800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TT-DY4T
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender Highway One Tele

The Fender Highway One Maple Telecaster is a modern classic. With super-size frets and 70s styling, the Highway One Maple Telecaster really stands out.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"#1 Tele in my life - the best from the U.S." submitted January 2, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: professional musician and instructor
Music Style: rock, country, blues, pop, classical, metal
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The tone and versatility of sounds from this tele was one of the main reasons I bought it. I handles various styles, I use it through Fender Hot Rod Deluxe Ltd Edition amp (celstion 30, 6L6 tubes) I play it also through a Soldano 50watt half stack, I use various effects such as EH LPB1 to boost the signal into an overdrive, sometimes with a Krank Distortion pedal. The sound of the tele is very transparent so it lets you hear what ever effects, overdrives, it lets you hear the sound of your amps. It is very clear like that, also my favorite thing about the tele's sound is how well it cleans up if you roll back the volume, I also play a Les Paul and its much harder to clean up than the tele. Finally the greasebucket control does work like they say it does, very useful in case the tone gets too bright. Feature: Like I mentioned the greasebucket feature was very useful, the way the tone cleans up is useful, and the versatility between switching pickups creates more than enough tones if you know how to use them. I find myself mostly using both pickups together, and sometimes just the bridge pickup, i rarely use just the neck pickup. The white pickgaurd was quite plain though and I replaced it with a more stylish one. Ease of Use: It's a very simple guitar to use, in my opinion. One volume, one tone, 3 way pickup switch. No tremolo or anything, just your basic approach to guitar construction, very traditional, I even love the 3 saddle bridge - I thought that may give me trouble but it hasn't it was very easy to get it set right. Quality: Quality seems quite good, the finish is thin and therefore chips easily, but I understand that it is actually designed that way so it quickly gets a worn-in look. None of the actual components have broken though, everything works perfectly well and I have had it for about 2 years now. Value: American made, quality components, great sound and very USEFUL guitar. I play in several bands, several different styles, and I teach at a music school, and this has become my #1 utility guitar because it can handle everything, its not cumbersome or too heavy, its just right. Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: I would say it does not have much sex appeal at first. Unless you are a real telecaster fan, it's a very basic looking guitar, especially with the matte finish, I got mine in matte black. But the addition of an aftermarket pickgaurd totally transformed it into an awesome guitar, and I would recommend to anyone to customize it somehow to improve its looks. Overall: This guitar covers a lot of ground for me, I can teach with it, I can gig with it. I can get rock, country, blues tones from it. If I need to get a heavier sound I switch to my Les Paul. This telecaster I've noticed sounds better live than on recording, but then again doesn't everything sound better live? haha - overall it's a great guitar I'm glad I own it.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tele like it is..." submitted February 20, 2010

By a customer from windstream.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Former Road Warrior
Music Style: Rock, Alternative, Southern Rock, Blues and then some
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This really surprised me. I was expecting some real twang having never owned a Tele before. What I got was this pretty incredible fat punch. I would describe as in between a stock USA Strat and an LP. My Strats are twangier than this unassuming beast. Being a Gibson LP player for 30 yrs, I can appreciate this combination. Twas a nice surprise. Feature: First thing is to buy a case for it. The gig bag is nice, but I have no use for them. Just a standard Tele... not much in the way of features except a ballsy, punchy sound. Ease of Use: Plays great. Once i set the neck up and got the intonation dialed, it's a pleasure to play. I got it 3 days ago and haven't put it down yet. Quality: Good heft, nice and solid. I think I like the matte nitro finish more than the usual inch thick USA Fender standard finish. The pickups are very strong and punchy. This was a big surprise. And, once again, another blemished diamond in the rough deal from Zzounds! It should be a prerequisite when buying a guitar, that you know how to set up the thing when you get it and not expect perfection outta