800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZM-QL0B
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender Lone Star Strat

The Fender Deluxe Lone Star Stratocaster has Texas Special and Pearly Gates pickups for plenty of twang. Don't mess with the Fender Deluxe Lone Star Stratocaster.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Fender Lone Star Star Deluxe Stratocaster ,play a legend !!!" submitted September 9, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro Musician ,Band leader of "The Ground Zero Band "
Music Style: Rock ,blues ,mostly original songs written by me ,and my other guitarist
Back to Product Information
Sound: This Strat really has it all .The selection of two Texas Specials single coils in the neck and middle positions ,a Seymour Duncan "Pearly Gates" in the bridge paints a wide palette of tones .This axe can used for rock ,blues ,country ,or even metal .It is kind of a "Swiss Army Knife" of guitars ,it does a lot things very well . Feature: The Lone Star Deluxe comes with a very nicely padded deluxe Fender gig bag ,Trem arm and adjustment wrenches .It was setup very well right out of the box .Intonation was spot on .The axe needed no adjustment at all (I have played over 50 years and own many guitars and usually have to do some setup myself ,but not this one ).As I had stated before the pick ups are excellent and work well together. Ease of Use: A real "player's guitar .Very responsive and great action .The manual is very clear ,and the guitar switching system is rather intuitive .Pretty straight forward ,all the way around . Quality: The Stratocaster is always extremely reliable .You could play out at a gig with no back up axe ,but I always play with at least one back up guitar ,not because I don't have faith in Fender (usually ,I use another Strat for back up ,and rarely, if ever, use it ).I have seven Strats ,and they are truly roadworthy .You can rely on Fender ! Fit and finish is really high quality . Value: This is a bargain price for the guitar you get .The pickups alone are worth the price of the whole axe . Manufacturer Support: I have had this Strat only a short time ,so I have not needed anything from Fender .My past few experiences with the Fender company have always been fine .I feel they support their product better than most companies ,not naming any names ! The Wow Factor: When someone says "electric guitar " ,I think Fender Stratocaster ! The shape ,and contoured body ,and famliar headstock give the Fender Lone Star Deluxe Stratocaster make this ,in my opinion ,the sexiest shape available any where .It is probably the most copied guitar ever produced .That alone speaks volumes of its popularity .It is truly a classic. Overall: I fully expect to keep this guitar forever .I own more Strats than any other guitars .I love the Duncan "Pearly Gates " in the bridge position ,it is a nice change and adds a lot more flexibility for the person who only owns one axe .There is really nothing at all I would change about this guitar .As soon as I received this axe and played it ,it was like an old friend .
25 of 25 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A winner with unbeatable value!" submitted December 24, 2010

By a customer from netzero.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Blues and experimental
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds very good! This is my first experience with the Texas Special middle and neck pickups and they are a really good vintage sounding pickup with bell and chime, but with just enough added oomph to make me sound good live. The Seymour humbucker is just wonderful and if adjusted plenty low, balances nicely with the other pickups. The guitar has a really nice fret job and neck with just a few sharp edges here and there but nothing bothersome. Fast neck for a Strat. Feature: About as good as it gets feature wise. The pickups are top notch and really elevate the guitar into the pro level for live sound. The only thing "wrong" is the bridge saddle height screws are typical MIM, too long and they all protrude into the palm. Fender needs to put height compensated (ie the same as American Strats have) screws in their MIM line guitars. Ease of Use: Easy to sound really good on. Helps you rather than makes you "earn it" like vintage style Fender instruments do. Quality: Just excellent. I get compliments on the appearance frequently. Something about the tortoise pickguard (normally I dislike this color) over the white really is different. I do wish it came with the vintage style tuners, but these work very well indeed. Value: In comparison to my G&Ls and Fender American Vintage Reissue 62, the only picks are the poly finish (but it is vey smoothly done) and the bridge string height screws. The sound and playability is definitely pro level. Manufacturer Support: ZZounds stands behind their products. The Wow Factor: Nice, plays very nicely, really looks good and sounds great. Overall: It's a keeper. I am picky and can own any guitar made (and pretty much have), but this one is excellence and value embodied which makes it a first choice player for live shows. I got it as a "blemish" and I cannot find anything wrong with it... a much better sounding, equal playability and better looking guitar than the new American Standard Strat I just returned. The only level above this instrument would be Custom Shop.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Lonestar Strat" submitted November 18, 2012

By John N in San Antonio, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 48 years (not the whole time). Been gigging at least twice weekly for the last 2 yrs.
