800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1760-QGQP
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by New Year's Eve, order by 2pm EST Monday, Dec 29th with 2-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Dunlop Strap Lock

This easy-to-use strap lock slips over your existing strap pin, making it just as simple as it is effective.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Lok Strap and you won't cry for a Dead Guitar." submitted September 30, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Guitar, Uke
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This is one great product, I do not understand people having a hard time getting it on or off, maybe if they can't figure out how to turn the knob, I just don't know, it is so simple a 5 year old could do it. It is very secure and with a twist you can remove it. I do not think it would accidently come off either. Great Product, great price and it is a better deal than amazon. Thanks
7 of 7 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"One of the best straplock systems available." submitted March 6, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: rock, folk, punk, metal, country - I like just about everything
Back to Product Information
Feature: Just straplocks, but they do what they're intended to do. Ease of Use: Very easy to get on the guitar. A little harder to get off, but if anything that only increases my faith in their durability. Quality: They're plastic, but it seems to be very durable plastic, and the strap pins are what end up holding the guitar for the most part; these locks just prevent the strap from coming off. Value: Amazing value. They're dirt cheap, and better than most more expensive alternatives. The Wow Factor: These are great in terms of matching the guitar, and that's a big part of why I got 'em. I wanted to preserve a simple strap-on-strap-pin look, and these deliver, especially with a black strap (or a strap with a black bottom). Overall: I've used a lot of strap lock systems - these, Schallers, Dunlop Straploks, and the D'Andrea locking strap. I am a Schaller person, by and large, and I consider Schaller to be the absolute most secure and well-designed option available, as long as you tighten them with a wrench or pliers. However, this beats everything else, including Dunlop's more expensive Straploks, with their unassuring four tiny ball bearings and failprone button. And it has the additional advantage of being bar none the least bulky straplock system on the market today.
31 of 33 people (93.94%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THESE ROCK!" submitted February 26, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: aspiring professional
Music Style: many
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Feature: Sturdy plastic, holds up my heavy Dean guitars just fine, as well as my light acoustic guitars. I have zero worries. Best thing is I didn't have to modify my guitars. Goes over your existing strap button to lock your strap on. I decided to try these after seeing a video in which Marty Friedman recommended them, and twirled/yanked his custom Jackson around by the strap. He is no idiot. These work. Ease of Use: So easy that a child could do it. I'm not sure what others are complaining about. May bee they bee 2 stoopid? Quality: To me this seems at least as reliable as traditional strap lock systems, if not more so. The plastic is heavy duty and does what it's supposed to do. I have been using them for nearly a year and had zero problems. Value: At this price they're definitely worth trying out. Buy one, and if you are too stupid to understand it, then fuggedaboutit. But chances are you will buy them for every guitar you own. Overall: All the drilling, gluing, using toothpicks to shim up a loose hole, cracking your paint around the strap pin, all that nonsense of installing tradition strap locks is OVER! These rock!
8 of 9 people (88.89%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Dunlop strap lock review." submitted March 22, 2011

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician
Music Style: Alternative, country, gospel, christian rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: It dosen't have a sound so i can't really say what the sound quality is like. Feature: It's amazing it's so simple. Dunlop is a genious for creating such an amazing devise. Ease of Use: It's so easy to pop on, and twist. taking it off is a little difficult, but that's for reasurence purposes. I use a thick lather strap and it is alittle difficult to put the lock on. Quality: Amazing does it's job 100% Value: Defanitly not worth $4.00 i live in Summersville, WV and can buy them cheaper. 25 cents a piece. Manufacturer Support: I have never delt with this coumpany other than the locks, but i would recomend looking into the company further if this is the kind of quality i recieve. The Wow Factor: I own it and love it. Overall: Well worth it. just not for the price.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Works OK" submitted April 5, 2013

