800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 201-GF8P
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Goth Les Paul

The Epiphone Goth Les Paul offers a dark perspective on the LP. With dual '57 Classic humbuckers and a dead black finish, this Les Paul can wake the dead.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"A Helluva bargain for only $350.00 !!!!" submitted March 21, 2013

By Jeff Osgood in Woonsocket, RI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40 years experience
Music Style: Classic Rock & Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I traded a Squier Standard Strat a couple of days ago to some High School kid for this. He said that it was unplayable. After looking at it , it was obvious that all it needed was a setup and intonation check along with a cleaning which I did to the guitar. Once I got done with everything and plugged it into my Vintage 1989 Peavey Bandit 112, I was blown away at both the sound and the build of this guitar. I'm 53 years old and have been playing for over 40 years and in that time, I have to say that this is without a doubt , one of the best guitars I have ever come across. The stock Epiphone Alnico open coil humbuckers provide more than enough sustain to please any musician whether they play Blues or metal . Plus playing this on a clean setting provides a really nice ringing tone to it as well. The Grover tuners do a excellent job of providing tuning stability and the White Cross and the IV inlay on the 12th fret , are cosmetically pleasing to the eye along with the Matte Black finish as well. Some I've heard, have complained about the weight of this guitar, but in comparison to say a Les Paul standard , this is relatively light and easy on my shoulder. All in all, I highly reccomend this to the musician on a budget who wants a LP but doesn't want to pay the exuberant prices for a Gibson.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Product For the Price" submitted June 7, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, Educator, Engineer
Music Style: All Styles
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I've been a guitarist for thirty-plus years. I've owned a lot of guitars. Plenty of "really expensive" ones, too. This guitar is really great for the price. Seriously. As some of the other reviewers have noted, the Alnico Classic Plus(TM) Humbucker pickups are pretty hot (I can't track down the actual voltage but I'd say the bridge pickup runs 250+mV, anyway), but they are a tad bit noisy (which could possibly just be a result of the wiring (I haven't had a chance to shield it or anything, yet), which can be easily fixed (with the aforementioned shielding)). I'm probably going to opt for a couple DiMarzios or perhaps Seymour Duncans... just personal taste. For the casual player, though, the tone on this guitar out of the box is really, really great. Very crisp on the bridge and very mellow on the neck. Feature: Mahogany, mahogany, mahogany... I've read reviews here and there stating that this is a "neck-thru" guitar - it's not. It's a set neck... which is just fine and dandy - it's really solid and has a great feel to it. The "Killpot" is a unique touch - by pushing on the pot, it kills the signal, much like flipping the pickup selector with one of the volumes down, making for a nice little effect if ya need it, saving SERIOUS unnecessary wear on the pickup selector. The pickguard is a little cheap, but again, an easily rectified situation. Ease of Use: As stated earlier, this guitar is capable of great tone, the same great tone its big brother is capable of. Quality: Other than the cheap-ish pickguard, the guitar is really solid and very well-built. The internal electronics all appear well-done for an "assembly line guitar," also. Value: Honestly, it's a great value, even at a much higher price. Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: This is a really aesthetically-pleasing guitar. The satin/matte finish is really attractive and well-done. The tuners on the guitar are Grover Rotomatics (look to be the midsize 305BCs) and not the "vintage" tuners that appear in the pic. That is a plus to me, because I'm not a very big fan of unsealed tuners. Overall: Bottom line - if you've got $2,500 laying around, yeah, buy the Gibson... but for this price, this is an amazing guitar right out of the box. Anyone worth their salt in the business will tell you so.
26 of 27 people (96.3%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Les Paul for the price!" submitted October 17, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro Musician
Music Style: Blues/Country/Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The pickups are great, right out of the box. Mine has the '59s on it. I changed to my favorite strings and bam, that was it. The sustain on this guitar lasts forever. Feature: No special features needed. The goth look is great - matte black and black metal. Ease of Use: Plays like charm. Out of the three guitars I currently own, I love playing this guitar. Quality: Epiphone quality is top notch. After I bought this guitar, I went out and bought another Epiphone. I'm sold on the company. Great stuff. Value: I don't think you can get a better Les Paul for the price. Manufacturer Support: Never needed it. The Wow Factor: Matte black. I get a lot of lookers at my guitar. Overall: Overall 10! If you buy it you won't be disappointed.
15 of 16 people (93.75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Goth Epiphone Les Paul" submitted December 15, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician 35+ yrs
Music Style: rock - surf instro
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I was suprised at the quality of this guitar. The neck action is sweet and the sound is what I would expect from a les paul! I purchased this as a gift for my son's 16th birthday. I am satisfied that he will grow with this professional quality guitar for years to come.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A gothic sound from my Goth..." submitted January 31, 2015

