800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172D-7R4J
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Fender '72 Thinline Tele

With two Fender Wide-Range humbuckers and an elegant f-hole in its semi-hollow ash body, this faithful reproduction of the '72 Telecaster doesn't disappoint.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The nicest surprise I've had in a long, long time." submitted August 23, 2009

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician - Audio Engineer
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, Blues, Rock, Jazz etc.
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar has a great clean sound and you can get a pretty nice snarl out of it as well. I wasn't to sure about ordering one, because no one seems to know what kind of humbucker pick-ups it has. I was extremely pleased with it when it arrived. It is one of my favorite guitars and I own Strat's, Les Paul's, SG's, Hammers, Carvins etc. Feature: It's a strait forward no frills kind of guitar and I like that about it. Ease of Use: This guitar is very user friendly. It takes no time at all to get a fantastic clean sound out of it. I use Marshall and Line 6 amps. It's just as easy to get an over driven sound out of it as well. Although, I use my Les Paul Studio and SG for the rough stuff. Quality: I was and have been amazed at the quality of this guitar right out of the box. I set-up all of my guitars my self and always have. This is the first guitar I have ever bought that I haven't had to do a single thing to. The intonation was dead on, the action was perfect. Everything from nut to wiring was set to go. I was extremely pleased. Value: I don't like to type this but, I think this guitar is worth a lot more than I paid for it. Manufacturer Support: I can't rate this, as I have never had to use the support system set in place by Fender. The Wow Factor: This is a beautiful looking guitar. I got the natural finish. It is the most comfortable guitar I own. Truly, from it's weight to the feel of the neck, I'd rather be playing this guitar than any of my other guitars. I play the others only when I am in need of their individual sound. Overall: I plan on owning this guitar until I hand it down to one of my grandchildren. (Thank God that should be a long, long time from now). I looked at a lot of other Fender Telecasters and quit-frankly the price and the humbuckers were the deciding factors. I figured if I didn't like the pickups I'd replace them with Gibson 57 humbuckers. Now, after playing this guitar I don't fell the need to replace them. I would definitely replace this guitar with the exact same type of guitar in a heart beat.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy this guitar." submitted January 27, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Singer/Songwriter
Back to Product Information
Sound: This guitar is best played through a clean channel on a Fender Twin Reverb amp. It's a wonderful guitar that has a fat tone because of the humbuckers and a slight jazz feel to the timbre because of the semi-hollow body. If you're looking for a Fender but want versatility in sound, this is what you're looking for. Feature: The features on this guitar are pretty standard. Quality: Fender has always made a good guitar and this one will last you a long time. Value: This is one of the best guitars in terms of versatility and getting the best bang for your buck. It is definitely one of the best sounding guitars you'll play, and the price is generally lower than most Fenders. Manufacturer Support: Fender is a huge company and so quality customer service can be hard to come by. The Wow Factor: I LOVE THIS GUITAR. Overall: Look no further. This has everything you want. Country, blues, rock, jazz... you can even get a dang sweet metal crunch out of it. What more could you want???
19 of 19 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"72 Telecaster thinline classic series" submitted March 9, 2013

