844-ZZOUNDS (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZM-M6KD
close [x]
Available Hours (EST):
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Bonamassa Firebird I

Modeled after Joe Bonamassa's classic '63 Firebird, this axe features a vintage-modeled ProBucker FB720 pickup and authentic neck-thru-body construction.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The Treasure is the right name for this Extraordinary Gem" submitted February 24, 2017

By Jim Pearson in Elon, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Experienced professional recording artist
Music Style: Classic rock, progressive rock, fusion of new age and blues...
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I own the Vintage Sunburst version of the Joe Bonamassa Treasure Firebird I. I've wanted a Firebird I for quite some time: the only option (until now) has been to buy a Gibson Custom Shop Firebird I or a used original... Both are very high prices for my budget. This new Epiphone model is wonderful: it's so much like the real thing, AND it can be purchased for an extraordinarily low price. Close your eyes and play, it feels almost like the real thing (Yes, I've played one: the difference being mostly lacquer on Gibson and Poly on Epiphone). Open your eyes and put it on your favorite playing chair and look at it from a few feet away. Other than the Epiphone logo, it is hauntingly like the real thing. I love mine enough that I spent time taking pictures and writing a review here: http://theguitarreview.com/2017/02/13/superbird-epiphone-joe-bonamassa-firebird-treasure-first-review/ Enjoy your playing! Jim
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Firebird 1 Polymist Gold" submitted January 21, 2017

By Douglas K in Oakley, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40+ years, all styles all stringed instruments.
Music Style: Rock Blues Jazz classical ragtime originals
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Received the guitar just days before the concert, Joe signed it for me. The guitar is everything they say in the specs! It came with a FULL setup, ready to play. The neck was fully rolled and very comfortable, good balance (no "dive" issue). Plugged in, the pup is very expressive, solo can be heard with nuance and clarity. Feels good in the hands. The Hard case is as good as any I have seen - buy it!
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great value and great guitar" submitted April 1, 2017

By Ben I in Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played guitar for 22 years, hardcore Les Paul addict
Music Style: doom, sludge, death metal, outlaw country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this from zZounds a couple of months ago. it did require a slight action adjustment, but it sounds amazing. I play doom and sludge metal and the lower output humbucker it comes with is very articulate and expressive. I have mine tuned to C Standard and never had any feedback issues due to intonation. The banjo tuners are a little sensitive to someone whom is used to traditional guitar tuners. Clean tones have a Tele-like quality and dirty has sustain for days. Epiphone is definitely rivaling Gibson in build quality now. Might get another one for backup and to mod.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Value" submitted April 8, 2017

By dan v in capitola, CA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing for 50 years, own seven guitars, a bass, and 5 amps
Music Style: blues, rock and roll, reggae, original
Back to Product Information
Overall: Always wanted one since Clapton played one (Gibson) late in Cream's career. They look cool and have a unique sound. This is a LOT of guitar for 8 bills and mine came perfectly packed and beautifully set up by zZounds. Mine does have neck dive issues, though, so it can be tiring to play while standing because your entire left arm is recruited to hold the guitar in a playable position. I use a 4" strap and it's still diving, might have to buy one of those counter-weighted straps. The fretboard seems quite spacious and it's fun to play!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EXCELLENT VALUE !!!!!!" submitted April 20, 2017

By Rodger E in nazareth, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: United States
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I just received my new Firebird today!!!!! I COULD NOT BE ANY MORE HAPPIER than i am right now!!! This thing is AMAZING and its selling out FAST EVERYWHERE!!!!! If ya want one of these babies ya better not wait any longer!!!!! I own a Gibson 2016 Firebird and i would say this Epiphone plays better than the Gibson that cost lot more!!!! Thank you to zZounds for the great service and super fast shipping!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great guitar, great service!" submitted March 21, 2017

By Phil M in Chicago, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is really well made. It feels solid, looks sharp, and feels great to play. Build quality is top rate!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Supreme Reissue" submitted February 10, 2017

By Mario V in Miami, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 40/Guitar/Jam at home
Music Style: Classic Rock and Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I can not believe the quality and sound comping out of this guitar...perhaps other guitar players should do like Joe. I just putted down to write the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Confused" submitted March 23, 2017

By Billy Sullivan in Naperville, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 42 years
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: I just got my Bonamassa Firebird this morning. I have to say, I'm a bit let down. I've always wanted a Firebird because of its bite,, and I'm also a big fan of guitars w one pickup. In the video at around 2:43,, Joe explains how when you roll off the volume,, the cleaner it gets,, quote "almost country like". Just on the strength of that sold me on this guitar. I plugged in mine about an hour ago for the first time,, it's exactly the opposite,, it's muddy from 0 to about 8 1/2. When it gets to around 10 is when the pickup finally comes alive. That's the only issue I have with the guitar (that's a big issue w me). Other than that,, it plays beautifully . Any suggestions as to what I should do to correct this issue or should I just return it? Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bonamassa firebird" submitted January 21, 2017

By Chris R in Nashville, TN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar 45 yrs. Worship leader.
Music Style: Modern Christian music, love the blues and Joe Bonamassa
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought this guitar and it arrived nearly in tune so someone somewhere tried it. I guess 5hey never plugged it in because even after a pro nashville set up it stoll wasn't right. String 1 and 2 are not the same volume as the rest. My tech, who has done sound for joe, says the pick up is defective. So Lindy Fralin it is. Altogether I'd have to say it is not worth the money unless you want to improve it and make it custom. Again this is just one of many guitars and only my experience. If you got a great one please post your experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1ZM-M6KD. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2017, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 844-zZounds (844-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!