800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 176Y-MR3P
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST on Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone 1962 Sorrento

Strap on this authentic replica of the '62 Sorrento, and hear why hollowbody guitars sound even better with Gibson USA mini humbuckers.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Not perfect but very very good" submitted August 11, 2014

By Eric Nicolas in Hopland, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing all my life - guitar and keyboards enough to write and get along. I'm not a pro.
Music Style: Mid-Western Reggae
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sound is where this box shines. The maple body and mini-humbuckers are a great match. The sound varies from deep and rich rhythm to sharp-edged lead. And you can get than cool jazz "raindrop" sound that only a hollow body provides.It also provides all the feedback only a full hollow body can provide - this is no joke. If you face your amp or speakers it is going to howl at even moderate volume. Feature: This is a reproduction of the '62 Sorrento, right down to the metal Epiphone logo plate on the headstock, and the headstock is a separate piece of wood just like the original. There are no modern toys like coil-splitting. The bridge is of the old "floating" type - it's held against the top of the body by string tension alone. If you aren't used to this you should Google it to learn how to do things like change strings and set intonation: you actually physically move the bridge on the top of the guitar.It has the usual two volume/two tone knob set up, but the knobs themselves and the pots under them are not of the best quality. This is something you might want to upgrade.The rosewood fingerboard and old-school white oval tuners are period correct, as is the angled scratch plate. Ease of Use: It works like a guitar - what else is there to say? The fingering is a bit more stiff than a solid body like a Les Paul of a Strat, but that's to be expected of a hollow body with this type of bridge and trapeze tail. You might get a little smoother by filing the nut, or just replacing it (it's plastic).It comes with a case that is light gray and has an older-style Epiphone logo on it, but it isn't period correct. But it's a nice case that would cost $100 retail. Quality: Overall the quality is very good. There was a loose pot under the treble volume knob that took some gentle tightening. The fret ends are a tad rougher than the finish on my Epi LP.THE PLASTIC "GOLD HAT" KNOBS ARE ATROCIOUS AND SHOULD BE REPLACED!Time will tell about the construction of the two-piece headstock and the laminated maple body. It's all in the glue they used. Value: I'd say this is a great value for $600. Manufacturer Support: Never had any reason to contact them. The Wow Factor: It's damn pretty! I got the natural finish rather than the slightly more expensive "olive sunburst". The binding around the top looks like real binding and not just paint. The finish is smooth but not the kind of deep gloss a Gibson would have. Fit an finish are overall very good - just a few little things like those fret ends and that loose pot.This is a $600 guitar, but a very good one. If the craftsmanship is really an issue then it's worth spending the extra thousand bucks on the Real Deal - except there is no real deal in this case since the Sorrento hasn't been made since the late 1960s and only about 3,000 were ever sold. Overall: For a while now Gibson's overseas division Epiphone have been making quality guitars at a very reasonable price. Part of the price is they don't have to deal with U.S. regulations on things like imported wood. Part of it is they are exploiting low-cost labor in countries like Indonesia and China. And a part of the low price is the sometimes less-than top quality components.However, Epiphone have for several years been releasing foreign-made guitars with real Gibson USA pickups. My first Epiphone was the first-year Nighthawk reissue (with the ebony fingerboard) made in Indonesia, and I was very impressed with the quality of the workmanship. My second was the Les Paul Tribute with Gibson pickups, switches, and pots. Again the quality was excellent, although there was an issue with the mounting of one pickup that I fixed in a few minutes. Other than that, and a bit of staining on the fingers from the "rosewood" fingerboard, it's tough to tell the difference from a real LP, especially given this model has no body chambers and no belly scarf.So when I saw the '62 Sorrento for $600 w/case I pulled the trigger. I'm not disappointed. The Indonesian build is very good, and the Gibson mini-humbuckers are excellent.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Got mine!!" submitted December 23, 2013

