800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 206-B51S
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Yngwie Malmsteen Strat

Yngwie's Strat has all the signature touches: 3 Duncan pickups, a special '60s neck, and a heavily scalloped maple fretboard for blistering Phrygian runs.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Beautiful piece of ART tha plays like a DEMON!!" submitted March 4, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: obsessed shredder. 20 yrs playing with a few breaks.
Music Style: Metal, Shred, Death Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: This guitar sounds awesome. The pickups are incredible. The tone is great for shredding leads! The guitar actually adds clarity to my playing. Feature: The scalloped neck is killer!! Just beautiful. The brass nut adds some class. The pickups set it apart from other strats. They add a very strong tone....they rip! Workmanship was impecable. Ease of Use: It took a bit to get used too. Well....It just wasn't as easy as my Ibanez Prestiges, which are made for speed. Once you pass the new feel, you will fall in love. It plays beautifully. I have no problem with the scallopes....they give tremendous control, and are great for bends and vibrato. Quality: Th workmanship is perfect. This guitar is as solid as they get. This guitar will last forever. The only problem I have is....I'm not a huge fan of fender tremolos, but I new that already. I didn't buy it to do crazy wammy tricks. Value: The best strat for the money .....by far. This is the only strat I would buy. Manufacturer Support: You won't even need to call them. Nothings going wrong on this guitar. The Wow Factor: This is extremely sexy. It's like a beautiful, classy woman, who is also very intelligent. Overall: This is exactly what I wanted when I bought this guitar. Its beautiful, finely crafted, and will add to your playing. 2 grand is nothing, when you will have a guitar for life.
23 of 25 people (92%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It's a beautiful thing" submitted July 3, 2015

By Thomas V in Lafayette, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 plus years
Music Style: Hard Rock and Metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just received my Yngwie strat from zzounds. Unbelievable tone a true beast. Loved it the minute I set it up and hit the fist chord. Zzounds and Fender simply unbeatable.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Yngwie Malmsteen Stratocaster WOW" submitted May 9, 2016

By Brad W in Shreveport, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 30 years or so. I just jam at home right now, building my guitar collection back up.
Music Style: Rock, heavy metal, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Ok, this thing really doesn't need a review. It is a fender and has a scalloped neck that plays GREAT!!! The scalloping does take a bit to get used to but that doesn't take very long at all. If you are reading this then you are thinking about getting one I assume, so just get one already because I was in the same place and SO happy that I got it. Awesome guitar!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great USA Fender" submitted March 23, 2013

By Joe F in Davenport , FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar for many many years
Music Style: Rock, funk, metal and everything else in between
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sweet bell like quality to it. I play everything from funk to heavy rock live and the tone quality shines no matter what I throw at it. Feature: The scalloped frets are fantastic. Should have gone to this years ago. Least favorite thing is the bridge. I can not keep it in tune at all with the trem bar in. Even small vibrato it goes out of tune. Quality: Great everything all the way around, except the bridge... Workmanship top notch. Value: Little pricey, but it is made in USA. Just too. Bad it does not come in more colors.. Manufacturer Support: Have not been able to reach them. Was trying to. Ask them about the bridge. I tried everything for YouTube videos to having someone else do a setup on it.... Still no luck. The Wow Factor: I will probable buy another one soon, just to have a backup.. But will have the color changed Overall: Came very well packed. Intonation spot on, had to adjust nothing on it. And that is a first for any guitar I have owned. Great color, more of a pale sun drenched yellow than a vintage white. Frets even and rounded off at the edges of the fretboard. Pickups sound fantastic. My live sound guy loves the way it cuts across the mix
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

