800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20M-4L8Y
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone AJ-45ME

With mahogany and Sitka spruce construction and a Shadow NanoFlex under-saddle pickup, the AJ-45ME carries the Masterbilt torch that's been passed since 1931.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Great guitar buy!" submitted October 27, 2015

By Dave M in Pittsboro, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Taught at I.U. School Of Music and toured extensively.
Music Style: Blues, jazz, ragtime, old country, swing, gypsy
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have twenty solid body flat tops, some imports and some domestic built. I have four J-45's and love all of them. They all have their voices. When I saw the add for the AJ 45 ME, it looked great and sounded great in the add so, I took a chance on it. I am certainly glad that I did. This guitar is amazing, in particularly for $599.00. I have had it for a week and it is finally beginning to settle down a bit. All new guitars have a break in period where they are hard to keep in tune until all of the joints get used to being played under standard tuning stress. The only changes that I made to the instrument was to: Polish the frets with 0000 steel wool and I applied three coats of Maguiar's Number 2.0 swirl remover to the finish and then applied Maguiar's cleaner wax. It added a bit of shine and deepened the finish considerably. The finish was a bit too flat for me, almost smoky. I had read that some players were not happy with the flatness of the satin finish. I also restrung it with DR Dragon Skins 12-54. After about a week, the guitar and strings settled down and an amazing instrument appeared. I can find no flaws in the finish nor, build. The tone is big, balanced, warm and wide. I am a long time finger style player, teacher and performer and I have found this to be the best guitar deal that I have ever made. The set-up on the guitar was perfect when it arrived. That has never happened to me before this guitar. I called a friend of mine two days ago and gave him my report and he purchased one that day. If you are sitting on the fence with this instrument don't--it is a wonderful guitar. It does not sound like the new J-45's, if that is what you want, I have one; it sounds like my old ones, from the 1950's and I love that quality about it. The pick-up is great and very easy to balance. Given the all solid wood construction, dove tail neck joint and hyde glue joints, this guitar will only continue to get better in time. I will be purchasing another one for open tunings and slide. I hope that this helps interested buyers out. As usual, the service at zZounds, was first rate. I received the guitar in three days, from purchase date. Congratulations to Epiphone, for building a great guitar, at an amazing price! Capitalism, is a wonderful thing is it not!
20 of 20 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent guitar" submitted November 15, 2015

By Orlando A in Austin, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Over ten years. Most acoutic guitars.
Music Style: Pop, country, bluegrass.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The guitar sounds very nice and was set up nice and low but not too low. It is very comfortable and enjoyable to play. Very good value for the price.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

" Epiphone AJ-45ME Masterbilt Guitar " submitted February 28, 2016

By Larry Oliver in Columbus, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar for 60 years
Music Style: bluegrass, folk, blues, old time fiddle music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: What a guitar! Loving it! Reminds me so much of the classic slope shouldered dreadnought I owned back in the '50s. That guitar is still available today but at a price 4 or 5 times what I paid for the Epi.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome Guitar" submitted September 28, 2016

By Michael G in Westchester, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have played for over 20 years
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've been playing for over 20 years. I bought this guitar solely based on the reviews and feedback from other people that had played it. The guitar arrived quickly after ordering it and was flawless right out of the box. I changed the strings to Elixir Nanowebs because that's what I play on most of my other guitars. This guitar sounds warm with big projection. The action was perfect for me, so I didn't make any adjustments there. I love the matte finish. I know some guys dont like that finish, but I think it gives the guitar a great old vibe look. For the money, I dont think you can find a better guitar. This guitar can go mano a mano with some much more expensive guitars out there. The one thing I'm not crazy about are the hidden electronics. I have larger hands so I find it hard to get in there for quick adjustments.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar!" submitted November 22, 2015

By Andrew C in Salamanca, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Music teacher
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Beautiful guitar, and it sounds event better than it looks! Flawless finish, set up nicely out of the box.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Great alternative to the Gibson J45" submitted August 22, 2015

By Bryan Favre in Waveland, MS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitarist, singer songwriter, performer ,
Music Style: Rock, pop, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I own the 2016 Gibson j45 and I just got my New Epiphone Masterbilt AJ45me from Zzounds and it was flawless, the action was at spec and intonation was spot on right out the box,and the fit and finish was Beautiful, I replaced the stock Strings with D'addario EXP11, and it sounds really close to my Gibson j45 with the same strings , the neck is comfy, and the satin finish is really nice too, I play the aj45me and my Gibson j45 through my Ltd.Ed. Fender blues jr, ( that I also got from Zzounds ) sounds great , I think the. Cannabis red Rex speaker and Sparkle mod make for a great amp for acoustic guitars I've Been playing both guitars back to back since I got my aj45me 4 days ago. And it's a really sweet playing guitar , gives my Gibson a respectable run for its money , it's not a Gibson of course , but it's a nice alternative ,get one from Zzounds while they last , Zzounds always treats me right and makes sure I get the Guitar or Gear I'm happy with , even if I have to return for replacement, Zzounds rocks
12 of 15 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Get Real" submitted January 30, 2016

By Larry S in Leoma, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar, Bass, Drums
Music Style: Classics Country and Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Masterbilt line has produced some great sounding wood for the money. And anyone who cares about guitars at all, wouldn't mind taking a guitar out in public no matter HOW it looks as long as its got the sound. Grow up!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not satisfied" submitted February 9, 2016

By Brian R in Key West, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Performing professionally for 44 years.
Music Style: Country rock.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Guitar arrived and when unpacked showed signs of previous unpacking. Shipping bag cover was ripped and not secured around guitar. Tuning machine pegs were noticeably at different heights and guitar would not stay tuned.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great playing guitar" submitted October 16, 2015

By a customer from yahoo.com in Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years playing...pop, acoustic rock and country.
Back to Product Information
Overall: This guitar plays and sounds just great. Great action out of the box. Unfortunately the poor matte finish makes it suitable only for home practice. Unimpressive and dull flat finish simply ruins this guitar for playing in public. There's not a speck of gloss or shine to be found anywhere on it.
6 of 14 people (42.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20M-4L8Y. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2016, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!