker but I wouldn't send the axe back for something like that. Perhaps Gibson will send me another pockguard. Value: It's quite pricey but reeks quality so I'd have to say yes Manufacturer Support: Just got off the phone with them about the pickguard and they offered to send me a new one, no questions asked. The Wow Factor: Awesome tone, quality of construction, verstility make this a guitar that I just can't live without. Overall: Simply put, this is the sweetest axe not only that I ever owned but also that I've ever played! I own 20 guitars including a 72 Strat, 2 PRS Custom 24's and other goodies. They've all been in their cases since this beauty arrived.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Truly Incredible Axe." submitted January 19, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Cowboy Rock.
Back to Product Information
Sound: This guitar has amazing tone and sound.....the stock humbuckers are very full and lush.....lots of variation between pickup selection and tone controls. Feature: My only disappointment is that it does not have an ebony fretboard....I have since found out about the Kiefer Sutherland inspired model, but that is about $1000 more than I paid for mine. Ease of Use: Superb playability, absolutely love the carved body and how it hugs me when I play it.....extremely comfortable and lightweight. Quality: It did need a setup, and the nut was not cut very well, plus it was made of plastic...I expected slightly better quality control, but once it was et up to my specifications....didn't matter. Value: Worth every penny....I have owned this guitar for 7 months and it has become my main electric axe. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to use it. The Wow Factor: This guitar caught my eye one day in my local shop and I couldn't get it out of my mind. Went back to play it twice....wasn't really looking for another axe, but this one was too good to let go. Overall: Clearly one of the best looking, best playing electric guitars I have ever owned...I could easily see myself picking up another one or two in the coming years......
12 of 13 people (92.31%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Way Above Expectations!!!!!" submitted October 14, 2013

By earl e in orlando, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar for 40+ years. I own one guitar (and amp) for every genre of guitar playing.
Music Style: Classical, Jazz, finger style/melody, Bluegrass, 60's and 70's Hard Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: All I'm going to say about the CS336 is that if you don't buy it, then you've made a serious mistake.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"PRS VS Gibson, its a toss up, for the simi hollow body I decicided on the Gibson" submitted December 27, 2005

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, 30+ years
Music Style: Rock and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is good, but mine needs some pickup adjustments, the low E string is very loud when picked with the other strings, just needs pickup lowered no big deal. Feature: Mine came with a polish cloth, 4 picks, and a cord with intructions. I wish it would have inclluded a truss rod tool. Quality: Mine was gift so I do not think that the dealer did much of a set up on it, the intonation sucks, but again I am sure that it just needs adjusting. the nut is plastic and I plan on changing to either a bone or ebony nut, to me the tuners suck, they make a cracking noise when you turn, the look nice but dont really keep in tune Value: I think that it is priced right, after all it is a Gibson custom, electronics are great, great wood and finish and frets, justs tuners and plastic nut is not what I would expect from a custom shop Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: I have owned a ES 335, but this CS 336 is about the same size body of a Les Paul, Light weight and nice to hold, great to look at, I have the faded red with translucent finish
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THE GUITAR I WAS DEPRIVED OF AS A CHILD" submitted April 16, 2008

By a customer from NETZERO.COM
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Music Style: CLASSIC ROCK, BLUES, FIIFTYS AND SIXTIES POP, MOTOWN, R AND B
Back to Product Information
Sound: HAVE OWNED THE 336 FOR ABOUT A YEAR. BEAUTIFUL FINISH, EASY TO PLAY. BUT I DIDN'T REALLY LIKE THE SOUND AT THE HOUSE, SO WAS ABOUT TO USE IT FOR A TRADE IN. THEN TOOK IT TO REHERSAL WITH A NEW GROUP AND PLAYED IT THRU A CLASS A TUBE AMP......MAN AM I GLAD I DIDN'T TRADE IT OFF. THIS THING PLAYS REALLY WELL, SOUNDS GREAT CLEAN, AND WHEN YOU SATURATE THE AMP , IT ABSOLUTELY RIPS. GREAT GUITAR AT ANY PRICE. Feature: IT ALL WORKS FINE FOR ME. Ease of Use: UNLESS YOU ARE A COMPLETE MORON, THIS GUITAR WILL SOUND GREAT WITH A LIVE GROUP AND A DECENT AMP. Quality: TAKEN CARE OF THE 336 SHOULD LAST AS LONG AS ANY OTHER GIBSON...... AND THEY LAST A LONG LONG TIME, AND GET BETTER WITH AGE. UNLESS YOU ARE PRONE TO LEAVING THEM OUT IN THE RAIN, OR SOMETHING EQUALLY RETARDED. Value: I BOUGHT THIS ONE USED....1 WEEK OLD...GOT A REAL GOOD DEAL Manufacturer Support: SEVERAL YEARS AGO, I OWNED MY FIRST ES336. I LOVED IT BUT AFTER PLAYING MY FIRST GIG WITH IT, WHILE WIPING IT DOWN, I FOUND A HAIR LINE CRACK IN THE TOP. SENT IT BACK TO GIBSON AND THEY CRUSHED IT. THEY TOLD MY DEALER TO GIVE ME ANYTHING I WANTED OF EQUAL VALUE OR I COULD WAIT FOR A NEW 336. I DECIDED TO TAKE A 335 INSTEAD. WISH I'D WAITED FOR THE 336. BUT I'VE ALWAYS FOUND GIBSON TO BE FAIRLY HELPFUL. The Wow Factor: IT WORKS FOR ME Overall: THIS ONE IS A KEEPER. I OWN 26 OTHERS BUT THIS ONE IS PRETTY MUCH MY FAVORITE.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson's best guitar since the Les Paul" submitted March 6, 2007

By a customer from charter.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: jazz funk alternative blues rock metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Best sounding guitar I've played and it's probably my 15th guitar I've owned. I got mine setup from e.m. shorts guitars in kansas. Great shop. I hate to do it, but I have to take it on the road with me because no other guitar sounds or plays as good as it. Feature: It's a guitar, not a computer. Ease of Use: Plug it in and play. Quality: The finish they use (lacquer) sinks into the finish and reveals the flame maple top (which has ridges) that they use. I called up the shop and they said that is natural for that finish as opposed to nitrocellulose, which makes a sort of plastic=y "mask around the guitar. They said they use lacquer because it doesn't "Choke" the guitar and allows it to age. Makes sense to me and no one can see it onstage, but it still kind of bugged me. I've seen it happen on my other gibson guitars as well. Value: It's expensive. Best made and playin gibson I've played, but part of that is the design, I'm sure, because other Gibsons I've had have not been the best quality. Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: I get compliments on it all the time. I think it looks very "grand piano"-esque (I have the black finish). Overall: Amazing guitar. Best balance of good clean and distorted sounds I've heard in a guitar.
1 of 5 people (20%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I sent it back for a refund." submitted March 23, 2006

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobby
Music Style: blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound was flat and not I was not impressed. I looked forward to my delivery and when it came i was vey disappointed. Ease of Use: The strings came set vey high to miss hitting the pickups. I would expect a better set up from a custom. Quality: I was very disappinted in the vibrations from the 456 stings hitting the pick up from the 10 fret up . Not a good guiter for the price I paid. Overall: The way the guitar looks is great but the sound and payability was bad.
2 of 7 people (28.57%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15GF-GD3V. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!