800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 155Z-237R
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Prophecy LP EX

Shredders take note: the Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom Plus EX is back, and it's loaded with high-output EMG 81 and 85 active pickups and black hardware.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Incredible guitar for the price!" submitted February 7, 2014

By Kevin Sherman in Houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Still fairly new, just jam at home.
Music Style: Metal, classic rock, alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I was wanting this one for a while but it was always listed as on back order. One day I just randomly checked and they had one in stock so I swooped in and grabbed it and let me tell ya, not only am I so glad I did but so glad zZounds let me do the 8 payment financing for it. This guitar, the Midnight Sapphire could not look any more beautiful. Throw in the mother-of-pearl and abalone block and triangle fret inlays and mother-of-pearl knob caps and it is almost a good looking as my wife. The sound is fantastic! The 2 EMG humbucker pickers give you a sound that kick you straight in the jaw. Throw in the SpeedTaper D-profile neck and flying up and down the fretboard is a breeze compared to anything I have ever used. The case that it comes with is also better than I thought it would be but I do not see it spending much time in it. While I am always worried about having stuff shipped for fear of damage it was in perfect shape when it got here so a tip of the cap goes to Fed Ex for that. Everyone that has seen it loves it and I could not be any more happy with it. zZounds mad my weekend and they have a customer for life!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nothing you would expect; everything you wanted" submitted October 3, 2013

By Kenny R in Atlanta, GA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar since 2007
Music Style: Rock, metal, alternative, jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I got this guitar because I was getting into heavier playing and music styles when I realized my Gibson Les Paul wasn't cutting it because of how fat the neck was. I needed something fast. Well built and a sexy body. I looked no further as this Epiphone Les Paul prophecy EX had everything I wanted in a guitar. The black hardware... The powerful EMG pickups.. The super fast neck, sleek and shiny body with that true Les Paul weight and design. I love it, to say the least. It plays so damn good, it rivals my Gibson Les Paul studio. It gives it a real run for it's money.
16 of 17 people (94.12%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great guitar" submitted March 6, 2013

By Mike S in smithfield, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: been playing for 30yrs. have played in bar bands now just play at home. i own 16 guitars and love this 1 for the price.
Music Style: metal,rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: love this guitar. nice looking. great sounds. very little adjustments needed .price is great. got it fast from zzounds.
11 of 12 people (91.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Epiphone Prophecy LP Custom Plus EX" submitted February 7, 2014

By a customer from yahoo.com in Roanoke, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for 27 years
Music Style: country, blues, classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I ordered the blemished midnight sapphire epiphone prophecy lp custom ex. This guitar is beautiful; I couldn't find the blemish and either could two other people that i had look at it. This guitar looks, plays, and sounds great. The case that comes with it is a Epiphone hard case thats awesome as well. This guitar also comes with strap locks. Awesome guitar all around.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sexy!" submitted March 3, 2014

By Zack Sullivan in West Plains, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 6 years, Any stringed instrumemt, any brass, and tenor alto n bari sax. Semi-Pro
Music Style: Metal, Post-Hardcore, Jazz, Blues, Rock, Alternative. Styles like Djent, Groove, and Tech
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Quality: Not the best quality in the world, binding was attached well, but you can see marks where they filed the frets, I received it with a cracked inlay, but since the action was spot on super low with no fret buzz, I'll trade minor cosmetic flaws for playability any day. Playability: not a thick neck like most lp models. I love the satin finish on the back. Don't get the sticky when you sweat. Low action, comfortable to play standing and sitting. Super heavy, I like the weight though. Sound: EMG 81/85, slightly darker tone because of the wood and whatnot. Doesn't sound as lifeless as EMGs usually do.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The axe is awesome! " submitted January 15, 2014

By David Garcia in Houston, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been jamming for about four years. Never too late to start.
Music Style: Metal, blues, rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm so glad zzounds approved me when I wanted the 8 month payment plan. I could finally afford a great piece of beauty like this. I love everything about it. The sound, the slim neck, the EMGs, and the case. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sweet thang" submitted March 27, 2013

By Colt H in Ford City, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 1 year guitar
Music Style: Alternative, rock, classic rock, blues, country, and contemporary Christian
Back to Product Information
Overall: This guitar stared me down as I walked into the store like a puppy at the pet store just wanting some attention. So I asked to play it and an hour later I was still playing! Awesome guitar, much better than the other prophecy. Very quick neck and practically plays itself. Great sustain and no buzzing. The Emg's were an awesome idea. I play a variety of music and this thing can play anything you want it to. The Emg's ate for shredders but I'm far from being a shredder although when I jumped on it I wasn't let down. Thin neck that your hand slides up and down fairly easy. It looks amazing as well. I tried the other prophecy and was surprised how much of a difference there was. The other model can't hold up to this one. The binding on this guitar is very nice. Overall the craftsmanship is very good on this. If you want a nice guitar and don't have a fortune to dump into one this is the way to go. I am purchasing one this upcoming week and can't wait for it to get here because we have unfinished business!
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Made in China - but so are iPhones." submitted December 24, 2013

By Shane D
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Beginner - less than a year
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Electronic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Ok, I'm upgrading from an Ibanez GRG starter guitar and am using a Digitech GNX4 / Peavey Valveking 212, so this guitar is certainly better- on many levels- than what I had. Sure, it's made in China - but so are iPhones, so don't write it off because of that. Mine did have a small crack on the neck PU cover at one of the screws and a slight blemish in the binding, but not severe enough to warrant a return and in otherwise perfect condition. I contacted Epiphone and they are shipping another PU cover out, so very happy about that. I took it to my local guitar shop and they also remarked it being an excellent guitar for the money and had several people compliment on the gorgeous blue sapphire top. Although I did pay the $50 to restring and set it up, unless you know what you're doing, that's a given on just about any brand new guitar. The included hard case, upgraded quilt top and EMGs are what sold me. Being from TN and simply wanting an original Gibson LP all my life, I couldn't justify buying one yet at this stage of my abilities. The dual tone and volume controls allow for a bunch of tone variations and are an improvement over the last Prophecy, from what I've read. Of course, ZZounds Pay as you Play is such a kickass deal, how can you go wrong on getting a new piece of gear?! I'll update this in a couple months. Happy Holidays, everybody!
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 155Z-237R. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!