800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172T-BDMS
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Monday, Dec. 22 and select 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Les Paul Black Beauty

The Epiphone Les Paul Black Beauty 3 offers tuxedo looks and tone at a great price. With a third humbucker for extra oomph, the LP Black Beauty 3 rocks.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Awesomes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" submitted August 23, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician/Hobbyist
Music Style: Alt. Rock, Metal, Hardcore, Punk, some Emocore, some Metalcore, ska
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I love the sound of this guitar! I played it through several different amps and pedals and it sounded awsome every time. It sounds like a more expensive guitar. Feature: This is a beautiful instrument. 3 Hums, 4 knobs, Grover tuners, and a stunning finish with gold hardware. Plus it sounds great. What more could you want? Ease of Use: Again, awesome. It has nice action and a smooth easy kind of feel. Beginners might get a little thrown off by the knob and pu selector setup, but once you get past that there's not that much too it. It feels just as nice as my expensive Gibson. Quality: Even though I bought mine used and it's a factory defect (2nd stamped) it's still a good quality instrument. If you take care of it(and don't let it fall over like I did) everything should last the life of the guitar. I'd say that these are "road-worthy" guitars. I've seen similar ones used by various artists at shows, and they seem to be able to hold up. Value: Awesome, again. This guitar is easily worth more than what it's priced at. It plays just like a Gibson and is of equal quality. Definitly worth the money you'll pay for it. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to deal with customer service. The Wow Factor: Seeexxxy. It has looks that kill and a sound that will blow you away. It varys so much in tone because of the addition of a third pick up and the finish just makes you want it and want it the more you look at it. I went looking for a job at my local guitar shop and walked out an hour later with this guitar. It will call to you. Listen to it. Overall: This is an AWESOME buy. With the quality, sound, and look you get for the price this is, there's no reason why you shouldn't buy this. Definitly worth the expense(even if you're like me and don't need another guitar). You'd have to be crazy not to like it.
38 of 39 people (97.44%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Les Paul for Les Money." submitted November 5, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Independent Musician
Music Style: Rock, Dance, Pop, Folk
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Wow. This guitar has the same tone as a full Les Paul--just a few hundred less. I use it in a small home studio for projects ranging from rock, blues, and jazz. I've played it through amp sims and a tube amp. Metal and country are not really it's forte though, but that's why I have a collection of guitars. Feature: Standard Les Paul setup. Nothing out of the ordinary except for the BEAUTIFUL black and gold hardware. Ease of Use: Plays just like a Les Paul too. My only issue is reaching the high frets, but you'll get that on any Les Paul. Quality: Everything on this guitar is top notch. I own another Epiphone acoustic, and it's been awesome for over 10 years. Value: The price point for this item is perfect for anyone serious about buying a quality guitar. Manufacturer Support: I hope I should never have to contact support. The Wow Factor: Truthfully when I bought it, I didn't need another guitar and wasn't looking to buy one, but once I played it and A/B'd it against similar guitars, it was a no-brainer. This guitar pulled some amazing tones even at low volume through a small tube practice amp. Overall: This guitar is now called my "trump guitar"--it trumps the other 3 electrics I have in my collection.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Might be the best purchase I ever made" submitted January 21, 2014

