800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 173T-TNMF
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

For delivery by Dec. 24, order by 2 p.m. EST on Tuesday, Dec. 23 and select 1-day shipping.
Cart

Rating and Reviews: Dunlop Jazz III Picks

Take your technical playing to the next level with Dunlop's Nylon Jazz III picks. These picks are easy to grip and feature a sharp tip.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"For serious guitar players..." submitted September 19, 2008

By a customer from drmmp.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Producer, Enginner, musician
Music Style: Progressive Rock, Instrumental Guitar Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Not the best choice for playing strumming acoustic guitar, but it has an unbelievable sound for electric guitar, It's all I've used for the past 15 years and I've tried just about every pick known to man. Thousands of professional guitar players using this pick can't be wrong! It's really easy to get pinch harmonics when playing. Because the tip is so sharp, less surface contact is made with the string for reduced "pick attack". That makes it ideal for fast lead playing with reduced noise (less "chug-chug" in the sound), especially when using distortion. Eric Johnson knows this to be true. This gives a very legato and almost "violin-like" sound when playing cross-string or 3-note per string passages. Works great for sweep picking. However, when used for rhythm playing, the very rigid and stiff feel of the pick lets you really dig into the string if needed for heavy palm-muting, power chords and rhythm guitar. Also great for metal or 7-string guitar styles. Feature: The only features really are the color (red or black) and that is your personal choice. These picks are smaller than most, except for the Jazz III XL which are larger. The black ones shave a better "grip" than the red because of the matte finish. The red finish is more "glossy" and may cause you to drop your pick on the ground more often. Ease of Use: Using a Jazz III pick for lead guitar playing takes a little getting used to if you've played for years using standard picks (Fender, etc). Most traditional picks are larger, are usually thinner, bend more and have a more rounded tip. However, once you get used to using a Jazz III, you may never want to play using anything else again. You'll be surprised at how much a pick can improve your tone, improve right hand control and be versatile at the same time. Quality: Extremely durable. Picks don't bend and wear out. The sharp tips take a long time to become dull. Dunlop is a great company which has been around for years. They endorse an impressive list of musicians. They don't make crap and that's why they've been around so long. Value: There are more expensive picks out there...most of these are radical and gimmicky. There are also cheaper picks that are nothing but crap. Tremendous bang for the buck!!! Manufacturer Support: Only dealt with Dunlop a few times and they've been great. Very friendly and accommodating. The Wow Factor: It's simple..It's does what it's supposed to. Come on! It's a friggin' guitar pick!! But, it really makes a HUGE difference in how you play and the quality of tone you can get from your axe. Overall: So many guitar heroes use this pick - Eric Johnson, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, John Petrucci, Shawn Lane (R.I.P). Many famous metal guitar players also use Jazz IIIs. These guys could play using any pick they want, unrestrictive of price. There's a good reason for this. Look, if you want the best pick for the money, look no further than a Jazz III (and no, I don't work for Dunlop!)
19 of 19 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"pick the best pick" submitted April 29, 2008

