800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1403-P0ZD
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: ElectroVoice ZXA1 Sub

Extend your PA system's low-end punch with this powered 700-watt subwoofer from Electro-Voice -- a perfect sub to pair with your ZXA full-range loudspeakers.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Great Low End Enhancement Without Breaking Your Back" submitted February 5, 2013

By Craig Wood in Springfield, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician 15 years; guitar, keys, DAWs, Turntables
Music Style: EDM: DnB, House, Dubstep, Complextro
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound was exactly what I was looking for. When doing private functions at buildings where multiple events are occurring, I'm often asked by planners and building reps to make sure the bass wouldn't bleed into adjacent rooms. Knowing this, I wanted to add low end that would enhance my sound setup, not rattle dentures from the mouths of the elderly. The ZXA1 gave me said low end, and now the audiophile in me can't remember what life was like prior to buying this sub. Feature: 2 XLR IN/OUT, polarity invert and boost.–your typical subwoofer features. The one non-electrical feature that I appreciate the most is the weight. This thing is cake to carry and travel with, yet still packs a punch. Ease of Use: Great sounds are easy to obtain. As you long as you have basic knowledge of gain structure, you will achieve a great end result. Quality: Built like a brick, light as a feather. Doesn't feel cheap by any means. I don't see it falling apart anytime soon. A lot of times you get what you pay for, but this subwoofer truly feels like I've gotten more than what I paid for, ten fold. Value: As previously mentioned, at this price it's a STEAL. You want find a better sounding sub in this price bracket. Period. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had to deal with them, but based on my research those who have had to deal with them have enjoyed nothing but positive outcomes. The Wow Factor: Honestly, the warm bass emitted from this baby really brings the live mix as a whole together nicely. I was taken back but just how amazing it sounds and have no regrets about abandoning the QSC sub purchase. Overall: I was looking to add some low end to my current setup (QSC K12's) and was on the cusp of buying QSC's subwoofer. Price wasn't really an object. My concern was sound and weight. After doing my research, the name I kept encountering was "ElectroVoice." I figured I'd roll the dice and, worse case scenario, I return it to zzounds.com if I didn't like. Needless to say, the ZXA1 has found a permanent home with me.
32 of 33 people (96.97%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice little 12 inch sub with some decent bass" submitted November 19, 2012

By Brian R in Blairstown, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ for 18 years
Music Style: All music
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: So I ordered one of these a month ago just to see what it got for a little sub...I'm a qsc kind of guy with 2 k12's and 2 ksubs...this little guy fits in perfect with my system. I'm not big on carrying huge 18 inch subs that weight almost 85+ pounds. This little sub from ev gives a nice punch for the size....700 watts of nice clean punchy bass...it's not chest pumping but you can hear it...I set this up with my qsc system and it added a little more low end....I recommend this sub for people that wanna little more punch in there system...depending on what top speakers you have...this little sub by itself is good for about 50-100 people. I'm going to buy another one just to have a pair. This is a good buy
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"small but BIG" submitted June 2, 2014

By Keoki P in Hilo, HI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds like an EV sub tight and punchy Feature: Not much features basic with 2 i and 2 o , bass boost, polarity switch Ease of Use: Best part of purchase is the weight, there isn't much of it, can carry 2 one in each hand like 5 gallon buckets. Stairs is not a problem anymore. Stackable. Quality: Made in China , looks good, amp module doesn't get too hot, paint feels a little rougher than elx118p, don't know if its tougher, full face grille, speaker covers ok too. Value: The value is in reliability, then price is next, to me it is worth the money, plus zzounds was running the 12 pay plan, even better. Manufacturer Support: Service for me was good with ev, purchased zlx115p a while back lost the menu knob, it vibrated off the shaft, emailed them my problem, they sent replacement part no charge The Wow Factor: What appealed to me when making this purchase is the weight and size, my thought was if it sounds tight and punchy like the elx 118p, then get it. I have a lot of stairs for loading in and out before getting to the gigs. This gives me more options, where I wouldn't need chest pounding bass and saves the BACK. Overall: Now more options to choose from small rig or big rig
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Beyond impressed!" submitted March 25, 2013