By Allan T in Key Largo, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played around 40 years. The last 12 years as a full-time profesional
Music Style: Acoustic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been playing guitar for most of my life. I haven't worked with electric much in the last 10 years though. When My favorite Strat was stolen around 6 years ago I didn't see at the time the need to replace it with another quality instrument. I primarily make my living as an acoustic player. I have a bunch of high quality acoustic guitars so I am a total freak when it comes to intonation, consistent action and especially staying in tune. The knew band I'm working with requires that I play more electric. I was looking towards an HSS Strat or a PRS.I saw this on the web page and the reviews were great. I checked out the reviews on every page I could and they were all outstanding so I decided to order one and see if I liked it.The looks and finish when I opened it were outstanding. The action was excellent. The intonation on the G string was a little off by it I had it adjusted within a few minutes. After that the intonation was dead on.Everything about this guitar is great. The other guitar player in this band has a Gibson Les Paul Custom and we both agree this plays at least as good quite possibly better.The only thing is I wish is that it came with a 5 way toggle instead of a 3 way. With 3 pickups the 3 way toggle only lets you choose one of the 3 pickups. They all sound great and have their own tone, but a 5 way will let you choose 2 at a time. I'll probably have that changed in the next couple of weeks.All in all, I am amazed at the value and price point of this guitar. I've always been a U.S. made guitar snob. I still prefer to buy American made products, but this guitar is a hell of a deal.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Epiphone Black Beauty" submitted March 7, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: all kinds
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great sound with the stock pickups but just a little muddy to my ears. Thinking of replacing them with some SD, maybe some 59's. We'll see. Feature: I just bought the guitar without anything else. The guitar itself is great. It would be nice if it came with strap locks. It wasn't set up well. It was OK. I had to reintonate and adjust the truss rod about a half turn to get the action and sound right. Other than that it has had no problems yet. Quality: Perfect finish. Gorgeous guitar. It just FEELS like a quality instrument. The worst thing about it is that the gold finish will oxidize and fade pretty quick but, if you want the broken in look who gives a crap about that anyway. Value: Are you kidding? I dare you to find better for the money. Manufacturer Support: No experience. The Wow Factor: This think drips with good looks. Beautiful guitar. Overall: I'll keep this thing forever and if i lost it I'd buy another one.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Be a satisfied guitarist." submitted August 30, 2011

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: musician/performer/writer/teacher/band
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I owned a 1969 Les Paul custom new and I have heard that the epiphone version dosn't cut it at high volumes.While there might be some differences in electronics I have no complaints,the Epiphone has it's own sound which is AWESOME!The guitar is very responsive to input be it from the controls or the player and is very easy to get many different sound combinations all of which are useful.I always was a bridge pick-up guy and this guitar does not let me down.It growls and bites very nicely in the bridge position.Using it live or in the studio is not a problem as there are so many combinations that can be acheived by putting your amp in a closet with a mic or facing your amp backwards on the stage etc.The pick-up combos allow you to get many different tone combinations.It works for me in most any situation,I play Rock and pop-rock.If they would put a floyd rose on it I'd be in heaven. Feature: The guitar did not come w/acces.but I did get an awesome Epiphone hard shell case that looks like leather,it really is a classy piece.I found no useless features on the instrument it has what it needs except(here I go) a Floyd Rose.I'm not real good with materials but it's a fairly hefty piece which translates to great natural sustain.It has quality components throughout. Ease of Use: You would have to really mess up not to sound good.It's easy to use with effects,amps,etc.The playability is VERY GOOD and the guitar just feels solid.It inspires confidence. Quality: This guitar is made very well.I feel like I'm playing an imovable object as it plays so solidly.I don't seem to have the normal concerns I usually have such as ,is this thing going to stay in tune? can I rise above when I have to.Go ahead and take it on the road, but use some common sense it's not made out of titanium! Value: WELL WORTH THE PRICE. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed support The Wow Factor: IT's great. You know what they say about sex appeal.You can hang a guitar on pizza box and the girls love it!! Overall: THis is a guitar I will keep.If I somehow lost it I would get another one. There isn't anything I don't like about it.
13 of 14 people (92.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Black Beauty is a Black Beauty" submitted May 16, 2012

