800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16G4-ZY8N
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender Super-Sonic 22 Amp

This tube combo amp packs a Super-Sonic punch with two gain stages and 22 screaming watts. With its footswitch and onboard reverb, it's all the amp you need.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"It should be my last amp purchase..getting too old for this." submitted November 7, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, Weekender, Session Player
Music Style: BROTHER BOB FUNK, ROCK, BLUES,& SMOOTH JAZZ
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I had a Fender Deluxe RI 22 watter used in conjunction to my Marshall 50 watt Vintage Modern rig. I loved the clean of the Deluxe but I kept wishing that amp had some serious gain and distortion on another channel. This Supersonic 22 filled the bill nicely. I don't need or have the Marshall anymore. I can't wait to pair the Eminence Speaker on the Fender with a Celestion Vintage 30 Loaded 1x12" cab. 22 WATTS LOUD ENOUGH- I SOLD MY PEAVEY JSX 2X12" COMBO WITH 120 WATTS.. because Heck yeah it's loud enough. I and my listeners enjoy the tone more, now. The amp tone guide that comes with the amp stays on my amp..very useful. Feature: It has everything I need. I sold my huge pedal board of Distortions and overdrives and kept the Line 6 X3 Live,..BECAUSE I'M EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH THE DISTORTION CHARACTERISTICS OF THE SUPERSONIC. The pedal board supplied is great. Ease of Use: The amp comes with manual-how hard is that? I keep the amp setting placard on my amp for quick settings tweaks for different styles of music and different tones. Very useful.-Thanks Quality: I've owned Fender for 48 years From Blackface, Silverface ,Evil face, Red Knob,Rivera, M80's,with JBLS, WITH UTAHS, WITH JENSENS. THE AMPS ARE STILL SATISFYING SOME PLAYER out there in the world. This by far is my favorite Fender amp. My Silverfaced Super reverb is my 2nd all time fave. it took Years to find My favorite amp. Thank You Steve Vai. Value: ZZ ZOUNDS MUSIC WILL MATCH WHAT COMPETITORS ADS ARE BUT WHEN SUPPLIED WITH THE RIGHT INFO DOCUMENTING THE ADS..ZZ ZOUNDS DID DO BETTER THAN THE ADS. I SAVED SOME SERIOUS MOOLAH ON MY SUPERSONIC as with ALL my PURCHASES. THANKS ZZOUNDS..You Are My Mates. Manufacturer Support: I've used them- The Fender Corp. Support.. for my Strats.. getting Guitar info on my resale purchases. Very quick and courteous in response.-Thanks mates for the great info over the years. I've not had to use them on amp problems. The Wow Factor: Private on sex Appeal. I'ts a practical addition to my rig for sure. Overall: I would buy it again for all reasons.
21 of 21 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A really nice, versatile amp!" submitted December 12, 2013

By Mark J in Rhinebeck, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 year jammer and hobbiest
Music Style: Blues/Classic Rock/Indi Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got this amp because I love fender cleans and breakup. I had been thinking of getting Princeton Reverb and that led me to the Deluxe Reverb which led me to the Supesonic 22 since it shares the same clean channel as the DR so I thought it would be great to have the clean of the DR and the burn channel to boot. I was hesitant because there is a lot of talk on the web of reliability issues with these amps and of course the popping sound when switching channels etc. While there is some hiss, especially on the burn channel it's less so than say my AC15C1 or my Carvin Nomad. A clean power source is helpful in that regard and it's really quite when given a clean power source. It's got really good FX loop and the reverb is everything you'd hope to have out of a fender amp. For me I think the burn channel has some great sounds and you can get some very decent dirt without a boost pedal etc.. The two stages of gain allow you go from compressed distortion to thicker, dirtier tones. If there is one gripe I have with the amp it's probably the speaker. It's 22 watts so it's reasonably loud and I'd say you could get away with gigging in small clubs no problem. Anywhere a Deluxe Reverb works this will. However the speaker doesn't like to be pushed too hard. I ran this through an old Seymour Duncan 4x12 Cab loaded with Celestions G12-75Ks and, MAN, did that sound sweet. But when you start turning the volume up around 12 o'clock the speaker gets a bit unhinged. The nice thing is that the stock speaker does a good job at bedroom and moderate volumes. I noticed it did get better at higher volumes as it started breaking in but I ended up putting in a WGS Retro 30 which handles the higher volumes better. Overall Im happy. It's really versatile and while it's not cheap, it's not too expensive for what you get and that includes a footswitch and fitted cover. With the burn channel you can go from classic fender to pretty heavy rock(not metal) in an instant. I hope it lasts the test of time.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"just what i always wanted" submitted October 21, 2013

