800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1591-PDH3
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: ESP EX-50 Explorer

The ESP LTD EX-50 offers metal attitude and sound. The LTD EX-50's humbuckers and body type make it perfect for metal.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"ESP LTD EX-50" submitted October 31, 2009

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, Bass Guitarist for band
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Alternative, Rapcore, Grunge, Classical
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is really good, played with chorus or even straight its very clean, but when you use distortion, it sounds heavy, even with the stock pickups Feature: Doesn't really have a whole lot, it would be nice if it had a floyd rose, but you don't need it. It has one volume and one tone and a 3 way toggle switch, and thats all you need. Ease of Use: Just plug it in and play it, its simple enough to use, the playability is great and the neck is the perfect size to move quickly along the frets. Quality: This thing is invinceible. One day I was playing it and the strap broke off, the guitar fell and landed on the concrete, the only thing that happened was a small chunk of paint fell off, i painted over it with black nail polish, and its not even noticeable, it still sounds and plays exactly the same. Value: The value for this guitar is amazing, for how well its build, the sound of the pickups, and the durabuility i could imagin paying well over $300 for the same guitar. I bought it in September for just $220, i found a gig bag for it, and even though i also have a Ibanez sa260m and a Epiphone Les Paul standard I still play it daily. Manufacturer Support: I've never needed the support The Wow Factor: Look at it, the shape is great, for being just black or silver (mines in black) the guitar has an amazing color, the shine is increadable, you really have to see it to appreciate it. Overall: This is an amazing guitar and will probably last as long as you want to use it, it could be improved by adding better pickups, but the ones in it are just fine.
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"ESP LTD EX-50" submitted October 7, 2012

By Ignacio Manzo in Inglewood, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: ive been playing for 4-5 weeks now.
Music Style: Metal, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: depending on what type of cabinet and amp you have it will sound clean or a bit heavy.its is very responsive i recommend you play out the pickups before you switch them. I listen to metal and i got a long way to go before i can reach the big guys but it doesn't stop me from shredding and it does fit nicely with a deep heavy tone. I use a Line 6 POD HD and believe me when i say the distortion DOES NOT sound to bad with different settings like i said it all depends on what amp and cabinet your using. If it still sounds a bit too heavy for you then switching the pickups will be the best option but beware you will most likely spend $200+ or you can buy a POD HD and experiment for yourself like i did and you will be amazed. Feature: everything on the guitar is pretty useful, everything on the guitar was used especially the tuning nobs. The stock pickups are a good for starters depending on the setting used you will get different results. It is extremely well made and im happy it was made with toughness in mind. Ease of Use: IF you tune it correctly it will catch on fire, yes it sounds that good !. It gets along pretty easy with what i have so far i haven't had any problems. If your starting out learn your fingering i only have 4-5 weeks of experience little by little im getting the hang of it once you have that you will be able to move to the next thing your speed. Once you hear the tone your not gonna be able to stop playing at all it will make you come back for more. Quality: The product surpassed my expectations its made tough therefore its really reliable. For me it seems like it will last a really long time for the mechanicals only time will tell but its body is really tough. Value: You will get more than what you bargain for this for me is a great way to start. Manufacturer Support: i haven't dealt with them just yet. The Wow Factor: Pictures only describe so little wait till you have it on your hands you will never let it go. It looks really aggressive and has an aggressive tone to go with it. Overall: Over all its a wonderful guitar to have. i bought mines not to long ago, and i must say its one of the best decisions i have made so far. The black version looks mean but if you leave it in a dusty area be prepared to do a lot of cleaning.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"\m/ \m/" submitted September 7, 2005