Music Style: Blues, rock, pop, a wee bit of jazz. Mostly, LOUD!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great Guitar! I was hoping to try this one, find it didn't live up to the reviews and send it back. I mean, how many guitars does one guy need? (apparently, at least 11). Unfortunately, I took this down to an open mic...plugged it into a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe...the first note (yes note...low E string open)...I realized I wasn't letting this baby go. It was like, "Stevie? Is that you?". I have at least 4 strats, inluding an American Deluxe, but none have this SRV tone...Texas Specials, baby...that's the ticket. So, now, do I need a Roadhouse to complete my collection? ... I mean, a real Strat has to have 3 single pole pups...right? No, I don't like the way the bridge bucker LOOKS, but OMG, the Seymour Duncan Pearly Gates just jacks it up a notch, tone and volume. So, if I could only have one, it'd be the Lonestar...wonder how long before I'll cave and get the Roadhouse? OK, dear Fender: one tiny mod: wire the tone like you do the EJ strat. As is, the bottom tone knob affects bucker and middle SP. That means that the bottom tone affects 4 of the 5-way switches positions. IMHO, in general, the neck and middle pups can run full treble. Bridge pups can get trebbly, tho. And if my bottom tone control only affect the bridge PUP....well, that'd be the cat's meow. I know, I know...just gotta figure out which wire to clip on the 5-way. I'm just sayin'. And all my Strat whammy bars are...well, inconsistent and less than great. OK, that's all my complaints. I bot the tobacco sunburst. If you want the looks to WOW people, get a different color because EVERYBODY and their brother has a tobacco sunburst Fender product. But I'm loving mine. The neck lacquer has an orange tint which is very cool...looks like a vintage axe. Summary: alder body, rosewood neck, Texas Specials and Pearly Gates...what's not to like?
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"1 Stop Shop 4 Blues-Country-Rock" submitted February 8, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock-Blues-Gospel-Jazz
Back to Product Information
Sound: The tone of this guitar is ideal for blues and rock. Not by any means a shredder but the syprisingly effective tone pots make it great for most genres. The Texas Specials singles and the Pearly Gates humbucker complement each other perfectly. Very versitile, great for a player who wants the snap and bark of a classic Fender but also howl crunch associatied with a vintage Gibson. Feature: This guitar has decent features and the pickups are superbas well as the tone pots. I would have liked to see factory locking tuners and the original two-point tremelo that was on the original American made version.These are all easy upgrades that are just a matter of taste. Overall the guitar looks as you would expect an old favorite guitar to look. The brown sunburst finish with the tortoise pickguard is especially beautiful and apparently durable(I dropped one from about three feet and there was barely a mark). If your style isn't exacly of the vintage persuasion,the 21 fret neck, vintage style tremelo and the limited color choices send you looking for an original American made version which was basically an upgrades standard model. Ease of Use: This definite plug and play guitar. Sounds great through almost any amp. Players who use tube amps will especially love the amount of tones you can get from this amp. Everything from super snappy country licks to than the Southern rock overdrive to that Hendrix/Cream 60s style rock & roll.I pair it with multiple amps and pedals and it sounded incedible. If you are a minimalist like myself, you'll love the amount of tone you can coax out of this guitar with a just an amp, and instrement cable and a few tweaks of the tone and volume controls. Quality: Solidly made guitar. I plan on buying one and it will more than likely be the guitar that travels. The looks, quality construction, and price make it a great guitar for gig use. I will probably change the tuners though because I prefer locking tuners. Value: Great value for a player looking for a versitile guitar that looks good and can stand up yo reasonable abuse. Its right at home in smokey bars and clubs. Manufacturer Support: Ive never dealt with fender in that manner. The Wow Factor: The brown sunburst finish reminds you of a bygone era in music. This guitar has the ability to exude chiming highs as well as a bluesy barking lowend growl. The sound reminds me of many of my favorite guitarist and the versitility is great for getting te "creative" juices going. If you like that vintage look with out the relic type aging this guitar will make you drool with delight. Overall: If this guitar were stolen I would definitely buy another. It is a wonderfully versitile guitar that any guitarist could find useful.