By john t in Sonora, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Piano and guitar for 35 years. I play at home occasionally with a couple friendsd.
Music Style: rock, country and classical fingerstyle
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I wasn't planning on purchasing an electric guitar any time soon. Then I saw this one by chance and had to investigate. It was the appearance that got my attention but when I saw zZounds had a blemished model for $529. I couldn't help myself. I just love translucent vintage yellow over maple plus that amazing 1962 Sorrento body style. I also realized only 1962 guitars in this model will be produced. I actually wanted a Gibson ES 175 ever since I borrowed a friend's for a couple days 10 years ago. But who am I kidding? I will never have $4000. to get one. I also checked out the Ibanez Artcore single cutaway hollow bodies but nothing really jumped out at me. There are not many guitars of this style out there actually. Especially for under a grand! So if you've ever wanted a Florentine style guitar you should grab one of these now. There were 2 blemished models when I bought mine and the other one sold the next day too. Other sites I checked were also selling out. By the way, I have yet to find the supposed blemish on this beautiful guitar. I believe it may have been purchased and restocked but I see no scratch, ding or defect whatever. This guitar is awesome. I took it over to a friends last night and he was equally stunned by it's beauty. But looks matter little when you plug an electric guitar. How nice could a $529. hollow body guitar play and sound though. When I first tuned it unplugged it was acoustically loud and alive in my hands. I immediately found some new Chuck Berry style licks that my hands just went to. I was pickin' and grinnin' immediately. There was a slight buzz, but I was able to adjust it out with the floating bridge in a minutes time. The action was a little low at first but the neck and fretwork were very comfortable with nothing weird,uncomfortable or cheap feeling. The Wilkinson tuners are also precise, solid and smooth. No clicks or pops or slop like cheap tuners. You can feel the quality in the tuners and floating bridge which is so nice. Plugged in was a problem though. I can't seem to put it back in it's case! I don't want to stop playing it. It is so much fun and feels so good I'm in heaven. Lightweight, resonant. Has the best electric clean sound ever but of course that's what you want it to sound like before you crank it up!! Final word; I don't think you could find more guitar for the price. I don't think you would be any happier spending 5 times as much. There is nothing cheap about the way it feels, looks or sounds. I love it. GET ONE.
12 of 13 people (92.31%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best value I've seen for a thinline full hollow" submitted November 16, 2014

By Stephen B in Port Neches, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 26 years. Semi professionally for 20 years.
Music Style: Rock and roll, blues, country-ish rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I own a bevy of guitars, ranging from vintage Gibsons and Fenders to Danelectros and Harmonies and everything in between. I am amazed that Epiphone can put out a guitar this nice for this price. This is one of the only guitars I've ever bought new that required virtually no work other than normal setup. The fretwork is outstanding, the rosewood bridge fits very well against the body and the mini humbuckers sound great. Sounds great clean or overdriven. The bridge pickup has a quasi-Telecaster spank that surprised me - I love it! The neck pickup is very fat and round. I did replace the rattle-trap wire retainer bridge with a Gotoh (I always do). One of the reflector knobs was stripped and would just spin on the pot. They seemed a bit flimsy upon further inspection, so I replaced all four with knobs from Allparts. I went with the Olive Burst and there are a couple of very minor flaws in the finish, at the neck joint, that my friends didn't notice until I pointed them out. Certainly nothing worse than a lot of modern Gibsons. The finish is poly, but is well done and is reasonably thin. The binding is nicely done. The case is not great - in keeping with all Epiphone cases, but is acceptable enough. I do like the grey / blue color scheme. It seems Gibson may never re-issue the ES-125TDC (I don't believe they ever have), so this seems a very nice substitute as a modern re-issue. I absolutely love this guitar and I gig with it. The biggest bang for the buck I've seen in a long time.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Outstanding piece wood!!!" submitted September 21, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Stone cold blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I received this guitar a couple of weeks ago and it is awesome. I feel lucky that these are still available from 2012. I had to have a set up done, but it was well,worth the extra money. The fit and finish is quite elegant. The sound has that great hollow body tone. The price was matched by the guys at zzound making this an outstanding deal.if you are in the market for hollow body, just buy it.....
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great guitar at a reasonable price." submitted May 5, 2014

By Roy H in Dallas, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: It's difficult to add what has already been praised by other reviews. Know that I am a player of over 40 years and can honestly say this is a great playing and sounding guitar right out of the box. The factory setup was excellent, and the fret work is superb. The only thing I did was change the factory strings, and slightly lower the bridge/action to my personal taste. I have yet to find a single flaw in the construction or finish. BTW, it was made in Indonesia, not China.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing" submitted December 2, 2014

By Philip H in Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar and Bass, amateur
Music Style: Blues, Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar has really surprised me for playability. Nice fretwork, nice crowning for easy chording and smooth slides. Low action with no buzz, no dead notes. Acoustic tone isn't bad; I even use it for acoustic practice. The Gibson mini-hums are sweet -- especially the neck. Holds tune, decent response from pots, and it's beautiful. I'm really pleased with this Epi.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Guitar" submitted May 13, 2013

By tim m in lhc, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing for 45 years
Music Style: rock, jazz, blues, folk, country, alternative, etc.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar looks like an old vintage guitar and sounds even better with the Gibson electronics. Mini humbuckers sound great and the case is a very cool grey color with a nice Epiphone blue interior. This guitar is an awesome buy.
16 of 22 people (72.73%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 176Y-MR3P. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!