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active and Pro Musician
Music Style: Metal/Hardcore/Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: The LH 100 are really high gain for a stock pickup, but i put active EMG's in it Feature: one volume, one tone, you dont need more than that Quality: Again, all Ltd's come standard with great playability, but they also come with a GREAT apint job, no chipping, rarely dents, and doesnt show scratches much. And even though, your getting the lowest quality out of Ltd, your still getting the best for the price. And even the bottom end stuff is really great. Value: AWSOME value for all the quality, materials, electronics, hardware, and the best playability.Its all good Manufacturer Support: Their guitars are tough, durable, and long lasting. Havent needed to call support The Wow Factor: Very "wantable" lol...JUST LOOK AT IT!!!! Overall: Overall, for the price, your getting the best guitar ever. Anyone who is starting to play, or just looking to get a cheap guitar to hot rod, get an Ltd. ALL AROUND AWSOME
23 of 25 people (92%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"one of the best for the money" submitted December 12, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 14 years experience, guitar bass and drums. semi pro
Music Style: classic rock, metal, thrash, alternative, nu metal ect ect
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: it has a really good clean sound, very responsive and a pleasure to hear. the crunch channel sounds good for it too. the pickups are alot hotter than people on here described. not a typical under 300 dollar guitar sound. Feature: not alotta extras, but for the money its alot better than say a squier strat. 1 vol one tone and a 3 way switch. what more do you need? Ease of Use: right outta the box it was setup and ready to go. tuned it and was playing instantly. controls felt good and everything was as it should be Quality: pickups are way better than i expected, controls felt really solid, and the neck and finish was FANTASTIC. love it Value: i this guitar holds its value alot better than its competition. its alotta bang for your buck. this is one of the best lower priced guitars ive ever played and ive played everything from a jackson randy rhoads to a les paul, to a gibson explorer. i really like this instrument. Manufacturer Support: havent dealt with them The Wow Factor: definately one of the sexiest guitars ive ever seen. if your a fan of the explorer, or funky shaped guitars in general, you gotta buy it. Overall: i expect i will use this for along time. i plan on doing some upgrades such as straplocks, ect, but other than that yes if it were tolen id buy it again. love this thing
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This guitar is sick!!!" submitted January 1, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Hardcore, Death Metal, Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: In my opinion, it's pretty good overall. If you play hardcore you'll definitely want to go for an 81-60 or 81-89 set up, because the stock humbuckers aren't the best. It's kind of muddy when playing lower notes, and it sounds kind of hollow on the higher frets. I have EMG's on it, and it sounds a lot better. The muddy and hollow sounds disappeared. Overall the stock pickups aren't bad, because the guitar itself is very inexpensive. Feature: It came with an ESP catalog, and a FREE GIFT (strings) from S.I.T. Strings, which I thought was cool. I wish that I had saved a little more money and got the more expensive set-neck version, because while playing shows, it'll get banged around a bit, and go slightly out of tune. Ease of Use: It's easy to get great sounds from this guitar. I put an EMG 81 on the bridge and it sounds great. It's very comfortable to play sitting or standing. It will feel kind of awkward at first, but give it a little bit, and you will see that it's actually very comfortable. Quality: I think it could have been made better, and it was with the EX260 and the EX400, but if you play shows, then don't worry, it sounds good, plays good, stays in tune, and is quite easy to set-up. I use it for everything, because I don't want to use my more expensive guitars, to go play at a show. Value: I already recommended two people to this guitar, they bought it, and now they love it too. It's very inexpensive, it's a great price for the guitar in general Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to deal with them yet, so they must have done something right. The Wow Factor: The first time I saw an ESP EX model guitar, I just wanted to steal it (I didn't steal it). It has a nice sharp body, and I recognized it, because of Gibson's version. The ESP version, I think is much better, because you look at and say, "Man, that thing is sick." It's not my best guitar, but I still love to show it off to my friends... They all ask how much it cost, expecting to here somewhere around $400, and are shocked when I tell them how far off they are. Overall: I was already searching for another guitar after I bought this one. I like it for playing shows, but I would like to have another ESP guitar with a set neck, and EMG's already on it.
17 of 19 people (89.47%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"good guitar for a good price" submitted November 24, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Melodic and Technical Death Metal, Black Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: the stock pickups are fine. sounds good to me. i would switch the pickups to a higher output pickupif i could, but its fine for now. Feature: Very basic, but simple is good. Ease of Use: its as simple as plug in and play, well once you turn the amp on. the shape is not a problem at all. i think its more comfortable then a strat. Quality: it is very strong. i dont have a case and i have banged the points on walls thousands of times, and just lost a chip of paint on one tip which you can hardly notice. Value: excellent value, a good second guitar. Manufacturer Support: not needed The Wow Factor: I like this shape more than the classic explorer. the black is so nice and shiny, it gives off a reflection. Overall: I am satisfied. i was either going to get this or the dean zx, and this is way better, to me anyway.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"excellent value, beautiful guitar, great sound, SHRED MACHINE" submitted June 25, 2006

