800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1563-T9ZP
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Sixx Blackbird

Take Nikki's attitude to your next gig! The Blackbird rocks a solid mahogany body for tons of sustain, and Deep Sixx humbuckers for that killer Crue tone.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The sixx dosent fall far from the tree" submitted July 25, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: metal/ classic rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I LOVE the sound. when I play it, it sounds just like Nikki. I play metal, and it sounds great!!! Feature: Love the bass, wish it had tunning/ volume, but, i prob wouldent change it anyway Ease of Use: I love it, feel great, looks great. Plays like a dream!!! really easy to get the sound I want Quality: Quality is amazing. strong, a bit heavy, but I like that. Value: Amazing. got it for under $450.00. would have paid ALOT more for this baby!!! Manufacturer Support: Havent needed to do anything. when I got it, it took 2 days to come in. The Wow Factor: Looks amazing. sexy, sleek, iron cross' really put it over the edge. clear pick guard and logo work really well. flat black and black hardware make it. Its like your playing Sixx himself!!! Overall: AMAZING!!!! go get on... right now.... i mean it, GO!!!!!
16 of 16 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BAD ASS BASS FOR METAL" submitted October 1, 2012

By Shawn D in Green Bay, WI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played bass guitar for 10 years from 1985-1995 in several hard rock and heavy metal bands then stopped till 2012.
Music Style: Rock, Heavy Metal, Death Metal and Speed metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: At 1st I was weary about this bass due to the price and that it's a cheaper made version of the original Gibson Nikki Sixx Blackbird. Saw several videos on line on how this bass sounded (no around me had one to play live) and it had the sound I wanted. When I got this bass and hooked it to my Beringer Ultrabass 15 Watt practice amp and it blew me away. 1st it was extremely loud 2nd it had a naturally deep bass tone to it. I would recommend this bass for anyone that wants to play loud deep bass for metal or hard rock. Plus I love that it just has a kill switch seen I usually play with the volume maxed and tone as low as possible on the guitar. The only thing I have a problem with is the head is heavy.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"LOVE it!!!!!!" submitted November 13, 2009

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I was initially hesitant to purchase an Epiphone but after plugging it in and hearing the sound, I was sold. It is honestly one of the best sounding basses I've ever played. I can't wait to record with it. It's definitely an instrument for rock/metal. VERY solid sounding. Feature: I REALLY like the fact that is has no knobs. In a rock/metal band do you really need them? Ease of Use: The only complaint I had was the balance when wearing a strap. Like all Thunderbirds, it's a little neck heavy. I moved the top strap button to one of the screws on the neck plate and problem was solved. Simple fix. Quality: I'm REALLY surprised at the quality of the instrument. Like I said earlier, I was hesitant about purchasing an Epiphone but it can definitely hold its own against higher priced basses. I work in a music store and get to play new basses every day and I can honestly say the Blackbird is just as good, if not better than, many higher priced instruments. The sound and quality FAR surpass the other Epiphone Thunderbird models. This thing might as well say Gibson on it. Value: I honestly would have paid a lot more for this bass. The $400 price tag initially made me assume it was a cheaply made instrument but I couldn't have been more wrong. Manufacturer Support: I've had NO problems with the instrument. I'm VERY happy with my purchase. The Wow Factor: I bought this bass because I'm a big Motley Crue fan. Even if you're not, any rock/metal fan will love the look and sound of this instrument. Overall: I've been playing for over 20 years, played MANY basses, thousands of gigs, made a few records, toured the east coast, and I REALLY like this bass. Don't let the lower price fool you. This bass is AWESOME!!!!
17 of 19 people (89.47%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THE BEST BASS ON PLANET EARTH!!!" submitted November 20, 2007

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock/ Alternative/ Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: The Sound is Great It has a very nice deep smooth sound when you plug it in and play it works with alot of kinds of music as well. Feature: There is very good Features on the Nikki Sixx Blackbird Bass which is the toggle switch that is on the bass also the Opti grab which makes the bass lighter so you can rest your hand on it very good Ease of Use: When I used the Blackbird it had a very nice reaction to when I played it I tryed it with a pick and with my fingers and both sounded great. Quality: This is Bass is tough stuff and very sterty just what you would want in a Bass Guitar. Value: It's worth every Penny hands down... Manufacturer Support: I can't Really tell you about this because I had used my freinds when he all ready had it so Im not sure. The Wow Factor: This is a very sexy bass Overall: I don't know but when I get it I will be satisfied for ever.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Warning, Not For the Faint of Heart!" submitted September 10, 2008

