800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 204-PYTF
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Fender Classic 50s Strat

The Fender Classic 50s Stratocaster offers original sound and feel. The Classic 50s Stratocaster has a one-piece Maple neck and vintage spec AlNiCo pickups.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great player!!!!!" submitted April 23, 2012

By cas ruiz in midland, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar, jam at home with friends
Music Style: blues and rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: its been awhile that i been after one of these....and i finaly got it. this thing is sweet.. great tone,feel, neck is perfect,color is great and on the money. this is my 5th guitar and this is just as good as the ones i have. this one is a keeper for shur.
11 of 11 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My Favorite Strat" submitted September 10, 2012

By Steve G
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30+/- yrs
Music Style: Contemporary Christian, Blues, Rock, Jazz
Back to Product Information
Overall: I agreed to consider a trade for a Classic 50s Surf Green Strat, even though I thought that I wouldn't like the color. However, when I saw the guitar I thought it was one of the best looking guitars that I had seen. The only thing that I plan to change on it is the pickguard. The solid white pickguard just doesn't match the beauty of the guitar. I have another MIM strat and a USA made Hwy1 (upgrade)strat and this one is my favorite. It looks great, sounds great, and plays great.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing Guitar" submitted June 9, 2014

By Matthew in st Catharines, ON
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur performing Band (bass and lead guitar)
Music Style: Blues, Classic Rock, and the black keys
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased the Daphne blue 50s strat and I absolutely love this thing. i will never sell this guitar I am absolutely completely satisfied with this product and if you are considering buying it buy it it is totally worth it
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My Main AXE!!" submitted February 8, 2014

By Humberto Gonzalez in Pharr, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been a musician since Im 12 (now Im 25) half of my life! Im a Studio recording artist and I play professionally
Music Style: Blues, Classic Rock, Spanish International!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been in the market for a versatile guitar, something that I would feel proud not only because of the look, but because of its sound. Im very selective on my guitars, but this guitar definately sound INCREDIBLE!! the pickups and the whole circuitry its awesome I cant believe this thing is a Made in Mexico (I dont have a problem with that) In fact I've seen that the Ensenada Shop in Mexico are coming with a GREAT sounding guitars over this past 3 or so years and this guitar pff!! its JUST AWESOME and for the price, just click the button and buy it you will NEVER regret it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Classic 50s Stratocaster - Maple" submitted May 18, 2014

By Terry F in Charleston, SC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Part time professional (real part time)
Music Style: Rock blues alternative originals
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Surf green is awesome, plays great, as good as a couple Americans I tried. Electronics kind of dull but not horrible.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"an honest review" submitted March 7, 2009