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician/band member
Music Style: black metal
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: The neck is very fast, the action is relatively low, pickups are very responsive (considering they are stock esp pickups), overall a fantastic sound. I do not see myself purchasing any guitars in the future (not unless this breaks). This guitar is a shred machine, a friend of mine (who plays a agile les paul model) picked this up and commented on how easy it was to shred on. Feature: Basic guitar, no special pickups or anything but for the price that is totally understandable. Ease of Use: The only initial issues I had with this instrument was the weight. This particular model is VERY neckheavy and as a result always tends to droop. One solution to this problem I've found is to wear a strap that slides so you can freely maneuver the neck when performing without snagging your shirt. This is not a serious problem, though, not even really a problem at all but some people have preferences in regards to guitar weight. Of course the shape is a bit akward, but, for fans of explorers this is the way to go, especially for this price. Quality: I've owned this guitar for almost a year now and have played it almost every day (changing the strings accordingly), and I have experienced no technical problems at all. After cleaning it looks like new and with new strings sounds it aswell. Value: Poenominal value, but this versus the more expensive versions, the only real difference is the wood(s) and pickups (and as far as pickups, its cheaper to buy the ones you want and have them installed than buying the more expensive model of the guitar) Manufacturer Support: I haven't even had to deal with the company! The Wow Factor: You either like explorers or you don't, from an objective point of view its obvious that some people will not be drawn to this shape. I, however, am a very huge fan. I do not think I can go back to a standard shape after this. It's comfortable to play and beautiful to look at when onstage. Overall: I cannot see myself buying another guitar for sometime (not unless this guitar is to break). I will also most likely not buy anything that is not an explorer-shape, it's become a very comfortable guitar to play.
9 of 11 people (81.82%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"AGREE WITH ME OR PERISH!!!!!!!!!" submitted October 9, 2007

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam with friends
Music Style: Metal/Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is amazing. I myself im a HUGE metallica fan and its amazing playing youfavorite songs and sounding just like the recording. Feature: I like the guitar but if i had the money i would put EMG or Seymour Duncan Pickups on it and maybe add a Floyd Rose Trem. Ease of Use: This was my first guitar and i have stuck by it for about a year now. I immediatly addapted to the shape because it proves very comfortable when doing the immense ammount of palm muting during many of my songs. Quality: for the price i dont really think i could find a better guitar. It even beats my friends Epiphone SG and he payed 3 times more than i did... he kinda feels stupid now lol Value: Best quality for its price, but eventually you will feel its time for a change... but u will never have a normal shapped guitar again. Manufacturer Support: Whats Support? The Wow Factor: It is the most amazing lookin guitar ever... James Hetfield may look better playing it tho. Overall: Overall great starting guitar, but you will feel you need change for quality eventually. Im actually currently saving up for a Jackson RR3 Pro beacause at a certain point u will either get new pickups or just buy a new guitar... even when i get my RR3 i can see myself playing this guitar.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This guitar is shredding monster!" submitted April 16, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Music Style: Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, Classic Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: 2 words heavy metal!! Feature: not many features but if u have a nice amp and head it sounds awsome. Ease of Use: its very comfortable sitting down or standing. Quality: it is made very well and i have played with some gibsons tht arnt as good as this. Value: it was worth every penny Manufacturer Support: i havnt needed any support. thts because ESP rocks! Overall: this is just perfect for any metallica thrash metal fan!
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awesome" submitted February 23, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: the sound is great, pick up couldn't be better with the price. Feature: wish it had a tremolo bridge and some evil inlays. Quality: good Value: great value for the money.great design for those who play meeetttaaalll! The Wow Factor: very appealling, i crave for it.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Overall, this guitar is amazing for the metal and rock fan." submitted June 15, 2010

