800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1605-RKN4
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Eric Johnson Stratocaster

The tone guru's own Strat boasts a custom-contoured 2-piece alder body with a thin nitrocellulose finish, and a quarter-sawn maple neck in a soft V shape.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Best guitar i've played in 40 years..." submitted August 9, 2007

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Retired former sudio musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Every model of guitar has its own unique sound. A good guitarist can make an average guitar sound good. To create oustanding music you need a quality precision instrument. This guitar makes an average guitarist sound great and a good guitarist create perfection. Feature: Genuine Fender Hard Case with keys, Fender Mist and Wipe Finish Enhancer, Fender Strap,and Polish Cloth are included. Ease of Use: I have played the guitar for over 40 years and have found some guitar necks to be too thick with extremely wide frets making it difficult to reach 7 frets on some bar chords. This is not the case with the Eric Johson Model Strat'. Quality: This is a quality crafted precision musical instrument. It is well worth the $2,000 I spent to buy mine. Value: If this guitar was $3,500 I would still buy it. Overall: I own 7 electric guitars and this guitar has become my favorite guitar in only one month. I own other guitars that are valued 3 times what I paid for this guitar. I am grateful the salesman asked me if I had tried this guitar. I wholeheartedly recommend this guitar.
34 of 34 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEE THIS GUITAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" submitted January 18, 2007

By a customer from socal.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: long time musician and song writer
Music Style: rock, jazz, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar has a sparkle and beautiful clarity to it. It can sound down and funky, it does it all, but all of the tones are distinctive, interesting and expressive. Feature: The quarter sawn neck feels and looks fantasticl and really adds to the sustain. This guitar came set up so well right out of the box that I couldn't believe it. It's as if Eric Johnson's perfectionist nature even covered the setup of these guitars. Ease of Use: There is no learning curve with this guitar. You have it on the first note. It felt like I'd been playing it for five years the first time I played it. Quality: This guitar comes with a great vintage style solid as a brick classic case. The guitar I received is flawless. It is so comfortablly balanced and the lines are so clean. This guitar just feels like it is at the state of the craft. I have vintage guitars that are worth so much more, but they don't play like this one. They don't sound like this one, and they don't look like this one. Value: This guitar is worth every penny to me because it is so good. I really really have a hard time seeing how any good guitar player would not love this guitar. The neck is thicker than some, I suppose that could be a negative to some, but wow, I love it and the sound that this guitar gets is so fantastic, I can imagine our friend Eric and our friends at Fender spent hundreds of hours fine tunning this one. Manufacturer Support: No problems to deal with. The Wow Factor: This guitar is destined to become a classic in my opinion if it isn't already because it's so right. Design that is straightforward and is exactly what it needs to be to do it's job is what stands the test of time. That completely describes this guitar. Overall: This guitar is a lifetime guitar. This is not the kind of guitar I can ever imagine growing tired of. Ever!!!!!!!!!!
21 of 24 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Eric Johnson Strat" submitted February 13, 2014

By Mark S in Kettering, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing guitar for 28 years. I also play bass, drums and harmonica
Music Style: Rock and blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What can I say. If your looking for the best strat you have ever played this is it. I love everything about this guitar. Craftsmanship,tone and beauty just like a 57' Right out of the case no set up what so ever and I am in love.... I have many guitars including a custom shop Tele and this strat is my #1
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Eric Johnson Maple Stratocaster" submitted March 13, 2014

By Michael Nunez in Austin, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years playing professionally and jam at home
Music Style: Rock, Alt, Metal, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is one amazing Stratocaster. I am digging the sound and feel of this ax. The action was setup perfectly right out of the case it shipped with. The neck and frets are bigger than I am use to, due to the fact I play mostly Parkers, but still feels great in my small hands. This is the first strat I have ever fell in love with and is now my main guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The PRS of Strats..." submitted April 22, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The pickups are nice and really custom shop items but they are not my favorites. Feature: The EJ strat is one of a kind... excellent! Ease of Use: Plays so sweet... feels great! Quality: Really a custom shop item by the time you add in all of EJ's upgrades. Value: They do cost but they are worth it... Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to for any reason... The Wow Factor: I have the 2 tone sunburst and it looks great. Nice tint to the neck... definately old vibes at work. Overall: The best Strat for the money... Old style with many new upgrades.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"High quality strat" submitted June 16, 2014