the box. But, on the other hand, if everyone knew how to properly set up a guitar, these blemished deals may not exist. It had some string & pickup height issues, intonation was whacked and the neck needed an 8th of a turn clockwise. This thing rocks now. Value: This gets a 10 because it's an American Tele for $699 (Zzounds list price)! Even with the Fender molded case, it's only $799. Toss in the fact that it was a blemished deal and a half from Zzounds (roughly 28% off Zzounds list), and the value factor is off the charts in a very positive way. What was basically a "what the heck, I've never had a Tele and this price is too easy to pass up" kinda deal, I'm extremely pleased. Zzounds, YOU ROCK AGAIN! Manufacturer Support: It always the best when you don't need it. The Wow Factor: It's a Tele... not as sexy as the LP or even the Strat, but it is a rock solid guitar. There was never anything more than a "why not" decision to buy it. I've never had one nor had the urge to own... glad I did it now. Not to mention, it adds another head to the stable. Overall: Great purchase and deal from Zzounds. Awesome experience again and quick, safe shipping!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Distinctive sound, fast neck, simple classic design. I love this thing." submitted July 18, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Everything except crap rap
Back to Product Information
Sound: I mostly bought the Tele out of curiosity and at first I had buyer's remorse. I have short fingers and they don't span the Tele as easily as the Les Paul, so it took some getting used to, but, a couple of months ago I noticed how easy it was to get that "grizzle" or "cutting" sound out of the bridge pickup and started using it for doing lead on a couple of songs where the rhythm guy was using a Gibson SG, which sounded like a Freight Train. The distinctive Tele was a good fit with the SG. After several jam sessions, I have turned to my group and said: "I love this Tele." Feature: My favorite components are the knobs, and the tuning keys. The are smooth, adjust the sound in a consistent way, and hold the position well. Ease of Use: This thing is so simple. There is not a bunch of junk on it. Basic bridge and neck pickups. Basic look. Quality: I knew this guitar was worth every dime I paid for it when I discovered that by going back and forth between my les paul and my Tele somehow raised my expectation of what the fingers could do. The Tele is so FAST because of its smooth Fretboard, I'm not worried about destroying my fingers with a lot of sliding. So I always dare to try to do more on the Tele. Then when I go back to the les paul, my brain-to-finger speed and movements have accepted that I can do more. Value: If I could have this Tele, or a LP Studio, which is a couple of hundred dollars more, I would get the Tele. It is just to valuable to me. Great value for the price. The Wow Factor: This Tele is definitely sexy. It is clean looking and simple and well proportioned. Overall: I would consider selling this Tele if my fingers were cut off, or maybe if electricity disappeared forever.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Made to be Played--USA Tele" submitted October 22, 2006

By a customer from ptd.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years, active, recording
Music Style: Classic rock, blues
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Super "hot" new fender pickups used on Highway One models, maintains all the original tele twang, but adds a more sublte roundness to the sound, much nicer. These pickups are overwound to be more friendly for distortion for rock use. You can play any type of music from Hagard to Hendrix without a problem. This tele also has the new Grease Bucket circuitry to roll of tone highs without adding bass, really another very nice tough. Feature: Best features are the hot new pickups, jumbo frets for smoother playability and easier string bends, nitro-celluslose finish which brings out the woods tonal qualities and adds to the sustain. Only feature I'm not crazy about is the satin finish, and white pickguard. I put on a brown shell pickguard and it really adds to the appearance. This guitar is made to be played and abused, and will handle anything you can dish out. Ease of Use: Very fast maple neck, I only had to lower my action slighly, came ready to play right out of the box. Jumbo frets are super smooth and fast, and the Grease Bucket circuitry makes adjusts the tone while maintaining the integrity of the sound. Just a super well made flawless guitar, and its made in the USA. I real winner LEO Quality: Excellent flawless quality and workmanship, the sunburst finish is gorgeous but I would have preferred a shinier finish than the satin. Not a flaw on this guitar. Made in the USA for 750. This is a steal. Value: USA made Fender guitar, flawless, great sound, electronics, and made to be played