800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14N4-FN75
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Thunderhorse

Loaded with Gibson BurstBucker pickups with push/pull coil tapping, this Brendon Small axe lets you explore tones from Dethklok-esque metal to classic rock.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Beautiful masterpiece" submitted August 13, 2013

By Justin M in Richland Center , WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 12years of metal
Music Style: metal.... what else is there? .... well maybe blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great guitar for the cost. Upon opening it I felt like a metal god. I researched this and the Gibson version and there is no difference, You could assume maybe Gibson is hand crafted in the USA. Maybe Epiphone is from somewhere else. I didn't ask questions I just bought one. It plays easy sounds great and stays in tune very well.
5 of 5 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good bang for your buck" submitted May 19, 2014

By Kevin B in Lomita, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Punk, Classic Rock, Death Metal, Doom, Stoner Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I've wanted an explorer for about a year now, and when I went to a convention and saw the dethklok get up, they had one of these sitting in there, and I knew I had to have it. I've had it for a month now, came from zzounds, nevada warehouse, shipping was quick, about 2 days I think. I've owned a few epiphone guitars, some what still undecided if I should consider myself a fan or not because I've had mixed feelings about all of them, including this one. When I took the guitar out of the box, and bag, I noticed it had a crack in the binding along the fretboard, and that the fretboard was painted over with some smelly black paint. The tone knobs popped off right away when I was checking out the push pull coil taps, no biggy, easy fix, just a little annoyed about it. It plays really nice though. The grover tuners and gibson burst buckers are indeed legit, which is nice. Tone wise, I like it, It's heavy, it's angry, it's punchy and versatile with the coil taps. The cleans are nice, and running the gun gave me what I expected. The guitar stands out too, people always ask to look at it, which is why I wanted it, it's different from everything else out there. aside form the crack in the binding, I really like it, will I buy it again if mine gets stolen? yea, probably. For the price, I think i got what I paid for considering the epiphone quality. it's a nice guitar.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

""Budget Explorer"" submitted June 19, 2014

By Gregg M in Edgerton, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years, giging drummer. Guitar, Bass and Drums.
Music Style: Oldies, Classic Rock, Punk, Blues, Country, Metal.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Burstbuckers are amazing. The tonal range is from jazz to blues to hard rock and even metal! Feature: The pickups are the most useful feature of this guitar. Ease of Use: Needed set-up out of the box. Quality: Seems very well made. Value: Honestly, if I had to do it all over again I probably wouldn't. At a $600 price point there were some issues I thought could be better. Set-up, Strings, overall playability. If you really want my honest opinion, take $400-500 and buy a low/mid range Ibanez. With this guitar you are ALMOST paying for the "name". I think if I would have bought a Ibanez Destroyer I would have been happier. Manufacturer Support: Never had to use them. The Wow Factor: I was always blown away by the Explorer body style. I mean can you imagine being a kid in 58'-59' and seeing one of these in a guitar shop? MIND BLOWING! The design is over fifty years old and still looks futuristic. Overall: I always wanted an Explorer, and silverburst is one of my all-time favorite finishes so I jumped in. So lets start right off with the "mostly" good.... Its limited edition, (B. Small) which frankly I don't care about. I have never been one to buy into "signature model" marketing. It is Silverburst, but not like I had hoped. It is only done on the front, not on the back/headstock/or neck like a true silverburst should be. It does have coil taps, which work well but seem a bit noisy if I am honest. The build quality seems very good, and the phenolic finger board looks like ebony and plays well. If anyone out there is "nervous" about a "plastic" fretboard, don't be. The technology comes directly from Stienberger (Gibson owned) who have used it for a long time. The finish is flawless with a very deep gloss that doesn't translate well in photographs. The Burst-bucker pickups are amazing! The clean tones that you can get from these (in all positions) will make you cry. Very Les Paul range. When "driven" you can get everything from Thin Lizzy to some really "chunky" metal tones and everything in between. ...and now the bad. Ordering a guitar on-line instead of buying from a shop in person is always a "crap shoot". You are never going to know how well it plays until you have it. Well mine wasn't set up very well. The action was pretty high and it had ALOT of bridge buzz(common with TOM). The guitar is supposed to be set up by Gibson for optimal playing and mine just wasn't. Overall, I am happy with zZounds.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not just for metal!" submitted May 31, 2014

