800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 13ZH-5HW1
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gibson EB Electric Bass

The Gibson EB bass is back for 2013 -- and it features dual alnico humbuckers, Grover tuners, and a solid ash body for fantastic tone and performance.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Amazing bass!" submitted March 1, 2013

By Kyle L
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15 years, guitar and bass
Music Style: Garage rock, Blues, Punk,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The versatility is amazing. You can both tap and blend the coils on the humbuckers for a myriad of tones or just turn the bridge up to 10 turn the neck off and get the gritty thump of a p-bass. Handles a little bit of gain beautifully and really cut through the mix over both guitars. Feature: The coil tappable pickups are really fun for sure and sound great. I fell in love with it as soon as i opened the included white plush lined case. I love the weight of the guitar and its soft finish (I went fireburst) too, it is easy to play for extended periods. The glued in neck adds to its slim profile and is amazingly comfortable to play. Ease of Use: Very playable, fast neck, good tuning pegs, easy control system and thunderous tone from the humbuckers. Quality: Seems very well made, all the pots are nice and quiet and the frets a smooth and level. Value: Most defiently, had I bought a Fender i would have been planning mods from day one. New pickups, tone circuits, bridge, hardshell case. I am completly happy with my Gibson and dont plan to alter it, other than strap locks. Manufacturer Support: Well it showed up in tune... The Wow Factor: Everyone in the band loved it, the finish is beautiful, the big full tone, and the profile of the glued in neck really stand out in person, Overall: I was lucky enough to come across Zzounds right around the time my trusty old p-bass was starting to need some serious work. This bass can handle all the thump and growl of my old workhorse (modded with a bass lines quarter pound pickup) while also cleaning up beautifully.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Bass Players Bass" submitted May 15, 2013

By Frederick S in Richmond , VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Play professionally for over 25 years
Music Style: Rock, Punk, Ska, Funk...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my first purchase from zZounds, it won't be my last. After years of playing mainly Fender and Music Man I purchased my first Gibson. What a great bass!! The coil tappable humbuckers give you so many tone options. The bass itself is beautiful, the hardware is top notch, and it even comes with a hard shell case. I'm very pleased with my first Gibson.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Huge, Full Sound! " submitted December 9, 2013

By Robert W in cocoa beach, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass Guitar, Guitar, Keyboards, 35+ years
Music Style: Rock, Alternative Rock, Reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The pickups make this bass. You can go from roar to slap to pbass to jbass to anything you want. Once I got it set up with nice low action it has a tone that to me, to die for. I couldn't be happier with my purchase or with Zzounds!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson EB Electric Bass (with Case)" submitted December 19, 2013

By Joel M in San Francisco, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock 'n' Roll, Blues, Country, Folk, Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've had my new Gibson EB Electric Bass for about 3 weeks now and can offically say that I am very happy with it. I've played 3 shows with it and have gotten several compliments on the sound. It's nice and beefy. At first, it was a bit to middy for my taste, but by making adjustments and pushing and pulling knobs, I've found the ideal sound. It also weighs much less than the Gibson Victory I've been playing for the last 30+ years, which is great on the old bones and muscles.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"New EB Bass" submitted June 20, 2013

By TheBassMAN FromATF in funkytown, AK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playin for 25 years, kinda professionally!!
Music Style: ROCK,HIP HOP,METAL love it All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Different style bass for a change, definetely a good purchase!! Quickly finding myself turning into a Gibson guy, Jazz bass has been collecting dust since I got my new bass. 907 ALASKA THUNDER FUNK
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson EB bass (natural finish) with Gibson case." submitted November 17, 2013

By Bruce Correiai in Lincoln, RI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This bass is a quality piece in every aspect. A great feel, an awesome sound and a style that is elegant and stands out. I highly recommend it; awesome !!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"gibson eb electric bass (with case)" submitted October 6, 2013

By joe milliner in asheboro, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing 45 years bass acoustic guitar some piano
Music Style: classic rock beach and todays christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: nice bass for the price needs to be set up differently getting some buzz from high note strings excellent case
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson EB Bass" submitted June 22, 2013

By Timothy S in Evergreen, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: over 30 years of playing bass in church
Music Style: Christian,Southern Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: this bass is awesome. I have dreamed of owning a Gibson Bass for many years but could never afford one, Thanks to zzounds,now I do. This is the perfect bass for any style of music you could play.the dual humbucklers,the glued on neck, and the Gibson name, I Love It.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson EB Bass BUY IT!!!!!" submitted December 18, 2013

By Jason S in Baldwinville , MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Former Pro now bar scene regular
Music Style: Classic, Southern Rock to Big Band Swing
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What a great bass !!!! gives me the sounds of both my Fender Jazz and P-Bass as well as Music man punch. Works great for every type of music I have thrown at it. Pull this knob turn the tone and its a different bass I LOVE IT!! My only complaint is the finish on the wood seams cheap for a Gibson not to fill the grain and color match the neck but for the price I can live with it or have it refinished I hope they offer a "standard" version someday with a high end finish.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson EB Bass" submitted June 22, 2013

By Timothy S in Evergreen, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: over 30 years of playing bass in church
Music Style: Christian,Southern Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: this bass is awesome. I have dreamed of owning a Gibson Bass for many years but could never afford one, Thanks to zzounds,now I do. This is the perfect bass for any style of music you could play.the dual humbucklers,the glued on neck, and the Gibson name, I Love It.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 13ZH-5HW1. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!