By a customer from ksu.edu
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: Metal, Hard Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This bass is like no other, the sound quality is truly excellent. The mahogany body gives it a warm heavy tone for starters; definitely a good thing. The prize on this bass really goes to the DeepSixx hummbuckers though, as they are the deepest, and darkest that any metal fan could ever ask for! Personally, I play a lot of Motley Crue, Brides of Destruction, Deftones, etc. and this bass is perfect for it. Take note though, that if you aren't into metal or hard rock, the thunderbird IV may be a better route to go, this one's a beast! Feature: I'm very happy with the features on this bass, even though there aren't that many. Basically, it just has an on/off switch, and a personal installation by Nikki, called the opti-grab, which is a small u-shaped hardware mount that allows you to hold the bass with your pinky while playing pick style; works pretty well. Other than that, there's no volume or tone controls on the bass. Personally, I like that fact. Ease of Use: This thing sounds awesome, there's really no other way to put it. Once you tune it, the bass pretty much stays in tune. Quality: When Nikki Sixx and Epiphone get together, you know good things are bound to happen! Even though this bass was originally released as a Gibson and later downgraded to Epiphone, don't let that scare you away! This is a beautifully crafted instrument, the quality is commendable. The finish on the blackbird is a flat black, which really wears nicely. Also note that the fretboard has iron cross inlays throughout it, very cool. Value: The blackbird is my pride and joy. I really can't recommend it enough if you're a metal fan. I would say this is an excellent bass for the price, but that's simply not true. It's an excellent bass period! It will give some of the higher end instruments a definite run for their money. Also, note that although cases and gigbags are scarce for this instrument, the blackbird DOES have a Thunderbird IV body style and will fit the epiphone hardshell case perfectly. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had any problems with it so I wouldn't know! Knowing Epiphone though, you can be sure it will be very professional.
17 of 20 people (85%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Absoloutely wonderful!" submitted October 2, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, aspiring recording engineer
Music Style: Rock - all types
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Beautiful low growl, perfect for all subgenres of rock. If you want a more articulated sound, play with a pick. It's very expressive. Feature: I personally don't like having all the extra tone and volume knobs on my axe - if I need fixing, I'll adjust my sound equipment. The opti grab is a nice touch as well. Ease of Use: It's very easy to use - it's light and a little neck-heavy. Value: worth every cent.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sexxy Bass!!!" submitted December 17, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Feature: I love that this bass has nothing but an on off switch! it adds to the looks of it! Louder is better! Ease of Use: Its very easy to play Quality: People complain of stain drips on the neck but I had no problems with mine! Value: This bass is totally worth each and every penny! The Wow Factor: Yea, Im a chick and I love each and every part of this bass! It has a nice smooth feel, its not too heavy and it looks great! Overall: Love it
4 of 5 people (80%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Needs a lot of work, what a shame!" submitted February 4, 2012

By ioannis e in wichita, KS
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years
Music Style: ROCK N ROLL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound of Heavy Metal. No more no Less. Its built to rock out.......... Feature: Needs set up and ground work to eliminate the static in order to get the best out of the pickups. Ease of Use: Hang it low, turn it on and ROCK OUT. Quality: Scratches and dents can be very visible due to its solid black color. Also, the electronics are not the best. However the pick ups are grade A and the mahogany body gives you a good amount of sustain and harmonics. Value: Its should be the same price as the firebird intro level. Manufacturer Support: NO The Wow Factor: ITs a firebird. You either love it or hate it. It has a punk rock look for sure. Overall: The pick ups sound good, but the output jack was broken and the static sound is out of this world( needs grounding). And.. the action needs to be substantially lowered. Despite this changes, the pickups are very hot and its got looks that kill. Buy it! Its a good buy and ZZounds has the best prices around anyways.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Blackbird" submitted March 1, 2008

By a customer from bedford.k12.va.us
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician, Gigging bassist "Out of Spite"
Music Style: Rock n Roll
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Don't let the Epiphone name fool you, this bass really cooks. The lows really growl, the mids have great tone, and the highs really pop. This bass is really suited for aggresive rock. Feature: The 1.5 nut is great. It is much smaller than the standard nut on the Epiphone Thunderbird. The on off toggle switch is nice. The bass is clean without any extras. Ease of Use: Easy to play with a great sound. I play it through a Hartke stack and it really roars. Quality: The Blackbird is well built. The satin finish looks great. The iron cross inlays look outstanding. Its a very clean bass with a killer look. Value: This bass is great for rock. It plays as good as the more expensive basses on the market. It's well worth every penny. The Wow Factor: You will be noticed when gigging this bass. It looks and sounds great. Overall: I don't think it will ever let me down.
7 of 10 people (70%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"SIKK" submitted May 24, 2011

