800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14RJ-R9CX
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender DG-8S Guitar Pack

The Fender DG-8S is a great way to get started playing guitar. The DG-8S package includes everything you need to begin playing.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The best guitar package for someone to start with!" submitted March 25, 2009

By a customer from cox.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Very good for an acoustic guitar in this price range! It sounds as good as many guitars that cost double the price. Feature: The tuners are very nice. You get a decent gig bag . Also a nice tuner . Very easy to get this guitar in perfect tune. The DVD is OK and helps beginners. You get an extra set of strings which are good quality. Ease of Use: I found this guitar to be easy to play. I have average size hands and the nut width is narrow and easy to play basic chords. Quality: Very good quality! The fit and finish is as good as some more expensive guitars. The clear finish is durable and maintains its shine over the years. I have had mine for 4 years. I did have to take it to a Technician because the action became to low. $20.00 and a new set of strings and it is as good as ever. Value: I mean really $200.00 for a guitar that I learned to play Stairway to Heaven on. I still have it. It no longer is my main guitar as I rewarded my sticking to lessons with a Breedlove Passport Acoustic. Manufacturer Support: I have not had to use it. But the guy that I go to is a Fender warranty center. He has always said that they take care of there customers. The Wow Factor: It is pretty basic. But looks as good as most other acoustics with the natural finish. Overall: I have played this guitar for a long time. There is no indication that it is in anyway near its end of its liftime.
22 of 23 people (95.65%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome! Summed up in one word =P" submitted January 15, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.co.uk
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: In a band, music writer and avid player.
Music Style: Folk, Flamenco, Rock, Comedy.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Rich sounding, pretty much perfect for my stlye of playing and it sounds reli nice on a recording. Feature: Came with everything i needed! Ease of Use: very easy to use, tune and the action is niiice. VERY playable. Quality: Its lasted ages and its a nice looking guitar. Value: Pretty good for the money. its better than most guitars of the same preice Manufacturer Support: I didnt talk 2 the company but ill put 10 anyway =) The Wow Factor: its not a very "showy" guitar so i dont think many people will lust for it but it is nice looking Overall: If i could give it 8 and a half i would but overall its an excellent guitar and i recomend it to anyone!
27 of 29 people (93.1%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy It!!!" submitted December 10, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Muscian..
Music Style: Acoustic,Alternative,Indie,Punk,Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound of this guitar will surprise you!! I have been a drummer for 9 years and decided to pick up my acoustic recently and start writing some of my own material..The guitar has an amazing tone and clarity. My buddy plays a 2,000 dollar martin and these two guitars compliment each other very well...I think this guitar sounds better when playing solos compared to my buddy's martin...But the martin has a more fuller sounds when it comes to strumming...Great starter and intermediate!!! Feature: Good features and a great looking guitar!! Ease of Use: Super easy to use...I had let a friend use the guitar and he had it for about a year..in this time the neck became slightly warped, probably due to mistreatment. A little allen wrench work took care of that problem which also took care of the buzzing from the raised strings, due to warping. Keep it dry and in a case and there wont be a prob... Quality: Replaced bridgepins...equipped elixirs...little elbow grease and TLC and its a great guitar!! Value: Look at the price..question answered. Manufacturer Support: Never used... The Wow Factor: I like the way the guitar looks and its not to over bearing or generic looking... Overall: Im currenty looking for a good acoustic-electric to add to the arsenal for when I play acoustic shows...Ill keep this one for writing and playing by myself, or as a backup.
17 of 19 people (89.47%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy it you cannot go wrong" submitted February 2, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginning Musician
Music Style: Acoustic, Indie, Rock, Folk
Back to Product Information
Sound: Very good sound for a cheap acoustic. When others have played it after playing their own, more expensive guitars they were always impressed. Feature: It came with everything you need to get started. The tuner is the best tuner I've ever had. I didn't really use the DVD at all because I had lessons/taught myself. Ease of Use: The action is a little high but you can adjust it or just learn to play it high. At first my fingers hurt very bad but when they got toughened up I could play for hours. Playing lead parts is pretty hard. Quality: I have not had a problem yet. I've bumped it against wall and dropped it here and there but it still sounds great. It survived a 6 hour train trip in a hard case too. Value: This is a very good product for the money. Most expensive models that i've seen have had more problems than this one. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to use the support. The Wow Factor: Not the most beautiful work of art but I don't really care. It's just your plain, basic acoustic guitar. Overall: I could continue playing this guitar for years and years. Somewhere along the line if I get good enough I may upgrade to a more expensive acoustic-electric but this one works just find for now. This is everything I've wanted and a little bit more.
11 of 13 people (84.62%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Keeps it's tuning well. Worth the money for this alone." submitted July 14, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Music backround, new to guitar.
Music Style: All acoustic.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Even brand new out of the box this guitar keeps it's tuning well. Happily, it's in tune right up the fretboard, and the harmonic is pretty damn perfect. Feature: Useful extras, the DVD is very clear and easy to understand for a beginner. Quality: Shiny, smooth, feels as though it's well made.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great buy for your buck!" submitted May 9, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Good sound for such an inexpensive guitar. If you didn't know the price, you would never guess it was this inexpensive. I've played guitars costing 3 times as much that sound just as good. Feature: Unbelievable features for the money. Tuner, strap, winder, gig bag, I mean you name it, you got it. Great value. Ease of Use: Simple, straighforward, dreadnought guitar. Quality: Surprisingly good quality considering it is Chinese made. Great beginner guitar, or just a backup acoustic. Value: By far the best value for your dollar. You cannot buy another guitar package in this price range and get this value. The Wow Factor: Middle of the road, nothing special about this guitar. Overall: I would definitely buy this guitar if you need a good quality, inexpensive guitar. I don't make a living playing guitar, I just like to play around the house for fun, and this guitar is perfect for that!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beautiful Instrument" submitted October 31, 2012