By Robert Stanfield in Dover, DE
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Retired Pro, Semi Pro now - Bass player
Music Style: Whatever is called for
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Like the others, I like these things. Easy to put on, work well & cheap. I like to leave my starps attached & I don't like strap lock systems whre metal ends rattle around in a case against the instrument. I would nt reccomend them for someone who wants to take the strap on & off a lot, I had one turn into 2 pieces, but it still works as the strap button holds them together. If you're going to leave your strap attached, they're perfect as they will never touch the instrument body in any type case.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good quality, Cheap, Easy to use, Straplocks!" submitted May 11, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobbyist (for now)
Music Style: Rock, Punk, Alternative
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Ease of Use: Super easy to "install" (for lack of a better word), thats the main reason I got them. I didnt want to have to mess around with a bunch of screws and stuff and I found these and they work great. Ive shown my friends and they love them too. I was a little unassured with the plastic but it seems very durable. Quality: Seems like high quality plastic but I wouldnt reccomend doing any crazy moves. Value: Cheapest strap locks out there and the easiest to use. Overall: Its a great and easy product to use. I would reccomend them to anyone who doesnt want to mess with any installation.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review submitted February 14, 2007

By Darin Loccarini
Overall
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: RUSH!!!!!
Back to Product Information
Ease of Use: For my Les Paul, they work great, quick, cheap, and very effective, they aren't budging. However, as one user mentioned, they don't work with all combinations. They are too tight to get on my strat, but I think it's because the strap ends are thicker. Either way, for anyone that has multiple guitars, getting one set and seeing what they work with is worth a few bucks, especially with the les pauls, which we know pop straps a lot because of the pin angle. Quality: great design, plastic is as strong as it needs to be. Value: fair price for good protection, too bad all "types" of protection, well, you know... Overall: I'll be sure to get straps with thin leather on the ends so that I can put these on all future guitars and never worry about dropping one.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"These do NOT fit over my LTD BASS strap pins. Also, they're sold in PAIRS" submitted May 18, 2012

By Tom B
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: varied
Music Style: ecclectic
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Good product. Clever design. Hole is too small to fit over my BASS pins. Appears to work on standard GUITAR strap pins, but only if the leather eyelet portion of your guitar strap is relative thin. If the leather portion is thick, you might have trouble squeezing this product in between the widest circumference (the lip) of the metal pin and the strap leather. I have a current- model LTD bass (B-205sm) and when I try to force the Strap Lok on, it pops the two snap-fit pieces apart because the Strap Lok hole is just not big enough. Dunlop should either redesign it to fit BOTH guitars and basses, or make TWO separate products AND LABEL/MARKET THEM CLEARLY.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Amazing and cheap" submitted May 30, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Every weekend gigger
Music Style: Classic rock and country
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Feature: I went decades without strap locks on my bass until one time while tuning before a show my rare Fender MP4 dropped face first to the stage. Luckily no dammage, but I went out the next day for locks. I did not want to use the complicated ones my guitar player uses, and I did not want to modify the pins on my sweet bass. I found these for a few bucks and have been happy ever after. Ease of Use: So simple, a Caveman could use them. So cheap, even you can afford them. Quality: Nothing can break on them, and nothing can wear out. The design is so simple it's a shame people pay $35+ and modify their guitars for other strap locks. I have used these for about six month now. Value: For the price of a beer you can protect you guitar. Overall: Forget the expensive locks and get a couple of sets of these. Keep an extra set in your case.
4 of 7 people (57.14%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good alternative to strap-locks." submitted December 6, 2007

By a customer from sbcglobal/net
Overall
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Indie/Alternative/Acoustic
Back to Product Information
Ease of Use: Put it on over your strap-button and strap. Twist inner piece. Done and done. Far easier than trying to replace the strap button with a strap-lock, where the screws rarely match up. Quality: It does what it's supposed to. Value: Cheap and easy, and works perfectly as long as you aren't spinning the guitar around your skull. Overall: Prevents your strap from falling off the strap button at a cheap price. Does everything you need it to do.
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"BEST STRAP LOCKS EVER!!" submitted August 28, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Alt
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Feature: As simple as possible. The way they should be. Ease of Use: The easiest strap lock there is. If you have problems using this product there is no hope for you. Quality: Very strong & durable. I THROW my Les Paul around my neck and these things will NOT let go. My bass player has some really expensive strap locks and he is always having problems. Value: Buy them. What do you have to lose?(ok you have about $4 to lose)Can't beat $4........unless they were $3...........or $2.......ok,ok. great price! Overall: Buy it.......Do it..........Do it...............................Do it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Buy these now!!" submitted March 11, 2005

