800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 164G-P5H6
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson Thunderbird IV

Thunder indeed! With through-body construction and a 9-ply mahogany/walnut neck. the Thunderbird delivers cut-through-the-mix attack with a low-end thump.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"A Bass that you need to try" submitted October 5, 2010

By a customer from att.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, metal, blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: I love the sound of this bass. I play mostly rock, metal, and some blues. It's got great punch when toned down and clear notes when brightened. Feature: The case is beautiful. It's strong, the handle is placed so that it is well balanced, and it has a lock on it. The inside secures the instrument nicely and it also has a utility compartment which stores the bottle of polish and the neck rod adjustment tool that comes with the guitar. I wasn't real excited about the inside of my case being the color pink, but what the heck, it's still a Gibson! Ease of Use: The thunderbird's tonal quality is far superior to the P-bass that I used to play before I bought this bass. I personally find this bass very comfortable and easy to play, but I'm a tall, long armed person. It fits me well. Quality: You have to pick one up for yourself to appreciate it's craftsmanship. I have no complaints about anything on my bass. I've read that the head can crack if it's dropped, but like anything that I value, I don't go throwing it around. I feel that it is a sturdy, well made bass. Mine is a beautiful sunburst finish that shines like a new car. I have no problem taking it on the road because of the sturdy case it comes in, and it's steady on my guitar stand during breaks. If I had to pick a worst aspect of quality, I'd say that the balance is a little neck heavy, but not to a point where it affects playing. Value: Absolutely Manufacturer Support: I haven't used them, but band members dealt with gibson support and had no problems. The Wow Factor: I think it's the best looking bass out there. Mine has the sunburst finish that is just beautiful. Overall: I'll keep this bass until I die. If it was lost or stolen, I would die LOL. Seriously, I'd just buy another one.
21 of 21 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect" submitted April 15, 2014

By Brad Ames in Lancaster, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass, guitar, keyboard, Uke, Trumpet, and synth player.
Music Style: Electronic, rock, metal, classical, jazz, and experimental
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received this product a day early and it was set up right out of the box. The Zzounds team did an excellent job, and even though there was a recent billing error, it was solved quickly. I highly recommend this bass and their services to anyone needing a musical instrument or gear!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Gibson Thunderbird IV Customer Review submitted March 12, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: working musician
Music Style: blues, rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: The low-end sound of this bass is the best. It is incredible how thunderous this bass can sound and still be so incredible delicate the next moment. I've been using it in blues-, grunge-, punk-, melodic metal-, ...bands and it never feels or sounds out of place! Feature: The flightcase it comes in is perfect! Ease of Use: It has a slim and rounded neck, which results in great playability. The bass has got perfect ballance. In comparison to other basses i've had and played, the thunderbird IV makes it soooo easy. No effort required, so all the energy you put in results in better sound, better feel, .. the bass just allows you to lift your music to a higher level. Quality: It's a high-end neckthru gibson bass that comes in it's own, perfect fit, flightcase. This needs no further explanation! Value: it's an expensive bass, but it's worth it. don't settle for less or for cheap look-a-likes. Manufacturer Support: I always get replies within 24 hours after sending emails... no further experience. The Wow Factor: To me, this is the best looking bass around. I fell in love with it the first time i saw it! And i do realise its a love it or hate it bass, but i believe it to be a good thing! its got character. Overall: Well, all-in-all, this bass is it to me. you touch it, and i'll hunt you down...
35 of 40 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice sound, but quality control questionable" submitted February 23, 2013

By John H in Port Moody, BC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 years, retired semi pro who currently jams with friends
Music Style: blues, rock, metal
Back to Product Information
Overall: An okay bass that looks nice and sounds great, but from the factory the set up was poor, actually it was so bad it was laughable. Had to get it set up and waste more money. Gibson does not care unless you live in the USA, if you are from Canada or anywhere else they will ignore you and I still think they send their returns or factory seconds abroad.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2013 Gibson Thunderbird" submitted July 6, 2014

By Jerry K in Wake Forest, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 43 years, bass
Music Style: From hymns to rock and all points in between.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this as a 'blemished.' It had slight scratches on the back near the bottom (like from a guitar stand). The rest of the instrument was flawless. I favor Hipshot bridges, so I installed their Supertone 3pt replacement. I've wanted one of these T-Birds since the '70s because I liked Martin Turner's tone (Wishbone Ash). Although this is a modern version, it doesn't disappoint and in some ways better--like more balanced (no neck dive). The first thing that distinguishes it is the incredible sustain. The tone is warm; yet very nasty, aggressive, and loud. It loves being played with a pick. My other bass is a 6 string and my wrist is showing signs of arthritis, so I'm going back to a 4 string. The T-Bird neck is comfortable and less fatiguing. The blemished price made this a hard deal to pass up. The time is now.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"few instruments are "perfect" right out of the box!" submitted August 12, 2013