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Metallica and AC/DC style
Back to Product Information
Sound: the sound is awesome. especially if you're going for heavy metal and that kind of music. Feature: overall awesome Ease of Use: the neck droops down REALLY low while you're playing standing up. thats the biggest problem. Quality: the quality is amazing. what you expect from an ESP guitar. Value: what you can expect from an ESP guitar at $259 Manufacturer Support: i havent dealt with support The Wow Factor: very very desirable. from novice to pro, anyone would look like a rock god with this guitar. Overall: i like this guitar, definitely playing it for a long time. what bugs my is the neck-heavy issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

ESP EX-50 Explorer Customer Review submitted February 1, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: professional+band director+band member+guitar teacher
Music Style: metal,rock,hard rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: the best guitar ever with the highest sound quality, but its major weakness point is that its a neck heavy guitar which causes the guitar to lean downwards while you're playing Quality: high quality Value: its worth it Manufacturer Support: didnt get any
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"OMG ITS THE BEST GUITAR EVER, even better than stacy meltons stupid schecter..." submitted August 28, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: I sounds amazing, probably the greatest humbuckers ive ever played on at the $200.00 price that this guitar offers. Feature: I love the paint on the body, and the black chrome hardware is awesome. I kinda sparkles when you look at it in the light. Ease of Use: It has the BEST playability ever. its so easy to use and i sounds absolutlt amazing. Quality: Really good quality... BECAUSE ITS AN ESP... Value: Its definnatly worth the price. Manufacturer Support: I ordered mine straight from ltd and got a great deal and i got my guitar quick, but zzounds still does better The Wow Factor: Awesome body style with an awseome finish. what more could you ask for...
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

ESP EX-50 Explorer Customer Review submitted November 20, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the pickups arent bad they are very good for this price range...although i put some emg 81's in it Value: cant get a btter guitar for the price Manufacturer Support: havent dealt with em
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This guitar is an amazing choice." submitted October 24, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Metal, Rock, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Very good, especially with a good amplifier like line 6 or marshall. those are the best for this guitar. You might wanna get some emg pickups or just get some other guitar later, probably after 2 years of playing. Feature: Humbuckers are beutiful. Ease of Use: One of the fastest necks ever. Regardless of a bolt-on neck. you can shred like kirk hammett! Quality: it has a nice finish, but for me, it dings up pretty easily, and i keep it in a box. Also, i got it fresh from a factory, and there was a major scratch at a corner. Value: there is no other guitar better than this for the price. i will fight you if you disagree! Manufacturer Support: Never had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: The shape is amazing. Feeling like james hetfield with this baby! Overall: Very Nice
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great wood" submitted January 24, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Back to Product Information
Sound: pickups are rather dull and muddy on highe gain setting Feature: you get what your pay for but they haven't mentioned the contoured heel very comfortable if your used to the top heaviness. Ease of Use: again top heavey but not even something worth complaining about. Quality: very nice then again I have changed a few things since i bought it a few years ago off this website as a matter of fact or right quality.....change the pickups and we are good. Value: worth the price i'd say but hey I said it not you. Manufacturer Support: yeah i'm to stubborn to call i'm still stuck in that whole "Naw I can fix it" stage so haven't bothered. The Wow Factor: ..........sex appeal? odd quuestion about wood......oh I get it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GNARLEY GUITAR" submitted February 5, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: in a band
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: has such a nice crunchy sound with distortion and im gonna buy it Feature: nice and simple the way i like it Quality: AWSOME!! Value: woth the money Manufacturer Support: np problems at all The Wow Factor: i love it it looks so gnarley my mom hates its look tho but who cares shes old Overall: awosme
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