By a customer from tampabay.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my first guitar. Although I am a novice, I think it sounds pretty good. It's perfect for me -- nice size and good looking.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect guitar, LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT!!!?" submitted September 27, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner
Music Style: Acoustic
Back to Product Information
Sound: Beautiful sound! Feature: This product came with everything i needed to start playing guitar, perfect for beginners! Ease of Use: This guitar is very easy to get good sounds, i just luv it Quality: This guitar definatly has good quality for a good price also! Value: I personaly think that the price of this package is wonderful!!! I love it!!! Manufacturer Support: Fender is an awesome musics company, anything and everything, i get from them, great guitars and accesories! The Wow Factor: I personally think this guitar is beutiful, and simple, It has a nice, perfect shine and it is just very very pretty! Overall: I expect this guitar to last me a while and if it got lost or stolen I would probably get another FENDER acoustic, not nessasarily this exact one, but something like it!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"FENDER DG8 PACK" submitted June 19, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: this guitar as a great acoustic tone for the money. it really matters what strings you have on it. i had one pack of strings one month and a different one the next month. they sounded totaly different. This guitar will amp any string vibration depending on the strings. a fair amount of sustain. Feature: mahogany, and maple spruce: great woods to make a guitaor of. tuners, they'll stay in tune for a while, but i would not reccommend using it on stage, it could go out of tune very quicly. pickguard, how do u rate that? black binding, nice.wierd pattern around soundhole. WISH IT WASNT THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ease of Use: i hate the thick ness of the necks on acoustic guitars, but this one is very comfortable. The fretbourd os greatly scalloped, stinks it dosent have much sustain. the action is way high and the strings are a bit to tight. Quality: the product is made very sturdy.i always bump it when i walk around the halls with it. not a single nick of screatch. Value: this is a great value. you get a good guitar and a bunch of stuff to go with it. the case is horrible though. it knocks the guitar out of tune. Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: the color is a yellow woody color. no finish hate it. looks shabby. Overall: this guitar is not a stage guitar, great for practice and fun.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"From an old whittlers view point." submitted February 14, 2004

