800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15WK-YWYQ
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Prophecy LP GX

This hot-rodded Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul boasts a quilted maple top and a powerful 490R/498T humbucker complement, complete with push/pull coil-tapping.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Very nice!!!!!" submitted November 15, 2012

By Dijuen Harvey in Moreno Valley, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing music of various genres for about 15 years. I started playing and obsessing over guitar about 4 years ago.
Music Style: Anything that sounds good. In my heart, I'm a bluesman, and my soul (and some my DNA) is in Mississippi.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I like the pickup selection for this guitar. The pickups are very responsive. I have owned a couple mixed sets of Burstbuckers (ones, twos, threes, and pros) as well as the 57 classics which I still have and use regularly. In comparison to those pickups, the 490R and 498T hold their own. I tend to be a little more about finding my tone, as opposed to copying others tone. That said, I find the combination to be versatile and well suited to my needs. Of course the body, weight, scale, neck and other factors also lend a lot to the sound. In that regard, this guitar has an overall pleasing sound to my ears. Feature: I love the coil tap and the 24-fret neck. I don't care much for the control knobs and will probably change them, though they seem to be of fine quality. The pickup selection sounds good coil-tapped. The neck has the slim-taper D profile, which I fell in love with when I bought my 60's Tribute Plus. Feels great and plays very smooth to the touch. Ease of Use: Pretty straight forward. Set it up, tune it, play it. Quality: Overall, this s a very well made Epiphone. However, I felt that the binding and fretwork could have looked a lot better on mine. Though the feel is there, it looks like a caveman fitted the frets and binding. There are some small scratches on the fingerboard at the last fret. The paint seems to have slightly went over the binding in some spots. Normally I would have returned it right away, but I could not stop playing it. That's a good sign so I'm keeping it. Had this guitar been a Gibson I would have pitched a fit and called zZounds and the manufacturer. Luckily for them, I buy Epiphone because I play the hell out of my guitars. Value: I believe it is worth the selling price for sure. Real mother of pearl inlays (mixed in with Abalone designs on some frets), 24-frets, satin finish neck, and Gibson pickups? Very well worth the money. This thing could handle a a Gibby studio any day. Manufacturer Support: Never had to deal with them once in years. The Wow Factor: I bought the sunburst finish so the look can be very polarizing with the quilted maple veneer. It seems that you either love it or you don't, and I love it. Looks a little different than the picture, but that's not a bad thing as every guitar is unique. Overall: One of the best guitars I own.......period.
24 of 25 people (96%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good & Bad" submitted March 27, 2013

By Kevin Q in Glenview, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: Played a Strat for years, but wanted a Les Paul even longer, just couldn't justify the expense. Found this Epi online and did a lot of research. Seemed like the guitar for me and I've been generally happy with it. After adjusting the action-way too high-it plays much better . The pickups are ok but the neck humbucker is a little bassy for me. If I have a issue with this guitar it is in the asthetics. Obviously produced in China, there are a lot of small imperfections that would have made me leave it at the store. The neck up by the body isn't finished properly, the inlays on the fretboard look nice, but have pits and blemishes. The strap buttons aren't screwed in straight and the pickup controls are crooked. Also, the pickup selector is half sideways and very stiff. Not deal breakers, but minor annoyances that I will learn to put up with over time. Probably the last time I will buy online though.
6 of 6 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Zzounds is unlike no other" submitted February 11, 2014

By Ines C in 1703 Cathay Dr, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play at my local church, and I play at home personal.
Music Style: Gospel
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Zzounds is unlike no other, I've gone to my local Guitar Center, to play with the Guitars. But that's all I've been able to do, now I came across zzounds play as you pay program, and now I actually have a beautiful guitar in my possession. Thank You ZZOUNDS!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Guitar" submitted March 8, 2013

By Edward Publik in Tunkhannock, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years experience
Music Style: Rock / Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I get alot of compliments from the guitar" Everone asks were did you get that guitar "or "what model guitar is that" My girlfriend is not generally interested in guitars, but she wants me to keep this one.This is Epliphones greatest les paul model. How they pulled it off for the price is a mystery to everyone alot of guitar for the money here!
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"epiphone les paul prophecy gx" submitted March 30, 2014

By james B in Redlands, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i have been playing for a couple of years
Music Style: my interest is mostly blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I would just like to say that this guitar is everything I hoped it would be. the finish is excellent, with no detectable flaws, and it arrived properly setup and ready to play after tuning. the tone is very good and the sonic versatility is also very good. the ability to split the pickups is an added bonus in versatility. the neck is very nice to play and quick. a very nice guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome" submitted March 2, 2013

By Timothy T in San Francisco, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar for the past year and I played the bass for 6 years. all self taught.
Music Style: Anything that sounds good or presents a fun challenge.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar has been life altering the craftsmanship and the tone quality are immaculate and exceed the expectations for a guitar in this price range and offers a lot of variety in the sound it can achieve
4 of 6 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"not very happy" submitted February 23, 2014