By Doc Phillips in Bainbridge, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 years as a bass player. Have toured with several bands over the years. Now retired and learning the guitar for the first time
Music Style: Rock, blues, metal and classical piano!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Excellent quality and sounds awesome (what do you expect...it's an Epiphone!) I've been a bass player for 45 years and only played guitar to write. I am now spending time really learning about playing guitar and always wanted a Les Paul. This was an excellent choice. Easy to play and makes me want to really learn the shred, just like I've done on the bass!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beyond your Imagination!!!!" submitted November 17, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Soukrous and others
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I just bought this guitar a couple of weeks ago from here. I just like to say it is an amazing guitar.It sounds so good and clear, I'm not a pro player but I can clearly tell the difference between this guitar and my other guitar. For the style of music I play, this guitar was a good choice. It's three pickup has the price of an Epiphone and sound like a Gibson. The output of the humbucks is amazing,the action is unbeatable( it doesn't even feel like you are fretting the guitar, it feels like pushing putty around). Feature: I know little about the components in a guitar. From what I saw on this guitar, We should give Epiphone a big thank. I purchased my Epiphone B.B3 with a World Tour Padded Electric Guitar Gig Bag. It is a nice looking bag, the guitar fits properly into bag and easy to store. Ease of Use: It came with a manual that explained all the sound and tone controls. it is pretty is easy to set the sound of the guitar to the desired sound for whatever style of music. Quality: Over all i would say, it is well made compared to it's price. The body is solid and the feel of the guitar in your are hands are just unexplainable. Value: Yeah, it worth the price! Manufacturer Support: I have not had any reason to call them or get in touch with them yet! I pray i don't have to. The Wow Factor: Black and Gold, this was a perfect choice. It is really a sexy guitar, I must confess that sometimes I just seat it on a guitar stand and just admire it. I love the look and feel of the guitar. Overall: I really have nothing to complain about the guitar except that, for you to really enjoy playing on this guitar, you must have the guitar setup properly (like trust rod adjustment, bridge adjustment, action and intonation). When I received mine the intonation was not properly set.
21 of 23 people (91.3%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Black beauty" submitted May 11, 2014

By Dana Robinson in North Scituate, RI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have 6 guitars Gibson, Fender, Epiphone
Music Style: classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is great and at a fraction of what it would cost if it had a Gibson name on the neck. that's the only difference.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"An Excellent Guitar" submitted October 7, 2012

By Jeff C in Kyle, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobby
Music Style: Blues, country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have had a number of higher end guitars over the last several years, but I got tired of paying for a name. Most of the guitars I had were similar to the BB except that this one is very flexible in its sounds and it is also very reliable, just like the higher end guitars. The PU's are not as good as you get on the American versions, but the guitar is 3000 bucks less than the others as well. For that difference, you can put your own PU's in it! I am totally satisfied with this product and I encourage those who do not have the resources or the desire to spend big bucks on an axe to take a look at this fine product.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"incredible guitar" submitted July 5, 2003

Overall
Sound
Features
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: metal, rock, blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: u get a real smooth sound and its very easy to play, and i play a jackson which is in my eyes one of the nicest and easyist guitars to play, definately worth every penny and then some Feature: these pickups are awsome but i might throw my emgs in it just for that extra kick The Wow Factor: very beautiful guitar, i looked at it, played it and started puttin payments on it that minute Overall: one of the best guitars u can buy for the price, if u have a chance go for it
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"axe of my dreams" submitted October 12, 2005

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: I own a RR1 and the gibson, the gibson overall tone and performance is extraordinary to a RR1 Feature: the pickups are brutall the middle one gives it the extra kick it's really sweet. Quality: The gold hardware was a major notice with the finish of the guitar. Every one of these beauty's has a brutall life to it.. So take advantage of your money and get this one. this is it... Value: I couldn't beleive it..it was like a real les paul.At a affordible price. Manufacturer Support: I wainted for 2 mounth's for it,and it was well worth it.I wouldn't change a thing or feature about this guitar. The Wow Factor: Hand's down it's the next best thing to acually owning a real gibson.I am really proud to have this one on stand. Overall: This instrument will alway's reach my appetight for succsess.If anything was to happen to her. I would be gladly to buy the same one at the same price. As an extension through me...it really makes me horny
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It should be a Gibson!" submitted October 15, 2003