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active paid musician
Music Style: alternative/experimental rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar sounds like a strat is supposed to sound. everything resonates well, the sounds are bright and crisp. You can go from country twang all the way to creamy overdrive tones with a flip of the switch. the pickups hum a little, but i'll take that to have alnico pickups. It amazes me when people complain about pickup hum, because all of our favorite "classic" songs recorded by artists using single coils were recorded on pickups that hum. the hum is the vintage sound we long for. Also let me throw in that the pickups really work well together. They blend well, and if you are a person who likes to change pickups in the middle of a song for expression purposes, this guitar would sound great for that. My signal chain is as follows: strat - fulltone fulldrive 2 (older version with comp cut) - keeley bluesdriver - danelectro transparent overdrive (the best overdrive deal available) - danelectro cool cat chorus (9v) - Boss dd-5 - jim dunlop tvp-1 (trem/volume) - boss tuner - blackheart little giant with a weber blue dog 12" speaker mic'ed with a audix i-5. This setup allows me to push my amp, but not blow out the room when i play. Feature: feature wise, the guitar gets a 9, but the fact that it comes with a gag bag, i mean gig bag, knocks it down to a 7. The vintage tuners work well if you know how to use them (mine are holding tune great!). The trem works just fine (of course i'm usually a hardtail kinda guy, so take that fwiw). the pickups sound good, and at least it includes some sort of protection (even if it is a gagbag). Ease of Use: It's a guitar. It SHOULD take you some time to get the tones you want from it, but once you find the tones you like it is a harmonious symphony at your fingertips. I especially like positions 2 and 4 with the middle pickup tone rolled almost all the way off. Quality: it's made pretty well. The finish on mine had a couple small dips, and the neck had some small scratching, but nothing major since i'll probably sand the neck down a little anyway. the biggest frustration on it, however, is the fact that a couple of frets are rough on the ends, but a quick file should take care of that as well. I'm not worrying about the guitar "lasting" any amount of time. I take care of my stuff and it lasts. I gig every weekend, and haven't lost one yet. Value: it's probably a little overpriced (especially considering the recent fender price increase), but what isn't anymore. Manufacturer Support: haven't needed it, but hopefully zzounds will be good, and fender will be great. The Wow Factor: it's foam green (yeah baby), and it has a tinted maple neck. What's not to love there. The aged (read beige) pickup covers and knobs are really ugly in person though, and they will be among the first things to go from this guitar. Also it is begging me to buy it a pearloid pickguard and I think I must oblige. I do wish the metal on it was aged nickel, but hey, I can do that myself as I upgrade one component at a time. Also the neck needs to be slightly larger (but if you have female hands it might be perfect...my wife loves it) Overall: This guitar is very good overall. It's not perfect, but no one expects perfection out of an $800 guitar. I do not plan on replacing it at this time, however I am planning several upgrades to it. That is why I bought it. I will probably, over time, end up changing all of the hardware on the guitar with aged pieces. It is highly likely that I will rewire it (i really want the tone controls to only affect the neck and bridge pickups, the middle one can stay wide open all the time). When I rewire it, I will probably change out the tone pots, and even put in a push/pull pot so I can have the neck/bridge combination. I may even go nuts someday and change the pickups (but right now I really dig them so maybe not), but I bought this guitar to last a long time, and I expect it to be my main guitar for quite some time. If it were lost or stolen I would definitely look for another one like this, but I would also compare it to the Classic Player 50s strat because that one has a larger v neck. I would compare the two and then make my decision, but barring any unforseen circumstances this one will last me many good years.
16 of 22 people (72.73%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best guitar in the world" submitted September 30, 2007

By ampeg810kings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Hard rock and Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: This guitar melts in my hands.The only upgrade I did is replace the bridge pickup. I put a hot rail pickup in it. Now its like a old hotrod with whitewall tires with a big block hemi. Feature: It came with a gig bag and wammy bar Ease of Use: Very easy to get any great tone. Quality: Very good quality. Value: Best guitar for the money. Manufacturer Support: No The Wow Factor: The surf geen color is great. The neck and hardware looking aged is so cool and sexy. Overall: This guitar not going anywhere. I'll never sell it.I have lots of guitars and this one like no other.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mine was a big disappointment!" submitted March 19, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Musical Background: Player
Music Style: Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I don't know I didn't plug it in. Feature: It really needs to come with a hard case for the price. Ease of Use: IDK Quality: I was so looking forward to this guitar. I did all the research and was waiting anxiously for it. I feel the quality of this guitar is a big let down and I'm surprised Fender would let this out of their shop,even in Mexico. Around the neck pocket not only is it sloppy with large gaps on both sides there are actually globs of touch up paint around the neck pocket as well. I couldn't believe it. For 700 dollars this was completely unacceptable. I can get an American Hwy 1 for that price and with a little more I can get an Am Standard. I took out my two American Strats and set it next the the Mexico 50's classic and the neck pockets were tight not sloppy. I've had this guitar for one hour and it's already back in the box. I tried to tune it and the tremolo starting raising off the body and wouldn't hold a tune. I never even plugged it in. That being said I'm calling ZZounds tomorrow to have them send me a replacement and I'm hoping this was just a fluke. Why? Because I did like the neck felt in my hands. Value: I do feel the price is steep for what you get. Manufacturer Support: none
4 of 9 people (44.44%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THE BEST THERE IS" submitted October 8, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: distortion abusing kid
Music Style: classic rock and metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: good sound for classic rock and blues. It is also a pretty good metal guitar. The most versitile guitar ive ever played. Feature: It has everything you need. The only down side on this guitar is i'd like more than 21 frets but oh well if its this good i dont really care Ease of Use: The fretboard is like butter the BEST fretboard. Quality: Its built like a rock mines taken a couple spills from traveling and it hasnt put a scratch on it. The pickups are amazing. The aged parts look cool too. Value: THIS IS THE BEST GUITAR FOR UNDER $1000 bucks. In my opinion it can only be beat by an american strat Manufacturer Support: It has a lifetime warranty but ive never had the slightest problem with it. The Wow Factor: It looks awesome the finish is impeccable. The aged parts look great too. Overall: Its all i need everything else seems dull in comparison
3 of 8 people (37.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy it!" submitted May 27, 2008

