800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1562-7SP5
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Epiphone Hummingbird

The Epiphone Hummingbird offers classic looks and sound. With a beautiful finish and Mahogany build, the Epiphone Hummingbird will turn heads.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Do you want an honest review? Here it is." submitted January 5, 2010

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Musician
Music Style: Indie, Folk, Blues, Jazz.
Back to Product Information
Sound: Ok, First and foremost. I am writing an honest, and experienced review. I'm a professional musician. Not some kid who just got it and wants to brag. So here we go...I would like to point out that each guitar has it's own voice. It doesn't matter if it's handmade, Or crafted by machine. They all sound different one way or another. The Epiphone Humminbird is no exception. Although I do encourage people to go to a store to play it before buying it. This guitar just has such a wide range of voice under it's belt. I'm extremely impressed with the craftsmanship of this acoustic. It has no sharp wooded edges. It's very finely built, As well as finished. The inlays are amazing. And the sound...WOAH. We all know stock strings aren't the best, So I threw a set of Elixir Lights on this baby. And it just sings. A common misconception is that the action is high. Action level all depends on the player. Some people like high action, Some like low action. I prefer medium low action. It was that way right out of the box. Epiphone is really living up to it's name. And they back it with a lifetime warranty. It's very solid, And firm. It isnt delicate, Like a lot of low end guitars. The tuning keys are nice. Not loose and dinky. I'm really impressed with the finish. The pictures just don't do it justice. The REAL heritage cherry sunburst, Is as follows: The cherry is actually a cherry color. It's darker in pigment. And it fades to an orange, and to a light brown. Very beautiful. I've owned this guitar for a while, And no problems with it whatsoever. If you want a guitar that sings. Don't buy cheap. Invest in a good guitar. This will be perfect for anyone. Feature: Nice inlays, Finish. And bow tension adjustment. Ease of Use: Action is perfect to me, But it's all personal preference. But the sound is very crisp. And gorgeous. Quality: This is what I was actually impressed with. It is extremely well built. Very solid craftsmanship. Value: I would have payed more. It's an amazing instrument. Manufacturer Support: Never had to. But they back their products with a lifetime warranty. The Wow Factor: It's a wet dream walking...Honestly. Overall: I have played many different "brands" of guitars. But I stick to Taylor, Gibson, And now Epiphone.
102 of 102 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great alternative if you can't afford a Gibson!!!!" submitted May 21, 2012

By Christopher H in Lawton, OK
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 10 years
Music Style: Country,Red Dirt, Christian,rock & blues.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Change the strings,put bone saddle & bridge pins on this guitar & it will sound amazing. You wouldn't think it was a $300 guitar.the action was great out of the box. I put elixir nanoweb 12s on it and it sounds great. I even played it up against a Gibson hummingbird and it held its own. The finish is beautiful! I gave manu. facture support half star only cause I haven't had to use them yet.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Sounds good. Looks Great" submitted April 23, 2012

By joshua M in Lakewood, CO
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 8 years playing professionally, mostly at churches, occasionally in bands, no long term due to work
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Got this guitar thinking that although I dig the way it looks, it probably won't sound as great. I just ordered it and hoped for the best. Wow is all I can say, the sound is nice a mellow and full. It sounds awesome for a cheaper acoustic. Totally love this guitar.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beautiful Guitar!" submitted October 15, 2012

By Joe P in Port Saint Lucie, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing guitar since 1964
Music Style: Rock, country, blues, classical, and anything else that sounds good!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Well, I can't touch the Gibson version of this guitar because of the price. The Gibson being ten times the price. At zZounds I purchased it for $300. I was very pleased at the quick shipping and the great condition the guitar was in when I received it. Right out of the box the setup was decent though I will adjust and tweak it to taste. The sound is nice and bright and the neck plays very well. This intonation is dead on. Not bad for a three hundred dollar guitar and it looks beautiful also! I have been playing guitar all my life and I am glad to add another really nice guitar to my family of axes.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"What A Classic!" submitted November 22, 2012

By Heith T in Chesterfield, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician 30 years
Music Style: rock, hip-hop, country, blues, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I recently purchased this guitar from zZounds and let me say, zZounds had the best price and an easy pay plan to boot! The Hummingbird is no low end guitar! Let me repeat that in a different way. If you only had one guitar that did it all, you would have the Hummingbird. It is very solid and this is the kind of guitar that you discover how great it is the more you play it. What ever great impression you have first playing this Epiphone, will only increase as you get to know her! Buy it and tell us what you discover, for me "I LOVE HER"!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A great value which is beatiful in appearance. Has good sound and is built very well especially for the money" submitted January 30, 2009

By a customer from cox.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Feature: Fit finish is very good. Especially has a great appearance. The Grover tuners are the best. Ease of Use: The action for somebody fairly new is at least to me is not good. My son disagrees but he has clamps for hands. I actually took it to a Luthier 2 days ago and he felt like he could without much trouble make it a lot easier to play for me. The sound is quite good I believe and my son feels it sounds better than his Takimenie which cost $100.00 more. Quality: This is where I believe the Epiphone Hummingbird really shines. It is well built and the fit and finish is absolutely unbelievable for a guitar in this price range. Again the strings are too high above the fret board but I think that is more a personal thing. Because I love everything else about the Hummingbird I was willing to have it set up by a Tech. Value: I was very pleased at the price I paid for this guitar. It could have cost a hundred more and I would have bought it. The Wow Factor: It is as beautiful a guitar as I have seen except for the much more expensive Gibson Hummingbirds Overall: I have been taking lessons for 6 months now. I started with a Fender D G 8 which came with gigback ,tuner, winder,and DVD ,and slso a second set of strings. It did not cost very much. So this is not a guitar that is at the level that I want in about another 6 months to a year. However I will not ever let it go!
46 of 52 people (88.46%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"great guitar for any player" submitted May 9, 2012

By MARK M in NORTH BABYLON, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: iv'e been playing for 2 to 3 years
Music Style: classic rock' blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: i purchesd an epiphone humming bird from a local guitar store in bellmore.when i tried it out it was like love at first try.really happy with the quality of this instrument,the sound is rich and full. to me it is the best gibson copy of the humming bird!! cause believe me it's the clossest thing youll ever get to a gibson.because for the money you can't beat it's price. PERIOD!! GREAT JOB EPIPHONE FOR BUILDING SUCH AN AMAZING INSTRUMENT!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Epiphone Hummingbird Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar" submitted November 18, 2012

By April Higgenbotham in Semmes, AL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been around music all my life and grew up with guitars in my home.
Music Style: Middle of the road and whatever I like :-)
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This guitar is absolutely wonderful! I am so pleased with it. The sound is wonderful and stays in tune very well. I am not an expert, but in my opinion this guitar is comparable to the much more expensive Gibson Hummingbird and maybe even a little better. I would most definately recommend this guitar to anyone. You will not go wrong with purchasing it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BEST DEAL ANYWHERE!!!!!!!" submitted October 24, 2012

By Glenn B in Huntingdon, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Playing for 12 years,just play at home.Not a pro..
Music Style: Country,Bluegrass,Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I can't believe how good this guitar sounds!!! Can't be beat for the money!!! Beautiful Guitar!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT GUITAR FOR THE MONEY!!!" submitted November 18, 2012

By Glenn B in Huntingdon, PA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play at home,just a hobby and I like collecting guitars!!I have been playing guitars for 11 years and still not to good at it!
Music Style: Country,BlueGrass
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Very nice guitar,nice action and plays nice!!!!Nice finish and put together well!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1562-7SP5. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!