800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 200-R0D2
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Les Paul Plustop

Legends don't die; they reinvent themselves. The Les Paul Plustop updates the much-beloved LP Standard with lively ProBucker pickups and a AAA maple top.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"A Gem at any price but a real bargain here!" submitted January 19, 2015

By Mat G in Greater Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing over 40 years. I play all styles of guitar and also play Banjo, Bass, Uke, Mando, etc.
Music Style: I play all styles as a session player and am well know video instructor. I also specialize in blues, rock, Latin, R&B, Funk, Bl
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I purchased this guitar because I was in the mood to a Les Paul but not enough to make a larger investment. I have many instruments and have owned some premium America guitars. I am a full time player and it's all I have ever done and I have backed up icons in every style of music. I mention all this so you know that this is my life and I know guitars very well, I own close to 40 presently, not as a collector but as tools I use in my work. You cannot make a wiser investment if you are looking for a Les Paul and want to spend $1000 or less. The new Epi Proburst pickups are winners and they split very well. They are every bit as good as Duncan Almico Pro 2, Gibson 57 Classic, or Dimarzio PAF Plus. They are a bit different but just as good and very versatile especially with the split. The tuners are rock solid and this guitar stays in tune really well. Hardware is top notch. The finish on this guitar is drop dead gorgeous. You could not get it in a Gibson for under $2500 and the environmental restrictions make producing it in the USA really a challenge. This is where Epiphone comes in. There are some minor finish issues, a bit of overspray on the binding, a bit thick with clear coat in some spots. This is minor when you consider what you are getting for $500. The fret work is very decent, better then lower priced Gibsons by far. The nut is cut way too high on mine in places and it would benefit form a good set up. I have heard of some quality issues so I was a bit worried about buying without playing first but no issues here. The same potential issues exist with Gibsons. This is a true Les Paul, solid and fat sounding beautiful to look at and inspiring to play. I can recommend this guitar without hesitation- it is a great guitar and will last a lifetime. Also I would like to mention that the neck is very straight and has no issues, it intonates very well and is a substantial feeling neck but very fast and comfortable. It is a D shape, perhaps a tad more than I would prefer but it is a 60's profile Gibson shape which has just enough mass for good sound transfer while still feeling fast. I could not be happier with this purchase and zZounds had it in my hands in two and a half days. Just get this guitar while you can and read about later! BTW- the Mahogony back and neck are beautiful and the book matched AAA flamed maple top while not perfect, is a home run at this Price. I have the Burgony Burst finish..,classic Gibson looking.
48 of 48 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Solid guitar at a price every player can afford" submitted December 23, 2014

By Larry D in Leoma, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing 20 years. Played with Marilyn Manson, Slayer,Suicidal Tendencies, and others.
Music Style: Metal,Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar was bought just to have as a Less Paul I could use as a practice guitar. It has proven to be worthy of being a work horse in my live stable. I have toured with national acts and played small bars and this Epiphone keeps up with any Gibson I use, being sponsored buy Gibson, I've played them all. All I can say is, if you want a rocking guitar,look no further!
18 of 18 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"In awww!" submitted October 9, 2015

By ronnie sampson in winchester, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home
Music Style: rock,metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a guitar you just cant seem to take your eyes off of. Like a lot of the other reviews said wow! I haven't got the chance to get the setup checked out yet but seems to sound great coming from no expert though. Like another review said knobs are a little wavy when you turn them no biggy though seen that before gonna change them anyway. Other than that seems to be well made and gorgeous. Hats of to zzounds for the payment plans its awesome and will deal with them again and again. If you want this guitar get it you wont be sorry you did. Didn't give the manufacture support any stars because haven't dealt with them .
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very well worth the money..." submitted December 13, 2014

By Mark O in Ashley, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Been playing guitar for 8 years mostly @ home.
Music Style: Classic Rock, Blues, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is my second Epi Les Paul and I've gotta say its a step up from the 1st one. Great tone, beautiful finish and nice price make this a desired guitar. The neck diameter is perfect for playing and needed very little setup out of the box, I was very satisfied over-all with this guitar.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Way better than I had hoped for" submitted December 21, 2015

By Chris H in Tulsa, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Bedroom Rock star, Play Metal, Blues and Classic rock.
Music Style: Priest, Sabbath, AC/DC. you know, the old school stuff.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Ordered on Thursday, had it on Monday. I wasn't sure what to expect with a Dirty Lemon color, looking online it looked like a yellowish body with a reddish brown burst on the edge, what I got was this beautiful, immaculate Les Paul in this really awesome aged amber that looks like it has been gracefully yellowed with age, and had so much flame in the maple veneer top that I swear it could be taken for an actual Gibson. This was very well set up right out of the box and after I changed strings to my preferred GHS Boomers 10-46 it was ready to sing like only a great Paul can.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Epiphone Limited Edition Les Paul Plustop PRO in Bourbon Burst" submitted November 11, 2015

