800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 146G-4XC0
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Gator Deluxe Rack Case

Military-grade polyethylene makes for a super light but incredibly tough shell on the Gator deluxe 19" rack case. Its ridges make stacking cases easy.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Nice Quality, Nice Looking" submitted October 3, 2012

By Bill G in San Francisco, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've played music for over 40 years. I started on bass and now play classical guitar. I also do live sound and recording.
Music Style: Classical, Folk, Rock, Standards
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: N/A, since this is a case Feature: VERY STACKABLE. Ease of Use: N/A Quality: High quality and good looks. Should last a long time. Nice cosmetically, very sleek, everything fits and functions fine. Value: Is this good value? It is much lighter than my old plywood and felt cases (and lighter than the old shallow 3 rack space SKB I was using before), but not as Eco-friendly. I think it could be priced a little lower, but I got mine on sale, so I can't complain too much. Manufacturer Support: I have not had to deal wit the manufacturers so far. The Wow Factor: Very pretty and seems to be able to keep looking good after transporting to and from gigs. My old case was looking pretty threadbare, this one is shiny and doesn't scuff as easily. Steel components are higher quality than the old SKB as well, even though I like my old SKB and it served me well. Overall: I use mine to house 2 mic preamps, an ART Pro MPA2 (2 rack spaces) and an MXL MPAC 1 (1 rack space) I think this is quite a bit nicer than the 10 year old SKB roto-case I had been using. Its lighter by far, even though it is larger, and it is less prone to scuffing so its good looks should last longer. I read one complaint about not enough rack screws, but I had enough to mount 2 units (they were already in the rack) before I even undid the plastic bag that contained the other 8. Mathematically, 16 screws is ALL you would ever need, and they come with nice rubber washers. This thing looks SO MUCH BETTER than the usual textured plastic, and presentation is important for a musician in some cases (no pun intended). Latches are solid and easy to open. The rubber handles are comfortable and strong. No shock mounting---shock mounted cases cost more. Still, it should protect the gear if it gets dropped since there is enough room between the case and the devices it houses. I'm happy with mine. I kind of wish I'd gotten the SHALLOW model (designated by an S) but looking on the bright side this way I have enough room to transport cables, mics and headphones in one enclosure.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Well worth the money" submitted August 7, 2007

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, Active muscian
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: N/A Feature: I would like to see the clamps on the lids rather than on the case. That would make more sense to me. Ease of Use: Everything I have mounted in it has fit just fine. The locks are nice also, just don't lose the keys! Quality: I have had the 4 space rack for about 5 years and put it through a lot and never had a problem with it. Value: Why pay more for something with a "better" name on it. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: In the future I will probably buy another one, as my equipment grows I will need a bigger one or just get another 4 space. Like I said before, why pay more for a name. Overall: I will have this thing until the day I retire from playing music!!!!
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Does what it says. However..." submitted January 25, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer, Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Alternative
Back to Product Information
Sound: NA Feature: Has everything I want. Stackable, portable, light, durable, lock, double-sided opening... etc. However, the product COULD have had more features for the price. They could also include more screws with washers! Quality: Well made, but the left-side of the rack mount strips are tight for the screws to mount the units you wish to install. This was the biggest issue. Value: Not worth the price since all it consists of is empty space, some metal and plastic. Manufacturer Support: NA The Wow Factor: Practicle addition to my setup. Since it is such a deep item and the lids are very annoying, I will probably exchange it for a hard case with zip-lids and soft covering. I thought the case would be easier to use... no dice. Overall: It does what it is supposed to do, but not very easy to use... read above to find out why. The tight left-mount was the biggest issue. You don't want to risk ruining the case or your precious units when screwing things in!! I will more than likely be looking for another case.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You get what you pay for , more or less." submitted December 4, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: full time musician
Music Style: all styles
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: n/a Feature: As far as features, it tries it really does to give you more for the money. But, the rack cannot be placed on a table because the cover must be angled below the rack and put through safety brackets (that don't really need to be there) so you must slide it over to the edge of the table to place the cover on, not good. It comes with keys and locks to keep the help from messing with your gear on multiple night gigs. But, I bet most musicians will lose the keys (I know I would ) so I'll never use them. It is very lightweight and for me that is good. I am over 50 now and am sick of lugging heavy gear. Small and light is what I want. But the tradeoff is it will be less durable so take care of it. Lastly, I bought a Behringer RX202FX mixer (small, light, packed with features.. but!) to use with it. This will NOT fit into this rack. Behringer better fix the rack ear problem on this unit because the unit is 19 1/8th inches wide! Too wide to fit in this rack which will not allow a unit to more than 19" exactly or the cover won't close right. Shame on Behringer more than Gator. Ease of Use: It would be easier to use without the safety brackets for the covers, they get in the way and are hard to fit in a hurry or in the dark or when on a table/any larger surface. Quality: hey are lightweight which is good but the tradeoff is they are more fragile than most racks. Value: It is value priced but it is also cheaply made so you be the judge. Manufacturer Support: Don't know about support. It's a rack case. The Wow Factor: I want one like it minus the bad and more of the good features. Overall: Measured against all racks it is on the low end. You get what you pay for.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Gator Deluxe Rack Case Customer Review submitted July 12, 2006

