800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12CZ-0TZN
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: Echo Gina 3G Interface

Enhance your at-home studio with this high-quality, low-cost interface, including 2 universal inputs with mic preamps and 6 analog outs.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
What do you think? Rate and Review This Product
| | |

"Echo 3G Gina" submitted January 11, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rap / Hip Hop
Back to Product Information
Sound: Great ananlog to digital/digital to audio converters. Sound has lots of headroom to work with and is crisp and clear. Still working with it and experimenting with microphone positions but hasn't failed to do its job. Preamps also work like a charm and have no humming like other interfaces face. Feature: The accessories were the basic assembly of the equipment and it came with Traction 1. Only gripe is that it didnt come with more programs / plugins. Also Traction 1 you have to e-mail the company in order to get the activation code. Ease of Use: Took me all 20 minutes to hook up. Unplug computer put card, put drivers, reconnect blah blah easy peezy lemon squeezy. Quality: Very nice metal case for the breakout box. Cable to computer is very strong not very flismy and the LEDs and everything works properly. Only thing wrong is Im scared when I get rough with it because the knobs look like they will pop off. Value: Very good price for its money. Manufacturer Support: Great Product = Good Support havent had to contact them yet. The Wow Factor: Its metal and silver, cold as ice. Overall: Very good interface, a bunch of I/O's. Could've used more things, samples and maybe something else in it.
8 of 8 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gina baby" submitted March 15, 2009

By a customer from aol.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Hip-hop, R&B
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Sounds are great. Low latency, suites my needs. Feature: PCI card and Break out box. The Phantom power is awesome. At the time of purchase I wasn't looking for much, just a better sound card with low latency, quality sound and a break out box. For the price, this was the best deal imo. Now that I'm getting more into engineering. I need more line inputs. Ease of Use: install pci card, install drivers, hook up monitors...BAM!!! Quality: Love the low latency. Good amount of outs. The break out box is sturdy. Quality product. Just wish there was an off button for the break out box to keep it from using power when my computer is on. Value: Best value for it's price. Manufacturer Support: Had to call them a couple times for some simple questions. The answered the phone right away. Good customer service, very knowledgable. The Wow Factor: Small, sleek...very sexy yet powerful. Overall: I did a lot of research before buying, this was the best bang for my buck. It does what I want it to do...yeah
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"If you have a home studio, or do any pre-production in a larger studio, I highly recommend this converter. It really deliverers." submitted March 21, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: The Echo Gina is my secondary converter, mainly used for simple tracking like voice-overs. I have to say, and I say this with all honesty, the quality is amazing recording at 48htz / 24bit. Feature: The features on the front panel are simple and precise. The breakout cable from the PCI to the unit itself is very heavy duty and of high quality. The latency is close to zero and has not dropped out yet, as I have tasked the Echo Gina with very heavy duty software synths. Ease of Use: The user interface (software mixer) is simple and laid out very well. Routing is easy and you have an easy visual on everything happening with your audio. Quality: The only problem I have encountered with this breakout audio interface, is clock sync. On some ocassions, because the Echo products do not play well with the other children(Windows Audio...WMA)If I have to review any audio outside the DAW within Windows Media Player, afterward's, going back to thew DAW, the playback with go into double time. I have to completley close out the DAW, and re open. Value: Best small converter for the money, period. Manufacturer Support: Have not needed any as I have not yet contacted Echo to research the sync problem. The Wow Factor: really?
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Solid performer, right price, enough features for most applications." submitted February 10, 2008

By a customer from nc.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist in audio, recording and playing guitar
Music Style: very wide, but avoid thrash/death metal and most country
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I'm into high-end audio, but only own a mid-fi system. I can compare the audio quality for two-channel for the same source music (HDCD, music DVD, etc) and cannot tell the difference. I use an Arcam Alpha9 HDCD source thorugh a Creek passive preamp (Gina plugs in here, too), via Transparent Audio 'Wave 100' speaker cables to Boston Acoustics T930 full range speakers. Now, with the Gina, I'm just as likely to pop in the CD/DVD into my PC and let that be the source! I use Guitar Rig III on this PC thru the Gina and WOW --- so many amps, so little latency (any at all?), and such great sound. It all just works and sounds awesome. I also record through it - Ibanez RG321 with DiMarzio '59s, SHure SM58 mic. Have not used the 5.1, but look forward to doing home theater through it!! Feature: PCI card and cable. Software CD. Nothing else required. Ease of Use: I don't recall any difficulty. Helps to read the manual, and revisit the WIndows and Echo consoles a few times if using with Tracktion, for example. Quality: Some static coming from volume knob. but I set this to play at the same level and adjust in software and at the preamp. Value: Got it for $275 the first year it came out. Manufacturer Support: RMA'd the product for poor phantom power, and later realized it wasn't the issue. At any rate, they did it quick and shipped it back to me in good time. The Wow Factor: The power output knob is too close the headphones input, making it difficult to adjust with average fingers. If not for that, a 10.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Gorgeous Gina." submitted July 14, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician, Producer, Writer, Engineer
Music Style: Hip-Hop Based (Underground, Real, Hip Hop; not snap ya fingas garbage)
Back to Product Information
Sound: beautiful converters, good preamps. Feature: love the breakoutbox, came with software, never used it. i use reason 3.0 along with recycle and adobe audition and it works flawlessly. Ease of Use: if you know how to install a PCI card and connect wires, then its a breeze. Quality: built like a beast. Value: excellent value. Manufacturer Support: had a few questions, easy to reach, very helpful. The Wow Factor: the gina is so sexy. my first true love. Overall: i will use this product until it wears out. (if it ever does) and if it does, i will most likely purchase another one just like it, possibly in the future i will purchase an upgrade if Echo makes one.
5 of 6 people (83.33%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Solid, clean sounding and feature rich." submitted December 6, 2004