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Heavy Metal(lica), Rock, Punk Rock, Grunge
Back to Product Information
Sound: Triple humbuckers, do things get any better? Well yeah, a Gibson, but nevermind. Feature: I love the gold hardware and the three humbucker setup. I also like the black finish. Quality: This is a great quality instrument. If you dont abuse it, it will last a lifetime. Value: Dude, at this price, there's nothing better. Manufacturer Support: Haven't dealt with them, so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. The Wow Factor: I love this guitar! I dream about it! I want it! Overall: Like I said, great features, great sound, great looks, it is the best! I would recommend it to any musician looking for a Les Paul!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Will never need another guitar." submitted August 12, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: You might want to upgrade the pickups depending on what type of music you play. If you play emo the sound is perfect but if you play metal and classic rock like me, you might want to get them upgraded. I swithed mine with classic 57's personally. Feature: it came with a cable for some reason. I dont really know why. It is an all around awesome guitar. I need a case for it though. Quality: You can immediatly tell it is a fine made guitar the first time you see/hold/play it. I do not have a backup and do not want one because this is the perfect guitar. I worry about it getting scratched because it is so beautiful and I love it. You should get a case of you are going to be going on the road with it. It seems like it will last forever if I take care of it. The only thing that I didn't like was there are some small spots where it didn't get painted but no one except me has ever noticed the spots because they are so small. Also it came with a better pickup selector switch and input jack than I thought it would considering the price. Value: Well worth the money. With a pickup upgrade it is every bit as good as a gibson Manufacturer Support: The only problem I had was when it came the bridge wasn't tuned. On the plus side the strings didn't even need to be replaced like I thought they would. The Wow Factor: It is the most beautiful guitar I've ever seen. The pictures dont do it justice. It is my main guitar and I feel it always will be(As long as it doesn't break of course) Overall: I expect this guitar to last forever unless it accidently breaks somehow. I would recommend hooking it up with a Marshall amp for the best sound. I have a little 15 watt fender practice amp and I know it could sound alot better on another amp. This guitar has helped me improve ALOT on my guitar skills. If it was stolen I would get it again if I had the chance. I like the look, feel, playability, and the sound variety you can get out of this guitar the most. The thing I like the least is probly the pickups it comes with. (can be easily replaced)
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"the black beauty 3 ROCKS" submitted December 1, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: neaest you will get to a gibson, sounds exactly like it. if i were you i would buy this instead spending about Feature: with that extra humbuker it gives you much more variety of sound and a nice crunchy gibson sound. Quality: 10 / 10 easy, great paint job with gold rim. it looks the real deal. Value: the value is great worth every penny. The Wow Factor: you will easyly be able chat up any girl with one of these in your hand or boys if your in to that sort of thing.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"its a good guitar and it is very cool looking" submitted June 17, 2004

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: metal and rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: sound is good if its distorted a little. the low e string is a little too bassy when its on clean but who cares cuz it sounds fine when its distorted or if you crank up the treble. Feature: three pickups = false harmonics Quality: perfect Value: the difference between a gibson and an epi is so small that getting this guitar for 700 something compared to thousdands is a great deal. Manufacturer Support: great the people were very nice and delivered it on the first possible day they said it would come. The Wow Factor: its cooler without the pickguard Overall: excellent
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EPIPHONE LP Black beauty 3" submitted June 14, 2012