By rick s in windsor, ON
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: have played (bass) for about 35 yrs. play both professionally and for relaxation. own 14 basses covering a gamut of tone,scale
Music Style: classic rock, blues, prog-rock ocaisionally country or metal, if the band or venue requires it.
Back to Product Information
Overall: the overall tone of this bass (as with most decent quality instruments), depends partly on setup and the type and materials of the strings utilized. as another reviewer made mention of, my bass also needed considerable setup tweaking to improve the sound and playability. by installing a set of Roto-66's, gently and carefully filing the grooves in the nut, resoldering all of the connections from pickupsthru to output jack, and finally, adding a set of Schaller strap locks, I ended up with a really respectable, great-sounding bass! of course, many of these actions, no doubt, void the warranty, so I suppose one might want to consider having Gibson perform them, should they feel compelled to make such "improvements". (I have no idea what it would cost to have Gibson techs perform these changes before, or after original shipping, assuming the factory would even consider such "customisation" prior to original purchase).
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibso great quality of yester year but lacking in the future." submitted September 23, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active muscian
Music Style: crazy tecno pirate death metal.
Back to Product Information
Sound: the sound is what you expext nice and loud Feature: not a lot on the features basic and simple Ease of Use: realy easey to use neck and controls are simple Quality: after returning 3 thunderbirds the fourth one was great qulity. the first one i recived the bridge poped out of the body after two days of playing. the second one i recived was good for about a week, but the pickups went out. the third one i recived the neck was cracked(from the tip of the headstock to the third fret). but the fourth one i recived was top notch. Value: great quality and under 2k what a steal. Manufacturer Support: you will have be more successful trying to sue walmart than get a replie out of gibson. The Wow Factor: there are better basses out there but the gibson t bird is number two in its price range. The esp phoenix II i a t bird copy with active electronics nicer woods and cost 100 dollars more. Overall: overall its a good bass but not worth the hassle
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Gibson Thunderbird IV Customer Review submitted September 26, 2006

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Tonally it's so close to perfect I just... augh! Slapping may be a little padded on here, but not noticibly. Ease of Use: Yeah man. The neck is fast and slim. The pick ups are a good space from the strings, so... Quality: Damn right it's made well. Value: Well, it's definitely worth it, of course it would be nicer a little cheaper. The Wow Factor: HAWT.
18 of 26 people (69.23%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you want a bass guitar that renders respect upon introduction - provides studio quality sound at every turn and is a generati" submitted August 16, 2006

By a customer from bellsouth.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 16 years
Music Style: Rock, country. southern rock, classic pop rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I don't know what game the previous "rate(r's)" were watching but the Gibson=Thunderbird IV is a classic bass guitar. The tone is unmatchable in any other bass - the action is sooo sweet - the playability is tremendous and the overall style is unprecedented. This bass is one of if not the best bass guitars I have ever owned or played - I have played the Pedulla's and Lakeland's as well as many other heavy priced bass' - the only bass that comes close to the Thunderbird is my Fender Jazz American Standard - this is also a classic. Feature: The case that comes witht he Thunderbird is extremely nice. Ease of Use: From novice to expert the Thunderbird will improve and assist is smooth groovy playin'. Quality: It's a $1700.00 dollar Gibson? Of course the quality it top notch. Value: You get what you pay for - this bass is high end but it is worth every penny and I wouldn't take twice the price to sell. Manufacturer Support: Unsure - have not used. The Wow Factor: The Thunderbird, to me, is the best looking bass guitar out there. Overall: I own several bass guitars and the only one I play regularly is the Gibson.
16 of 25 people (64%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Gibson Thunderbird IV Customer Review submitted March 11, 2010

Sound: had one for 25 years bi-centinnial issue good bottom end nice high's.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Thunderbird, worth the wait!" submitted May 3, 2007

By a customer from cfl.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Cosmic American music
Back to Product Information
Sound: The best tone of any bass. Feature: Case has custom fit. Ease of Use: with the Hartke 5500 amp anything is possible. Those that own one,no explaination is necessary. Those that don't, none is possible. Quality: It's a Gibson. Nuff said. Value: Of course.(you get what you pay for) Manufacturer Support: See above. The Wow Factor: Thunderbirds aren't fer nerds. Figure it out. Overall: The search is over. After playing Fenders and Gibsons, Rickenbackers and everything in between over the last 35 years the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow is a T-Bird.
14 of 19 people (73.68%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"sorry guys... i hate it" submitted March 9, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbist
Music Style: punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: ive had much better. this may come ofm a shock but trust me. Feature: bag was awful Ease of Use: hard to play Quality: not really. a grade 7 could make one Value: too much i wasted 2000 dollars Manufacturer Support: yep. the said bite me The Wow Factor: dislike the looks alot... Overall: get an 8th grader to do it.
3 of 98 people (3.06%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 164G-P5H6. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!