By a customer from mcrlawgroup.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Musical Background: hobby
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great buy. It has been super durable and I like to locks. Currently buying a 6U and have a 4U. Feature: lock is great Ease of Use: getting lids lined up the first time with the lock, but easy after first time
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It's a case" submitted October 19, 2007

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording Engineer/Producer
Music Style: Rock, folk, adult contemporary
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: N/A Feature: It's a case. Whatever. I just wish that the lids opened differently. Right now there's sort of a hinge thing on the bottom which requires whatever end you're opening to have a few inches below it, which is a pain when you don't have a table or something nearby. Ease of Use: It's a case. How difficult can it be? Quality: People moan about Gator cases. I don't see why. I have a Calzone case here too. They both do the same thing. The Calzone case can probably be hit by a truck without getting a scratch on it while the Gator case will be pretty damaged. It doesn't matter if the case lives, because the gear would all be destroyed if it's hit with enough of an impact to break the case. Value: The cheaper of the cases, but I still think that they're charging too much for them. It's just a plastic shell with a metal frame inside. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: It's an ugly thing, but whatever. It's functional. It carries my gear and keeps it safer. That's all that it needs to do. That being said, my Calzone cases look one hell of alot sexier. Overall: It's fine.
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you want quality and road worthiness, look elsewere." submitted October 20, 2006

By a customer from cox.net
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Experimental Progressive Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: N/A Feature: It included a pack of screws for mounting the processors. I wish the would place the clamps on the covers, not the case itself. And the cover hinge hooks should be on the top, not the bottom of the unit. Ease of Use: It's awkward to open and close. Quality: Had I known this product was manufactured in China, I would not have ordered it. The structural material is inferior to SKB, very flimsy. It would simply hold rack processors, it will not last with road use. It may last a month on the road. A condom offers more protection. Value: It was not worth it. The Gator's material is a cheap, thin-walled plastic. Manufacturer Support: I have not attempted to contact them. The Wow Factor: Function over form in this case. Overall: I may have saved some money by purchasing the Gator, 10 space rackmount over the SKB 10 space, but I got what I paid for. I consider this my mistake, I didn't do my research. I have already replaced this Gator product with an SKB. I do not like Chinese quality standards in ANYTHING, and the Gator is now a trash basket at our rehearsal studio.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"buy a better one" submitted March 7, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: pro
Music Style: jazz,r&b,rock,funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I hate the hinges they put in this box.It's a pain in the rear.I think the box is made very cheap. the box sways in the middle and is not very sturdy for handling heavy stuff.I sent it back. Feature: the hinges are not a good addition to this rack. Ease of Use: if sitting on tht floor or table ,you can't open the covers. Quality: POOR Value: over priced Manufacturer Support: they took it back The Wow Factor: good looking
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Poor Quality!" submitted March 7, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Manufacturer Support: Gator will not return calls or answer emails. I am trying to get parts for a roller rack handle. I have contacted them 4 times and do not get any reply at all.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 146G-4XC0. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!