and abused. I would have paid 1,000 for this. I paid 1600 for my Gibson SG 61 and this has to be worth more than 1,000. Manufacturer Support: Fender has an excellent video at Fender.com to view and hear the Highway One models, anyone interested in this guitar I suggest you check it out. The Wow Factor: I tried many teles and did a lot of research on the different models and this has more features, jumbo frets that most do not have, and is friendlier to distortion than other teles. This can handle just about any kind of music. Rock solid construction, made to be played. Overall: Hot new pickups, jumbo frets, nitro-cellulose finish like the better Gibsons have that let the woods tone and sustain shine thru better, and the Grease Bucket circuitry adds to the rounder sound. Very fast, smooth easy to play neck. You will really enjoy this. Only excepton is if you like a shiny finish this is not for you this has a satin-matte finish, and I changed the white pickguard to brown shell. Other than that this is underpriced for the quality, sound, and Fender name and its USA made. Great guitar, even better value
23 of 25 people (92%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It will be your unexpected new favorite" submitted November 26, 2007

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar enthusiast, musician
Music Style: rock, jazz, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: First of all, it sounds awesome. However, a lot of people say they can't get the sound they want out of tele's. While it has more versatility than most people give it credit for, it's definitely a guitar you MUST play yourself and decide if you like it. All I can say is if you've played tele's before, so have I and this one is the best sounding. Feature: nothing much to say about the features. Standard Switching between bridge, bridge/neck, and neck. tone and volume. Thats is, but it doesnt need much else. However, the pickups they chose on this mug are amazing, especially the lipstick pickup. Ease of Use: The feel of the neck is the best part, I instantly improve when I pick this thing up. Guaranteed you will feel faster and freer on this neck. The bridge this one has is cool, easy to adjust. Some people prefer the individual saddles I don't care. Quality: Its American made, built solid. Will probably last forever. Value: Its probably the cheapest american made tele, or strat for that matter. Manufacturer Support: Never had to use it. The Wow Factor: I give it a low score here because I know everyone likes the strat more. The telecaster is like the ugly twin in the relationship. But man, I disagree, I'd take a telecaster every time.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Fender Highway One Tele Customer Review submitted July 29, 2010

Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: sounds great right out of the package needed no adjustmens Feature: it came with a gigbag but it will work till i can afford a case Ease of Use: it sounds awesome i can even make some good metal tones it is a guitar that works for all music types awesome Quality: it feels sturdy no loose nobs or nothing made to play hard with no worries of falling apart Value: cant beat the price a usa made tele for 699 i still cant belive it myself Manufacturer Support: had no prolbems at all The Wow Factor: nice n pretty Overall: if it got lost or stolen i would get another one for sure i love it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I Need This and Will Buy It" submitted March 17, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Turning Pro Soon
Music Style: Country, Christian, Jazz, Acoustic, Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: it definitely sounds like a country guitar when you want it to, but can really grind out some intense rock and things. I'm more of an acoustic player so i don't really find any difference in electric guitar sounds unless it crackles when you plug it in and this one doesn't. Feature: It's a Tele so the beauty of it isn't the most it has on but the complete simplicity of things about it. Although the satin finish was a great add to the feel of it. Ease of Use: This is and probably will always be the easiest electric to ever play on. It has an absolutely great feel. The neck feels like butter in your hands and it gently rests on your body and is just . . . great. Quality: This is probably one of the best made electric guitars on the planet under 3000 dollars (three thousand dollars) just making sure it's not a typo. It seems like the thing will stay with you for the rest of your and your child's and your grandchild's life Value: I would have given this an 11 or even a 12. It is made in the USA and is under 1,000 dollars so I would definitely give this a 10 at the least. Manufacturer Support: I gave it a 10 because I'm sure if I did have a problem with it, Fender would have backed me up, but I didn't buy it. The Wow Factor: I think the "I Want It" statement doesn't give this enough pizzazz. "I Need This and Will Buy It" is more like the statement I would use.