800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 144Z-1MDK
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Riviera 93

With three P-90 pickups, a Bigsby tremolo, and supremely elegant appointments, the Epiphone Riviera Custom sings with enticing vintage tone and style.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Epiphone P93" submitted October 31, 2013

By Randy R in Arkdale, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing since i was 8 i am a lot older now.
Music Style: ALL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I love the sound of this guitar. It works great for all music. Feature: Triple P90's gold hardware. Great wood choice. Ease of Use: This guitar has great playability right out of the box. Quality: Very very well made. Great wood and hardware choices. Value: Great value. Any other guitar of this quality would be 3 times as much. Manufacturer Support: Did not have to call them. The Wow Factor: Epiphone got it right with this guitar. Like always epiphone quality. Overall: Great Great guitar for the money.
15 of 15 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome!!!" submitted October 2, 2013

By Kevin C in Cedar Rapids, IA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played pro for about 10 yrs. Now I'm trying to get into computer recording at home
Music Style: Rock,oldies,country,acoustic/electric
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this guitar as my first electric. I've always played acoustic and this electric is such a joy to play. I'm 57yrs old and have a bit of arthritis in my hands. couldnt wait to plug it in and when I did it was WONDERFUL!!
14 of 14 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A nice version of the Classic Riviera." submitted May 20, 2013

Silas from zZounds
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years Blues/Rock and Indie guitarist
Music Style: Blues/Rock/Punk/Indie
Back to Product Information
ZZOUNDS CREW REVIEW
Overall: I happened across the wine red version of this guitar. This product is great for the quality. Out of the box (as all guitars require) I had it set up and it plays like a dream. It is a bit muddy for some settings so a treble boost pedal will get you right where you like it. The reverse wound pick up in the middle position nicely cancel's out the Hum (if you're into that sort of thing) Its a great solid guitar with several neat features that you don't find other places. The bigsby is a great addition. It might take a couple times to get used to stringing a bigsby- if you haven't before. The key tuners are a cool plated gold and add a nice vintage vibe to this tone machine. The three pick-ups gives you an option for optimal versatility. The volume controls are a little different than a standard guitar- having a master tone and then 3 individual volumes. But I like it. I keep the tone maxed out all the time any way. All in all this has killer looks and killer tone for a less than glamorous budget.
16 of 17 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Casino Re-make" submitted December 3, 2013

By Raymond V in Auburn, ME
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been jammin since the age of thirteen. Quite a while ago. Guitars are my gig.
Music Style: rock, country, blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is everything that I expected. Good value for the money. Really exceeded my expectations. Looks to kill. Plays like a dream. Sounds like a dream. My second Epiphone to date and far exceeds my Strat. Thanks Epiphone for making a nice axe.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"epiphone riviera p93" submitted June 22, 2012

By Don Longo in pinehill, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing 40 years guitar
Music Style: rock/ country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Hi my name is Don i got the red epiphone p93 i am a old time rock n roller was in a band in the 60s and this guitar is like the old days when i played in the band take it from me this is a great guitar for the money you think your playing a gibson it looks great and sounds great rock on guys D.Longo
36 of 40 people (90%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"All that I expected...." submitted July 21, 2013

By Graham H in Old Town, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, and Vocals since I was a baby ! Professionally, and at home. I havn't been performing for quite some time.
Music Style: rock, country, and blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This guitar's sound is out of this world, I am so impressed, good clear crisp high freqs and great bottom, perfect for any style from country to blues to rock!!! Feature: The 3 pick-ups and 3 way switch are well made, perform well, and easy to use, the 1/4 inch cord plug had none of the previous problems that were reported, everything is fine !!! Ease of Use: Like I said, great sound, the single tone control is easy to adjust while playing, so depending on you amplifier's settings you can have a lot of versatility to your sound with minimal adjustment. The neck and fret board are first class, I did have to oil(linseed oil) the fret board, it seemed a little dry, but once done this neck is first class! Quality: I checked the guitar over from top to bottom, the finish is beautiful, the hardware is beautiful, there was no blemished that I could find anywhere, the Wine Red is really set off by the gold hardware, and it just sparkles I can't wait to gig with it for the public reaction, it truly is beautiful ! Value: The value for your dollar is far beyond what you would expect for the price, I am blown away by the quality, I have seen other guitars that my friends have bought that didn't compare to this, and so I am extremely happy with my purchase. Manufacturer Support: I had one small issue with the truss rod cover, so I called Epiphone and told them about it, and they were super, they sent me a replacement plastic truss rod cover at no charge, they were super. The Wow Factor: It's a 10 ! The Wine Red finish w/Gold hardware appearance just catches the eye, it's stunning, that, along with the quality of hand crafted assembly makes this guitar top shelf !!! Even if I couldn't play it, I wouldn't mind having it to just hold, feel, and Look at !!! Overall: and more! I ordered my Riviera when it was out of stock, and received it 3 weeks earlier than expected, I was very impressed. What a beauty, I checked it over straight out of the box and it was perfect! I had to due some minor set-up, but that was no problem, I am very particular about my action and intonation, but the adjustment was a minor saddle action setting, no problem.
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"smooith" submitted October 24, 2013