By Charles B in Waynesville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing music for 35 years, owned and own several guitars.I play semi pro for Jacked Up Joe.
Music Style: Hard rock, blues, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The wiring seems backwards. The pickups that is. Very noisy guitar. Lot of buzz when plugged in. And the frets stick out just a hair off the neck. I bought an epiphone les paul standard a couple years ago and it was awesome. This one was a little disappoi nting. The color was great. I really liked the look and "overall" playability of the guitar. But dont like the thing mentioned above. I play semi pro and my band plays a lot. And really needed this guitar and loved the look of it.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom Plus" submitted March 11, 2013

By Raye P in Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I am getting back into my guitar playing. I used to play professional when i was much younger (i,m 55 now)
Music Style: Strictly R&B or any other type of music that i like.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I a little shocked at the Epiphone company ( The Epiphone Prophecy Les Paul Custom) I,ve brought about 3 different guitars (Epiphones a Les Paul Classic, Les Paul Custom ans a ES375 Jazz guitar) and I was really quite satisfied with all 3.Now I know this Prophecy is not a "Gibson" but Lawd! this guitar the white trim part looks really cheap! and it feels cheap as far the action (compared to the other 3 this guitar?) Now this is just my own personal opinion" Epiphone must be trying to get rid of or discontinue this particular model.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"epiphone les paul prophecy guitar" submitted November 6, 2012

By Charles W in caryville, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: this is an excellent guitar for the money you will not beat it
4 of 9 people (44.44%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"wouldnt recommend it" submitted July 1, 2014

By patrick e in copperas cove, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: over 20 years , guitar and bass , working musician
Music Style: rock ,country,metal,blues ,electronic
Back to Product Information
Overall: poor quality , no sustain, unplayable out of the box, shoddy craftsmanship .
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great bargain" submitted July 1, 2013

By john b in st. joseph, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitar,bass,drums,keyboards,harmonica,HammondB3
Music Style: Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I'm 63 years old so this is only going to appeal to a small click of people.Anyways,to me this is the perfect LP.My favorite things about it are the non- weight compensated body,and the Gibson USA pickups.In other words it's heavy like a 1960's,1970's era LP.,and has a great Paul Kossoff/ Bad Company sound.I play Southern Fried Blues,mostly Duane Allman type stuff,without the slide,but keeping the crunch,and tone.People talk about "tone machine",when really they mean loud machine..This is more a tone machine.The extra weight,gives you that violin,cello,type tone,almost 3 dimensional,like the 1970's models.The closest I can get is the hardtail LP Jeff Beck used on his "Blow by Blow"album.Fit and finish is good,but again,it's not a Gibson.I got the heritage cherry,and swapped out the knobs for gold witch hats,and added an antique white rhythmn/treble round plate.The neck is of course longer,so a pickguard is not gonna fit.Oh...!One very importatnt thing.The neck on the GX is ROSEWOOD,the neck on the EX,is Ebony.Epiphone states this very clearly on Brian Asbys' promo,the trick is to listen!Remember,rosewood necks need some oil every month.I use a Beeswax,and lemon oil combo.If you play blues,or cover 70-80's kinda stuff it's a great choice,at a great price.Don't be afraid to get out a screwdriver,and customize your pickups,that's what makes your sound unique!
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Wow!" submitted May 17, 2013

By john benson in st joseph, MO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30years on guitar,and keys,semi pro
Music Style: Blues,Blues,Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just recieved my GX last week and it already has this familiar,broken in feel.I'm sure that I'm not playing any better,but definitely faster.The tonality alone is worth the extra bucks.A lot of idiot info is on youtube,and I guess some teenager,has shared with the rest of the world,the ebony fretboard thing.Read this junior,if you can...EBONY on the EX,ROSEWOOD on the GX.Simple for those of us with a GED.Anyway a great non-weight compensated LP.(that means it's heavy)USA Gibson HB's,a huge radius,ans great finishes,Lots of other goodys give it a dead ringer chunk of tone from 1968.Buy one!
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Guitar!!" submitted March 19, 2014

By Adam M
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: playing guitar for 20
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great guitar. Les Paul feel and tone its a very heavy guitar its heavier to me then my friends Gibson gold top but plays great nice and smooth. If your looking for the Les Paul tone and feel you won't be disappointed
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Garbage Junk from China" submitted February 15, 2013

By John Wilbur in Freemont, MT
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 33 years Professional
Music Style: Rock,Metal
Back to Product Information
Overall: Blemished finished, poor sound quality, poor craftsmanship,Dont wast your money Buy a American Made Fender instead or a Gibson.Poorly made Guitar!!!!
3 of 15 people (20%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15WK-YWYQ. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!