800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZR-T5JL
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: DigiTech Metal Master

Tweak this pedal's Morph knob to hear a wide range of distortion voicings -- from smooth high-gain, to scooped mids, to a punchy midrange-heavy metal sound.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Digitech has shocked me!" submitted August 19, 2008

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Musical Background: Semi-Active Musician
Music Style: Brutal, Grind, Speed and Death Metal
Back to Product Information
Overall: Okay so I was in the market for a good Metal pedal because the distortion on my half stack just didn't cut it. I went to a local music store and tried tons including this one. I must say I was surprised with how well this one sounded. The Morph feature is really nice, there's one for every style of metal except Black Metal. (which it fine because I don't play much of that anyway) There's a perfect amount of low end and Just enough high end, there's no mid knob but I usually scoop the mids anyway. It's great for lead, It's great for rhythm, and it's great for metal. Buy or at least try this pedal, you won't be disappointed.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"VERY NICE!" submitted September 18, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist 3 years
Music Style: metal/black metal, classic rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: the soun of the metal master is really good. you can go from metal to death metal with a turn of a knob. Feature: the pedal came with a battery and a manual but i think it should of came with a power chord so you dont have to keep buying batteries. Ease of Use: its very easy to use you just turn a knob and stomp the pedal and you are good. Quality: the quality is very good its made very well i have had it for over a year and it hasnt failed me yet. Value: its a good price for it but i wouldnt of paid much more for it. Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with them. The Wow Factor: it looks alright its just a pedal. Overall: overall its a good pedal it sounds good and works good its VERY NICE.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Ultra Metal-Distortion!" submitted November 5, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Guitarist, Musician duh!
Music Style: Metal, Experimental, Rock, Classic Rock, Neo-Classical
Back to Product Information
Sound: Why do I need to go on about the sound? It's pretty self-explanatory, made for METAL nothing else. It does have a wide range of sounds, from the classic metal tone ala Maiden to the warmest mid-range sounds to the darkest of the darkest distortion spewed forth from Hades itself. Feature: Pretty much fool-proof, level for volume, and an added extra goody, you can control how much bass and treble you want. This also has a WIDE range of metal distortion, that's why I bought it. Ease of Use: Just stomp on it and ultra metal tone is yours Quality: Built like a tank, virtually indestructable. Mine has taking big drops that would make Danny Way weep and works like the day I bought it. Extremely low-maintenance Value: Well worth every penny. Perfect for all metalheads needs Manufacturer Support: Never needed it, but if I do, I have the number. Overall: This thing will probably go to my grave with me. It's built that well.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"THE METAL PEDAL" submitted December 8, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: metal/prog metal, rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: sounds awesome!! as good as or even better sounding then the boss metal zone! u can get any sound out of this baby! if u want an insane sound drop a pair of good pickups into ur axe like emg's Feature: morph knob is so cool this pedal would be the ultimate if it had the little eq like the metal zone Quality: built like a damn tank ive dropped this thing many times doesnt even have a dent awesome quality parts Value: kind of expensive, same price as metal zone Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with support Overall: an extremely good pedal i would reccomend to anyone that likes metal ect. the only bad thing is that THIS THING EATS BATTERIES!!! i would highly reccomend getting an ac addapter especially if u play alot like me
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The digitech metal master - small sexy and right for everyone" submitted December 26, 2003

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: all kinds of metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: the digithech metal master allows me to use as much or as little distortion as i want and at every possible level of distortion i can use on this pedal im blown away at the crispness of the sound. i've heard some pedals before that with a high level of distortion every note sounds the same but not with the digitech metal master. it almost makes my playing sound smoother Feature: the digitech metal master dosent come with any accesories but it dosent really need any. The only thing that would be nice if it came with it was an adapter. but the adapter isn't alot of cash to get so its not a very big deal. I love the morph option that this pedal gives me so i can have as much or as little distortion as i wish. Quality: in the time i've had the pedal i havent had any problems with it at all and i have used it a LOT, and it looks great to boot. its a really reliable pedal and its made of tough stuff, all metal and rubber on the bottom and on the pedal that you step on. the metal master seems amazingly durable and i think that with proper care this thing will be around forever. Value: i think the metal master is worth every penny Manufacturer Support: i havent had any problems so i have not had to deal with the people of digitech at all. i tried to visit their site this morning but it was down, but these things happen so. The Wow Factor: this is a very sexy little pedal its small and sleek with a sound that wont quit Overall: this pedal looks, sounds, and has great preformance. not to mention its durability. I love everything about this pedal and i cant say a single thing bad about it.
6 of 7 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"value" submitted January 28, 2012

