800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172T-BN7G
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Fender USA DLX Jazz V MN

A 5-string favorite, the Fender American Deluxe Jazz V features N3 pickups with an active/passive mini toggle, a re-engineered preamp, and a maple fretboard.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Pretty. Percise. Perfect" submitted May 5, 2012

By Paschal C in Markham, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for about 40 years, I play bass ( professionally at one time ) I am teaching myself keyboard, and would like
Music Style: Jazz, Rock, Blues, Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered this bass on 5-2-12 and recieved it on 5-4-12, the bass is absolutely beautiful, although it is darker than the one featured in the add. The craftsmanship is exceptional and the tone perfection. I am as pleased with this bass as with any I own and the payment plan seals the deal.
23 of 24 people (95.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best non-Custom Shop Jazz Bass around" submitted March 4, 2014

By Michael Henningsen in Cedar Crest, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing bass 30 years, guitar 5 years, play semi-professionally
Music Style: Rock, Classic Rock, Metal, '80s
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Tonal pallet is broad, with low, mid and high controls in Active mode, and a sweeping tone control for Passive mode. Nearly any tome is possible, from growling low mids to scooped mids to punchy slap tones and mellow R&B sounds. Feature: All components are top-notch. N3 Noiseless pickups are just that, and the ability to switch between Active and Passive modes is a real plus for players who demand a broad spectrum of sounds. The bridge is beefy and the modern "C" shaped neck is a pleasure to play. Stacked tone knobs are also a big plus. Ease of Use: The bass played wonderfully right out of the box. It's slightly heavy (it's a 5-string, after all). Setup was spectacular. Quality: Couldn't be better-constructed. Should last a lifetime if well-cared for. Finish is perfect - back pick guard on black finish is ultra-classy, and the pearloid inlays just add to the ambiance. Value: Worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to deal with customer support, but registration online is cake. The Wow Factor: WOW! Looks great and plays and sounds even better. Overall: The American Deluxe Jazz V Electric Bass (maple) is the finest Fender Jazz Bass on the market short of a Custom Shop bass. Gorgeous looks, excellent playability and a broad palette of tones makes it a truly exceptional instrument.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Fender USA DLX Jazz V MN Customer Review submitted August 4, 2010

By a customer from bright.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Country
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have owned several Bass guitars, 4 and 5 strings. But the 5 string American Jazz Bass is the best I have ever played.There is no other bass guitar that comes close to the sound that the Fender Jazz can produce. Overall: I have owned the Fender American Jazz Bass for 1 1/2 years,and every time I play it the sound is better than the time before. The different sounds you can get from this Bass is one of a kind. I don't think I will ever get bored with the sound this Jazz produces.
18 of 19 people (94.74%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Bass, love the retro look." submitted December 17, 2010

By a customer from charter.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Well balanced tone. It cuts threw the seven piece band I play in. Great with any style music. Feature: The EQ is really nice, although the head room is not as good as my spector or yamaha. Ease of Use: The action is great. But it is a little top heavy, as most 5 strings are. And it's under 10 pounds. Quality: Great looking bass. The neck is pretty thin also. Value: I just can't believe how expensive good instruments are these days. The Wow Factor: I love the look of the new jazz basses. I bought the black with maple neck. It has that cool 70's style. Overall: I think it will become my main gigging bass.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It was worth the wait to get the instrument I desired above all others." submitted December 19, 2011

By a customer from att.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15 years; guitars; primarily play with Praise and Worship teams and an outreach band.
Music Style: Contemporary Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: After playing for years on a P-Bass, this is a dream come true. The active pickups exceeded my expectations - the range and variation is phenomenal. Feature: The B string gives reach that otherwise is non-existant - I love the thunder! Ease of Use: Easy, easy, easy - the wide neck is very easy to navigate and the very low frequency string buzz (vibration) does not come through the amp or PA. Quality: Very good - I expect great quality because it's from Fender. Value: Yes - about the same as offered by other retailers but zzounds staff made it easy to do business with. The Wow Factor: The vintage clean look says class and as it's solid black so it fits in with every setting whether jamming casually or playing in church. Overall: This should be my final bass purchase but if it should become unplayable for any reason I would probably purchase the same instrument.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A perfect merge of old and new...and noiseless" submitted October 20, 2011

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Smooth fender sound with countless options with the active/passive switch that allows you to have the traditional Fender Jazz sound. I already had one with a rosewood neck. This one has the maple neck which gives the 70's sound similar to the Marcus Miller bass. Feature: The best new feture is the active/passive switch and the tone control. Ease of Use: Very easy however all Jazzes are easy. Quality: Very well made and worth the money. Hopefully, I helped someone in California keep his job by spending a litle extra for Made in the USA. Value: Very reasonably priced for a USA made instrument Manufacturer Support: Never had to use them but... Overall: I have to rate it a 10. I have an older Jazz and I going to buy another new model with the rosewood neck. I like the new electronics just that much.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"That everything bass guitar I been searching for..." submitted June 21, 2012

By Bryan Wehrwein in Prospect Heights, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 13 years, at home hobbyist and have played live professionally before. Mainly guitar, but also drums, bass, piano, and vocals
Music Style: A little bit of everything. Metal, Rock, Blues, Jazz, Alternative, Spanish
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm at home recording musician with enough guitars to open a store, but I had nothing on the low end. Not being a bassist regular, I just wanted something versatile enough to cover a wide range of styles. My search ended with Fender American Deluxe. It sounds great all and all and the shelving EQ with the passive/active N3 pickup system gets me all the sounds I need, from slap funk, alternative, hard rock, and full on metal. It's great to have an instrument as versatile as this one and to only need one bass to do it all, this is the bass to do it, and don't lemme forget the way it looks is killer! Just wish the body was a two piece natural rather than three piece. That's my only gripe, but it really doesn't affect the overall tone at all, just the aesthetics.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Surprisingly awesome bass!" submitted April 17, 2014

By Jason Jacquin in Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional performing and recording artist
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock, Grunge, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this bass to have a backup active/passive 5 string to my PRS Grainger V bass for live use. I was only intending for it to be something I would use in the case of a string breakage or other technical issue with the PRS should something go wrong live, or maybe at practice here and there. I had owned a few other Fender Jazz basses, a Japanese Geddy Lee, a Mexican FSR Antigua, and 2 Squier Vintage Modifieds, both 4 and 5 string models. While I liked them, I didn't really click with any of them for whatever reason. I knew this one would "get me by", but I had no idea just how much I would love it right out of the case. Fit and finish are spectacular, and as far as tone, it delivers 98% of what the PRS does, at half the price. I will most likely end up buying a second Fender before I buy a second PRS... I love the PRS still, but the Fender was a wonderful surprise. I couldn't be happier with either one, and I will have a hard time deciding which one to use more live!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172T-BN7G. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!