800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1719-3YRM
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender Standard P-Bass

The Fender Standard Precision Bass is a classic. Featuring a maple fretboard for punchier attack, the Fender Standard Precision Bass has a historic bass tone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Iconic and Sweet!" submitted May 26, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Musician-25 years plus
Music Style: Blues, Jazz, Rockabilly, Western Swing
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I just recently got the 2011 production model-candy apple red with maple neck. I absolutely love it-everything including the fretwork and setup was perfect! I did switch to D'Addario Chrome flats to smooth out the iconic P Bass sound. For country, rock or jazz I love this bass. This is a beautiful value for any bassist who wants a P Bass. Anyone who says this bass is overpriced is nuts! It sounds and looks as nice as my American P Basses! Feature: It is a P Bass and therefore, elegantly simple-a great girl right out of the box! The pickups seem hotter than I expected and she plays like a dream. Ease of Use: I play finger style and also use a pick for rockabilly. This bass handles beautifully! Quality: QC is excellent and it is roadworthy-after all, it has been on the road and studio tracks for decades! The parts seem first rate. Value: Worth every penny! Manufacturer Support: Fender is A1 although this bass hasn't required any support yet. The Wow Factor: It is beautiful in every category. The candy apple red is so gorgeous I want to bite it! For a more aggressive sound I sometimes switch to my fretless with roundwounds on it. I can cover anything with the two basses! Overall: I asked my wife to make sure this P Bass is the one I get buried with! I am 61 and a veteran of the theatre and gin-mill wars!
17 of 17 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not for beginners only" submitted May 25, 2013

By Arthur Schweigard in Dingans, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Thirty plus year veteren on bass, guitar, drums and keys
Music Style: Smooth Jazz, R&B and Classic Funk.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The instrument with the stock pickup is responsive and punchy and it can produce that characteristic p bass sound. The alder body resonates well and the stock pickup tone is a bit raspy but is a "good rock tone". I replaced the stock pickup with a Fender 62 reissue and the bass now sings "a less edgy in the highs". I still use Fender 7250 strings so it is fair comparison on sound. Feature: The craftsmanship is good, not great but excellent for this price point. The quality of wood is very good, the finish was better than expected and the tuners and bridge are solid. The fret work was pretty good and the nut depths are dead on. I did file the fret ends and the no. three fret was about .02" high so I re crowned it. After I did a set up the Precision is now a fantastic playing and sounding instrument. Ease of Use: The feel of the neck is very comfortable to play. I have a hard time with the Jazz necks since they are so tight at the nut. The string spacing over the sweet spot is conducive to slap style and I needed no time to adjust to the instrument, it is as comfy as my favorite jeans. Quality: The Standard series in the Fender line is far better than some other products in the same price range especially if you are comfortable with doing a little work yourself. Personally I like the truss rod adjustment up at the nut better than down by the body. Th American standards have graphite rods in the neck but I have had mine through the winter and did not need to re-adjust the neck. Value: Aw-Sum! I have had lots of basses maybe around twenty and this one is truly a winner, I am glad I bought it and will never part with it. After all is said and done I put a seventy dollar pickup in it and spent an hour or so doing a little tweaking and I would play this bass on any gig or any session. Manufacturer Support: I did not need it. The Wow Factor: Yes wow is right I like it better than my 90s American made Precision and if I had to part with one the USA made one would be the one to go. Overall: Fender did a great job with this one. Yes it is made in Mexico and yes it is less expensive than the American made counterpart but no the American is not "that" much better. After playing as a pro and semi pro for thirty yeas or so, I know a good instrument from the not so good. The Fender Standard Precision is a great value especially as a platform for customization. Read on I will elaborate.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Loving this P" submitted February 23, 2012

By Anthony B in Cincinnati, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional sound engineer/musician
Music Style: Gospel, R&B, Pop, Reggae
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been wanting to pick up a precision for awhile now after relying heavily on my jazz for everything - this thing does not disappoint. The only regret I have is that now I have to buy a 5 string P to go along with it. I originally intended only to use this for R&B/Pop recordings but after just a few hours playing it and loving that tone I think flats on a 5er with some reissue pups would do me good alongside the jazz at a few gigs! Great bass, great tone.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Standard for a reason!" submitted July 12, 2012