By jimmy k in fort woeth, TX
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: about 15 years, six string and bass, i play just for fun
Music Style: rock and roll baby all the way
Back to Product Information
Overall: I just bought the pedal and must say it is well worth every copper penny. If you want a good sounding pedal I recomend you give this a chance
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great Pedal! Just buy it,you can stop looking for Distortion Pedals,you have found the only one you need!" submitted July 15, 2008

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: 30 yr Shredder
Music Style: Shred
Back to Product Information
Sound: This pedal was just what I was looking for.Can be made very deep and warm also......Very nice! Feature: Very simple controls that really work! Not subtle changes but when you just move a control slightly you hear the change. Ease of Use: Very Very Easy Quality: Can take a beatin! very strongly made ! Value: Is it worth 80 bucks? I think so ...but i paid 25 bucks for it at a pawn shop new in the box...and I would have paid 80$ Manufacturer Support: Dont think you'll need it. The Wow Factor: If ya like shredding, Buy it! I have been playing 30 yrs and I use it dry for recording and put the delay and chorus in after,you get so many tones! Overall: I will not need any more ditortion Pedals,This pedal has what I am looking for.
3 of 4 people (75%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Just F***ING BUY THE THING!!!" submitted June 1, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: power metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: Awsome for 80s Heavy Metal like Judas Priest and Iron Maiden and even Thrash from the 90s and now. The sound is incredible! Metal or not you will love this thing. Feature: I absolutely love the X-series morph knob, it makes the pedal 7 pedals in one. That's fricken sweet!! Ease of Use: Pretty easy. Quality: Just like everything I've reviewed on zZounds.com, built like a fricken tank! Value: It was priced at a tenth of what it is actually worth:about 50$ if I remember correctly. The Wow Factor: I love the color!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Overall: Overall it is just like all products you'll find on zZounds.com, the best damn pedals ever made!!!!!!
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Good for personal use but terrible for gigging." submitted June 16, 2007

By a customer from msn.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Metalcore
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound is good if you are playing by yourself. However, live iit doesn't cut through the mix at all. its too raspy and too trebly to even think about cutting through the mix. It definitely sounds terrible if you're playing along with another guitar player. If you do be ready to go unheard. However it is my favorite compact distortion pedal. I use it for when I alone. Feature: The morph knob is cool. But it could use a gain and a mid knob. There's just simply not enough control. Ease of Use: You just stomp it haha. I don't understand how it oculd be difficult. Quality: I've dropped it. It still works. The batery terminal quits after a while so make sure you have an adapter ready. Value: Its cheaper then any of the Boss metal pedals but still sounds better. Manufacturer Support: never dealed with them The Wow Factor: Its ok but nothing will beat good ol' tube distortion. Overall: I hope this pedal will last a while. It is fun.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"READ THIS- METAL MASTER DISTORTION PEDAL" submitted December 26, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: the sound is sick, i owned a digitech RP-50 multi FX pedal which is also good but didnt have the metal distortion sounds i was hoping, but this tank has the most awesome sound, it can be suited to every metal band if played with. Feature: man the morph knob is the most insane thing ive ever seen on a pedal. one second im playing black sabbath, a second later im playing slipknot and korn, fully sick feature. Quality: hard as nails, this thing is made outta the tuff stuff. parts are all high quality and is suited fo on statge use as well. very strong case. Value: i payed 180 aus dollars for this pedal, insane value. match that to a boss pedal. Manufacturer Support: i havnt dealt with support but with a hammer like this why would u need to?! The Wow Factor: i cant stop looking at it! the damn things tight! very original, but at the same time, easy as to use. Overall: the best metal pedal in its price range, but personally, my fav. BUY IT NOW!
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The best." submitted May 9, 2006