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Former pro-guitarist
Music Style: Rock/Alt-Country
Back to Product Information
Sound: Very clean sound with lots of headroom on input. I was using a 20-bit Layla and it definitely sounds better. Cleaner and hotter. Feature: Nice internal mic preamps, phantom power, headphones and powered off the PCI bus. Cable clutter is now minimal. Quality: Very well made. Sturdy metal case. Heavy, shielded cable. Trim and headphone pots feel heavy duty. Value: A tad pricy for my tastes but it's offset by the features and sound. Manufacturer Support: Excellent staff at Echo.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Phantom Power flakes out" submitted September 12, 2013

By John McLaughlin in Oxford, NA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Session
Music Style: jazz-rock
Back to Product Information
Overall: So all was fine until after 14 months and then the phantom power packed in. Now I have to go through a mixing desk for the phantom power. Not ideal. My advice, avoid this product like the plague.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This thing rocks!!!!" submitted November 28, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds clean and clear Feature: Midi, ADAT, mic pres and 6 line outs... what more do you want for this price? Quality: Works as promised. Sound is good, no problems with the pres or converters. Value: Not much hight qualiity sound cards with this feature set at this price, so this is a great deal. Manufacturer Support: haven't used them. But drivers are easy to obtain from the website. The Wow Factor: It looks cool and it's compact. Overall: This has bene used to replace 828 mk2 that just is too easy to break (firewire ports), so a PCI solution was the only choice. Definitely sounds as good if not a little cleaner, but half the cost and we didn't need so many inputs and outputs anyway, just a reliable sound card that can get the job done. The midi is a nice addition, as it saves another midi device.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Huge disappointment!!! :(" submitted July 21, 2007

By a customer from rambler.ru
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: fusion
Back to Product Information
Sound: it has constant hiss through the rare connectors, headphones are dead quiet, its very annoying and is different to tell if its card or incoming signal hiss while recording, very annoying. but anyway the sound is nice. Preamps are very good and have good gain, even through hiss you can notice the quality of preamps, I use them for guitar direct recording and they do fine job, no noise or something. Feature: nothing special, I don't use pure wave, if you don't use digital ins and outs it has basic features, other cards for example Maudio 410 is much better with features and routing capabilities, but this one has better preamps. Also it didn't come with the Tracktion CD, but who needs Traktion 1 if there is Traktion 3! Ease of Use: not the easiest thing on the world, needs some experience to figure out how the console software works. ASIO doesn't work with WDM, it means that you cannot play guitar through Amplitube and listen to media player at the same time, or use Cubase and media player or even internet explorer if you already entered for example youtube dot com or something. It always reboots my computer when I answer Skype call. Sometimes when playing Quake4 the sound stops and then I can not shut down my computer. Sometimes I get dropouts and strange behavior while recording. After a week of usage media player 11 stopped working, there is no audio coming out of it, I can playback only via Media Player Classic. I pared this card with Core2Duo, Intel G965RY motherboard which according to Echo website should work without any problem, but this card gave me only problems. Quality: box and cables look quiet solid Value: with the problems I have id doesn't worth it. price is pretty high. Manufacturer Support: i emailed support twice about my problems but still no answer, very bad! Overall: overall i needed stability and performance, this card gave me neither. I wouldn't buy it. I did everything to fix problems but they remain. My friend has older version of this card and it works great, don't know what's wrong with this one. Before I bought this one I searched every forum and review about this card, tried Maudio 410 for a while and decided to go for this one for its stability and performance (as others say), it was very stupid deal :(
4 of 20 people (20%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 12CZ-0TZN. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
X

ALL ACCESS PASS

5 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIGN UP FOR THE ZZOUNDS NEWSLETTER

  • Limited-time payment plan offers
  • Weekly deals
  • Exclusive giveaways
  • Exclusive artist interviews
  • Insider info on your favorite gear
To get your cool stuff, we'll need your address:
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey and Nevada, nearly 75 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $49+

Just $2.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!