800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 157V-1VL2
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson SG Faded Bass

Thick enough to shake the room, but crisp enough to project every note through the mix, the Gibson SG bass' tone is as legendary as the body it comes from.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Plugged and played." submitted August 22, 2013

By Jim Fowler in Okeechobee, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar and bass for 50 years. Play guitar, mandolin, upright bass and bass guitar.
Music Style: Bluegrass, Bluegrass gospel, Traditional and Contemporary Christian.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this instrument on line from zzounds two days ago and it was in my hands this afternoon in time for praise band rehearsal. I tuned, plugged, and played. Set up and intonation were spot on as best as I could tell. I may make some adjustments as time goes on, but I am very pleased with it as-is. This bass tunes very easily and has plenty of punch without sounding tinny. I normally play mandolin or guitar, so the short scale is perfect for me. This bass is lighter than most, as I was able to play using a piece of 1/4" nylon cord as a makeshift strap without any discomfort.Fit and finish are perfect. The neck joint is flush and cannot be felt at all. I ordered the brown color and the grain is really nice. Its called "worn" but is better described as a natural wood grain finish. The smell indicated it was finished with linseed oil, which is fine with me. Neck is straight and frets are finished well with no sharp ends sticking out.There is not a lot of glitz and glamour with this bass. There are no fancy inlays and even the Gibson logo is a screen print. It is, however a quality piece and a bargain at zzounds price.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I like it..I like it allot." submitted October 26, 2013

By Dave J in Illahee, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar/bass for almost 50 years. Am currently in a classic/country/southern rock cover band.
Music Style: Classic/country/southern rock, blues, country.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I had searched everywhere for this bass in faded brown and was told more than once that they were discontinued. I was about ready to give up when I found one at Zzounds...in faded brown...and for $100 less than a cherry or black one anywhere else. I ordered it on a Tuesday and it arrived (free shipping) on Friday, AFTER I had left for band practice. Saturday morning I unpacked her, tuned her up, and took a test run. Great sound unplugged. Looked her over closely and was impressed...okay, it's an all-mahogany bass, faded finish, no binding, nothing flashy. That's okay. Nice neck. Simple layout. Volume, volume, tone. Grover tuners. Frets finished nicely. Plugged her in to my Ampeg PF500 w/2x10 and 1x15. Plenty of variation in sound with blending pups and adjusting tone. Very pleased. Restrung with flatwounds and IMHO sounds better. Short scale took a little getting used to, but think my Jazz bass will be relegated to back-up duty. If you've considered getting a SS bass, this is a steal. Not much more than a SS Epi or Fender, but infinitely better.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get one as soon as you can" submitted July 22, 2013

By Donald U in Parachute, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50 plus years playing.
Music Style: Just about anything before 1980.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought my first Bass in 1961. It was a Fender Jazz Bass along with a Fender Bassman amp. Since then I have had almost every brand out there from Rickenbacker to a $99 pawn shop special. With age comes problems that a short scale, light weight instrument is the answer to being able to enjoy playing. The instrument is a very nice, well made beauty that I'll enjoy for probably the remainder of my years. The only thing I found that disappoints me about a Gibson made product is the lack of detail to the frets. I had to file almost everyone to get rid of the sharp edges. Shame on you Gibson.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson Short Scale SG bass" submitted December 29, 2013

By Andrew K in Newark, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 5+ years on bass, gig a few times a month
Music Style: hard rock, heavy metal, alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Wonderful bass, on the light side but serious tone. Not a lacquered instrument (hence the worn finish) but it looks and plays amazing. Hard to put down since I got it, would seriously buy another. Only complaint would be a few small places where paint was missed but overall amazing instrument. Neck is dark and full of bass, bridge is bright and can get jangly. Pots feel solid as do tuners.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't go by the specs" submitted April 24, 2013

By Malcolm C in Reno, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played multiple instruments for 30 years, professionally at times
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Country, Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is listed as a Gibson SG Standard Faded bass with gig bag. Mine came with a Gibson hard shell case...No complaints mind you, but my review would not be complete if I didn't mention that little tid-bit. Some other small inconsistancies...if you look at the specs it says it has two volume and two tone controls with a three way toggle switch and would lead you to believe the pick ups are identical, but if you look at the photo you will see the actual set up. There are two volume controls and a master tone with no selector switch, and it has a regular humbucker at the neck and a mini humbucker at the bridge. That's all fine. This is my first experience with Gibson's faded finish. It's not exactly how I pictured it would be from descriptions I've read. Rather than looking faded or worn, it just looks like they left off the gloss. For the price difference that is to be expected. I only brought that up because nothing about the finish looks worn. The bass plays very nicely...that is to say it fits my hand.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson SG Bass standard faded ebony" submitted December 26, 2013

By Victor Marin in Santa Ana, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 11 years playing, i play both guitar and bass, play bass in a band
Music Style: My music style is straight out rock and roll.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this bass, matched with my Orange head you get a great rock sound from this bass. The humbuckers do a great job of giving you different tones also.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WOW!!!!" submitted March 29, 2013

By Jack D in Seattle, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Small gigs, practicing at home, a year of music experience
Music Style: Rock, Metal, reggae, funk, anything
Back to Product Information
Sound: A deep, muddy tone that can become a chameleon and make any sound. Feature: The labeled knobs, the short scale, all of the contributes to any easier playing experience. Ease of Use: Incredibly playable, easy to wow with, no hum or buzz to be seen anywhere. Quality: The faded finish is fantastic, giving the entire bass a retro feel and a great, worn look. The entire bass is built with great care, and it is a high quality death machine of bassy goodness. Value: This bass is a steal for the money, considering basses only slightly better are twice the price. If you need a good bass for any environment, this is it. Manufacturer Support: I did not really have to deal with Gibson on this, but from what I heard, the service isn't bad. The Wow Factor: WOW. Need I say more? Overall: This bass is the most amazing bass I have ever laid eyes on. Carrying a legacy that goes back to bands such as Cream and the Grateful Dead, this bass is sure to give you a kick no matter how you use it.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Superb" submitted March 24, 2013

By Felix R
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Punk, reggae, funk
Back to Product Information
Overall: Used by the likes of Jack Bruce, Phil Lesh, and Andy Fraser, this bass will never fail you. The tonal variety is astounding, the playability is incredible, and the look is just classic. The faded finish gives a vintage look to the entire bass, and it will play unbelievably through any amp. Simple, but a great bass. Do not hesitate to buy it.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 157V-1VL2. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!