By xmetalheadx666x
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: Don't use junky cables or you won't get the best sound. Feature: It's just great. Ease of Use: It's simple the knob are labled with one word not like the metal zone pedal where it's confusing. Quality: The distortion is perfect. Value: The pedal is definitly worth every penny. Manufacturer Support: The comany is great. The Wow Factor: This pedal is very ballzy and it's looks attract people. Overall: I will use this pedal for as long as it last.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Pedal Ever!!!! Look out Metal Zone" submitted January 7, 2006

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Heavy Metal Guitarist
Music Style: Any type of Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: I went into a guitar store with the intention of buying a boss metal zone. They were sold out so I tried this pedal out. In the store It sounded awesome, but that was only half of what I got out of it once I got it home. You can get every sound from light to heavy distortion, and from deep low end to high pitched screaming distortion and everything in between. Feature: It could have used a "Mid" nob and a nob to control the actual amount of distortion, but it does have the "Morph" nob which is totally sick. As you start out with morph on zero and turn it clockwise you can hear the sound intensify Quality: This thing is built like a vault. It's made of all metal and built to last. Value: Pretty expensive, but cheap compared to other pedals whcich don't offer the same sound quality. Manufacturer Support: Just got it but based on the quality will never have to deal with the company. Good brand name The Wow Factor: The Metal Master looks and sounds great. Who wouldn't want one. Overall: This thing is amazing. If your looking for a distortion pedal check this one out you won't be disappointed.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This pedal is better than the Boss MT2 Metal Zone which I think makes it one of the best metal pedals on the market TODAY" submitted September 28, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Im a self taught guitarist and have been playin a year and a half
Music Style: All metal and I hate Punk
Back to Product Information
Sound: THis thing sounds awesome, and if you wanna hear what it actually sounds like then go to guitar center.com and kook it up, you wont be disapointed Feature: Doesnt have a mid knob but who needs it. THe X morph is fricken awesome though. You can do any type of metal you want and can make this thing sound like the boss mt2 if you put the settings just right. Ease of Use: Its as simple as any pedal ive used Quality: this thing is pretty heavy and looks like it could survive a mosh pit Value: I actually got mine for 30 bucks at a pawn shop but i would buy this thing for 90 bucks if i had to Manufacturer Support: Uhhhhhhhh I never need it, but Im sure zzounds has good custumer support The Wow Factor: At first I walked into the music store looking to get a boss MT2 metal zone but as i was about to pay for it this pedal caught my eye and I needed to have it Overall: If you like any type of metal then you would be a complete moron not to get this pedal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nice pedal" submitted October 30, 2007

By a customer from carolina.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: intermidiate guitarist
Music Style: rock, metal, etc.
Back to Product Information
Sound: this pedal sounds pretty good. i heard it on a cover video on youtube and i heard someone trying it out at the music store i go to. Feature: wish it had a gain knob so then the gain would be more precise. Ease of Use: its pretty easy to use just a little confusing at first to set it up. Quality: made pretty well. i thought it was bigger before i saw it though. Value: its worth 80 dollars. this pedal is better than more of the higher end pedals. Manufacturer Support: never had to deal with support =) The Wow Factor: since this pedal sounds good by itself i would desire it. Overall: well in about a year or 2 once i get one ill probably keep it around till i hear something better.
1 of 2 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"it works in the long run" submitted November 25, 2005

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: acttive musician
Music Style: instrumental
Back to Product Information
Sound: it has some perfect settings and some that are okay. over all it's really good. Feature: it could have used a couple more features Quality: it looks cool, has cool settings, but the mechanicaly its not so good Value: it is what it is. for what i use it as it was more than what i would have paid for. but to others it might be different Manufacturer Support: after having it for 2 years it will not work without the adapter which is okay but it shouldn't be mandatory. The Wow Factor: it sounds good when you play on it the first few times then tou find out when you get it it isn't all that you thought it was Overall: it took awile to break it in but after i found the flaws it pull threw
2 of 4 people (50%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"all in all this is an AWESOME pedal and u NEED to buy it cuz it rocks!!!!!" submitted September 29, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: the best sounding pedal you can get!!!!! Feature: THE morph is wicked awesome dude. it tyt in da hood Quality: BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Value: it is expensive put worth every penny! Manufacturer Support: AWESOME totally pimped out! The Wow Factor: ya Overall: it rocks!!!!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZR-T5JL. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!