ESP EX-50 Explorer Customer Review submitted February 20, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist/band
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: They aren't the greatest pickups, but for the money, it is excelent. No fret buzz and such, by far the best sound for a guitar around the price range, no doubt. Feature: Just a volume and tone knob, nothign too special. Although they do work well. Quality: Again for the money, it's top of the line. ESP makes nothing crappy, all quality products. Value: As stated earlier, best for the money. THere's no comparison. Manufacturer Support: I have heard the supports is great. Havn't actually had contact with them, because all of my ESP's function great. The Wow Factor: It's an old explorer style. It's hella sexy. I got the green metallic finish, and everytime I play it, it gives me great pleasure. JK, but it's kickass. Overall: You can upgrade instead of the EX-50 there are higher numbers. Don't know one in specific, but the pickups and controls can be upgraded, so it's not a 10, lol.
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"woah... this guitar is.... .....holy crap!" submitted August 4, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Metal, hard rock, blues, classic rock, some jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: the sound quality is awesome.. it is a great guitar if you want to play around or play a gig. Feature: the most useful feature on the guitar was the toggle switch, it made it easy to switch the sounds of my heavy metal. Ease of Use: this was a very easy guitar to get used to, the neck was easy to slide up and down on so soloing wasn't a huge problem. Quality: when I got the guitar, everything was in good shape except for my input jack. It was extremely loose and eventually fell off, I had to pay 300 dollars to fix the entire input jack which was connected to the electrical system inside the guitar. wasn't to happy about that. but it works now, and it plays great. Value: this guitar is a STEAL compared to what you can buy it for in my local music store. Manufacturer Support: The support was outstanding, I went on live-chat numerous times and was asking a lot of questions about the product and they answered every single question with a knowledge filled answer. The zZounds support is awesome. The Wow Factor: this guitar is HOT, the metal body really makes it attractive. Overall: this guitar deffinently met my musical standards, compared to the guitar I had before it. If the guitar was stolen, I would probably buy something else because I've used all the awesome in the world with this guitar and if it were to be stolen, I would probably move on. But I plan to have the guitar as long as I can.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"the epitome of playing pleasure!" submitted November 10, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: metal, rock, alternative, speed metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: This thing sounds freaking good stock with the humbuckers! All you have to do is throw in two active EMG's and you have the same guitar as the guitarist for Atreyu. in the lipgloss and black video, he actually has an ex-50 with emgs. a very professional setup for a cheap as dirt price! but much better than dirt! Feature: really simple, nothing fancy, just how i like it. I can;t stand guitars with more knobs than you have a use for. The only thing I'd add is a floyd rose trem. Quality: It's an ESP, some of the best guitars EVER! Value: best value EVER! simply said, best buy for the money! Manufacturer Support: havent had to talk to them, but I'm sure if there support is newhere near as good as their products, its immaculate! The Wow Factor: definately gunna be my next guitar! Overall: wonderful guitar, I still can;t believe how cheap it is!!! everyone needs to add this to their collection.
3 of 5 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"WICKED GUITAR" submitted March 30, 2007

