800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16HZ-6QBH
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: EHX NYC Big Muff Pi Pedal

Step on the EHX Big Muff Pi and help yourself to a slice of that thick, harmonically rich, sustaining fuzz made famous by generations of rock guitar legends.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Fizzy Fuzz From The Fuzz Godz" submitted November 1, 2004

By a customer from excite.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician/Writer/Stoner
Music Style: Abstract
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is the fuzz for psychedelic stuff. Feature: Very basic controls... the way it should be. Wish it wasn't so hard to track down an AC adapter for this thing. Quality: Good quality Value: Affordable. Manufacturer Support: Actually, I never talked to these dudes but they've been around a while. The Wow Factor: Still the coolest looking fuzz pedal. Overall: I will keep this fuzz till death. I had one of these in the 70's(who knows what happened to it). I finally got another recently and man I missed this sound.
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pedal" submitted December 26, 2006

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Guitar player
Music Style: Rock / Alternative Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It sounds great and you can adjust how clean or how distorted it is. You can also adjust how much treble or how much bass you want in the sound. Feature: It comes with a battery, but if you own a pedalboard, the cables that come with it won't work so you'll just have to keep replacing the battery. Ease of Use: There's only three knobs so it's pretty easy to use. Quality: It's really large but the sound is great and it's real durable. Value: It's a nice sounding pedal and not THAT much money. Manufacturer Support: I just got it so I don't really know anything about the support from the company. The Wow Factor: No other pedal sounds like this so it's pretty appealing. Overall: It is a great pedal and it definitely deserves a 10 overall because it's a unique pedal.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"It's so good that John Frusciante uses one too. =D" submitted January 3, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Funk - Rock - Jazz
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound is nice, but a little "bassy" when you play the low strings making chords... The sound is more like Fuzz, but its just great. Feature: Simple to use, only 3 knobs (Volume, Tone, Sustain). Lovely sustainer control. Value: Nice for the pedal. It worth to pay its price. Overall: Nice sustainer, if you don't move the string (vitrato you can make, ofcourse), fuzz-like distortion, really BIG muff... it's bigger than I tought. It's appearance is just lovely. In one word: SWEET. =)
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"No Muff intended" submitted January 5, 2014

By a customer from centurylink.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: The Big Muff is a big pedal for the price. Great sustain and volume which is what i was looking for. Quick delivery ans very happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Distortion / Fuzz Pedal" submitted June 17, 2014

By Matt Gerace in Cincinnati, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 20 years...guitar / bass / piano / drums / vocals.....both a Pro & home jammer.
Music Style: Rock, Blues, Indie, Grunge, Psychedelic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Classic. Awesome. Dirty. Punchy. Enough Said. Great Buy, Great pedal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"There's a reason this thing's been around since the 70's. You can't mess with perfection." submitted July 18, 2007

By a customer from editedit.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: rock, alternative, pop
Back to Product Information
Sound: An immensely transparent and useful effect. After having the black, Russian made model for a while, using this was like night and day. The black model is more overdrive-y, where this is a wall of fuzz. If you use this in conjunction with a nice, gritty amp, you'll have an instant tone you'll fall in love with. Feature: Volume, Tone, Sustain (fuzz). That's it. What more do you need? The tone works as a mid boost. It's an extremely flexible tonal range. Ease of Use: It's a pedal. You put it on the ground, you kick it. End of story. Quality: This is where it'll lose a point. I'm not saying it's not durable, because it is, but it's a thin aluminum box, not a metal casing like a Boss pedal. It'll take a licking and keep ticking, but it wont survive the apocalypse, unlike a Boss pedal. Value: You can use this pedal for just about anything. Obviously it's a guitar effect, but it sounds great on bass, keyboards, anything you want. I know a few live sound engineers that'll use a real light setting through drum aux channels to give a little beef to a drumkit. Manufacturer Support: Great support. Email them, you'll get an answer very fast. The Wow Factor: I wanted it the second I played it. It's a phenomenal effect. Overall: It's not perfect, but what pedal is? The size of the pedal is a little annoying, but the tone you get out of it is phenomenal. Use a boost pedal or light overdrive before the pedal, instant sustainable feedback. It's a wonderful pedal to have in your arsenal.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I've never heard distortion quite like this" submitted March 17, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer, recording engineer, and musician
Music Style: R&B, Jazz, Hip-hop, and funk
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: It's a fuzzy, muffled type of distortion. I thought it was cool. It didn't blow me away, but it's something that I definitely wanted to add to my collection. Mostly because I never heard anything like it before. Feature: I like the different ways u can adjust the tone. Ease of Use: It's easy Quality: Suprisingly light for it's size, but it seems to be a good quality product. I like the way it looks. Value: OK walue. I would of liked to pay a little less though. The Wow Factor: Just look at it. Tell me you don't want one. Just look at it. Overall: It's a cool pedal. It seems that I like having it for it's status alsmost as much as for the sound.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EH Big Muff" submitted March 12, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active musician
Music Style: Christian
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is pretty good, but you have to have a Strat to make it sound best. Also, the tone control changes fast at about quarter way. Feature: Only three knobs, but that makes it pretty simple. Ease of Use: Pretty easy to use, but the footswitch is loud when you turn it on or off. Quality: metal case, metal footswitch. Value: Only about 80 bucks! Great value The Wow Factor: Classic pedal, I love it. Overall: I will keep this pedal forever. I don't like the noisy footswitch and the power cable is hard to find (except if you get the SKB PS45 pedalboard like I bought). Overall, pretty good pedal.
6 of 8 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My Big Muff and I..." submitted February 15, 2010

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: That good ol' Rock and Roll, Blues, Punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: This pedal is famous for a reason. Jack White puts it in his line up for a reason. Kurt Cobain used this pedal on Nevermind and other tracks for a reason. This pedal has revolutionized the meaning of Fuzz. It made fuzz popular. If you don't like fuzz, it isn't for you. And this is no distortion. Feature: I wish it came with an adapter. But it didn't. Not a big deal, I just wish it would of. Ease of Use: The only real knobs I ever touch are the tone and sustain. The volume can stay at one position if I'm practicing, but if I'm in a band setup, I'll Either keep it at 12 o clock or full volume. Quality: My Sustain knob is a little wobbly after 2 or 3 years of owning it. But it has put up with a fair amount of abuse... Value: I think this product is modestly priced. Manufacturer Support: I have always liked Electro Harmonix, one of the best pedal companies out there, and they have a good reputation because they are so good. They solved all the problems I called in about. And they sent a DVD of their catalog which helped me set the controls on my big muff. The Wow Factor: It has nice looks and nice sound. This product is sheer genius. Overall: I don't think I will be looking for a fuzz pedal ever. This is it for me.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

EHX NYC Big Muff Pi Pedal Customer Review submitted February 28, 2008

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock, alternative rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: this pedal gives a delicious distortion fuzz sound - pure siamese dream by the smashing pumpkins. i played it with my single coil strat into a fender hot rod deluxe. with this setup you'll get that pumpkins tone right away. a little tear almost fell down my cheek when i heard this thing - being that the pumpkins are my favorite band. a must have for any shoegazer or guitar rock player. Feature: pretty simple... tone knob moves you from a bassy sound into a harsher sound with a great transition throughout... volume... sustain... Ease of Use: if you cant figure it out, give up on playing guitar... Quality: solid steel, but pretty lightweight Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: oh yes Overall: cheap cheap cheap for this kind of tone. a must have...
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 16HZ-6QBH. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!