By RICHARD McCOIG in LEXINGTON, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: BEEN PLAYING 37+ YEARS. I PLAY GUITAR, BASS AND DRUMS. I HAVE PLAYED ON THE ROAD AND LOCALLY. STILL DO ONE OR TWO GIGS A MONTH.
Music Style: ROCK, COUNTRY,R&B,DANCE AND BEACH.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: WOW.....I had always wanted a nice classic fender tube amp. I have played many, many amps over the years. the twin reverb was always a favorite. now that i'am older and we play smaller bars it was time to get something more controllable. fender hit a home run with this one. when I play it at home the volume is on 11/2-2. smooth and sweet. I could sit and play the clean channel all night long. man...when I took it out to the gig...the volume was on 5-6 and wow....talk about an amp sounding like an amp should...CLEAN WITH JUST A TOUCH OF GRIT AT THIS VOLUME using a Strat. reverb is awesome but very easy to get too deep. put it on 3 and forget it. Burn channel is something i'am not use to on a fender. I am now addicted to it. My normal overdive is now just a boost for solo's. never have I BEEN THIS SATISFIED with an amp. Fender...you still rock.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"So many tones in one amp." submitted May 3, 2012

By John R in West Chester, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play live with a hard rock and blues band
Music Style: Blues, rock, country, Christian. Anything a Stratocaster on the edge of breakup fits in.
Back to Product Information
Overall: First, believe the hype, it sounds awesome and is VERY LOUD for 22 watts. The good: All the fender clean tones from black face to bassman. The 2 gain stages does away with and tube screamer need. The re-verb is perfect. The look, perfect the foot switch, awesome. I can go from any clean I want to More gain than I will ever use. The bad (for some of us): there is no bedroom volume here. I can not get the volume over 1 in my apartment. 22 tube watts is a gross understatement. I went with the 22 hoping that I could use it at my home. It will take an attenuator to accomplish that. Not really "a bad" but, the only thing I wish I could change.
13 of 14 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A used but Super Sonic 22." submitted February 22, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, Technician
Music Style: Clasic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The Super-Sonic 22 came to me with the reverb not working. As a amp tech for a Fender authorized repair facility, I troubleshot the problem as a bad reverb tank. Upon opening the reverb tank I found the ground wire for both the input and output connectors broken off. I solder them back in place and the reverb worked fine. My boss will be filling a claim with Fender because I called and registered the amp for the warrantee coverage. This amp has a characteristic Fender clean channel and great reverb. The fat feature on the clean channel really packs a punch for the haevier blues/rock I like and the burn channel has a great range of tones and distortion with the two gain controls and post tone controls. The only thing it did not have that wass part of the "65" Deluxe Reverb was vibrato/tremelo which I fixed with the Eric Clapton pedal's Leslie effect run through the effects loop, just turn down the output control and it work well in both the clean and burn channels. Feature: The amp came with a cover and 4 button foot switch. The foot switch does it's job very well and it's heavy construction should make it last for a long time. The only feature I would have like to have had was tremelo but I got around that with a pedal through the effects loop. Ease of Use: This amp delivers a good range of tones and was easy to learn how to use and change between them. Quality: Even though Fender has gone to using plywood (birch) in it's cabinets, the Lightning Bolt speaker has a great range of tones with a solid bass for a small (22 Watt) amp. Value: I think this amp is a little over priced and I bought because I got it at areduced price because it was used. Manufacturer Support: Yes, I registered the amp with Fender even though it was used they accepted my registration becuase zZounds is a Fender distributor. I repaired the reverb tank wiring. The Wow Factor: It is a very practical addition to my gear, 5 amps & 3 cabinets, 4 guitars. Overall: I have a tendency to stick with and improve my amps and build my own cabinets, so I will probably keep this one for a while.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good Job Fender!!" submitted March 9, 2014

By Michael Rollins
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for over 20 years. I mostly play at home
Music Style: Classic rock. Mainly Pink Floyd
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The super sonic 22 is a VERY versatile amp. The vintage channel gives you all the cleans that we love from fender (deluxe reverb, bassman) and it takes pedals great. Switch over to the burn channel and you will have all the gain you could ever want. Unless your into heavy metal, then this is not the amp for you. This is my favorite amp.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender sound" submitted April 7, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com in Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Although the overdrive channel isn't super high gain, it does have beautiful rock tone. The clean channel is exactly what to expect from a Fender tube amp. I use more pedals and efx so this is a super clean amp to put behind it and the "fat" circuit adds a nice low end to it. I'm happy.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Keeper!!" submitted July 21, 2010

