800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 207-6K1Z
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Fender USA DLX Jazz V MN

A 5-string favorite, the Fender American Deluxe Jazz V features N3 pickups with an active/passive mini toggle, a re-engineered preamp, and a maple fretboard.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Best non-Custom Shop Jazz Bass around" submitted March 4, 2014

By Michael Henningsen in Cedar Crest, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing bass 30 years, guitar 5 years, play semi-professionally
Music Style: Rock, Classic Rock, Metal, '80s
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Tonal pallet is broad, with low, mid and high controls in Active mode, and a sweeping tone control for Passive mode. Nearly any tome is possible, from growling low mids to scooped mids to punchy slap tones and mellow R&B sounds. Feature: All components are top-notch. N3 Noiseless pickups are just that, and the ability to switch between Active and Passive modes is a real plus for players who demand a broad spectrum of sounds. The bridge is beefy and the modern "C" shaped neck is a pleasure to play. Stacked tone knobs are also a big plus. Ease of Use: The bass played wonderfully right out of the box. It's slightly heavy (it's a 5-string, after all). Setup was spectacular. Quality: Couldn't be better-constructed. Should last a lifetime if well-cared for. Finish is perfect - back pick guard on black finish is ultra-classy, and the pearloid inlays just add to the ambiance. Value: Worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to deal with customer support, but registration online is cake. The Wow Factor: WOW! Looks great and plays and sounds even better. Overall: The American Deluxe Jazz V Electric Bass (maple) is the finest Fender Jazz Bass on the market short of a Custom Shop bass. Gorgeous looks, excellent playability and a broad palette of tones makes it a truly exceptional instrument.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I wasn't a Fender Jazz Bass guy but I've been converted! " submitted February 24, 2015

By Mario L in Birmingham, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing bass for 20 years, I've played semi pro, now mainly weekends and studio work
Music Style: R&B, Jazz, Gospel, Motown, Top 40, Bar Band Standards...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Because I had been playing boutique basses for so long, Fender Jazz basses felt like old technology in comparison. I owned a 5 string Mexican Jazz and the Japanese made Geddy Lee and Marcus Miller Signature 4 strings. Well on the Mexican Jazz, I couldn't get the feel just right even after adding a BadAss II bridge. Sold it! I liked the 4 strings but I rarely used them for live performances. I couldn't get the sound quite dialed in to my liking. Sold them! I really fell in love with the vintage look of the Blocked and Bound necks on the jazz bass so I decided to give Fender one more shot in the form of a natural ash/maple neck, 5 string American Deluxe Jazz bass and man am I glad I did. I LOVE THIS BASS! Vintage look with good fit, finish and feel. Good modern electronics but still has that fender growl. No pedals needed! I own a Ken Smith 6 and a '91 Tobias Basic 6 and two other basses in addition to the American Deluxe Jazz bass V but I find myself using this bass more often. I've fallen head over heels for it. It had a good standard set up out of the box but I tweaked it a bit. I lowered the action and flatten the neck a quarter turn and it basically plays itself. If you are debating on getting this bass, stop debating and GET IT! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pretty. Percise. Perfect" submitted May 5, 2012

By Paschal C in Markham, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for about 40 years, I play bass ( professionally at one time ) I am teaching myself keyboard, and would like
Music Style: Jazz, Rock, Blues, Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered this bass on 5-2-12 and recieved it on 5-4-12, the bass is absolutely beautiful, although it is darker than the one featured in the add. The craftsmanship is exceptional and the tone perfection. I am as pleased with this bass as with any I own and the payment plan seals the deal.
27 of 28 people (96.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Fender USA DLX Jazz V MN Customer Review submitted August 4, 2010

By a customer from bright.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I have owned several Bass guitars, 4 and 5 strings. But the 5 string American Jazz Bass is the best I have ever played.There is no other bass guitar that comes close to the sound that the Fender Jazz can produce. Overall: I have owned the Fender American Jazz Bass for 1 1/2 years,and every time I play it the sound is better than the time before. The different sounds you can get from this Bass is one of a kind. I don't think I will ever get bored with the sound this Jazz produces.
21 of 22 people (95.45%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best new Fender I have held in my hands for many years" submitted January 6, 2015

By Frank W in Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing semi-professionally since the early 1980s
Music Style: R&B, Funk, Rock Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been playing bass since the early 80s and owned many bass guitars over the years, including several Fenders. My last 5 String, which I sold a few years back, was a Warwick Streamer Stage I for more than twice the price of the Fender American Deluxe. In my book, this Fender beats my Warwick by far. Excellent built quality, tight B string and lots of character (maple fret board, alder body). Shipment was super quick; I ordered on a Friday, the bass arrived the following Monday. There is lots of talk on the web about noisy electronics in these basses due to lack of shielding. That's not an issue at all with mine! Overall I am super happy with the entire purchasing process. (The rating for manufacturer support is random, have never used them)
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"When you need a professional instrument, this is the one" submitted January 8, 2016

By Stevie C in Borrego Springs, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Gigging musician for more years than I would care to divulge
Music Style: Every genre you can think of... not kidding. Play Rock, R&B, Jazz, Country and even sit in from time to time across the border
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Words can't describe how perfect this bass is I got the natural finish ash body model and it is gorgeous I already had an American Standard Jazz 4 String and needed a five string because my Carvin wasn't cutting it anymore, so I bought this one I can tell you that the deluxe blows the standard away, so if you are looking at a new Fender Jazz, kick in the few extra bucks and step up to the Deluxe. The preamp is just right and the binding and inlay blocks really set it off aesthetically. This bass covers every genre of music and does it perfectly. It arrived perfectly setup, that's a first for me. I found it cheaper online after I bought it and zZounds matched their price just like they said they would. All in all I couldn't be any happier with my purchase
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It was worth the wait to get the instrument I desired above all others." submitted December 19, 2011