By a customer from stevenchappelle.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active band member...
Music Style: Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's a Strat...and though it's a MIM, I'd put it up against any American Strat out there. Awesome guitar. Feature: It has the 5 position switch, which gives you tones of tone. Ease of Use: I love a maple neck. I'm going to buy a '52 Tele reissue because it's a Tele, and it has the maple neck. So slick...so fast. Quality: No problems at all with this guitar. Rock solid. Value: For the $600+ I paid for it...it's a steal. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to use them. But I'll give them the benefit of the doubt as I've heard great things about Fender. The Wow Factor: It's surf green...it sounds great...and that maple neck is fabulous...very shagadelic, baby...yeah. Overall: Great guitar, especially for the price. Can't see myself being without a great Strat in the arsenal, and this one fits the bill. Mine doesn't have the whammy bar...but who cares really? No biggie.
1 of 4 people (25%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Its very nice!" submitted June 15, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Blues, Jazz, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The guitar has a great sound....especailly great for barre chords! Feature: Tremelo is nice. Quality: Great quality...I dropped it and not a single blemish occured. Value: Great for the price. Manufacturer Support: Haven't dealt w/ Fender yet but I hear great things. The Wow Factor: Nothing like the Surf Green! Overall: I will be satisfied forever! Great Guitar.
3 of 8 people (37.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THE BEST SERIES GUITAR EVER MADE" submitted September 7, 2005

By a customer from qldnet.com.au
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50yrs as a full time muso AND STILL GOING
Music Style: 50s 60s rock n roll
Back to Product Information
Sound: LEAVE IT AS IT IS IT HAS THE SOUND THAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO HAVE YOU WILL ONLY GET BETTER IF YOU HAVE THE REAL THING WHICH I HAVE. A 1957 LAKE PLACID BLUE L/SERIES AND IT STILL SOUNDS GREAT.THE GUITAR IS ALMOST AS OLD AS ME BUT STILL HAS IT'S GREAT LOOKS. THE REISSUE SERIES ARE WELL MADE GUITARS THAT YOU CAN BUY WITH CONFERDANCE Feature: I WOULD'NT CHANGE ANY FEATURES OR ADD ANYTHING TO THIS GUITAR Quality: MOST THESE MODALS I FOUND TO BE MADE WELL SOME MEX. MODELS ARE BETTER THAN THE U.S. MODELS, THEY LAST AND THAT IS GOOD MY 57 STILL LOOKS NEW (WELL FADED A BIT)BUT STILL RELIABLE I STILL HAVE THE ORIGINAL PICKPS IN MY 57 AS A MATTER OF FACT I CAN ONLY REMEMBER REPLACING THE TONE POTS. Value: YES Manufacturer Support: I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH ANY OF MY FENDER GUITARS OVER THE YEARS BECAUSE I ALWAYS BUY THE BEST MODELS MAYBE THE ODD ONE HARD TO TUNE RIGHT BUT THATS ALL. I HAVE FRIENDS WHO HAVE CHEAP JAPAN/CHINA /AND KORIAN FENDERS AND HAVE TROUBLE WITH PARTS BREAKING DOWN . The Wow Factor: I DON'T LUST FOR A GUITAR OR FEEL IN ANY WAY THAT IT'S SEXY BUT IF IT.S THE RIGHT COLOR IT CAN TURN YOU ON Overall: UNTIL I PASS ON. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN HAPPY WITH MY GUITARS I TRYED THEM ALL BUT ALWAYS CAME BACK TO IN MY MIND THE BEST GUITAR EVER MADE
1 of 8 people (12.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 204-PYTF. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!