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Live Performer
Music Style: Smooth Jazz, R&B, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is the workmans dream! True Fender Classic sound. Out of the box it needed time for the tubes to burn in. Easy to dail in a good Rhythm & lead tone with my Strat & Tele. Low end need a boost so I added a Roland 4x8 Cab and there it was the sound I needed to create the Baseman & Vibrolux tone. I love the way you can kick off the effects. I run a Boss Delay, EQ and Noise gate through the loop and now I need to sell all my other Amps. Feature: The floor switch pedal is built to last and the design is first rate. Ease of Use: It extreamly easy to get a great tone. My two fenders guitars have been modded by Pro's and this amp brings out the best in the Classic Strat & Tele sound. The Manual is basic but if you have been around you don't need it. The Boss EQ is not needed to get a good sound but this Amp like it and brings out the Bells & Punch when needed. Quality: I just received this a two days ago so I can really comment on reliability yet. I will not treat this like my Road Amps but will use it live on special events. It appears to be what I have been waiting for to replace all the heavy Mesa Boogies, Twins, Marshals that I own. After playin for 30 years you need something light that Kicks out tones Smooth as Silk & Breath Fire when needed. Value: I believe it is worth it! But then again I'll earn money with this amp. If your a Pro or just want to sound like one without breaking your back. This is it. All my friend own the Fender Blues Jr. and had them Modded. I cant wait to see them when they kick themselves for not waiting for this. Manufacturer Support: I've own many Fender Amps and only standard tube replacements was needed way beyound warrenty. Never had to deal with the Company. The Wow Factor: I have the Tan color it looks great with my VHT extension Cab. Overall: This is the keeper. Need different tones, it handles pedals with out loss of feel. I just wish it had a low Z output & a hard shell case. I will buy this again as soon as I sell all that heavy gear.
25 of 29 people (86.21%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender 22 supersonic / small block-big sound" submitted November 22, 2013

By Charles D in Glenwood, HI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Since 72', acoustic & electric guitar/electric bass/ukulele
Music Style: Acoustic and electric blues/blues rock/pop rock-heavier rock or heavy metal/traditional Hawaiian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've had mine for 10 months and it can be so smooth & clean or driven with tone that "all I wanna do is cry"! I highly recommend this amp and also the more powerful supersonic models if your budget allows. YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Amp , not a back killer " submitted July 24, 2014

By Peter Naughton in Neptune City , NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional touring musician/ playing for 35 years/Gear head/Keeping Zzounds in business
Music Style: Anything on any given day. If I'm sitting on a blue couch I'll tun blue. I'll play anything or any type of music depending on th
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I use 4 amps in my on stage rig. Basically two stereo set ups. This amp has a great sound without cranking it up to the point where it becomes an on stage distraction . The sound is pure fender, 22 watts is plenty I run a pair in stereo and that goes into a Bose L1 Model 2 w/2 bass modules. The Bose sends out the sound in a 180 degree pattern so the amp doesn't need to be in the monitor mix in most cases. Its great for small gigs when you just need to put a little bit into the FOH At a larger venue it is going through the FOH system anyway so it is not necessary to have all the super high wattage units on stage. The best tone is at about 4 on the volume clear channel and there is so much control on the dirty side because of the two gain controls. you can have a light break up or all out distortion without losing tone. Great amp great price and doesn't ruin your back moving it. The handle on the unit is rubber and mine broke on both units. They need to rethink the handles.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beyond Super!" submitted November 3, 2014

By Brad Miller in Florence, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Weekend Warrior - professional for 30+ years
Music Style: Rock, country, rockabilly.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I gig with this most weekends. I was a little skeptical that the amp would provided sufficient stage presence (and volume) with a mere 22 watts and a single 12" speaker. However, most people are truly amazed when I reveal that the amp is 22 watts. And the variety of great tones achievable is quite remarkable. This is the first amp I've consistently used the over drive channel on. It doesn't suck! I find myself using pedals less and less. If you're looking for a small combo amp that's incredibly versatile - blues, jazz, classic rock, whatever - consider the super sonic.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Super Sonic 22 - Avoid avoid avoid!" submitted May 9, 2014

By Lenier A in Lawrence, KS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home Recording - Guitarist since 2001
Music Style: Americana, Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the worst amp you could ever purchase. You will be lucky to receive one that works in the first place. If you do, it will need "fixes" before it is even somewhat usable. Even if it is fine, according to Fender's design, you will notice it is noisier than any other amp you've ever played. Far noisier than any other hi-gain amp. The clean channel is noisier than the drive channel, even with both channels volume set to zero. The reverb is noisy as well - forget turning it above 4, or your amp with volume set to zero will sound like the nastiest single coil with no wax potting. Zzounds also sent me two of these amps that were not in working condition as received. Even after having Fender replace the incorrect tube in the reverb circuit, and correct various wiring problems, the amp still is a piece of junk. I have since returned this amp to Zzounds.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16G4-ZY8N. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!