By Elizabeth R in Wilmington, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 10 years as a mobile DJ
Music Style: All over the place...from classical at weddings to dubstep at parties
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Just got this sub in today....I was a bit worried about the performance with it being a 12 inch woofer. Hooked everything up and all I can say is WOW! This product was actually recommended by the rep I spoke with on the phone.....glad I took his advice. Looks like I will be ordering one more of these tonight. A really great addition to my set up and very affordable.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Masterpiece " submitted October 27, 2013

By Frankie R in Amsterdam, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ
Music Style: All Genres
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought one of these to add to my ZXA1 tops. When I first heard them, I was amazed by the rich clean sound thats coming out of this micro system. Really the system will fit in a truck of a car. Easy to setup , Oh and did I say light weight too.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GREAT COMPACT SUB!!" submitted June 10, 2012

By Steven W.
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: ok, so i picked up this sub because i needed something more compact for my mobile djing gigs. this is a great sub for the size! i am using these along with a pair of QSC K8's. Don't expect chest pounding bass, but this definitely will do the job in filling in the lower end missing on smaller full range speakers. I would suggest using this sub for a party of 50-100 people...anything larger, you may want to consider at least using 2 of these subs. The best way i can explain the sound is, bass that you can hear, but not necessarily feel. i'd highly recommend this sub. At 46lbs, its a no brainer for anyone tight on space and don't want to carry around a bigger heavier sub.
24 of 26 people (92.31%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"a mobile DJ's Dream Sub come true" submitted May 13, 2013

By a customer from hotmail.com in Pickerington, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 plus year veteran DJ
Music Style: mobile DJ so I play a bit of everything
Back to Product Information
Overall: I've been a mobile DJ for years. Got rid of my SUV last year so I decided to switch my older larger gear to smaller gear (laptop, controller, powered speakers, etc.) which I loved being able to DJ being able to carry everything in my Nissan Sentra. I originally purchased the Mackie Thumps TH15A's and then later upgraded to the SRM450v2's (which I love both sets of speakers) but all of my DJ buddies were always saying that I should get a sub. I never used a sub before and didn't ever think about it because they are mainly big huge and heavy then someone told me about this one and I did my research, went to the local Guitar Center to check it out and I was blown away. I narrowed down my choices to this sub and the Mackie DLM12S and I went with this one because of the price (the Mackie one had all of the bells and whistles but sound and quality-wise there wasn't really that much of a difference as far as I could tell.) I love it and it really adds some lows to my system. One sub works perfectly fine for my needs but I'm planning to eventually get a 2nd just for any larger gigs I may get.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"TOTALLY BLOWN AWAY!" submitted January 13, 2013

By brian w in manistee, MI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: DJ and retired musician
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
Overall: We purchased this sub for portability and smaller venues..we are blown away by the power and punchy this this 12" sub packs!..we have used this sub for crowds exceeding 100 and even though we were playing todays "pop" with all that bass sound..this sub held its own with no issues. I AM SOLD!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excellent Product" submitted December 1, 2013

By a customer from centurylink.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The product shipped & arrived on scheduled without any problems. Setup was simple & the Electro-Voice ZXA1 Powered Subwoofer sound great. I use it in a 3,000 square foot room & it served to replace two non-active speakers with 15" woofers & high-frequency cones.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"excellent sub !" submitted October 22, 2012

By Bob Goldstein in Manhatten, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 45 years
Music Style: all
Back to Product Information
Overall: I love the thump and the overall bass out of the ZXA1 Sub. It's 700w RMS 1400watts peak power-plenty of power for any venue. KUDOS to Electrovoice on this compact masterpiece !!!!!
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Excelent Sub Woofer." submitted December 15, 2013

By Jack Fahey in Brigantine, NJ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A Night club & moble DJ since 1975
Music Style: All types
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Beyond my expectations.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1403-P0ZD. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!