By a customer from att.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15 years; guitars; primarily play with Praise and Worship teams and an outreach band.
Music Style: Contemporary Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: After playing for years on a P-Bass, this is a dream come true. The active pickups exceeded my expectations - the range and variation is phenomenal. Feature: The B string gives reach that otherwise is non-existant - I love the thunder! Ease of Use: Easy, easy, easy - the wide neck is very easy to navigate and the very low frequency string buzz (vibration) does not come through the amp or PA. Quality: Very good - I expect great quality because it's from Fender. Value: Yes - about the same as offered by other retailers but zzounds staff made it easy to do business with. The Wow Factor: The vintage clean look says class and as it's solid black so it fits in with every setting whether jamming casually or playing in church. Overall: This should be my final bass purchase but if it should become unplayable for any reason I would probably purchase the same instrument.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Jazz Bass I ever played!" submitted November 26, 2015

By Wayne P in Charlotte , NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing bass for 38 yrs.I play professionally in a couple different bands as well as church.
Music Style: Funk,R&B,Hip-Hop,Jazz,Gospel,Country and Electronic.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love everything about this bass.The sound is so amazing! The feel is incredible! Fender really out did themselves on this bass.I have a 50th Anniversary Jazz as well and I like this one better already after just having it for 24 hrs.I had thought about buying a Sadowsky before purchasing this one,but I'm so glad I made the choice by getting this one.I'm in love!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Bass, love the retro look." submitted December 17, 2010

By a customer from charter.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Well balanced tone. It cuts threw the seven piece band I play in. Great with any style music. Feature: The EQ is really nice, although the head room is not as good as my spector or yamaha. Ease of Use: The action is great. But it is a little top heavy, as most 5 strings are. And it's under 10 pounds. Quality: Great looking bass. The neck is pretty thin also. Value: I just can't believe how expensive good instruments are these days. The Wow Factor: I love the look of the new jazz basses. I bought the black with maple neck. It has that cool 70's style. Overall: I think it will become my main gigging bass.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Out of the box" submitted August 24, 2015

By Sam B in Montrose Heights, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing bass professionally for 15 years
Music Style: R&b, hip hop, jazz, gospel, blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This instrument was ready to play, minus a few small adjustments to string height, right out of the box. Great ton, playability, and look. It's an American Deluxe for certain. I recommend it to any player that wants to be able to create that boutique like "sizzle" and warm things up with the old school passive sound, at the touch of a dial.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A perfect merge of old and new...and noiseless" submitted October 20, 2011

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Smooth fender sound with countless options with the active/passive switch that allows you to have the traditional Fender Jazz sound. I already had one with a rosewood neck. This one has the maple neck which gives the 70's sound similar to the Marcus Miller bass. Feature: The best new feture is the active/passive switch and the tone control. Ease of Use: Very easy however all Jazzes are easy. Quality: Very well made and worth the money. Hopefully, I helped someone in California keep his job by spending a litle extra for Made in the USA. Value: Very reasonably priced for a USA made instrument Manufacturer Support: Never had to use them but... Overall: I have to rate it a 10. I have an older Jazz and I going to buy another new model with the rosewood neck. I like the new electronics just that much.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"That everything bass guitar I been searching for..." submitted June 21, 2012

By Bryan Wehrwein in Prospect Heights, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 13 years, at home hobbyist and have played live professionally before. Mainly guitar, but also drums, bass, piano, and vocals
Music Style: A little bit of everything. Metal, Rock, Blues, Jazz, Alternative, Spanish
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm at home recording musician with enough guitars to open a store, but I had nothing on the low end. Not being a bassist regular, I just wanted something versatile enough to cover a wide range of styles. My search ended with Fender American Deluxe. It sounds great all and all and the shelving EQ with the passive/active N3 pickup system gets me all the sounds I need, from slap funk, alternative, hard rock, and full on metal. It's great to have an instrument as versatile as this one and to only need one bass to do it all, this is the bass to do it, and don't lemme forget the way it looks is killer! Just wish the body was a two piece natural rather than three piece. That's my only gripe, but it really doesn't affect the overall tone at all, just the aesthetics.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Surprisingly awesome bass!" submitted April 17, 2014

By Jason Jacquin in Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional performing and recording artist
Music Style: Rock, Hard Rock, Grunge, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this bass to have a backup active/passive 5 string to my PRS Grainger V bass for live use. I was only intending for it to be something I would use in the case of a string breakage or other technical issue with the PRS should something go wrong live, or maybe at practice here and there. I had owned a few other Fender Jazz basses, a Japanese Geddy Lee, a Mexican FSR Antigua, and 2 Squier Vintage Modifieds, both 4 and 5 string models. While I liked them, I didn't really click with any of them for whatever reason. I knew this one would "get me by", but I had no idea just how much I would love it right out of the case. Fit and finish are spectacular, and as far as tone, it delivers 98% of what the PRS does, at half the price. I will most likely end up buying a second Fender before I buy a second PRS... I love the PRS still, but the Fender was a wonderful surprise. I couldn't be happier with either one, and I will have a hard time deciding which one to use more live!
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 207-6K1Z. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!