By Bruce A in Charleston, WV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 years
Music Style: Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is fantastic! Extremely versatile, nice warm sound. This guitar plays as nice as my Gibson ES 335.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Fender '72 Thinline Tele Customer Review submitted November 18, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Avid musician
Music Style: acoutsic, blues, alternative
Back to Product Information
Sound: Since I've only played this guitar for about twenty minutes I really didnt get the full experience. But in that twenty minutes I played the best/most modestly priced guitar in my local guitar center. Feature: The pickups are amazing on this guitar and the maple fretboard is so nice to play on. Ease of Use: This guitar plays AMAZING. easy to use, and great for anyone with a little experience looking for a high quality guitar for a modest price. Quality: This guitar is light but it is a very well made guitar. The finish on it was stunning, and the feel of the guitar when you pick it up is unmatched. Value: This is the nicest guitar I found for a price under 900$ which was exactly my price range. Manufacturer Support: I would not personally know about the service but Fender is an extremely well respected guitar company and all of my friends who own Fenders say that their customer service is good. The Wow Factor: The "sex appeal" of this guitar comes from its stunning natural wood high gloss finish, and the nice semi-hollow body design. Also, the pickups give it a really sharp look overall. Overall: Since I've only played this guitar for about twenty minutes I really didnt get the full experience. But in that twenty minutes I played the best/most modestly priced guitar in my local guitar center.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice axe" submitted November 3, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Garage band
Music Style: Rock, blues, oldies
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great sound, like a mix of a Tele and a LP Feature: MIM guitars have no hand book, allen wrentch, etc. Ease of Use: 3 distinct sounds from 3 positions Quality: Looks great except for the F hole finish. I had huge pickguard static, crackle so I had it shielded and as quite as a mouse. I highly recommend the shielding to the pickguard and routings. Value: Good value as far as guitars are over priced these days because of mass production, machine made. Manufacturer Support: Not yet The Wow Factor: Sexy little girl Overall: I have had inlast 8 years, Washburn 335, Gibson ES333, MIM Strat, USA Strat, Gibson Studio, Epi Joe Pass, Deluxe USA Tele, Dark MIM Tele,Johnson 335, Godin ? and a few others. Out of all these, I like the Thinline the best, still have the Godin and Johnson, play through a Crtae V33 212.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great guitar that grows with the player." submitted March 8, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound from this is soo versitle. I play rock, and blues mainly. The only thing I've had problems with is a really heavy tone, but if you're in a death metal band the look of the guitar probably already put you off. I'd say it excels with blues and country. It has a great trebley tone, very twangy. I have a carvin 100 watt tube amp, and it sounds quite good through its clean channel, but I actually prefer it through my Blues Jr. for a distorted tone. Feature: Pickup switch, tone, and volume. This was my first guitar, and the simplicity is what drew me to it. What more can you ask for? Ease of Use: My only complaint is the fretboard finish. I think all maple boards are like this, so its not specific to this guitar, but the finish kinda slows my playing down. Its a very minor gripe though, and not a huge deal. Quality: It's held up for 5 years, and is going strong. I gave it a good bang when dropping it on a stair corner. It chipped the finish, but sounds fine, and no electronics are rattling around. It's certainly more than gig worthy. I guess I'd like smoother tuners, but it keeps tune so I'm fine with them. Value: I was put off by it being made in Mexico, but my friends American made Strat is in worse off shape than mine. Plus, there's nothing wrong with it. It's a quality product at a reasonable price. Manufacturer Support: Never dealt with them. The Wow Factor: I love the finish, and the shape. I don't like the pearl pickguard though. Someday I'll paint it, or replace it. Overall: Fantastic guitar, great for a beginner whose serious about getting into playing. It will grow with you, and allow you to venture into all different types of styles and playing.
7 of 9 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A GREAT BUY!!!" submitted August 1, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: recording engineer
Music Style: southern rock, rock, jas, country guitar is great for all of this stuff
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: this guitar sounds great no matter what!!! Its great acoustically and plugged. gets great clean sounds and great distortion. Feature: great materials!! comes with classy pick guard and 2 humbuckers. I do wish it had a tremola bud its ok cause it just doesnt look like a whammy guitar. Ease of Use: if u know how to set an amp good its very easy. there are 3 pickup settings and gets great sound of each Quality: the kneck has a perfect headstock off set. very easy to string holds tune.. great natural wood finish. itfell 4 feet on the headstock/neck ad nothing happened. no dings i took it in to make sure it was ok and nothing broke. yes its mexican but not completely the wood is cut in the us and the humbuckers are assembled all the electronics are fender USA made but it is sent t mexico to be put togerher. Value: great value easily a 1000 dollar guitar Manufacturer Support: i havent had problems with this guitar but my old fenders electronics were on te fritz and was able to get new pickups in 4 days Overall: i will keep this guitar for my life it was a smart decision it has played up to my expectations and have been asked by multiple pro's if it ws original.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"1972 Fender Telecaster Thinline" submitted May 11, 2005

