800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 141G-VXH8
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender USA DLX Strat HSS

A tonal chameleon, this American Deluxe Stratocaster features a humbucker in the bridge, a compound-radius rosewood fretboard and reconfigured S-1 switching.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Awesome guitar...it does it all" submitted June 20, 2012

By Walt M in Wilmington, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist and performer 30 years+
Music Style: Rock, Progressive Rock, Ambient
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: does blues rock and metal...if you are straight up metal I'd go for something else but if you need an arsenal of different tones for different stylings buy this guitar. Feature: Locking tuners, LSR roller nut allows the whammy freedom of a locking unit without the hassles. S1 switching is ok..I don't use it. Ease of Use: Using digital FX processor for my sounds, I get slightly different(better) sound from this axe than my Blacktop. I had to create presets for each guitar. The Blactkop is hotter and the American Deluxe is warmer and richer. Other than that it's a Strat. If you know what a Strat is about it's about as easy as breathing. Quality: Built like a German Tiger tank. Even after 9 years of hard playing the finish shows NO wear other than some very minor dings and scratches that I put there. Had to replace 1st 12 frets from heavy use. I'll be giving this guitar to my son when I pass. Value: Great value because it covers so many bases. Way more versatile than a G****N LP and far more rugged. Think military Humvee with a custom finish. Manufacturer Support: Have not needed it Overall: This guitar is an all around workhorse. Bought my 1st one in 2003 and have played the crap out of it with no problems other than normal wear. I had to have the first 12 frets replaced this year because I have played this guitar so much and so hard. Gigs, band rehearsal and home use it gets played everyday. Bridge 'bucker is fat and meaty and you get the classic strat tones from the 2 singles. The S-1 switching is cool but I don't use it much. LSR roller nut and locking tuners let you whammy to your heart's content with no tuning issues. I have held this guitar by the wammy bar and nothing else, shaking it up and down onstage and returned to perfect pitch and flawless playing without worries. I'm writing this reveiw because I'm getting ready to buy another one from ZZ here very soon. Just bought a MIM Blacktop Strat with Floyd Rose from them last X'mas and it ROCKS too, but not quite the same quality and feel as my American Deluxe. I play all my guitars through a Digitech RP1000 to a TECH 21 Powerengine 60 which I also bought from ZZ.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster HSS Electric Guitar (Rosewood with Case) " submitted November 1, 2012

By david j in locust grove, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing for years. long time novice.
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recently bought a new Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster HSS Electric Guitar (Rosewood with Case) from zZounds. When the guitar arrived I wasn’t very happy with the color. (Sunset Metallic)I contacted zZounds and explained that the guitar itself was amazing but I wasn’t content with my color selection. Without any hesitation they told me to return it and they would send a replacement. When the new instruments I was instantly in love (Amber with a Rosewood Fretboard). The guitars playability is unbelievable. The new N3 pickups sound awesome and the locking tuners with the LSR roller nuts keep it in tune no matter how hard you bend the strings. The only concern I had was that FedEx left it on the front porch in the rain. (not a zZounds concern) No damage due to the double cardboard boxing and case but it is unnerving to find a very expensive instrument left unattended in the rain in front of your house. Also found the guitar $200.00 cheaper about a week later and zZounds honored the price guarantee they advertise. Great company, Great Strat.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Best Yet" submitted April 18, 2014

By MC Covan in Des Allemands, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar, bass, and keyboards. Been playing 52 years
Music Style: I play Oldies, Classic Rock and Christian Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my 3rd Strat, but only have 2 now. Sold one years ago. This one has everything I needed in a guitar. Locking tuners are great. Can go 3 - 4 days and never have to retune, even it it has been sitting in the case. Love the S-1 switching. Makes for some interesting tones and the passing lane switch is great.. Everything about this guitar is fantastic. Humbucker and N3s work good together.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very Suprised!!!" submitted July 6, 2014

By christian R in salisbury, MD
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar w/ friends/bands since i was 12.
Music Style: Everything, mostly classic Rock/Hard Rock and Metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've always played/owned high end Gibsons LP/SG. Only owned one other Strat and that was a highway1. Few friends of mine plays them as well and I have never been a fan of a bolted on neck or a neck w/out binding. I was looking for a versatile guitar of good quality and I def found one w/ this guitar. The action is sick! Being able to have any avenue to create any sound/tone is what I was looking for. It doesn't feel cheap like some other strats I've played and the neck is just ridiculously awesome and smooth.the only thing I'd change is the pickgaurd just because I'm not digging the brown on Olympic pearl.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"American Strat HSS Rosewood" submitted May 19, 2014

By James N in Ocala, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: several years !!
Music Style: Rock, Country, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the most rewarding decision I have made by buying my strat from Zzounds. I have always had great people to deal with and the timely delivery has been the one reason I keep going back to Zzounds and always will. The strat plays amazing just like I knew it would. Thanks Zzounds for being there when Musicians like myself need it now.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender American DLX Strat hss rw" submitted March 28, 2014

By EFRAIN MAXIMUS MATOS in MINNEOLA, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: GUITARS, PERCUSSION 20YRS+
Music Style: ALL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: AAA+ THE GUITAR IS BEING USED FOR A IRON MAIDEN TRIBUTE BAND ITS SIMPLY AWESOME AND DOING BUISNESS WITH ZZOUNDS MAKES IT EVEN BETTER !
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Magic!" submitted November 10, 2011

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years, guitar, mandolin, band, recording artist
Music Style: Alternative Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar has incredible flexibility, from sweet to rough, from bluesy to cheerful . . . simply amazing. Feature: The multiple settings are easy to learn and extremely fun to play with. Ease of Use: This is one of the easiest guitars to play. Everything is so well-constructed that it just fits a guitarist's hands like a glove. Quality: It feels so much more solid than my old Mexican strat that I could never go back. Beautiful finishes, neck, rosewood. Value: It's worth every penny. I appreciate the fact that Zzounds allows for a payment plan, though. Manufacturer Support: I have had no problems. The Wow Factor: It's a beautiful piece of work based on a classic design Overall: This is a lifetime keeper, along with my Ric 360.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"buy this guitar" submitted May 4, 2010

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: About 10 years
Music Style: Punk, rock blues everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I bought this guitar about a year ago I owned and still own a Les Paul Studio this guitar is beautiful sound finish it`s one of the most beautiful guitars I own Feature: it`s light sound great the S1 switching system is unreal from clapton's light bluesy tone to page`s distortion with no pedals when I plug it into my GNX4 its beautiful Quality: very very very High Grade Value: originally I thought it was a bit expensive but well worth it once I got it I haven,t touched my Les Paul Manufacturer Support: dont know never had to call em The Wow Factor: it` the sexiest guitar i have ever seen
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 141G-VXH8. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!