800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16KD-YM5V
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Thur Closed
  • Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: ESP ST-203 Guitar

Get the look and feel of a real worn guitar without paying the high price for the real vintage guitars. It features an Alder body with a Maple neck and a Tribust finish.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"I play this more than my PRS Custom 22. THAT is saying something." submitted September 6, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Progressive/Folk/Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I bought this guitar with pretty low expectations. I thought I would definitely have to change the pickups the first day. I can't believe how amazing this thing plays and sounds. It is on par sound wise with the Fender road worn stuff but it plays WAY better. The pickups are very hot and somewhat unforgiving to a sloppy player. Feature: Great worn finish. Real alder and maple. Not crappy basswood. ESP knows how to make a great guitar on a budget. Ease of Use: Plays like butter. Quality: I will end up spending a ton of money upgrading all of the hardware on this guitar. Not because I think it needs it, but because I think it deserves it. It really is a beautiful guitar. Value: Plays and sounds better than other guitars that cost 5 times as much. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: This guitar inspires me to play.
17 of 17 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Playing Guitar at A Great Price" submitted January 21, 2013

By Dustin M in Panama City, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 yrs experiance. Proffesionally.
Music Style: Country/Rock, Blues, Alt Rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds just like/better than my Mexican Fender strat for about half the price. Was able to get a good SRV sound, country/rock, and alt rock sound. Feature: Tuners are solid hardly went out of tune. Wood was fairly light weight but not too light. Neck felt great. Did not use the wammy bar so cant say on that. Took the strap nuts off and replaced them with strap locks but they seemed solid. The road worn look is really well done. Ease of Use: Pretty much take it out of the box and play. Will have to set intonation on it and adjust the neck a little but that's about it. Quality: ESP has built a really solid guitar here. I keep all my instruments in hard shell cases so I expect it will last a long time. Value: Your more than getting your money's worth with this one. I would recommend this over your standard Fender any day. Manufacturer Support: N/A The Wow Factor: Like I said the road worn body and neck looks great on and off stage. Overall: I bought this guitar and had it shipped to the club we were playing at that weekend because I was on the road. Only had 30 minutes to set up my stuff. Took the guitar out of the box and basically tuned it and started playing. WOW the sound was already good without having to tweak too much. Played great. And looked awesome. Better than my MIM Fender Strat.
9 of 9 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A must have product for beginner, immediate or pro! Can't go wrong!!!!" submitted December 14, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: 32 years, pro, session, touring : bass, guitar, drums, and vocals
Music Style: country, blues, christian, and rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This an incredible axe for the money! Sounds great, with electronics much better sounding and responsive than the MIM Fender. Fit and finish is great, and the neck is far superior to anything in this price range. I would put it up against far more expensive instruments anyday! This is a very versatile, user friendly guitar that will fit any style of music. Works great for pop, rock, country, jazz, and especially da blues! Feature: no complaints at all, other than the tremolo is a bit touchy, but does stay in tune! Ease of Use: Very simple and traditional. No rocket science here Quality: Made very well! I still can't get over the quality for the price! GREAT BANG FOR THE BUCK!!!! Value: Absolutely Manufacturer Support: Not had to use it yet The Wow Factor: Yes, besides the great consistent tone, it looks great with the "RELIC" look, and gets all kinds of attention Overall: would definitely buy another one if I had to.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Lucky Find" submitted November 2, 2013

By Joel Pornobi in Weehawken, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 yrs trying to get back into it...2 acoustics yamaha fender...esp ltd mc 1000 ltd st-203
Music Style: Metal rock blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: This past week been searching a fender type strat...walked into a Sam Ash and found this in a used rack...$179...total bargain. Must have played over 50 fender mim and squier classic vibe at about 7 guitar centers & sam ashes in my area...was set to buy one until I sawnthis LTD...didnt know they made strats...I have an ESP ltd mc1000 so im familiar with them...first off the beat up look is pretty cool...looks great...thats what attracted me to the guitar...picked it up felt pretty solid not like the squiers...the feel of the neck was better than I expected...sounded pretty good off the bat...played really nice...didnt want to spend a lot for a guitar and at $179 got an awesome guitar...dont know why it was so cheap...looks mint to me...maybe its been sitting awhile...I think people get carried away with the name brand...this thing feels and plays like an fender amercan standard....easy...better than classic vibes and MIM...more comparable to a MIA. This thing will probably be 5x better once I get it setup. To me its a great guitar...i think esp builds one of the better lower-mid priced range guitar out there...underrated.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice" submitted October 7, 2012

By M P in LA, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar since 1982
Music Style: Metal, Blues, Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Good Feature: Basic Strat Ease of Use: Easy Quality: Very good Value: Excellent Manufacturer Support: Don't need it The Wow Factor: Looks cool Overall: I've owned about 75 guitars over the years, this is my 7th ESP. My prize is my original ESP "Series" Strat I bought in 1984. I mainly bought this for the looks and it's less than half the price of a road worn Fender. Every road worn that I played in the store had crappy frets. This looks cool and plays very well. Can tell that the body is 3 pieces. Pulled it out of the box and it was pretty much in tune. Neck and frets are very good, the action is good, no dead spots, but just need to tweak it a little to my preference. Pickups are decent for price but noisy, I will change those anyway or just hang it on the wall because it looks so cool. ESP does a fantastic job with the aging on the body finish, but the fretboard still looks brand new. Not going to complain since I am more than happy with the looks and playability of this guitar for $349. I might buy the black/maple one just for the hell of it since it's only $249.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Cannot be beat for the price!" submitted November 22, 2013

By M H in Vail, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 15yrs, Lead guitar in worship band
Music Style: Rock, country, Worship, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I absolutely love this guitar. Road wear is awesome looking, the pickups sound great. Alder body. All for $350 bucks. If you went with a MIM Fender over this you're nuts! I will say, some of the frets have some sharp edges, and it needed a setup out of the box, but other than that it's been amazing!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I would reccomed this guitar to anyone who likes a smooth guitar at a great price. The road worn looks are great has a good feel" submitted May 31, 2011

By a customer from teamsterslocal95.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: For the money I don't think you can top it. Feature: Again for the money it would be hard to beat. Ease of Use: great Quality: Seems well made the road worn affect is great looks and plays great. Value: great product Manufacturer Support: only dealt with zzounds and they will get my business in the future a great company with excellant employees, they know how to treat a customer. I could not have been any happier with the service and the way they they worked to give me the best deal possible. I will be a zzounds return customer. The Wow Factor: looks great, plays smooth Overall: for what I use it for I will keep for ever.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Esp Player for 15 years..." submitted March 13, 2012

By Patrick T in Reno, NV
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro
Music Style: Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This thing is a hunk of garbage. Dead frets, lousy balance and horrible tone even after upgrading the pickups to EMGs. All my other ESP / LTD guitars are great. I love them. This thing... what a waste of money. I had it for 7 months and hated it every time I gave it a second, third, fourth chance. You certainly get what you pay for.
1 of 18 people (5.56%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16KD-YM5V. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!