By Cesar Aparil
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar, just guitar coz i love it.
Music Style: Country, praise and worship, slow rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It Suites my style. No need to change the pick ups. Feature: For me, it is the material that the body was made of. You can change the pick ups in your liking or other parts but the solid body is the one i like most. The apperance is the second. Ease of Use: for my experience, when my fingers laid on the fretboard, it is smooth. Good finishing. Quality: If you are going to take care of it, it will last. Value: Yes. Manufacturer Support: I have not try yet. The Wow Factor: Wow. The appeal is so cool from the website. However, mine arrived with a frustraing 4 black knobs rather than what is shown in the site. this makes the "suppose to be beauty "of this guitar so frustrating. Maybe if you are going to buy one of this, better ask the dealer if it has its full features and maybe ask to check it to be sure. Honestly, it really an eye catching with its apperance but again, the guitar that came to me has a 4 disappointing black knobs. So disappointed with it. Overall: This guitar somehow disappointed me but amazed me completely.
1 of 3 people (33.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This is one hell of a guitar plain and simple" submitted March 23, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Rock, Clasic Rock, Alternative and country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound, well with the 3 humbuckers it surprized me. I play lots of different music and have found I use on a regular basis all combo's of its settings. I would like to try other pick-ups with it also. do to its design you sound will mostly come from the amp. I use a Marshall and it nothing less than awsummmmmmm. I have tried diferant strings on it and they beleave it or not all sound great. and stay in tune. As it stands I give it a 10 I think the set-up of this guitar Great! Feature: No it was as is nothing extra, which is fine I like to pick and personlize my own accessories. I did get the special hard case for it with is nice. Quality: Ah! over all it was OK. But It needed some adjustments before I could get started. The pick-up switch had to be reworked. I was like shorting out and didnt work in the top position. The finish on the fret board by the nut was not completed, you can tell they fell short and didn't cover it all, that realy pissed me off. The nut on the jack was loose. The rest of it was sweet. The body was incredible, the hardware used on the guitar was super excluding the above noted. With care this guitar will last a lifetime plus. Value: In Short, well for the money It was worth every penny. I would do it again. Just might for grins. Can never have too many guitars now can you. I would of paid the full price instead of the sale price if not given a chioce. Manufacturer Support: Havent used them yet and dont plan on it. God knows when I would get it back. The Wow Factor: Well I'll be honest the pictures do it no justice. I was kind of going for the white custom, but mother (wife) got me the Black Beauty special for a gift. It was, oh my god! so classy. So ...... well you get my drift. Overall: I expect it to last me forever. I had a Very nice Fender stolen from me when I was younger and you bet I will never let that happen again without someone paying big time .
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Just What The Doctor Ordered!!" submitted August 14, 2014

By Paul C in Pearl River, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing 47 years/Guitar/Pro
Music Style: Classic and Southern Rock, Country, Blues, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Received my Epi Black Beauty new and in "perfect" condition. It is more beautiful in person than in the pics. I pulled it out of the box, tuned it and played, almost perfectly set up for me. New strings, lowered the action a touch and It has become my daily driver on and off stage. My Bass player's wife saw it and exclaimed..."It's so pretty....It looks like a Cadillac!" I was concerned about how it was wired, and did extensive research only to find that they are wired different according to what year purchased...so, I just purchased mine June 2014, It was wired "Rythym position/Neck, Middle position/Middle, Bridge, Bridge position/Bridge. The Epiphone pickups actually sound great on this guitar. My only regret is that I didn't choose THIS guitar sooner. I own 3 Epiphone Les Pauls; Standard, L/E Custom Pro and now the Custom/Black Beauty 3. All 3 IMO are as nice as any player could want... and my new Black Beauty takes front seat due to the Strat AND Les Paul tones it can deliver. I have not needed Manufacturer Support, but I have dealt with zZounds Customer Service and they were terrific. I feel I would receive the same quality of service from Gibson/Epiphone if ever required.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"More Than Just Another Custom!!" submitted July 21, 2014

