800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16GT-TVXX
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Fender STD Tele MN

The American Standard Telecaster gets upgraded with a comfortable back contour and Twisted Tele and Broadcaster pickups straight from the Fender Custom Shop.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The best guitar I've had so far" submitted October 22, 2014

By Tim Shulepov in San Carlos, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played in bands for past 11 years. First I played hard rock with elements of folk, then switched to alternative metal and punk
Music Style: Current style - hard rock with elements of modern metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is the best guitar I've owned. I'm really stoked that zZounds has a payments program, it wouldn't have been easy for me to pay $1200 in one go. The guitar is amazing, it still surprises me to hear such fat and heavy tones out of a pair of single coils. It feels solid, it resonates so well that I can hear everything I play even without plugging the guitar into an amp. I'm really happy to have it, and I could afford it thanks to zZounds :)
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender 2012 USA STD Tele- Natural w/ maple Neck" submitted September 8, 2012

By TJ Lincoln in Springfield, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing since 1979 of an on. Got serious in 2001. Have played weekly out for the past 4-5 years.
Music Style: Christian Rock, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Up to now I have never been a big Tele fan. Usually I stick to dual HB guitars. Recently started down the strat/tele road. I must say I really like this guitar and it will definitely find its way into my line-up. The set-up was very good when I received it and the finish was flawless. I can get great clean punchy sounds right up to gnarly blues and rock. I thought I would be ordering an aftermarket Fender Tweed case but the case Fender includes with the guitar was a big surprise. I had bought an american deluxe strat a few years back and hated the standard skb case (no room for accessories/flimsy). The case included is a TSA rectangular case that is both sturdy and functional. I actually have room to put a leather strap, tools, and a 10' cable in. Way to go Fender!
13 of 14 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I always wanted to own a Telecester." submitted August 31, 2014

By Jerry G
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Just learning to play blues and surf guitar
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I chose the US made Tele. The body shape is what I like best about it. The color is Mystic Red with white pick guard and maple fingerboard. I mainly picked the American Standard model for the color selection. I needed about 30 seconds to get used to this guitar's neck shape. My go to guitar and main workhorse is a Gibson Les Paul Jr. Special with a slim taper profile neck shape. My hands are on the smaller side but not a problem on the 25.5" Fender scale length. I replaced the strings right away with Ernie Ball pure nickel super slinkys. My Tele sounds totally different (much brighter) than the Gibson thru my Vox AC 15 amp and a few effects pedals. The guitar is a beauty. Good quality, lots of extra stuff and the case is a Fender tolex TSA type made by SKB. Very adequate. I say that nothing beats the looks of a Telecaster.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Rules" submitted September 18, 2012

By Timothy F in Penn Yan, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a hobbiest, I have the telecaster, an american stratocaster, and an Epiphone standard Les Paul.
Music Style: Rock, country, and blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: While searching for an electric guitar to cover my needs I ran across the 2012 Telecaster which turned me away from other brand guitars. Its got a neck that is quick and easy to use, and the quality of the instrument alone is, well, you know, nothing beats a Fender. The color I chose was candy cola and it is flawless. From beginner to professional guitarist, this guitar will fit your needs. absolutely beautiful, it also comes with a case that doesn't quit.
9 of 10 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"FENDER USA STD TELECASTER MAPLE " submitted April 16, 2014

By Michael Cooper in Ft Myers , FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: most of my life Bass Harmonica played christian band SOULEDOUT Praise an Worship.
Music Style: love blues country oldies.. Christian learning lead guitar . I have 2 Fender and 3 Epiphone gutiars, aFender GDEC 30 A F
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Thank you very much For the play as you pay plan the Fender telecaster is beautiful the case the strap everything I got top notch I love it. If you cant afford to pay cash upfront man you cant beat the play as you pay deal from zZounds very highly recommend to everyone looking for a great deal and great product .
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Tele Std" submitted May 29, 2014

By Bobby W in Clinton, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Currently own a 1979 Martin HD-28, 1995 Fender Tele Special, 2012 Fender Tele Standard -also banjo, mandolin, classical guitar
Music Style: Mostly folk rock/blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I haven't put it down long enough to write a review until now - I am playing constantly. It was delivered set-up perfect and looks as good it plays. If you have ever thought abought getting a tele - do it.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Mighty Fine!" submitted March 1, 2013

By Bill Leyden in Prescott, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Recording artist, playing of-and-on for 40 years.
Music Style: New Age - smooth jazz.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What a gorgeous instrument! Three days after I clicked the "Purchase" Button on zzounds.com, the Tele was on my doorstep. I chose the 2 color sunburst because I have a fondness for ash wood. The finish is perfect; the set-up is exact and I love the TSA case. The body contour feels really comfortable when playing. This may be the only guitar that I have owned that I don't feel like I have to run right to a tech to have it set-up - it's great the way it came out-of-the-box! I love the sound -- as good as any Tele I've heard, and it records well. I only wish that I had four hands so I could play two-at-once.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"New 2012 USA standard tele: a truly magical guitar!" submitted March 16, 2014

