800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 13ZM-FVVV
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: EV ZXA190B Active Speaker

Small yet mighty, this 800-watt 8" powered speaker from Electro-Voice makes a fantastic personal monitor, front-fill, or mains for a super-portable PA.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"small but BIG part 2" submitted June 2, 2014

By Keoki P in Hilo, HI
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds good as monitor, if using on full range on stands it can sound a little thin if trying to throw the sound too far. With the matching subs they sound really good. Feature: 2 channel mixer, mic and combo inputs, plus sound per weight factor, quicker set up times for smaller gigs Ease of Use: Ease of use is easy to use Quality: Made in Mexico, nice full grille, plastic cabinet, clean lines, looks high quality Value: Reliability is key in measuring its value, my first ev ever purchased was the zlx115p, from zzounds and it's been holding up well. Is it worth it's typical selling price compared to others, I'd say yes. Manufacturer Support: Yes, minor problem the menu knob fell off of zlx 115p, used email, stated problem, they sent part in mail no charge. The Wow Factor: Giving me more options to choose from, use light or heavy system and still having a great sounding rig Overall: Worth having if you have the subs, for monitors their perfect, small footprint, gets pretty loud too.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Just what we needed" submitted June 26, 2012

By Jim M in Alamogordo, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I have been playing for 53 yrs, I play woodwinds but mainly bari sax, I have played professionally, now, mostly I play causually
Music Style: Jazz, big band, blues, funk, classical, rock, country, r & b, soul, pretty much anything someone will let me put a sax with.
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: These little 8" are just what we needed and more. We got them to use as front fills and work great but their performance is so good that we have been able to use thme in several different ways.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"this small & mighty wins a place in my keyboard rig" submitted December 31, 2011

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: keyboards, flute, local bands plus home studio
Music Style: acid jazz, Christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Was looking for a replacement for my 61 pound "off-brand Mackie450 clone" which I've been using for about 3 years for monitoring keyboards with my 5 piece original jazz/rock band the Urban Sherpas (plug). I haven't used it enough to say if one is better than the other, but I'm completely satisfied with the ZXA and it has plenty of volume for monitoring and as my main amp for small to medium venues. In the decision making phase of purchase, I was very concerned about bass response from the ZXA's 8" vs. clone's 12". I don't miss any bass at all from the ZXA's. I'm very pleasantly surprised. Electric and acoustic pianos (including left hand boogie bass lines), strings, B3 clone, synth pads and leads..all sound great Feature: 19 pounds and sounds great! Pole mount or monitor wedge placement. plenty of bass and volume for my needs. price was about 1/2 of QSC alternative. did I mention 19 lbs.? love it. Ease of Use: highly portable. easy attachment of up to 2 inputs Quality: With some trepidation, I took a chance and got a "blemished" from zzounds. Aesthetically it was perfect. At HIGH volume it buzzed. I took the speaker grill off and found that all 4 screws holding the 8" were loose. tightened'em up and it's now golden. Score. Value: oh yeah. Manufacturer Support: I was not able to find ANY local dealers to listen before I purchased, so was banking on being able to return to zzounds if not satisfied (thank you, zzounds). I never had to do that..I'm keeping it! Overall: I'd buy it again; in fact I may buy another for changing my rig to stereo. Even with 2 of these, it's lighter than what it's replacing.
10 of 11 people (90.91%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Money well spent" submitted October 27, 2013

By Frankie R in Amsterdam, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Mobile DJ serving the Capital Region
Music Style: Latin, house, hip hop, r.n.b,
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I have been looking to replace my big heavy Gemini GVX15P for almost a year. I just didn't know what to get. Bigger is better, right? Not true. I liked my GVX15's, they sounded great but they were to heavy, 72lbs each. These are the perfect chose they are loud and light, 19lbs. When I first heard them, I was amazed at the quality of sound them was coming out of that small speaker. I love these speakers, best buy of the year for me. They will put a smile on your face. One person told me that the sound was better than a live band, it was crisp and clear, and loud!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Small, Light & Kicks It~" submitted August 6, 2013

By Laura C in Taos, NM
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Professional Musician
Music Style: Singer/Songwriter, Americana, Folk, Rock, Blues
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Clear and loud. Quality: So far pretty road worthy Value: Pricey, but worth it. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed it so far. The Wow Factor: Wow, it's light. Wow, it's loud. Overall: I'm not 20 anymore, and lifting heavy objects is above my pay grade. I originally bought one of these for my keyboard, but as I started doing more solo gigs., I have found it to work perfectly as a PA. Eventually I'll get a 2nd one. It is a bit pricey, but I haven't seen anything cheaper that gets the job done with as much finesse as this EV.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A must for any serious sound venue." submitted July 18, 2011

By a customer from embarqmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Certified Technoligy Specialist CTS Infocomm
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I went to the EV display room at infocomm 2011 and heard these speakers for the first time. I own the EV live series and wanted to hear the different product EV offers. I listened to the various line arrays, tour models and live x series. At the very end of my review the sound person played the ZXA1. I immediately noticed a great sound. As I walked to the front of the large line of speakers to figure out which ones I was listening to, the EV rep used his laser pointer and pointed it to the little ZXA1s. I was so blown away that I immediately knew this was a pair of loudspeakers I wanted for my small venues. The dispersion pattern was excellent as proven when I had difficulty determining which set of speakers I was listening to at the demonstration. Feature: Wish they had the RCA input so I could hook up an iPod. Other than that, pretty simple line/mic. I do not like the monitor position support. I wish it had small pads for protection. Ease of Use: Very easy Quality: I crank these pretty good. I think they limit a little to early around 107db. But then again what do you expect from 8". Value: $499 is a little steep, but I didn't pay that. All and all I think they are priced excellent as compared to the QSC. Manufacturer Support: Never needed it. The Wow Factor: Wish the EV lit up in the front like the live X. Considering that is the only thing I find wrong, that is one nice speaker. Overall: A must for any serious sound venue. I used three of these speakers as monitors for a four piece acoustic show during bike week. The group wanted to use their QSC K10s for the mains. I was happy about that because it gave me an opportunity to hear them both at the same time. The venue was fairly small 150 or so (in a bar). The music was alternative rock, not your typical acoustic show, so we still cranked it up. The band liked it loud, so I gave it to them. 3/4 of the show was 80% monitor and 20% QSC mains. That is how much these monitors put out and just how great the sounded. They carried the entire bar! For the DJ use, perfect for any venue of 100ppl or so. Perfect for anything outside. Perfect for fillers for any size venue. As compared to the K10 (not the K8) they held their own! Grrreeeaaattttttt dispersion.
17 of 20 people (85%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Speakers" submitted April 16, 2014

By Gary P in Bloomington, IN
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Keyboards.
Music Style: Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: They sound good with Yamaha CP4. Have not done any A-B comparisons, however. Yet I'm satisfied.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Bad Speaker for it Cost" submitted March 27, 2012

By Henry Cordero in Orlando, FL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 years
Music Style: Proffesional Singer, Sound men and musician
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I bought it about two years ago, the first year have to send it to repair because some problem with the overheat, the second time the twitters blow and I have to send it to repair butt they didn't want to cover it on the warranty, finally they decide to cover it because of the time of have me waiting whit out my speaker (2 months). Now I used only 4 times on church bingo for only speak and the twitters blow again and they don't want to cover it, they want me to send it at my expenses for then to run a test on the board to see if there any problem with it if not I am screw. Stay away of this speaker system If you don't want to lose time, money and clients.
5 of 11 people (45.45%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 13ZM-FVVV. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X
ALL ACCESS PASS
5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER
  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!