800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175T-PW4R
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Fender STD P Bass RW

The American Standard P Bass sounds better than ever, with a Fender Custom Shop '60s Precision Bass split single-coil pickup and high-mass bridge.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Feels like home" submitted April 3, 2014

By Kirk Heideman in Cleburne , TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for a long time
Music Style: Funk.punk.rock,regga, Motown ... What ever I feel like at the moment.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have played a wide verity of bass from Gipson to stagg and every time I pick up this p-bass it feels like part of my family , it just fits. The sound,tone, weight and neck are perfect . I bought the jade metallic which is such a cool funky color . An American Fender is the only way to go in my opinion and the only get better with age. I did buy the one with the maple neck and I have no complaints . If your serious about your bass equipment than this is a most have. Zzounds is the place to buy it, if you go straight through Fender they want 1700 as for zzounds is asking 1299. Any way I can go on and on but I leave you with this ... I love this bass!!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Precision Bass still the Greatest" submitted August 25, 2014

By Jerry Boushie in Binghamton, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 50 years as a pro bass and guitar player
Music Style: Blues, country, & rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased a new American Standard P Bass from zZounds about a month ago. It's the first instrument that was perfect out of the box. I was worried about the graphite neck rods, but it's staying in tune and adjustment better than any ever. Came in a beautiful hard case too! Needless to say, I love this bass and with the free shipping and low cost from zZounds, best deal ever.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My first Fender ever..." submitted October 16, 2014

By Tom Bower in Canal Fulton, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Former "pro" player, I now jam at home but would be open to some limited gigging.
Music Style: Nearly all.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been a Gibson/Epiphone player but I must say this P-Bass exceeded all my expectations. The price was very reasonable for a classic P-Bass made in California, especially when compared to Gibson's 2015 prices. No neck dive either, unlike Gibson/Epi basses like my Epiphone EB-3 SG. Comes with a beautiful gig-worthy Tolex case too.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great bass!" submitted July 27, 2014

By Olando M in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: R&B, blues, funk, jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great bass perfect action out of the box, I put some chromes on it and it got even better! Love this bass!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The One You Need!!" submitted February 20, 2014

By Billy Colburn in Foley, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, Bass, Vocals & Keys for over 40 years!
Music Style: Blues Driven Progressive Rock!!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If you are going to have only one bass guitar then this is it! Nothing performs like a P-Bass! And the Mystic red is awesome! Simple controls and great sound!
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"IT'S A FENDER!!!!! 'NUFF SAID!!!" submitted June 16, 2012

By Juan M in Bronx, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for over a year. Jamming at home and playing for me...for now.
Music Style: I play whatever I happen to like so I go across many genres. However, if I had to pick (and in no particular order) blues, rock,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: As I said before this bass has two knobs and I can dial in any tone I want. From reggae to rock to latin and jazz and so on. This bass can definitely cut through the mix. Feature: Of the bass itself, overall it delivers whatever you want in terms of tone. A good amp and strings that reflect the type of tones you prefer would be my only suggestion. Additionally, the owner's manual that came with this bass has made me intimately familiar with my instrument. I knew a little beforehand, but now I can set it up anyway I want. Ease of Use: All I had to do was crank up the volume and adjust the tone and I was ready to go (I did not have to touch the amp until I started to change styles). For me, this bass is the easiest, most comfortable bass that has ever been my pleasure to play. The action was great right out of the box but I may change it later on Quality: The build is excellent which contributes to it tone and playability. It appears to be a very durable bass (and being a Fender, I do not doubt that I will have it for many years to come). The jade pearl metallic I selected is a nice color but not as metallic as I thought it would be (not a deal breaker and I am not sending it back) Value: Very competitive with regards to the overall market. Of course, as a consumer, I would prefer a lower price, but as a musician it well worth it. Manufacturer Support: I have only had it about a week or so and I haven't had any problems and I do not think that I will. The Wow Factor: If you have the means, buy this bass. If you are in the market for a new bass I would recommend a Fender. Granted you will try other basses just like I did but you will eventually buy a Fender and, like me, you will be kicking yourself for having wasted your time and money to get where you want to go. Overall: The best bass I ever bought bar none. Funny that I was always avoiding precision because of all the complaining about the 1.625 nut (.125 larger...really?). In fact, the neck on this bass fits my hand like the proverbial glove. And the tones! I have had Squier, ESP, Ibanez, T-Bird Goth and so on and I have learned that you do not need tons of knobs on your bass to get a great tone (any decent amp can take care of that). This bass is a perfect compliment to my Aerodyne jazz bass....after that I do not need any other basses (except my squier jazz for practice of course). The rest of my basses are going to be sold off. Great job Fender...sorry it took me so long to get to you! Precision bass is the way to go if you want your playing to be felt as well as heard.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Best Bass I ever bought" submitted July 11, 2012

By Juan M in Bronx, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing over a year and I do play some keyboard and I sing. I am practicing to start playing with my friend.
Music Style: I have an ecclectic taste in music. If I like what I hear, I will eventually put it in my repertoire.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have purchased over 20 basses over the last few years and I have to say that this is the best purchase yet. I was hesitant to even buy a Fender because I thought they were too expensive and I figured a bass is a bass right? WRONG! This tried and true design is what makes it sound so damn good. It comes ready to play right out of the box (you have to tune it of course). This bass is worth every penny I have spent on it and more. Give it a try and you will see what I mean.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 175T-PW4R. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!