31 of 32 people (96.88%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very good value" submitted August 31, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Just learning
Music Style: Blues/Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: My wife bought this Fender Deluxe Lone Star Stratocaster for me as an early Birthday present and I am very impressed to say the least. I was looking for a blues-rock sound and get it thru the guitar, but have to work at it as I have a Peavy Vypyr 75 amp which is more confusing for a starting out novice like myself. Feature: Kinda ok gig bag, nothing special and will most likely get a hard case if I ever leave the bedroom with it.... Ease of Use: I don't really hear much tone difference in the 5 way selector switch once you come off the humbucker. Tone knob does is not very defined as well. Quality: Pretty impressed with the quality.... Value: Great value for the money..... Manufacturer Support: No problems yet.... The Wow Factor: Love the looks.... Overall: Will never sell this guitar, but am looking at getting a used Les Paul as well
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great strat. Get it." submitted May 18, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Band Leader
Music Style: Indie Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar sounds amazing. The upgraded pickups are fantastic. I especially love the overdrive sound with the humbucker. Feature: Really a great buy. For the money you can't beat it. I upgraded the tuners to the fender locking tuners and put an L.R. Baggs x-bridge in it and use it for everything. Ease of Use: Very playable. Needed a setup when I got it, the action wasn't right. Quality: Top quality. Value: Hard to beat. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed support. The Wow Factor: Lots of compliments on the look of this guitar. Overall: I'll be playing this one for years.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Value" submitted April 9, 2014

By steven r in rowley, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, playing for 18 years, Own a MIA PRS, MIA Tele, Vintage Gretsch Semi-Hollow, MIJ Jackson
Music Style: Southern Blues, Rock, and Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is such a nice guitar. I purchased a B-Stock for ZZ and it is in great condition. Frets are great, but I still ran my fret file down the side to get them 100%, it took about 2 minutes. Set-up was perfect. This guitar stays in tune better than all my other guitars including my MIA Tele and MIA PRS. I liked this guitar so much that I scored a craigslist deal on another one. It sounds great and is so versatile with the HSS style pickups.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THIS IS ONE FOR YOUR COLLECTION!!!" submitted November 21, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ACTIVE MUSICIAN
Music Style: GOSPEL/JAZZ POP/REGGAE
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: GOOD TONE IT VARIES FROM AXE TO AXE THOUGH, BUT THE CLASSIC STRAT SOUND AND BITE OF THE S/D PICKUP SINGS Feature: SWITCH IS PRETTY QUIET ON THIS ONE, ALSO, I WOULD PREFER THE FLOYD ROSE THE NECK IS FANTASTIC ESPECIALLY FOR SOMEONE WHO ALSO PLAYS A SIX STRING BASS Ease of Use: IT'S A FENDER Quality: NO MATTER WHAT ELSE COMES OUT THE FENDER SETS THE BAR Value: COULDN'T BE A BETTER PRICE FOR THIS PRODUCT Manufacturer Support: NEVER NEEDED TO The Wow Factor: ACTUALLY. DID NOT NEED ANOTHER ONE RIGHT NOW BUT FOR WHAT WE PLAY IT AFFORDS ME ANOTHER COLOR AND TEXTURE Overall: HOPEFULLY MY LAST STRAT BARRING ANY MORE HURRICANES
4 of 9 people (44.44%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZM-QL0B. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!