By a customer from us.army.mil
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock and Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: Totally awesome tone. I didn't have to do a thing to it, other then change the strings. I put some Ken Smith strings on it and it really roars. I couldn't ask for a more expressive tone. It has been grerat for both recording and live stuff. Feature: Finding a case was a pain. Ease of Use: Gtreat tones right from the factory, as far as "moding" the tone. I just threw on some Ken smith strings and ran with it. Quality: Excellent bass, the finish is awesome. It has been one of the most reliable basses that I've owned to date. I use it more then my modulus, custom alverez or schecter basses. Value: This bass is worth way more then paid for. Manufacturer Support: Having dealt Epiphone customer service when I worked at Guitar Center I always had excellent service. So have some customers that I put in contact with them. The Wow Factor: SSSEEEXXXXXXYYYYYYYYY Overall: FOREVER, I have bought 3 more and use these pretty much only these basses.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Epiphone Nikki Sixx Blackbird Bass" submitted January 14, 2014

By a customer from msn.com in san antonio, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: WOW! Great price! Super awesome bass! My son loves it! Only thing is it doesn't have volume control. But the speaker does. So it's all good!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pretty in black ... but it just went back" submitted February 23, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I think the sound is not good on this bass. Believe me folks, I really WANTED to love it. How cool does this thing look!? But unfortunately the sounds was very tinny and trebly, and that just doesn't suit my style at all. It was also very unexpected in light of the Crue sound I was expecting and the "deepsixx" PUPs. Feature: I'm going to give it a 7 because it's features are it's features and I knew and accepted that going in. But just know that if you don't love its fixed tone, then don't buy it or you also will likely be bothered by not having tone and volume knobs. And after all, the switch is a feature, right? So is the opti-whatever grab thingamajig, not that I found it to be all that useful. But the switch worked. It turns off, it turns on. Ease of Use: I have to give this a low rating because the way the question is phrased, it asks "how easy is it to get great sounds from this product" and I found it impossible to do so. The adjustability of the bridge is pretty good, and the finish and fret dressing is all very acceptable in a budget instrument. Better than expected, actually. So this is an ease of use as to tone score. Quality: The product is made well and I would have definitely kept it if I had been able to get comfortable with its nasal, twangy, whiny tone. Did I just get a defective unit? I do wonder... Value: O.k., here's where I have a beef with this instrument. As to value, it is merely o.k. You're paying for the look and musician's name. If you want you can save $100 and get the goth epi thunderbird, and that one even has knobs! Especially compared to other budget to midrange basses on the market -- if you want heavy tone, check out the Ibanex SRX series bass -- this thing is not a good value at all. Sorry Nikki, and yes I still dig you and the Crue. Manufacturer Support: I only owned it for about two weeks, and I never had occasion to call them. I haven't owned any other Epiphone products that broke, so again, I'm just going to throw this review a bone here. Overall: I sent it back. Thanks zZounds! I really wish I could have kept it but the sound was just too trebly and there was nothing I could do to change it. Too expensive to keep as eye candy on the wall.
6 of 14 people (42.86%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"NIKKI SIXX CUSTOM BLACKBIRD REVIEW" submitted March 22, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is nice and deep good for hard rock and metal style music. Feature: Opti Grab and the toggle tone switch is realy awsome features to put on this bass. Ease of Use: This bass neck is normaly heavey but Opti Grab that makes the bass realy nice. Quality: It has a nice solid structure and realy heavey dutey. Value: Yes this item is realy worth it. Manufacturer Support: No there realy is no adjustments needed right away but you will have to change the strings after awhile to realy make the sound good. The Wow Factor: This is the Sexiest bass there is. Overall: Forever if you take care of it.
14 of 16 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't like it" submitted April 2, 2012

By Colin Heeregrave
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Amateur band and jam at home.
Music Style: Metal, Funk, Punk, Hard-rock, Post-hardcore.
Back to Product Information
Overall: Worst bass ever. just an ON and OFF switch. No elements, no volume. For that price you would buy the look and the sound. And I don't very much like the sound. I tried it in the store and I was very dissapointed. Got myself a Rok Axe instead (warwick look-a-like) That's a good buy.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1563-T9ZP. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!