By a customer from gaggle.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: rock- any music that branches off from rock and blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: This has the best sound you can possibly afford for less than $300. The two humbuckers prevent any static at all from coming through my amp (Spider III) and it's probably the best sounding guitar i've ever played Feature: The humbuckers...they're so sweet, but if you want some major punch in your sound get some seymour duncans Ease of Use: Very fast neck. No questions asked Quality: I love the Xplorer shape, i feel like James Hetfield..lol Value: it is ABSOLUTELY DEFINETELY 100% worth the price Manufacturer Support: why would i need to contact them? this guitar is awesome!!! The Wow Factor: Xploder shape blows all others away Overall: just a great guitar, heavy, so if youre a wimp get a strap
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"There is no wrong way with ESP!!" submitted November 6, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: I hate clasifying music!
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: I've owned this guitar for a little over two years now. Its been through good times, bad times, and writers block. Its pulled through it all. The overall sound quality of the guitar is great, when you add in the low price. Its a great value, however, unless you consider yourself a beginner of sorts then you may want to look for something with a bit more quality. You can get a fairly wide range, but the pickups are fairly low grade. They dont offer enough of a range in any extreme form of music. Its good enough that you wont make a fool of yourself but not particularly outstanding. Feature: There isn't really much in the way of features. Just your basic stuff, but what do you expect for $225? Its fairly solid though and I've been able to rely on it whenever I've had need of it. Good luck finding a gig bag or a case to fit it though, unless your willing to spend almost half as much for a case ($119.95). The local music stores plainly told me I was out of luck with that one and this site here actually is the only I know of that offers a case to fit it. Quality: I've dropped it, banged it, stepped on it, and even a baby had a go at it. Its tough and can take a licking. Mind you none of the incidents I've mentioned were intentional so dont go trying to create a problem with the instrument. Value: Other than the lack of transportation (the gig bag/case issue) there is nothing that I would mark this guitar down for. The price and the quality are excellent, it far exceeded my expectations for such a low price. Manufacturer Support: I've never actually tried to contact the support of the instrument, however I am an esp man so I will so no wrong of the company. The Wow Factor: It definately has a very strong presence. No matter how fat, ugly, or stupid you may look, with this guitar in your hands your a god. It definatly stands out hanging on the wall with my other quitars, although it may not be the most expensive. Overall: As long as I've had this guitar I've been satisfied with it. You cant beat the price, the look is bad ass, and the guitar is a rock (in a solid way not a weight way). Like I said before I've had it for a little over 2 years. I'm only buying a new guitar for a change, and better quality, I have alot more money now.
8 of 10 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"killer!!" submitted November 7, 2007

Overall
Sound
Value
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: this guitar rocks.......in every single way. works for everything .. easy to play..sounds awesome, killer in drop-d Feature: the stop tailpiece is handy.....the black hardware is very stylish Ease of Use: this guitar sounds good on any amp...... Quality: good guitar but make sure you get a case for it........otherwise hard to find Value: very good price Manufacturer Support: none Overall: the fretboard
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bad@$$ guitar!" submitted March 9, 2005

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: the sound is awesome, i would recommend changin out the humbuckers with seymour duncan dimebuckers though. Feature: volume and tone knobs...all you really need. overall features are ok. Quality: The quality is superb, paint doesnt chip, stays in tune, easy to play, really great guitar. Value: this is the cheapest explorer out there basically GREAT VALUE! Manufacturer Support: havent ever had to deal with em so dont know. The Wow Factor: this guitar has one of the best shapes....really really sexy, so sharp it could be considered a deadly weapon. Overall: this will tide me over for many years to come, ill probably upgrade to a 260 later though.
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BAD ASS GITAR FOR A SMALL PRICE" submitted March 29, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Musical Background: Active musician, in a band( two bands)
Music Style: I play everything from sepultura, Metallica, Fear Factory, Chet Atkins, Pantera, Death Angel, Bach, Lamb of god etc...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This sounds great. I play everything from Metallica to Napalm Death to Bach to Chet Atkins it does them all. Nice cruchy sound with the bridge pickup and a more beefy mellow sound with the neck. If you have the money i would suggest a floyd rosse tremolo, a dimarzio X2N for the bridge and a Dimarzio PAF PRO for the neck. Stock pickups are very good too. Feature: This is one nice guitar. It may be sold for a cheap price but the materials they use to make it are excelent. I own an epihpone 1970 something scroll, a gibson 1953 hollobody (Its actually from 1953, my granpa gave it to me when he died.), and i have playd countless hours on my friends cheap squires and this beats them all. This guitar is also very sturdy. I have accidently hit the neck and headstock into the wall and table and cars and people countless times. Ive been asked if this gutar cost me lots of money and to their suprise it didnt. Quality: Quality is very good. As all ESP are supreme in qality. Though i did accidently rip my volume knob off accidently. Oh and the screw that is near the neck ripped out when yanked on my guitar. Other than that it is a great product Overall: Great value. Its a steal. GET IT!!!!!
2 of 21 people (9.52%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

ESP EX-50 Explorer Customer Review submitted March 28, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: sloppy Feature: bad sound, just loud Quality: breaks Value: i dont know Manufacturer Support: service people were ok The Wow Factor: BAD Overall: replace
4 of 22 people (18.18%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1591-PDH3. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!