By Mike B in Austin, MN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: semi-pro (2-3 gigs per month, some studio work). Been playing 40+ years.
Music Style: Classic rock, electric blues, some hair-metal and prog-rock.
Back to Product Information
Overall: I picked one up barely used (all stickers, hang tags, extra paraphernalia still present, NO wear evident) for a great price. Being the owner of two other Ltd Ed, Custom Shop Epis, I expected excellent build quality and playability. I was NOT disappointed. The overall quality is excellent, plays great and sounds great. I suspect the only use mine has seen was a pro setup, because I havent had to tweak ANYTHING! Its definitely a looker, and should get a lot of attention. The Burstbuckers really sing, and the coil splits allow me to even get some great SRV, Eric Johnson type of blues sounds. Couldn't be happier!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"t hunderhorse explorer" submitted April 26, 2013

By lee h in blue island, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: jam at home play the drums guitar,&trumpet
Music Style: country, blues
Back to Product Information
Overall: very comfortable easy to use pick ups are responsive
13 of 17 people (76.47%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EPIPHONE THUNDERHORSE EXPLORER" submitted April 27, 2013

By Mark Brown in Bayonet Point, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 54yr.old dissabled journeyman electrician, on SSI, poverty level, still play out for Benefit&Charity Functions. &Charity
Music Style: All Music Styles! What ever the People want to hear! Rock n Roll Soul Baby!!! I currently own and play two fine old Epiphone Gu
Back to Product Information
Sound: Dual BurstBucker Pick-Up's-Excellent power & seering tonal qualities! Pull-Pot switching-enables an even wider spectrum of sound's & tonal varieties! easy to use & awsome to play! Go from sweet, to funk, to full on metal with a pull or push of a switch! The Epiphone ThunderHorse Explorer leaves the ponies in the dust! m.t.brown,Fl.34667 Feature: Neck-thru construction, choice tonal-wood's, dual double coil pick ups, push pull dual to single coil pick up switching capability, neck shape, smooth frets, great finish, & quality craftmanship & design! This Axe Rocks! Ease of Use: AAA+ Quality: AAA+ Value: Yes, but, it should be even more affordable for all of us starving, working, genius artist's! Especially in today's economy! Manufacturer Support: Yes, yes, yes, & yes! A++++! The Wow Factor: Totally WOW!!! I MUST POSSESS AN EPIPHONE THUNDERHORSE EXPLORER ELECTRIC GUITAR WITH PUSH-PULL SWITCHING TECHNOLOGY TODAY! IN THE NAME OF "ART"! BRANDON SAID SO! DETHKLOK ROCKS! METALAPOCOLYPSE!!! Overall: Epiphone design's & craft's fine guitar's & they honor their warranties on each & every one these fine insturment's. The Epiphone THUNDERHORSE Explorer is truly a work of art! With "pull-pot" pick-up splitting technology, the "Thunderhorse" enables the artist to wield the most versatile Axe of it's kind! m.t.brown34667,Fl.
12 of 18 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What a thing of Beauty" submitted August 3, 2013

By Shaun S in Marine City, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: This may not be the Gibson but man this is one of the Nicer Epi models I have played, out of the box tuned her up and shes ready to go. Almost want to buy another for back up. For the price its going to be tough to beat.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"bests guitars for the metals" submitted June 4, 2013

By Skwisgar S
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitars gods
Music Style: death metal
Back to Product Information
Overall: This ams the best guitar for METALS in ams world! It has EMG pickup to make the Krank amps sings like grandmas! Woulds be nice if Gibson, but heys,what ams you goings to do?
11 of 27 people (40.74%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 14N4-FN75. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!