By Joe T in Athens, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 31 years. have played semi-pro, (more of the local venues).
Music Style: Hard Rock, Old school and millennium Metal, Blues, alternative and just a tiny bit of Country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The pictures didn't do the guitar justice. Great finish. Some minor setup done and it plays and sounds like the Gibson for a lot less. The burst bucker Pro pickup have an exceptional sound and the coil tapping is an added bonus. If you are looking at the Gibson model, you should really consider this one first. The extra money you would have spent on the Gibson, you could purchase a new Orange head and cabinet, (which by the way sound incredible when matched up with this guitar). The Service from Zzounds was exceptional as well. You guys always make my purchases with no hassles and left me guilt free from "buyer's remorse". I have purchased my acoustic (Epiphone EJ-200) and my Les Paul from Zzounds. Not once have I had any issues with the equipment or the service. Great job guys! Keep it up!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Stunning Les Paul" submitted November 30, 2016

By Jiggalo Cruise in Durham, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional
Music Style: Rock/Country/Popular Music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great!! Real improvement in Pickups Feature: Genuine Grover Tuners Includes a tag of Quality Assurance stating If they ever fail they will be repaired or replaced. Improved neck- Build is tight. Much better than I remember, no sloppy binding work noticed Great Vintage sounding pickups. Just what I wanted Ease of Use: Your hands will never tire of this Fine Instrument. Quality: Pristine Quality. If they are shooting for Fuji Japan Quality someone has been receiving good instruction on improvements across the line and it is stacking up. Hard to find a flaw Value: Compared to my former 2008 LP Std. PlusTop Pro it is a step up in Quality. From headstock to endpin this guitar has had a makeover. Real Grover Tuners- a Noticeable difference from 2008. Well built neck delivers wonderful performance. Pickups are the sound wanted and don't need replacing She's Heavy - Not relieved by Ultra Modern Tech, "Can Ya Feel Me" she beckons Manufacturer Support: I've dealt with Gibson Authorized Repair Centers and if you can find one that actually Likes dealing with Gibson and doesn't try to sell you the place you Could perhaps get warranty service. It's more about selling you upgrades The Wow Factor: Get it out of that castrated jumpsuit they tie it all up in and Look Out!! It's taking over the room with Beauty and Thick, Enormous Tone Overall: It's reaching a point that Epiphone is surprising me more and more There are more Good Quality instruments than shoddy built ones these days and even the lower end Epi's are showing Non-Stop likeability. Keep It Up Epiphone!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good For The Price" submitted December 6, 2014

By Luis Aponte in San Juan, PR
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner
Music Style: Rock, Jazz, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Initially I wanted a Gibson, for its build quality/reputation, but since I am learning I decided to go with the Epiphone for now until I am a bit more experienced. My initial impression was WOW!. This is truly a beautiful guitar. It feels well, and plays well. Much better then the LP Special II I had before. I expect keeping this one for a long time, and recommend it to anyone.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome!" submitted January 11, 2015

By armando portillo in miami, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 18 years of guitar playing
Music Style: Rock, Alternative, soft modern rock, Jazz, Blues and Pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is excellent for people who want the Gibson Les Paul sound, yet are on a budget. This guitar is too good for what I paid for. You will hear negative comments about these Epiphones. But all of the bad comments are just ignorance about guitar set up. Get your guitar set up before you talk trash about such a good instrument. The only problem I found on my guitar is that it is going out of tune because of the nut. It needs a good set up like I said before. That is all, no biggy! Get yours soon! Ignore the ignorance that even I had when I did not know much about the fixable issues of this guitar. SET IT UP! And rock on!
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"awesome Les Paul" submitted January 30, 2015

By John A in Sikeston, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: intermediate guitarist, play acoustic as well.
Music Style: Country/rock/blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got the bourbon burst in this guitar and let me tell you, it's a beauty! When i unpacked it and saw it for the 1st time i was wowed. Even more gorgeous than a picture can give you. I tuned it up and then plugged it in and played around with the electronics and was impressed even further. Great sound. I really like the neck feel when fretting too. I know some talk about the weight of some of the Les Paul's but i don't mind it, i like the overall feel of this one. It looks great, feels great, and sounds great, nothing but props on this guitar!
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar / Quality Control Might Be Lacking Though" submitted October 15, 2014

By Corey G in Houma, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner / 6 months
Music Style: Rock / Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Ok, so I am no where near a musician and wouldn't even consider myself an amateur guitarist. More like I decided I wanted to learn how to play guitar 6 months ago and this is the fist upgrade from a basic cheapo starter package. I felt this this particular make and model was a fairly good mid range guitar and would carry me for many, many, many years. The guitar is absolutely beautiful and feels quite solid. I was a bit surprised at the weight of it coming from the el-cheapo one I was using. The neck feels better, the action is hella awesome. As far as sound quality and what not, it sounds good to me, but like I said, I'm not a dedicated musician with years of experience to tell you the differences. My one beef with the guitar is with the tone knobs (hence the lack of quality control). One of the knobs was not seated correctly on the post so when you turn the knob it rides high on one side and lower on the other. It does not ride against the body of the guitar, but for a $500.00 guitar, I would have expected the knobs to be seated firmly and level. Just to be clear: the knob is not loose, just plain ole crooked on the post. It is not a deal breaker for me being as it does not affect the sounds or even the look of the guitar, only when you look down at the knob while playing is it even noticeable. Other than that, I absolutely love the guitar and hopefully will be shredding some classics in the years to come.
11 of 22 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 200-R0D2. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 2AM a 3AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!