By Paul C in Pearl River, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Semi-Pro 35 years
Music Style: Country, Blues Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my 2nd New Epiphone from ZZounds, I recently purchased an Epi LP Custom Pro (Pelham Blue), and now the Epi LP Black Beauty 3, I can honestly say that the addition of the 3rd pickup makes a big difference in the guitar's overall attitude. It's the perfect "Everything" guitar. Metal, Rock, Blues, Country, Jazz. My new guitar arrived in pristine condition, I replaced the strings immediately, lowered the action a hair, and it has been spot on since. Before I purchased this guitar, I searched and searched for info on how the pickups were wired.....For all who would like to know.....Mine arrived wired "rythym position/Neck PU, Treble position/Bridge PU, Middle position/Bridge and Middle together. (Bridge Vol. and Tone work for the middle position as well as Bridge Position.) This guitar plays smooth as silk, Great Sustain, Beautiful finish, Set up good from the factory/Not perfect, but definitely playable. It stays in tune, It seems very reliable, and sounds great on every style I play. My new EPI LP Black Beauty might just wind up being my overall go to guitar, That says a lot, because I've played the same Fender Strat for 22 years. Manufacturer Support....Haven't needed it. WOW Factor ...... 10 of 10 Quality ...... First Rate, Perfect fit on every part, Sound ..... Sweet, Strong, Predictable I am extremely pleased with my Epiphone Guitars, and with Zzounds Customer service and support.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"DON'T WANNA PAY 2,000 FOR A GIBSON BUY THIS EPI>LSCBBTRP" submitted February 17, 2004

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: BLues/Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I use this guitar for weekend gigs/recording/writing. I run it with my 74 fender bandmaster/Maxon DSII/DOD corosion/Wah. It sounds good,sustains very well and helps me get the job done. Feature: Came with a case. Also they gave me this cheap ass guitar cable. I don't know what it's made of. I got it Jan. 2004 but it was made in 2002. This guitar is so nice it should come with straplocks!!!! Quality: The finish. Headstock too much clearcoat, has a hazey look to it. Value: Yes The Wow Factor: I've wanted this guitar for ten years . IT WAS WORTH THE WAIT OF BECOMING A GOOD PLAYER.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"a real les paul!" submitted February 23, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: metal, hard rock, blues
Back to Product Information
Sound: really warm, powerfull and crunchy. it sounds really good in the middle. the bridge and neck pickups really express the power. great for hard rock and good for metal. Feature: the picup swicth is really usefull in it's position. It doesn't include accessories but hey, what else do you want? Ease of Use: really easy, although the 4 controlers can confuse anyone that's not used to it. I rated it 8 cause it's really heavier than what i expected it to be. Make sure you have a good strap. Quality: Awsome! imacullated! Value: really good for the price. it really does it's job for a guitar in that price range. Manufacturer Support: gave it 5(middle term)cause i never had to deal with them(cause i don't own the guitar). The Wow Factor: there's a reason why it's called the black beauty. think about it! altough i aint buying it, i'm buying an RR3.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My first experience for playing black beauty 3 pickups." submitted June 29, 2006