By Rick Campbell in Pawtucket, RI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician since the age of 8. Play bass, guitar, keys and drums. Bass in 2 bands.
Music Style: Reggae, rock, alternative. Motown. Funk. Soul. Love those basslines!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Fender Standard Precision Bass. Doesn't the name say it all? Overall, this is a great bass for anybody, amazing low price for this quality. Anyone can NOT go wrong with a Fender P. And for any doubters of the Mexican quality, this thing played like a dream right out of the box. Some people, including myself, prefer the Mexican workmanship over the American parts. Sounds great as is, with the classic Precision thump, but I will eventually replace the factory split-coil with SeymourDuncans and add a high-mass bridge. For what I paid, I almost feel guilty...almost.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My Ideal Bass." submitted October 14, 2014

By Nicholas C in Brooklyn, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been in bands for about 6 years
Music Style: Surf rock, pop punk, lo-fi
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This Mexican P-bass in all-white with a maple fretboard fulfills exactly what I'm looking for in a bass. I'm in a surf-rocky three piece and the bright, growly, bell-like tone just seems to fit perfectly in the mix of drums and guitar. It also looks beautiful. zZounds' payment plan helped a lot as well!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Standard Precision Bass...a few tweaks from greatness" submitted March 8, 2012

By a customer from yahoo.com in L.A., CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro
Music Style: Pop, Rock, Jazz, Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I played the 'new' Fender Standard P-Bass at the last NAMM show and was happy with the weight...not ultralite but not heavy at all. The maple neck model felt good and so that's what I ordered from Zzounds. I had to work the truss rod a bit to get it playable, and I had to adjust the pickup height to get the bass to sound even. I put a set of flatwound strings on and that made it sound much closer to a 'true' Precision Bass sound. With the stock roundwounds, the bass was much too thin. After the tweaks, for the money I spent, I am happy. I will replace the tuners, as the posts are ridiculous and you can't wind the strings properly.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't be fooled by the price. With a little work, this IS the real thing." submitted November 15, 2011

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 24 years
Music Style: Rock, alt. country, Norwegian Black Metal..
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's a passive P bass. Industry standard. I prefer it over anything for recording. But, the electronics are kinda weak. Drop a really nice pickup that suits your needs ($75-$150), and add a quality high mass bridge (Leo Quan is the best, $100). Stays in tune until I change the strings. Feature: Its a P bass. No features..lol. Ease of Use: If you can turn up the volume knob, you can handle it. Add a cap to the tone knob (your bass guy knows what they are) and you have the "greasebucket" control they charge extra for. Quality: Neck bolted onto body. Sparse electronics. If it breaks, you broke it. Value: One of the reviewers before me said to buy a Squire and soup it up. That's fine if you want crappy wood and a less that average neck. Squires are for beginners, period. Would you put a bad a** engine in a Gremlin or a Pinto? No. These are the classic example of over-charging for the "Made in the USA" symbol. They are made by American trained luthiers, with American design. The Wow Factor: P-basses are not sexy, but they are the best at what they are made for. Overall: I'm a Jazz bass guy myself, but this is my recording guitar. Don't pay for a USA that you're going to have to upgrade anyway. These are the perfect template for a bass you will be happy with for many years.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sets The STANDARD" submitted August 10, 2012

By Steven S in Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been a bass player for over 15 years. Have been playing professionally for about 4 years!!
Music Style: Rock/Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Fender Standard Precision Bass is really a steal at this $529 price tag. The quality of craftsmanship and the integrity of bass tone will compare to the Fender American Standard Bass with a fraction of it's cost. I recently purchased the Candy Apple Red bass with the maple neck and I must say it was much more than what I expected. So if you are debating about making the purchase, DO IT!!! You will not be disappointed!!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very good bass for the money." submitted October 11, 2012

By Todd Zimmerman in Kalamazoo, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitars, Bass, etc. Project studio.
Music Style: I will record anything, I tend to play rock most often.
Back to Product Information
Overall: Full disclosure, I did not keep this bass. I returned it and bought an American standard, however, it wasn't really over quality issues. Well, it was, but not overbuild quality. It had a great neck, nice pick ups and a great finish. I simply wanted the string through body and the high mass bridge and sealed tuners of the American. However it was a very good instrument.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good Bass Over Priced" submitted January 6, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro
Music Style: Pnuk/Hadcore, All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: great P bass thump. Feature: volume and tone thats about it Ease of Use: basic operation Quality: mine is a '99 model and it still plays and sounds great. Value: They realy have jacked the price up on these, I only paid $320 new in 2000 for mine. I say if you want a better deal get a Squire P bass and put $60 into a good pickup and $50-100 on a set up and still be cheaper than this, if it was $400 it would still be ok but not for $500+ Manufacturer Support: never had to use them The Wow Factor: Its a P bass Overall: If Fender would stop raising prices people would buy them again, this is a good bass and if you realy want it buy it, there are some much better deals out there
5 of 11 people (45.45%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1719-3YRM. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!