800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20X-XZBL
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Fender HSS Strat RW

Tap into the humbucking power of an HSS Strat. 100% made in the USA, this release of the American Standard includes high-end Fender Custom Shop pickups.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Could not be more happier" submitted October 30, 2014

By Robert L in Peoria, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 10+ years Guitar and Bass
Music Style: Rock, Punk, Country, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: As far as sound goes I never owned a Fender guitar before. All of my other guitars are Gibson. I have a 2014 Gibson SGJ with the '61 Style Zebra Humbucker and they are not even close as far as sound goes. The other is a 2001 Gibson Les Paul. The reviews i read on the Fat '50s single coil pickups were nice, as were the reviews on the Diamondback Humbucker. So I rolled the dice and I could not be happier. The tone possibilities I have with the HSS setup are incredible. I can have warm tones all the way to heavier rock. Feature: I also never used a Tremolo system before. In fact, I did not even realize it came with one until I opened up the case. To me, that was a huge plus. Ease of Use: The neck feels and plays very nice. Quality: The quality is exceptional. It stays in tune, even when using the tremolo. There is not one rough edge on the guitar. Value: This guitar is well worth the price I paid for it. In fact even worth a little more imo. (check the Wow Factor.) Manufacturer Support: I called fender to help with registering the guitar because their website was having issues for me. The customer service rep was very professional and helped me finish registering the guitar. So I was impressed with that as well. The Wow Factor: I thought this was a 2012 model in mystic blue. However the serial number on the back starts out as US14xxxxxx. I asked fender about my serial number and they said my guitar was made in March 2014. I also asked about the 60th anniversary Neck Plate on the guitar and they said it is correct. So for me, the real WOW Factor came in knowing that this guitar has that special neck plate on it. Overall: I ordered the Mystic Blue w/ Rosewood Fingerboard on 10/13/14. I even called up and spoke with customer service to make sure I got it, as it stated it was the last one in stock for that color. Customer service informed me that it was the last one. They also said they were not getting anymore mystic blue from Fender. (so far that part must be true because you can not order mystic blue w/ rosewood fingerboard anymore.) I don't know why, but that made me happy knowing I was getting the last of an item lol. Also, I forget the customer service reps name but they were very polite and professional.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"HSS Strat" submitted October 4, 2012

By Charles H in Vista, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: at home novice, played for about three years off and on
Music Style: Rock, metal, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My guitar came in perfect condition and all I had to do is give it a light tuning. Intonation was great. I couldn't ask for a better guitar. It has the awesome fender clean sound and the humbucker is perfect for hard rock and with a little distortion metal. I had an Ibanez RG series and this blows it away. I gave it to my neighbor.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WOW" submitted March 2, 2013

By Billy C in JACKSON, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 2 yrs,jam at home,Play,write, record,
Music Style: rock,blues,heavy metal,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been playing for about 2 yrs,I have 7 guitars,All fenders,And i play them all,the fender team did a outstanding job,with this one,What a cry baby,Its light,the tones on this one has handle all my line 6 P.O.D s sounds ,that"s a plus,just in its self, and i have three of those,The guitar came in prefect condition, A light tuning ,and wow,It can handle anything i send it,From rock.to blues,and death metal ,And thank you zZsounds. for pay as you play option ,You guys are great,I will buy all my guitars from you,And i have, Bottom line,if i could only have one,this one would have to be it.,Thank you FENDER,AND THE GUYS FROM zZSOUNDS
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Strat at a Low Price" submitted January 26, 2014

By michael b in new lenox, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a hobbyist of moderate ability
Music Style: rock, classic rock, alternative rock, funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have always wanted a Fender American Strat and I finally took the plunge. I bought this one "blemished" for a great deal...the only thing is, I can't find the blemish! Wow, it sounds fantastic and looks great. It feels awesome and it plays fast. 5 options and the toggle switch, 2 tone dials, easy to access volume dial, a strap, tremolo bar and hard shell case included! I highly recommend this guitar form this site. Zzounds was awesome and it even arrived during a blizzard on a holiday week! They even followed up 2-3 weeks after purchase. Great service with tons of product options, priced right! I will definitely buy more gear from them.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awesome!" submitted March 27, 2014

By Tim H in kingsport, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 35 years playing. acoustic, electric guitar, pedal steel guitar
Music Style: Country, rock variety
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Zzounds is a very professional company with a staff of pro's, who know Their Stuff! The Fender American stratocaster I purchased from Zzounds is very much as advertised, A perfect axe! My hats off to these guys, no more local music stores for me wtg zzounds!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"One bad ass guitar" submitted July 10, 2013

By Daniel Loos in Waynesville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar for 13 years.
Music Style: Blues and country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've owned a lot of USA fenders and so far they have never let me down they look beautiful and play great but this is my first hss strat and man do I love the humbucker.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great place to shop" submitted March 30, 2014

By Barney Rash in Bristol, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing music for over 50 year's jam at home
Music Style: Country, Christian,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: My experience with zZounds was one of the best, They were very fast in processing my order. It was very easy to place my order, overall I'm very pleased with my experience with zZound's The quality of the Fender USA STD HSS Stratocaster, RW was great.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"fender hss jade pearl" submitted September 12, 2012

By Charles Hall in vista, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: play guitar for a few years at home as a hobbist
Music Style: hard rock metal blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received this guitar yesterday. Its perfect, intonation, action and everything was right on. thank you zZounds for the payment option
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20X-XZBL. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!