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: I am rather keen on the sound, rich and deep. As a devoted, vintage Stratocaster owner/player I never much cared for the Telecaster but became increasingly interested after reading a review by a player owning one so I tried it out. Feature: I was disappointed that the guitar was made in Mexico and as such came with NO additional supplies or material. However, I could not afford an actual 1969 or 72 Thinline so... Quality: The ash body is beautiful and the pearl pick guard fabbie. I will say that on mine (noticed later in the light of day) that the F scroll was not completely finished. For now it's a bother but my grandson will probably say in 20 years it's relic. Value: In short yes. It's a bloody Fender and I got it at a very reasonable price indeed. Manufacturer Support: Portland Music Co. was very accomodating. I noticed the guitar at a another music store for $30 less and when I brought it to their attention refunded me the difference immediately. Wow. The Wow Factor: My boss (a very discerning palate) thought it quite beautiful. Overall: I love Fender guitars - it's all I'f play and I have a couple. To me Fender guitars are as shoes are to women, you can't ever have enough.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AMAZING. that about sums it up" submitted November 30, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: flat out awesome. Seriously the best sounding guitar ive ever played, especially through a Fender Blues Deluxe. Feature: Wood sounds great, humbuckers are great.. amazing Ease of Use: Plays beautifully, sounds amazing Quality: cant go wrong with Fender Value: The best guitar you can get for this price, if you have the money for something more expensive, save it and get this. Manufacturer Support: Fender all the way The Wow Factor: Great playability, amazing tone, nice looks, what else do you need? Overall: if you want a good guitar, BUY THIS ONE
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Love my Telecaster " submitted April 27, 2014

By Larry Merriweather in Fords , NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, Bass, Keyboards and Drums the
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"sweet guitar!" submitted July 27, 2014

By Rick Riner in Houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: intermediate, jam at home, with friends, entertainment
Music Style: rock, country, jazz, whatever..
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: this guitar was suggested to me by one of zZounds guitar guys, for my needs etc... I absolutely love this guitar! It is so versatile, I have a good Marshall amp and this thinline can deliver and sound I ask it to, country, rock, jazz, it does it all. It's semi light but solid, tuners are good, pickups are super sounding, had it a month and cant say one bad thing about it. If you want a expensive sound, and not spend the $, this is the guitar you want, you will love it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome!" submitted July 21, 2014

By Richard Riner in Houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: intermediate, jam at home, with friends, entertainment
Music Style: country, rock, blues,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this guitar, it is just what I was looking for, I play rock and country and play around with some other stuff. I have a good marshall amp and this guitar can produce any sound I want, it is so versatile, light yet solid, it sounds great no matter what I play. The tone is beautiful, good pick ups, I don't have huge hands and this neck fits just fine. I highly recommend if you don't want to spend thousands but want to sound like you did..
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy it!" submitted August 23, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Old School Rock, Blues, jazz. Good music! From Lynard Skynard, to The Faces to Red Hot, Ben Harper ...
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound would probably be more appreciated by Gibson 335 and Stratocaster lovers rather than pure telecaster. It is really nice, warm and bluesy on the neck, "Under the bridge" like in the middle position and screaming more like a telecaster on the bridge. Ease of Use: Very easy, holds the tune very well...even though I live in Hong Kong with average 90% humidity rate... Quality: Seems really well made. I had no grounding or buzzing or whatsoever issues. Value: I think you would hardly find a better guitar for this price. Looks and sounds awesome and its' really easy to plays. Moreover you can play it unplugged still have a nice sound...i think this is very useful when you want to exercise but it is 3 am! :) It's probably a great value for money. Manufacturer Support: cannot tell, as I have no experience on it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172D-7R4J. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!