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: I like all kinds. Chet Atkins type music.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Good sound. Feature: I just got a Guitar and Hard Shell Case. Quality: Given proper care it should last hundreds of years. A boy brought a Gibson Dove into my shop a few weeks ago it had been stored in an attic for several years. When he opened the case it was split right down the middle. It was loose and dry as a bone. This Guitar wasn't well cared for and will cost a small fortune to fix. But it can be fixed. Value: Well worth the selling price. Manufacturer Support: Yes, I got to talk with a person and they knew somthing about music. That is better than I got with AOL. The Wow Factor: I am not fond of this color and finish. Overall: I have many Guitars and am always looking for the perfict machine. I have maany major brands and stiles and to date my favoriate is Martin D-16 series. Great for sound. Jasmine S-35 Talk about more bang for the buck. $100 dollar Guitar that sounds like a Million. I've played concerts with this one.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Thanks but no thanks" submitted August 12, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound of this product is fantastic, unfornatly it is extremly difficult to play. The strings were way to high off the frets. I know it is only a 200.00 guitar but you should at least be able to play bar cords fairly easyly up to "B" on the neck. A beginer would easyly give up trying to learn.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Fender DG-8S Guitar Pack Customer Review submitted October 20, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Jazz, Blues, Drums
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: good sound, good clarity Feature: This is a great package. Plenty of stuff to get started for a low price. Quality: The actual guitar is great and the bag and everything else is pretty good but the tuner sucks. Maybe I just got unlucky but it never worked. I returned it 3 times and each one was broken. Value: Awesome value The Wow Factor: I think it's a great looking guitar. It's got a 'classic' accoustic guitar look
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Wow,... awful." submitted April 28, 2008

By a customer from aim.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Alternative, Indie, etc
Back to Product Information
Sound: I was a total beginner when I received this guitar. I thought it sounded good, but upon further comparison I have realized it is a lackluster, dull sound. Very unimpressive. Feature: It does come with everything you need to get started except a quality guitar. Ease of Use: I will give it a 7 under Ease of Use because of the fact it comes with a DVD that teaches you how to play some basic stuff. Quality: This guitar is an awful example of quality control. Let me tell you, I have known 3 people to have purchased this guitar and every one of them have had the exact same problem. The neck is a two peice neck and it snapped in half where the glued the two peices together. All of my acquaitences and I have experienced the same problem. Terrible product, Fender. Value: You get a guitar that breaks in two months, a tuner, a peg winder, a dvd, some strings, and a gig bag. You want to pay $200 for THAT? I suggest saving up your money for an Ibanez. That's a quality guitar. Manufacturer Support: I have dealt with Fender. The Wow Factor: It is a so-so looking acoustic guitar. Overall: I am already unsatisfied with this product. It lasted three months. I immediatly bought a $250 Ibanez that blew my mind for the money. It lasted 4 years then was dropped by careless movers from a height of atleast 5 feet off the moving truck. The headstock snapped off. I am currently in the process of saving for an Ibanez Artwood series guitar.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Like a used car, needs lots of maintenance." submitted June 12, 2013

By Rob L in Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner guitar.
Music Style: Folk rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Got this this in November 2011. When arrived, action was too high. zZounds couldn't do anything about it except offer a refund. Spend $50 at Guitar Center to have the action lowered. Now about 7 months later, June 2013, the action is too low and I'm getting fret buzz on three strings. Maybe it's the desert dryness in Vegas that causes the drastic warp, but I wouldn't expect it from a name like Fender. Next, time, I'll just save longer and get a Gibson, Martin, or Taylor.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Fender DG-8S Guitar Pack Customer Review submitted July 9, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Back to Product Information
Sound: Well this guitar was my first guitar,and it souned preety good. But compared to my new elictric guitar (shecter omen 6string) it didn't sound good Feature: I like all the accessories like the DVD and Tunner etc. the DVD came in handdy a lot. Ease of Use: it was preety easy to figure out all you really have to do is tune it and start jamming. Quality: The guitar seemed like it was made and not really made to fenders abillty.
2 of 6 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"an unavoidable item but all affordable" submitted October 8, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: average Feature: complete Quality: there(3) years Value: Yes Manufacturer Support: No The Wow Factor: Yes Overall: 3 years
2 of 7 people (28.57%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14RJ-R9CX. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!