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Classic Rock, Country
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: These little things are tremendous. For just a few bucks you can protect all of your guitars from hitting the ground. They work like a charm, they're easy to transfer from guitar to guitar and if you have a number of guitars they'll save you a ton of money. Best of all, if you're into vintage or expensive instruments, no modification at all. I just wish I'd been the one who thought of it. I'll never buy another strap lock system again.
3 of 6 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review submitted February 20, 2006

Overall
Ease of Use
Quality
Musical Background: Bass Player
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
Ease of Use: these locks are easy to put on but dont work with a lot of the stock strap locks that come on guitars. They work alright but tend to loosen up your straplocks because they are so tight. they are also very bulky. Quality: these are good ideas for guitars that dont get played alot but for guitars that get played daily i would reccomend that you buy the metal locks that connect to your strap for about 20 bucks.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Junk." submitted March 6, 2014

By Bill B in Leesburg, VA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play guitar and jam at home and out with friends but am not a gigging musician.
Music Style: Classic Rock to 70's metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Don't waste your money. I purchased 3 sets of these thinking they would be a better option than Grolsh washers on guitars I did not want to modify with strap locks. Turns out they A: won't fit except the thinnest of straps and B) separate into two pieces at the slightest touch which would allow the to fall off the guitar in pieces.They only fit one of the 3 guitars I intended to use them on and since they broke in two with barely a touch, I have no (zero, nada, none) confidence in them. Grolsh washers, for all their faults, are a much better and cheaper option.I gave them 5 Stars on the Wow Factor as in "Wow, what a useless piece of junk".
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review submitted August 21, 2007

By a customer from rediffmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Blues, jazz, hard rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: It's the flimsiest crap I ever got - falls off even more than my strap does Feature: It's a nifty idea, but the quality is the pits Ease of Use: Pretty easy to get on and off, one has to admit. The only thing is that, when one closes it, it often jams halfway round my end-pins - I own a Standard Precision Bass. And then falls off Quality: It's bad, as I said previous point, it jams halfway round my end-pins - And then the swiveling part falls off. Even worse, the part pops off while I'm playing; not my strap. It's not something I thought would come from Dunlop, that's for sure! Manufacturer Support: I really wouldn't know. I live in India, and a pal brought them down for me. No way I'm going to waste even more money trying to contact Dunlop about them The Wow Factor: They're a nice talking point. Just make sure you don't let folks see it in action.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Not Reliable" submitted March 3, 2013

By a customer from hotmail.com in Boston, MA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Overall: The center piece which swivels to lock around the strap button can pop off the Ergo Lok and fall on the floor, leaving that end of the strap unsecured. I have had this happen three times already. The center piece can be popped back on and the Ergo Lok used again, but I have already lost two of the center pieces--I have no idea where they went.I am throwing these things away. My guitar will hit the floor if I rely on these.Also, these locks don't work with all buttons or with all straps. There has to be enough room for this lock to fit.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"These are junk." submitted November 17, 2007

By a customer from embarqmail.com
Overall
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Musician
Music Style: Rock, Punk, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Ease of Use: Pain in the rear to get these on. Quality: Used these for 2 weeks and one broke making them useless. Value: Don't waste your money.
2 of 5 people (40%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"don't spend the $4" submitted November 30, 2012

By Gary P in Lombard, IL
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: play at home and out, occasionally.
Music Style: rock, metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This lock ended up stripping my neck side peg. Don't use it. Better off buying the locking straps.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Dunlop Strap Lock Customer Review submitted September 2, 2008

Overall
Ease of Use
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Ease of Use: In theory these are very easy to use. In reality with a nice thick leather strap, they don't fit. Quality: While attempting to twist one 'lok' around 180 degrees as per instructions, it broke in two pieces. Not even worth $1, let alone $4. Value: Save your $4 towards something made of metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 1760-QGQP. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 1AM a 1AM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!