By Mark L in Sanford, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 40 years. Hobby only now...
Music Style: Rock, blues.
Back to Product Information
Overall: Those that complain about the fit of the instrument clearly didn't do their homework prior to making a purchase. This guitar has a chunky V shaped '57 style neck with a modern compound radius. It sings when plugged into a good tube amp. Pickups may seem a bit on the light side at low volumes, but when overridden, they really perform well.Quality built instrument, no cosmetic issues. Highly recommended! No Mfg. Support needed.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very, very nice only one thing" submitted October 31, 2012

By j marshall in puppersville, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: The guitar has a great metallic twang to it. I love it. But the whammi bar wont screw in. Anyone else have that problem or have a fix? Mlnx at k.st thx
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not loving it" submitted December 6, 2012

By Dave S in king of Prussia, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playin 40 years
Music Style: Rock, blues, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I own several Fender and Gibson guitars. Bought this 2 weeks ago. 1 neck is sticky2 its NOT light.. about 8 pounds 3 neck is Not a soft V its more a log, too thick4 Pickups are good at low volume and Much Much better cranked5 Frets are to low6 string tension way too stiff
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Two Thumbs up for sound and playability, plus Great value" submitted May 21, 2008

By a customer from securebin.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: First of all for the sound, is what it is.... meaning that if your looking for a clean sounding fender tweaked to Eric Johnson's sound then this is your machine... I do not have experience compared to other stratocaster's but it sound s awesome connected to my Egnater half stack. keep in mind no Metallica but half the other generation of rock like the stones to red hot chili peppers it's right on. Feature: It comes with a very nice case and even a retro guitar strap and cable (how cool). Ease of Use: The neck is the best that I have played (compared to high end Gibson's and Jackson's). More rounded on the lower frets (makes hitting chords feel sweet) and flatter on the higher one - where you can pick up some more speed. Quality: This is really a fine musical instrument so a pro setup is a must (at your local guitar shop). Mine came a little out of whack (the High E was off - meaning the neck was miss-aligned). But after the setup it was right on.... Also I expect this quality guitar to be worth more in 10 years from now so I'm treating it like a investment. Value: Seems like a much better value than a custom stratocaster costing much more. Manufacturer Support: Have not used. The Wow Factor: Own it. Overall: I would recommend to anyone looking for this type of sound amn awesome playing machine
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"didn't live up to the hype!!" submitted December 8, 2005

Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: rock, blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: great sound Quality: fret work was a little sloppy, neck was not quite right. flawless paint job. pick guard was a little warped - lifted off the body at several locations. plug receptical wobbled a bit. Value: american strat is a better value and quality and sounded the same as th E. this quitar shouldn't cost more than the other artist series guitars. The Wow Factor: i wanted one before i played it, now not so sure
4 of 14 people (28.57%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Eric Johnson Model Stratacaster has killer tone and playability." submitted July 30, 2006

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, I have been playing guitar for 35 years
Music Style: Blues, Classic Rock,Southern Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is the main reason I purchased it. It has that classic strat sound. Killer tone. I wished that it had noisless pickups, I was surprised when I learned that it did not! Feature: The guitar came with a beautiful custom Fender case, it also came with a 10' guitar jack and a really cheezie guitar strap. The guitar components are your tipical Fender hardware that I feel is adequate. I love the tuning machines, the slotted poles make re-stringing it a breeze. Ease of Use: The guitar has great playability, however, I have small hands(short fingers) and would have prefered a slimmer neck/radius. Quality: The overall quality is good. I am not in love with the pick guard it is not befiiting such a beautiful guitar. My main complaint is that the E(1st) string does not sit exactly over the center of the bridge pickup pole piece which causes the string to sound dead.I have to slide the bridge saddle over to compensate for this defect. I have written Fender and I am waiting for a reply about this problem. Value: I think that it is overpriced, it shouldn't cost more than any of the other artist series guitars. Manufacturer Support: The jury is still out on this one. I want to see if Fender is going to address and resolve the fore mentioned problem I am having with the misaliginment of the E string over the pickup pole. The Wow Factor: I like the look, clasic tabacco burst,tinted maple neck. I also love the fact that it is light in weight/easy on the back. Overall: I expect to have this guitar for a long time.It sounds and plays as good as any Fender Stratacaster I have owned,heard or played.If it were lost or stolen I would replace it with a Fender Strat model that has noisless pickups and a slimmer neck.I wish I had known that the pickups weren't noisless.What I like the most is the tone,killer tone! What I like the least are the noisey pickups.
3 of 7 people (42.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1605-RKN4. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!