By a customer from macrofuser.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: rock/funk/disco/r&b/jazz/pop
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This pick puts your fingers where they need to be: closer to the strings. I reluctantly tried one of these picks at the advice of a friend, and ten years later I'm still using it. I have a hard time with regular-sized picks now, they seem clumsy. This really is all it's cracked up to be! Feature: Quality: I have yet to see one of these broken or cracked. Value: I only wish I could still buy them in greater quantities than a six-bag. Manufacturer Support: Seeing as how I've never had a reason to contact the company... The Wow Factor: This pick is no-frills, all-business guitar-player at its best.
4 of 4 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Perfect as you can get." submitted July 13, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.co.uk
Overall
Sound
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician
Music Style: Rock, Metal, Shred
Back to Product Information
Sound: This pick delivers clarity in every strike, suitable for fast rock/shred, this pick moves itself with your hand, kind of like picking with your nail, you're almost unaware that you have it in your hand, which adds to burning speed, no exaggeration. All this adds to clear, clean sound, no horrible noises, no bulk in your hand. Ease of Use: Very easy to use, very clean & smooth, for pinch (artificial) harmonics it's brilliant, theres no need to dig right in because your thumbs there already. The speed on this is excellent, if you run through some licks or scales, you'll find you just drift across the strings, sometimes picks will stop you're playing because of the size, but as I said this is like picking with your finger nail. Quality: Very good quality, the plastic seems very durable & can stand up to the fastest of playing without any problems like chipping etc... Value: Very cheap, I got mine for 40 pence each off the internet, which I guess is typical price. You could waste your time on cheap ten a penny things, but nothing compares to Dunlop, you can't compromise, these are the tools of your trade, don't settle for second rate. Buy these beauties. Manufacturer Support: Haven't had any customer service experiences with Dunlop, but I guess they'd be helpful, they aren't world leading in picks for nothing. The Wow Factor: Well, I've been using old Dunlop 1.14mm heavies up to now, but since having this, I won't go back. So it has definitely improved my playing & made my music sound better, hence helping me be a better musician. Overall: Unless, Jazz IIII comes out, then I guess there will be no other pick for me. I actually bought some of these when I heard Michael Angelo Batio used them, I read a few reviews & they said they were really small, I didn't think they were being that serious, damn these babies are small. Note if you have big hands & thicker fingers then go for the 'Jazz III: XL' these are the same, yet as big as standard Tortex 1.14mm, if you want stiff ones, go for the black version, these are stiff but yet have the same sharp tip.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best picks ever" submitted September 19, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I play a lot of metal and hard rock, both rhythm and leads, and need a pick that is fast, durable, clean and easy to get a pinch harmonic with. I found this pick because of an article in a guitar magazine - it noted that many, many well known guitar hero's swear by this pick, so I picked them up. Amazing. I still can't tell you the difference between the red and black, but you can't go wrong with either. Feature: Small. Durable. Fast as hell. Accurate. Your fingers are just about right on the strings anyway, so a pinch harmonic is easy. Turn the pick about 45 degrees and let your finger touch the string on the way by - happens almost automatically. Ease of Use: Takes some getting used to when you are used to a normal sized pick - but then again, I'd say the reverse is also true. I have to bring my own picks when I go to a guitar store, cause normal ones now feel big and clunky. Quality: You can't hurt them. Go ahead, try. Value: Very inexpensive Manufacturer Support: n/a The Wow Factor: Considering that the best in the industry swear by this pick, I think the coolness factor speaks for itself. Overall: Buy them, buy them now, don't hesitate - well, go ahead and throw your old picks out first :)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"you need to try this pick" submitted October 25, 2007

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Ease of Use: it is a little difficult to get used to at first but it is the greatest pick of all time! Value: best value for a pick ever The Wow Factor: i used regular sized picks forever and then switched to this one and it makes my whole setup sound better i will never switch back Overall: I will never use another pick
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Dunlop Jazz III Picks Customer Review submitted March 7, 2007

Overall: These picks are used by Matt Heafey, Joe Satch, and tons of shredders world wide. At first the are hard to use but buy some play with them for awhile instead of your standard picks and your speed will improve amazingly. I never thought a pick could make such a diffrence.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

Dunlop Jazz III Picks Customer Review submitted December 6, 2007

Value: great pick. i'm just a beginner, so switching from thinner picks was easy for me, but no matter what level you're at, try the pick. Overall: Best pick i've ever played with. it'l literally make you better
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"buy some of these!" submitted March 28, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: in a band
Music Style: metal/rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Some may but realise it but picks do effect your sound, these are perfect for soloing and such...but may feel a bit awkward when you're playing heavy rhythm. Theyre also great for pinch harmonics. Quality: These picks probably last longer than any other, they dont seem to wear down as much as picks i've used in the past. Overall: This pick is great, i recommend you atleast try it for a while, you wont be dissapointed...although it may seem a little small at first you get used to it and realise it's better than everything else. =P
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pick, Delicous, Precision." submitted April 30, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.co.uk
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Budding Musician
Music Style: Jazz/Downtempo/Funk
Back to Product Information
Sound: As the name suggests - Jazz - I was intrugued. I was recommended to use this pick, but thought nothing of it. Once tried, I found that it instantly improved the quality of my sound, not only have I been using it since, but I now see half of my guitarist colleagues using it. Not only for Jazz sounds, but I'd feel confident using this to perform anything that needs a powerful, defined sound. Feature: It's size. It's precision is out of this world. After playing with it, I grew accustomed to it's solidity and small size. Other picks seem Clumsy and weak in comparison. Ease of Use: Terrific! I picked up one of these after first learning how to alternate pick, and (with attempted modesty) I feel that it's made my picking sound much better than those that use large clumsy picks. However, may vary depending on the player. Quality: Not once, ever, has one broken, bent or cracked. after 2 years, my oldest one (which i haven't lost) is still in perfect nick. Manufacturer Support: Never had reason to reach the company... Except maybe to send a letter of veneration, on their creation. Overall: Try it, and hopefully you'll love it as much as I.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 173T-TNMF. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!