800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 206-T8G9
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 5 p.m. EST on Friday, Dec. 16 and select ground shipping.

Rating and Reviews: Ernie Ball Skinny-Heavy

This unique pack of electric guitar strings pairs lighter high-gauge strings with thicker low-gauge strings for easier soloing and a bigger bottom.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Amazing strings, good value!!!!" submitted January 10, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Unsigned Band
Music Style: Nu Metal, Death Metal, Thrash Metal, Hard Rock, Punk Rock.
Back to Product Information
Sound: well, they're thick strings, good for de-tuning I guess??? Feature: if they came with a string winder, it would be great. Ease of Use: thick and noisy, just how I like it! Quality: my last set lasted me about 2-3 months, and I kept goingfrom drop b to standard then drop a then drop b then drop cthen standard again then drop d, etc..... Value: great value Manufacturer Support: didn't need to The Wow Factor: if you like playing drop tuned songs, these are the strings for you. Overall: I love these string, I got a pack of ten a year ago and only used TWO sets. These are also good to do dive-bombs, cause the set I used before these broke the b and high e string.
12 of 12 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great strings" submitted March 6, 2015

By Brad H in Wichita Falls, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist, lead guitar in metal band
Music Style: Hard rock, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: These strings are fantastic. Don't pay any attention to the reviewer that stated to switch to regular strings every couple of sets. If your neck is twisting, you need to take better care of your neck, truss rod relief and all that. Probably need a better guitar in all honesty. I've been playing these strings exclusively for 6 years. I keep my stuff in drop C and drop B. I've even had these in standard and drop D tunings, never had an issue with my neck on any of my guitars! If you string and set up the guitar the right way you'll fall in love with these strings and never look at another brand again.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BUY THESE STRINGS" submitted April 15, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Lead Guitarist
Music Style: Metalcore/Death Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: For anything metal, probably the best strings ive ever used. I had used hybrid slinkys for the longest time, then i found these and im hooked. Feature: uh... they're guitar strings. If they came with a little dude that would put them on for me... that would be cool.... Ease of Use: again... see above Quality: the best of the best. Ernie Ball has the king of strings.... it doesnt matter what music you play... they have a string for you Value: i buy them at a little guitar shop for $8... and i dont mind paying that for strings because they REALLY last..... Manufacturer Support: never needed to complain... Overall: Its Ernie Ball.. nuff said...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BUY THESE" submitted May 30, 2004

By a customer from netscape.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: punk, old punk, street punk, and some trippy
Back to Product Information
Sound: deap sounds very versitile nice lound great for punk Feature: there strings Quality: look and feel great allmost never break Value: best strings for the $$ Manufacturer Support: dunno there strings The Wow Factor: only strings worth twanging Overall: only strings ive used been playing them and gone thgouh 2 packs and working on a 3rd only bad thing is that you need tortex picks cause there thick strings and they shred fenders
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent set o'" submitted November 27, 2004

By a customer from earthlink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Just for fun, ma'am
Music Style: Jam, Blues, Folk, Texas Blues, Classic Rock, Chicago Blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: Just your regular old EB strings. Sound fine to me. Feature: (Kind of an odd category for strings)...Only one other produst like it: D'Addario EXL140s (10-52). I love the feel of high 10s, but not on my low E, A, and D strings. They're perfect for me. Quality: Well, I love EB strings. They hold up well for me. These are no exception. Value: See all above comments - I LOVE SLINKYS! Manufacturer Support: Haven't dealt with 'em... The Wow Factor: Again, kind of bizarre. Silnkys all have cool, retro packaging, and the strings are so soft (?) and "slinky." Overall: Just all in all great strings. Need I say more?
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good strings but..." submitted March 24, 2012

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: These are good string but beware.. Every 3rd set of strings put on a set of regular 10-46 or 11-48.REASON BEING: The uneven tension between the Skinny top, and the Heavy Bottom WILL and I repeat WILL IN FACT twist your guitars neck.. Your guitar needs a break from these every few sets. I suggest every two or so. BUT don't get me wrong these strings rock. Just keep in mind, these are very bad for your neck.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Ernie Ball Skinny-Heavy Customer Review submitted November 24, 2008

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Metal, Pop Punk, Happy Hardcore
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: these strings are extremely good for fast and crunchy metal riffs so if your into that kind of playing style i really recomend these strings Feature: well idk they are ernie ball man i mean wat u expect Ease of Use: these strings are fatter than other strings so if u are just starting out i wouldnt recommend them they could hurt ur fingers a bit Quality: these string are very durable Value: these are well worth 7 dollars Manufacturer Support: umm idk havent had any problems yet Overall: these strings are extremely durable and clean sounding and well they are ernie ball man u know ur getting quality
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Ernie Ball Skinny-Heavy Customer Review submitted September 20, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound good, great for metal in that you can just pound away at them. Feature: just thick enough to be durable on the bottoms, and skinny enough on the high strings to be solo-able Ease of Use: easy to play on. Quality: Dont hardly break. Ever. Value: Well worth $8 Manufacturer Support: Ernie ball has great support for everything. The Wow Factor: Good looking strings in my opinion/ Overall: Just really great strings.
10 of 10 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Ernie Ball Skinny-Heavy Customer Review submitted July 11, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Back to Product Information
Sound: when im practicing i basically play slayer and metallica, youll have a crap load of fun with these strings if your into that, i can also get that chunky bottom end,sledge hammer pantera sound now that i wasnt getting at all with the generic strings that came with my guitar Feature: um well, there strings, i guess they slide pretty good. Ease of Use: for metal riffs these stings make life alot easier, believe me, kick ars for metal riffs Overall: i think these strings make a guitar alot more versatile, e a and d are gonna feel thicker, which is better, g b and e are gonna feel like fishing fire which is way beter for fast solos.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 206-T8G9. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!