By peter drescher in Seaside Heights , NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing guitar for over 30 years
Music Style: rock,blues,folk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: plays like a dream, and the tone and sound thru the p-93 pickups is awsome
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome" submitted November 10, 2013

By Rickie L in Shelbyville, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing for 45yr any thing with a string I play in a bad
Music Style: I love all music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The best playing Guitar I have ever played hands down
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Really Nice Guitar" submitted April 11, 2014

By Ric Vaughan in FEDERAL WAY, WA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40+ years, pro, studio, touring
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The first one arrived with its neck cleanly separated from the body.Second one arrived 2 days later with no additional shipping charge.I have no idea what happened to the first one, it was the cleanest break I've ever seen.Thanks Zzounds for their great service.When the replacement arrived all i had to do was change the strings, adjust the action to taste and off i went.Really well built instrument and sounds really nice. The p90's in this style of guitar is a good way to go. I have a 78 Gibson ES345 with a P90 in the neck and its great. This guitar holds its own up against my Gibsons.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Z Zounds has your back for all your music needs GREAT GUITAR !!!!" submitted May 29, 2014

By Louis J in Bolivia, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 years playing guitar for various studios,Church functions,Clubs Partys etc.
Music Style: I play a wide range of music because I never know who or what style of music the recording artist will be recording.A lot of tim
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar ROCKS! I can play a very wide selection from jazz to Southern Rock.The quality is just over the top with the Humbucker pick-ups.When I open the custom case,peoples eyes just light up at the wine red with gold knobs and the Bigsby WAH WAH.This is one of the finest guitars made.It has a very distinctive sound.The action is perfect,very easy to change from rythm to lead.I want everyone to know that Z Zounds are professionals in every way.I simply can not say thanks enough !! Shipping was the fastest I've ever seen with NO Damage. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent Guitar" submitted June 24, 2014

By Bill W in Brookville, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Have been playing for over 50 yrs.Play Bass,Mandolin,Tenor Sax,Banjo and now Six String Electric
Music Style: Play wide variety of styles
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The set up was good enough to play out of the box.I purchased the Wine Red finish and it looks like a million bucks.Sounds and plays incredible. Will purchase another model in the future.Did not rate manufacture support as I have not needed it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"bought 2 guitars from zzounds" submitted February 20, 2014

By charles jenkins in versailles, KY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played for 40 years I play a guitar and also a singer still play gigs
Music Style: play older hiphop blues and country music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought 2 guitars from zzounds bought a sg400 and a riviera coustom 93 guitar very satisfied with my purshases very good people to work with
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Epiphone's beast!" submitted November 17, 2013

By Mark S in Reading, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing since 1962, 15 years in bar bands, own over 40 guitars and basses
Music Style: Blues, rock & roll and variations thereof.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Epiphone makes GREAT hollow body and semi hollow guitars.This one is a beautiful guitar that can be a screaming beast. Solid maple center block gives it sustain, 3 P90's give it versatility. The neck is nearly perfect, a little fat and very comfortable, Great player, great looker, great sounds. I would like the tone pots to be more responsive, but that's my only complaint. Great guitar for blues and rock & roll - High quality, great value and cool beyond cool.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth the money !" submitted April 8, 2014

By Dan d in Hinckley, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 12 years guitar , mandolin
Music Style: rock , blues , country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have not played in over 30 years , always played Gibsons . I received it today , two days early . The finish is perfect except for the little gap between the neck and the neck pickup ( I can live with that ) . There is some fret buzz but that is to be expected , nothing that cant be remedied . The feel of the neck and overall ease of play is phenomenal (I like to bend allot ) . I like the sustain you get with that big chunk of steel Bigsby bolted to it . As far as the tone all my soap bar p90 Gibsons sounded the same , if you feel its to muddy that is what the amps for . All in all if you are looking for a semi hollow body that is made well plays nice and looks really good in wine red I do not think you will be disappointed . Thanks ZZounds
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EPI-MASTERPIECE" submitted December 29, 2013

By Raymond V in Auburn, ME
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar player since the age of 13. I've always played at home and a little outside.
Music Style: I love country rock, classic country, blues, rock, almost all kinds of music.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Always concerned about owning a Epiphone. Didn't like the fact that it came from overseas. Had one once from a garage sale and needed repair but once fixed it sounded pretty awesome. Decided to try another since I really like the looks of the Riviera. WOW, total change in my way of thinking. This guitar rocks. Its got looks, feel, playability and sounds awesome. I must admit to some reviews that it has a muddy sound to it but a slight adjustment with your amp and this thing wakes up the neighbors. I play it through a Fender Frontman 2X12. Thanks Z, AWESOME.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 144Z-1MDK. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!