By a customer from wmlmagic.tv
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Musical Background: 26 years.
Music Style: Rock.
Back to Product Information
Sound: I bought this guitar by veiwing it on different websites. On the very day when i plugged this guitar into my 50 yamaha combo I really impresssed by its sweet and creamy sound. One thing I noted in it sound the way its bridge pickup growls and it really comes more fantastic when its being overdriven by the amplifier or distortion pedal. My self like its sound by driving it through Boss DS 1 distortion pedal with minimum drive setting. In clean mode it sound great especially I much impressed with its middle pickup setting which gives full expression of its beautifully made Alnico pickups. I hardly use the neck pickup but still its has a warm and creamy sound that got real power behind it. In short words I like its sound but desire a little bit more punch and bite in its bridge pickup. But overall it sound great. It has a very sweet bell tone when use in its middle position and mostly use it when i am playing it in clean amp mode. Yes its sound is very expressive indeed. As far its unplugged sound is concerned it sound solid and well balanced but slightly lacks clarity but its not a big problem. Yes I own lot of Boss pedals and found it very well matched with them especially chorus and delay and compressor really makes its sound great. Yes I have not yet tried in a live situation but it sound quite satisfactory in practice situations. Yes i think that it would be lot better if split coil tap switches are further added its control side. Feature: No I did not get any mentionable assessory with it. I got a cable and a LN key. The most useful feature is its Alnico magnets pickups which sound great especially with new strings. Yes i need to add split coil tap switches on its tone pots. I impressed with its tunning pegs made by Groover they are great and very well stable never give me tuning problem.The tuning, tone pots are very smooth, exceptionally good and toggle switch is satisfactory. Ease of Use: Yes it is quite easy to use instrument. But I wished it would have slight slim neck. People say that it has an effect on the sustain but I do not completely agree with it. The tuning machines are very smooth and very well made and also extremely well gold plated. The balance of the guitar is superb and its heavy weight is one the most powerful feeling which one can notice while playing as I always like heavy guitars which mean more sustain, better sound and more solid base available for the strings to vibrate for longer time without any string to string variation. Quality: Yes the guitar is quite satisfactory made. The most well cared area of this guitar is its black finish and the head stock. The hard ware is also great but sorry to say its gold plating is not durable which need improvement. Yes the mechnical parts are seemed to be last for my rest of my life but i bit disappointed with the quality of its gold plating which tends to generate stains which in my opinion the worst part of it. Yes one more thing which i noticed in it is the high ratio of wider pores on it rosewood fretboard. Rest is fine. Value: I myself think that it is more highly priced than its value. It should rather be somewhat lower than its current price. I do not think that i can get a better resale price of it. Manufacturer Support: No I have not contact them yet. The Wow Factor: Its quite a difficult question but personally i feel its appearence is impressive but I recommend that its glossy finish needs more glitter and reflection which is somewhat lacks in it. Its has common features except the three alnico pickups. I think now have purchased it after saving for so many years so I have left with no option to keep it, rather you can say that I am partially satisfied with this guitar as it does not look 100 % like as i dreamed for it. Overall: I shall keep it for good. I am quite satisfied with it but still its highly priced range pinches me. Yes if I get a better resale price for this guitar I may think to sell it. Yes I searched for another guitar similar to this one but price wise and quality wise it seems quite superior. Yes almost it meet my goals. No if this guitar is lost i shall perfer to buy another brand with less price and without gold plated hardware like Yamaha AES series.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My experience for owning the black beauty." submitted June 20, 2006

By a customer from mastertex.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 25 years
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: yes it has a very sweet sound quite different from my previous guitars. Its centre pickup setting has a very nice singing tone i really love it. It has a very perfect tone when used with distortion at low settings. I am using two Yamaha amplifiers combo type and boss digital delay, digital reverb,chorus essemble, distortion and compressor. With this price range it should have coil split switches inside the volume pot for more tonal variety. Feature: No i got no accessories just got a cheap cable and a LN key. The most useful feature is its third pickup. Oh the alnico pickups are a real good thing in it. Ease of Use: Yes its very easy to tune this guitar and it remains in tune very well. I wish it would have a slim neck for fast playing. Quality: It has some flaws which i want to mention firstly its gold plating on the tale piece has developed few tiny black spot within 8 months secondly it has not a well finished nut thirdly its fret board rose wood has too much grooves and lines not acceptable with this priced guitar fourthly its truss rod female socket does not fit well and twice my LN key slipped and luckly it did not harm its finish. Value: No i do not think so it is rather quite expensive and don't think i could get a good resale price here in Pakistan. Manufacturer Support: I am living in Pakistan so i have no access to the company.Actually i purchased this new guitar through my cousin who visited USA last year. The Wow Factor: Yes it is quite sexy. Overall: Yes i satisfied with this guitar but i don't like the fret board inlays quality and finish its rather gives a cheap look when watched closely.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 172T-BDMS. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!