By Joseph Jones in Medway, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am a self taught guitar and piano player who has been playing for about 3 years and writing songs for about 7.
Music Style: Heavy rock, metal and blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have only had my new Studio Goth a couple months and it has not disappointed at all. Great rich sounds and the kill switch just adds so much range of sounds to it. I played an older one but it did not sound like this. Now I can play some gigs and do them with power and range. And I love the black look. One of the best guitar's I have and definitely a big on sound, small on cost axe....
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Les Paul Gothic " submitted October 11, 2015

By a customer from gmail.com in South Gate, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Jam at home frequently
Music Style: Heavy metal Classic rock Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Arrived fast n with zero flaws. Zzsounds provides great customer service with affordable payment plans. Every chance I get I find myself cranking up volume to the sweet tune of this Les Paul.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best guitar money can buy in its price range" submitted October 16, 2003

By a customer from bushinternet.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: nu metal/heavy metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound of this product is amazing if it is heavy sound you are looking for you can play anything from slayer to slipknot on this guitar and it will always do you proud Feature: the pickups on this beast are all you need to know about apart from the amazing matt finish and gothic look 12th fret inlay Quality: This is a very rugged guitar and will take alot of abuse it would be perfect for roadtrips gigs and just jammin with a few mates whatever your need this guitar will fulfill them Value: This is the best guitar i have ever played Manufacturer Support: i cannot comment on this as i have not had any experiance with the company The Wow Factor: The looks of this guitar are enough to make anyone cream Overall: i dont think this guitar is going to get worn out any time soon
30 of 34 people (88.24%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"amazing action and killer leads" submitted December 12, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: metal/rock/hardcore
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: i love the way this thing sounds. i picked it up a few months ago from my ex guitarist in a band i used to jam with, and fell in love with it. the humbuckers really play their part in this one. Feature: the tone knobs are pretty useless, but do you really use them? they do little difference but the three channel toggle does it all for ya, from killer leads to super smooth rhythms for blues. Quality: its really sturdy. its neck-through, so its alot more durable than the gibson. they may be neck through too, but the necks on gibsons are super fragile. ive dropped this axe on concrete and it never went out of tune and i dont use a floyd rose. its really durable. Value: this guitar is priced perfectly, so you get all the bang you can for your buck. The Wow Factor: this axe definately looks metal. all black satin finish, looks like its been through hell. it looks awesome on stage Overall: overall, its an awesome guitar
24 of 28 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Dont let the price fool you, this is one hell of a guitar. comparable to $600-$800. range." submitted October 28, 2016

By jeff m in butler, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 years
Music Style: Blues, country, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Set up right out of the box. Plays perfectly, action low with no string buzz. Pickups are really good but I will upgrade to EMG's. Looks amazing, lower weight than LP but feels good and balanced wearing a strap, and lacks nothing in sound. Just like all the other reviews say, get this guitar. Mellow blues to heavy, you will not be disappointed!! I will always buy Epiphone, as this replaced a Fender Strat costing twice as much and played/sounded like crap.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The DOOM axe!" submitted August 2, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: metal, doom metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: very gloomy, very dark. the best thing for doom metal. The Wow Factor: simply BDSM!
9 of 14 people (64.29%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THE BEST!" submitted March 5, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: don't know...but i want it. Feature: SICK PAINT! Ease of Use: again i don't care... it looks awesome Quality: it's a les paul... how bad could it be? Value: cheap cheap cheap. The Wow Factor: SEX APPEAL= the equivalent to brad pitt. lol
5 of 30 people (16.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 201-GF8P. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!