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Unbelievable value!!" submitted February 15, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Classic rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: With the new Alnico 3 "hot" pickups, you get a warmer, richer sound than with standard vintage tele pickups. Much more friendly to overdrive/distortion, and more able to get an "edgier" sound. The greasebuck tone control is also nice, in that it DOES roll off the highs, but keep the lows in check. I've also noticed the bridge pickup has a very nice smooth sound, not nearly as "trebly"/"overly bright"/"brash" sounding as most other guitars. I like the sound of this very much, and think you can play just about any type of music on it Feature: Not much in accessories: soft "gig bag", owners maunual, and a couple of allen wrenches. Would have been nice to include a hard-shell case, but I guess it's one way they keep the price down!! Really, not much else you would want or need. Ease of Use: Very nice to play!! One thing I immediately noticed was the "SMOOOOTH", finely finished, fret edges (a very nice touch, I think) - no sharp, protruding edges AT ALL - something that gives the neck a great feel. Otherwise, Hey - it's a tele!! - a fairly simple instrument! It doesn't need a whole lot of "rocket science"!! Quality: This is an American made Fender - what else could you possibly want, quality wise?? Fit and finish are perfect, with an overall very solid feel. ...anything loose, shaky, maybe gonna break..??...NO!! This thing is like a rock, and will last me forever! Value: For the money, there is NO WAY you can beat this!! American made, with the quality, look, sound, and feel it has - it should sell for $200 to $300 dollars more! (...don't listen, Fender!!) A GREAT VALUE!! Manufacturer Support: I have actually delt with them a couple of times, and they handled both issues immediately. Also, even their "contact us", through their e-mail adress (for questions, etc.), is very prompt. A great company to deal with!! The Wow Factor: I also own other nice guitars, but find this one VERY DIFFICULT to put down!! I now find it's the one I will pick up first, and usually, that's it - I keep playing it!! (My wife calls it "the other woman"!!) Mine is honey blond, I replaced the white pickguard with a black one, and it now has that true, "classic" tele look - Very nice!! Overall: As I said above, I will keep this forever!! I can't even imagine what would cause me to trade this for ANY other tele!
19 of 19 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The TELE you will want to PLAY!" submitted July 28, 2010

By a customer from sbcglobal.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: ALL!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is a sleeper! Fender does not even try to sell these anymore as they are just TOO GOOD and actually has made many of their customs SLEEP on the rack! I can say I have played many guitars over my 47 years and have been schooled in guitar playing and building as I work on my own stuff. This is only the second guitar I have purchased which needed nothing in tech work. The other is a Schecter which also makes QUALITY! This Highway One is MY TELE FOREVER! Feature: AWESOME NECK, GREAT SOUNDING PICKUPS!, Smooth controls with good variation of sound!, Comfortable body, ROLLED FINGERBOARD EDGES just like the customs!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender has poor quality control;very poor. I mean, lousy. Two guitars in a row with the same issue." submitted August 24, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great telecaster sound. Bridge pickup is not too bright. Perfect sound. Feature: This is a basic, no frills guitar. Everything you need, and nothing you don't. Ease of Use: Flip it to the bridge pickup and plug it in. Quality: Here's where they lose points. Quality control not only sucks, if you call Fender about it, they make excuses and tell you they come like that. The bridge pickup was over-routed on the first one, so it was sent back. The replacement was marginally better, but still noticeable. Kept it anyway. I called Fender and they told me even the expensive ones sometimes come like that. So, basically what he told me is that quality control not only sucks for the highway one, but for the ones that cost more than twice as much, too. Wow. That's something to be proud of. Value: It sounds good,and the price is ok, but Fender has too much competition to be trying to pass off inferior workmanship as acceptable. Manufacturer Support: Is making excuses support? The Wow Factor: It's a guitar, not a Playboy bunny. Overall: blah
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15TT-DY4T. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!