800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 205-1GW7
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Ernie Ball Regular Slinky

Ernie Ball Regular Slinky strings are a classic for guitarists. Players from Eric Clapton to Steve Vai use the Ernie Ball Regular Slinky strings to get their sound.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Ernie Ball Regular Slinky Electric Guitar Strings" submitted June 12, 2012

By Jake H in Lyons, OR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Alternative, Chrtistian, acoustic
Back to Product Information
Overall: I play these strings on all of my electric guitars, and I do not plan to change any time soon. They sound and feel amazing, and they are cheaper than any other strings I've seen. I've played Elixirs, D'Addarios, Martins, and I can honestly say that only one kind of string sounds and feels better than these; Elixir Nanowebs for acoustic guitars. That being said, these are by far the best electric guitar strings you can get, as they will last for much longer than you think, and they hold their tone forever.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Super Duper Super Slinkys" submitted January 12, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock, Blues and Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Crisp clear tone Ease of Use: Easy as tehy get Quality: Best strings on the market for any price Value: For less than $4 apack pack.I say thats a very good value
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best strings around - bar none." submitted September 12, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobby currently, as i am learning but i will be in a band no doubt.
Music Style: Rock - Indie/Punk mainly, bit of everything thought
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have had many different strings and this is head and shoulders ahead of have ever used before. The sound is perfect. I have only been playing a few months so i don't have the best of amps and i have an average guitar but with these strings it really does make even the most amature of players sound better. Quality: Once again a perfect 10, what can i say. Best strings i have used. Value: Cheap as anything, buy as many as you can for stock. Worth it. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed any. Overall: Pure quality, sound is amazing, worth every penny. Not much more i can say to be honest apart from i can guarantee these are the only strings i shall be getting from now on.
6 of 10 people (60%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Greatest Strings Ever" submitted November 20, 2007

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock, Thrash Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The best sounding strings out there right now. Feature: Strings are Strings on features Ease of Use: I have used ernie balls from day one and they are the easiest to play. Quality: A whole lot better than d'addarios and others. I have had them all and ernie ball is the best. Value: Worth the price. Manufacturer Support: Never had to deal with them because I have never had any problems. The Wow Factor: These are the best! Overall: Nothing can beat Ernie Ball strings not Elixir or D'addario.
2 of 6 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not as good as you think!" submitted December 21, 2006

By a customer from reflexhouse.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer, Musician and Guitarist in band.
Music Style: Rock, kinda Muse etc.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound pretty nice, been using them for a while but recently started using D'darios. I think the ernie balls arn't quite as warm and round. Feature: Well... hard to say there just a set of strings. Saying that, I've snapped alot of them, something I haven't done witht he D'darios. Ease of Use: They play fairly nicely, loose there bright tone quite quickly Quality: Like I said, I've snapped alot!! Value: Cost the same as any other set of strings really, so not a great score. There are better strings for the money. Manufacturer Support: No idea, not used them. The Wow Factor: It's yellow, looks a bit cooler than some strings. Overall: Seem to be ok, I prefer the D'darios, seems to suit my guitar much better.
4 of 10 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bad batches? Or just really poor strings?" submitted October 28, 2010

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Metal, hard rock, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Maybe I got a bad batch or something again(as this is the third time in a row I've bought Ernie Ball strings giving them the benefit of a doubt), but I can't see why people love these things. The sound is so flat and boring. There's no dynamics to them. I'd just as soon use fishing line on my guitar. Feature: You get six individually packed strings. Not much else. Then again, what else do you need? Ease of Use: You'd think they'd be easy to install. NO! I tuned the heaviest string to only C flat before it snapped. I only wanted to tune to D! The others were not problematic. It sucks only having 5 strings without a backup. Quality: These strings suck. As I mentioned earlier, the tone is horrendous, the strings snap before they're in tune, and I hate them. Value: If you're desperate for cheap strings, this is for you. Otherwise get something else. Manufacturer Support: I never bothered, so I can't really give them a bad score. The Wow Factor: The packaging is in a really bright color, so it does catch your attention. The low price is attractive too, but don't bother. I know I won't ever repeat this mistake. Overall: I will never buy anything from Ernie Ball ever again. I want my money back! Furthermore, these strings are the worst value in the market. Don't even consider these awful strings.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you haven't used this string. DO" submitted July 5, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: They sound perfect from the start till you change them. I get great tone and never have used others that sound better. Feature: What features are on strings?? The package is nice they come in. LOL Quality: Never have broke one ever. You get a great string for the price. I bought some D'Adario's before and only got 5 strings. Then my dad bought some like a week later and the same thing happen. Value: One of the cheapest price, but best sounding. How can you go wring with that? Manufacturer Support: Never had any issues.
31 of 35 people (88.57%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"dont buy these strings, get blue steels." submitted June 28, 2009

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Back to Product Information
Sound: my top 2 strings came packaged dead, the tone is horrible, i could get better tone with nylon strings. Feature: horrible sounds Ease of Use: big brand bad strings. Quality: dead strings are no good. Overall: thought it was going to be a decent string turned out to be garbage.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awesome for any player!" submitted August 29, 2005

Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock/punk/metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: these are the only strings ive ever used besides the ones i ha on my guitar before and when i put them on it made a big difference Quality: ive never had one break even when i go on vacation at they get hit by so many things and with all the bending and palm muting i do and just plain old messing around with them Value: worth every penny Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with support The Wow Factor: theyr sexy strings lol no really they look pretty good Overall: i might try other things from ernie ball why not?
23 of 27 people (85.19%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 205-1GW7. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!