""Not For Everyone, but For Me, A Quality Fender Strat."" submitted November 17, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician & Guitarist, duh!!
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Classical, Neo-Classical, Blues, and Experimental
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is what you'd expect from a Fender, it has that nice bright tone signature only to Fender. Feature: I dig the scalloped fingerboard, while not for everyone, I enjoy the control it gives you over every note you pick, and that is why I like it. The rest is Fender standards, three single-coil pickups, two tone-controls, yada, yada, yada. Ease of Use: I give it an 8 because not everyone has the touch that it takes to play a scalloped fingerboard. But the scallops for me gives me so much control it's unrealistic. It should be noted scalloped frets do NOT make you play faster. For me, next to my Gibson, this is one of the easier ones I've played. Quality: A 9 because I love Fender, but they don't compare to Gibson. Fender has high quality instruments, and you'd expect that from this guitar. Value: You get what you pay for, and this one is worth it if you have the touch it takes to play it. Manufacturer Support: Fender has a great warranty service, and are extremely helpful to their customers The Wow Factor: I have to give Yngwie some credit, he has good taste in colors, I love the candy red and sonic blue, but not so much on vintage white. I good-looking instrument. Overall: This one deserves an 8 because like I said, for some people, they don't have the touch it takes to play this instrument. It has a different feel to it and is a little awkward if you haven't played a scalloped fret. Overall, it's a well-built, good-quality instrument for players wanting more control over their notes.
9 of 12 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not for everyone....but I like it just fine." submitted November 3, 2014

By Teina A in Honolulu, HI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Multi-instrumentalist - guitar is my 1st instrument, 30 years and counting.
Music Style: Jazz-rock, country, rock, metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The scalloped feel on the neck will take some getting used to but really helps you to develop a lighter touch which is what you want with the shred school of guitar. Great looks, serious bends and vibrato! I love this guitar!
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bought an Yngwie Strat and Very Happy With It." submitted September 14, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: For more than thirty years, I would mod my Strats, each time getting closer to what would be for me, the perfect guitar. My Yngwie Strat was delivered today, a minty 2005 model. After new strings, a setup, and some minor tweaking, I realize that I'll never have to mod my Strats again. I'm selling my other Strats, and will buy another one or 2 of the Fender Yngwie Strat. It is to me, the perfect guitar. Feature: The factory case candy was included. The most useful feature is the scalloped fingerboard. I have performed this mod on all my Strats since about 1977. I got the idea from the great John McLaughlin who had Abe Wechter scallop a few acoustics. McLaughlin got the idea from that wonderful and ancient string instrument of India, the vina. As far as the Yngwie Strat is concerned, the fit and build is spot on. The guitar feels as solid as a tank. I wouldn't add anything to the guitar. Ease of Use: After setup/tweaking the guitar, it nearly plays itself. Quality: Quality is great. Value: Good value. Lotsa bang for the buck. Manufacturer Support: Haven't ever had to deal with Fender Product Support, and I've played Feders for 35 years. I have heard that Fender is very easy to deal with though, and stands behind everything they make.
20 of 20 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A dream come true." submitted April 16, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Solo Musician
Music Style: Metal, classical, neo-classical, classic rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds like a true neo-classical guitar. I have way more clarity with the YJM Strat, when Im speeding along my songs. But I would like to Add I'm not using a marshall(never really been a fan of them). I personnally use a Crate practice amp and a Boss ME-20 for my recording. Feature: Bottom line, this is the best strat you can get! Ease of Use: Plays amazing, the scalloped neck is hard to get used to, but I,ve picked it up fast, because my Ibanez RG series has jumbo frets and needs a light touch, overrall the sound very versatile for single pickups. Quality: Perfect craftsmanship, the only thing that I didn't like was the loose spring where the tremolo bar goes, whats up with that?? Value: Big bang for your buck Manufacturer Support: no problems yet, but I will call them soon if i cant find help on making adjustments, I ain't no guitar tech. The Wow Factor: I really could care less what color it is or shape, as long as it plays and looks professional, thats the key. Overall: This is it, my skills took a step back when i first got the guitar but now they are moving in a clearer and more creative turn. I will diffenetly use this guitar to record with, play live shows, great guitar. Never thought I would ever play on one but now I own it!!
7 of 9 people (77.78%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Eh..." submitted February 20, 2008

Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: It has an average Fender sound... nothing special about it. Ease of Use: its a guitar Quality: Built nice. Value: I don't think I would have payed this much. The Wow Factor: Its an Yngwie strat, everyone wants it, but its not that great. Overall: Yngwie is my favorite guitarist ever, but I don't respect his choice of guitars, scalloped fretboard makes it awkward, bending is different, harder to control, but harder to miss at the same time. The tone is not versatile, err, I dunno, I think Yngwie could do way better.
2 of 48 people (4.17%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 206-B51S. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!