By Mike Rogers in Rockford, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Product endorsed recording artist, semi-pro
Music Style: Rock, metal, country, blues, punk, wimp rock, church music, avant guard, off the wall stuff, minimalist/ maximalist styles, or a
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just got my 2012 USA tele with the Zzounds Pay as You Play (a GREAT thing for the inner gear junkie in all of us!!).I found that it is unlike the 2003 USA I had, but in a great way. The 2012 can handle the twang and pop of classic and modern country, but can rock out as well. I particularly like the broadcaster in the bridge, and the twisted tele is a great pickup as well. The guitar has a special tone and playability my 'traditional' 2003 tele just didn't have. Even the most mundane notes on this guitar sound spectacular. I fully consider it a true backup for my USA strat, and unlike the strat, can go into areas of style the strat can't do: Tom Petty, Rolling Stones, modern country, classic blues tones, traditional country..Mine is a maple neck, and black finish. The stamped saddles are more stratty looking, but I can't see how the tone is changed too much, and it's in a good way. I did replace the tunes with the Fender F logo locking tunes, and with that made this guitar into a gigging machine.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2012 American Standard Tele - SWEET" submitted September 7, 2012

By Kenneth H in Fenton, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Home musician on the guitar and mandolin
Music Style: County; Blues; Pop; and Bluegrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: If I was going to ask Fender to build me a custom Tele, the 2012 American Standard is exactly what I would have told them to build me. This axe is awesome. I can get so many tones out of the new Tele, I sold my Les Paul Studio.
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GUITAR" submitted February 26, 2014

By Everette H in Dunn, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar since I was 10.
Music Style: rock, country, blues, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Fender Telecaster Electric Guitar: I absolutely love this guitar. It is a beautiful piece of art, has a great sound, handles well, and I would advise anyone to purchase from this company AND this product. GREAT BUY! Also, on the rating below, I intended to click OVERALL EXCELLENT but made a human error.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"USA Standard Telecaster" submitted March 31, 2014

By Paul F in Benicia, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played guitar for 23 years.
Music Style: Blues, rock, hard rock, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Great playing guitar. Better than expected.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender Tele" submitted March 4, 2014

By Andreas H in Middletown , NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years guitarist
Music Style: Rock , pop , blues , christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Fender is making to quality guitars annd this one came out of the case ready to lay no setup needed . Love it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Fender USA std telecaster, maple" submitted February 23, 2014

By William Coleman in Warrenton, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bass, guitar electric/acoustic Semi-pro
Music Style: Modern worship/classic Rock alternative rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great tele tone. Goes from impeccable cleans to great crunch with volume full up and throw in some gain. Wide spectrum of tones even without a lot of effects. Full tone adjust w/o affecting volumes Feature: Love the guitar it's a classic in a modern era. Tele through and through. Ease of Use: Plug it in and play. Like G.E. Smith would say you could get as wild and crazy as you Want with it. Quality: Quality seems exceptional. As I would expect nothing less from an American crafted instrument. It's appearance has quality written all over. Expect it will last a lifetime. Value: Absolutely!!! It's unfortunate that you can purchase a similar guitar manufactured overseas. Although there is still something to be said about American craftsmanship and quality. Not to mention pride that goes with strapping on a great instrument thats stamped made in USA Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed to. The Wow Factor: A timeless classic. Authenticity that cannot be crafted in china Korea Japan or Mexico. Overall: Love the guitar. Plays better every time I pick it up. The setup was near perfect even after being shipped 2000+- miles in sub zero weather. Finish and quality is what you would expect on an American made instrument. the tappered back and custom shop pickups add a nice touch to an already iconic guitar.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"2012 fender American standard 3 color sunburst" submitted February 2, 2014

By William Coleman in Warrenton , MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi pro
Music Style: Rock/ Worship
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Beautiful instrument as you would expect from an American made Fender. Exactly as described. The custom shop pick ups add a touch of class to an already iconic axe. Ordered on mon afternoon arrived wed afternoon. Set up and ready to play plugged In checked intonation near perfect considering 2000 mile trip in arctic conditions. Love at first sight.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gibson SG standard 2013" submitted December 1, 2013

By Christopher M in Hattiesburg, MS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: serious hobbyist
Music Style: everything
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Got a great deal at 40 percent off; however, extremely disappointed when the SG arrived. Neck was completely snapped. It came in a hard case so not sure how that happened, but called Zzounds and they graciously agreed to replace it immediately. Waiting on the replacement. Let's hope it's it in better shape. Love Zzounds...great company with great payment options. Just wish they had a deeper stock, like the Schecter UltraCure and the Gretsch 5620. Oh well, maybe some day.
1 of 9 people (11.11%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16GT-TVXX. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!