800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZW-TD4S
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: DigiTech GNX4 Pedal

15 guitar amp and 10 bass amp models. Hypermodel creation-unlimited tones. Built-in 8-track digital recorder. MP3 playback.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"GNX-4= best guitar tool kit I ever bought!!!!!" submitted December 9, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician traveling around
Music Style: rock blues country metal
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Sound from the models and effects are nice and clear. Give a boost on the Compres and it takes off. Keep the noiz gate down. Patches have it set kindof hi. Factory presets demo the features. Start with one and cut back effects levels. Best starting point for new sounds when I do it. Same said for other brands too that I tried. After having an RP7 I really am glad I jumped on GNX-4 workstation. Feature: This is where the difinition of ROCK is made! You can read up on the faetures in the descriptions but my fav's are: Built in recorder. Built in Drum machine that has kit variables. You can import any midi song you find and use those drums too. 99 Midi songs, 99 mp3 songs for EACH compact flash card you have. I thought it was just 99 period, but it's even more now since I have 3 cards with songs on them. The Flash card (doesn't come with it) has area for built in recoder tracks, midi, mp3 songs, and 80 more patches. I didn't now I get 80 more patch storage for each card. That's 160 at a time and how Kewl is that? It's an Audio interface for PC recording, has the Whammy built in and a looper. Wanna go output to a board no probs, use the XLR. Want to go out to amp or wedges same time, no probs, use the inst outputs. Need a Mic pre with 48v phantom power, it's there. My GNX-4 has everything under it's hood! Ease of Use: The book is clear. So many features. Take time to RTM. If you get stuck the support forum has some good topics. Mine is used at church, at other gigs just with a sound pa sys. Couple XLR's is all. Used it with another guitar amp and had to work some sounds to get it where I wanted. I wanted a simple Mar tone and effects through my Crate 130. Turning the compress off and the gate down fixed my sound using that amp. I want to get a better amp next round of Gas. Quality: Read about it before I bought it. Solid and stable so far. Good reviews helped ease any worry of build quality. GNX-4 is steel construction and road worthy to me. Just don't bump or jam the USB cable while it's inserted. Couple guys told me that so I'm careful. Value: Worth every cent! Manufacturer Support: Ex Forum, great service from them. I never had to call mfg for anything. The Wow Factor: Silver two tone w blue. Great sound and attn to detail. Overall: Products change. Will I be upgrading soon? I don't think so. My GNX-4 is so crammed packed with features, won't need too. Matter of fact, I was looking at new gear and nothing has all the features this does. After reading other reviews maybe the super-models packs will be next. If my GNX-4 was stolen "I pitty the fool"!!! What I Like most about it? I'd say the facts it is an all in one device for a musician on the go. I travel, so this is perfect in every way. I can do anything with it where the other pedals require hooked up to a computer, and some not having the output sound options I wanted either. This is what sold me on my GNX-4 purchase! There is nothing at all like it. I'm a musician. I like to play. I hate menus and tweaking. I want great sound, recording options on the player. You only need 1 inst cable and output cable or headphones. Don't need cd's , mp3, or computer to jam along side. GNX-4 has it all!
24 of 24 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Best Gift for this player!" submitted January 24, 2009

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobby, Musician
Music Style: Rock/Blues/Country
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Easy set-up with my Traynor amp. The sound is full of depth. The only part I had to change was the noise gate. Too hi for my liking. Once I took it down, it was great. I was given this from my fiance who shopped around. She also gave me this rock modeling disc from mfx co that works for more sounds. I am impressed! I wasn't always keen on modeling. I had a pod xt once it was ok. Nothing at all like this one. How would it sound live versus in a recording? Fantastic! I hooked up to my laptop. This comes with a recording software but I use LIVE and Sonar Studio. The GNX can be assigned as a controller for hand free recording. That, I like. GNX4 is a decent interface. I tested it out and it was fine. No hiccups like I had on my Fastrack. Some reviewers mentions the OBR or built in recorder. Yes, it is easy to use and sounds nice on my Alesis monitors. Interface on it works fine with Sonar Studio. Assigning the In and Out was simple enough. Feature: Loaded with features. I'm still trotting through the guide. There is a lot built into this. Effects are stunning, full. I really like the whammy in it since I play some Rage and other tunes that use the feature. Noise gate is good too. I thought it was too good. Turning it down a tad worked better for my style. Other features I like? The recording doo dad and the option to have backing tracks on the machine itself. This has been handy to learn songs. Ease of Use: I have not had it long. The interface is easy. Its a menu driven op. Colums and Rows for hand tweakage. X-editor software is nicely done. It maps out the features, has different views for effects. On the last page are pedal and switch assignments. You can have presets that auto change the model or effects. There are so many parameters that can be set for quick on the fly changes. A major improvement over other class effects pedals I've had. What's cool is to step on a switch, have an amp change, chorus turn on, delay speed change just like that! I found those ideas from the Digitech forum help. There is so much on this and a great bunch to assist. Quality: Is the product made well? About as good as other ones at stores. Steel pedal, Steel chassis. Too soon to tell. Looks sturdy enough. Weight would make me think it will hold up on a gig. Value: I don't know what my fiance paid. She asked me the same question! I'd pay what the advertised price is in a heartbeat. Manufacturer Support: Contacted Digitech for some questions about Vista. Prompt feedback. The forum is a big help too. Nice people that don't mind beginners on workstations. The Wow Factor: Aesthetics are fine. I can see the display better on this than I did my last product. Pedals and switches respond easy to my playing. Overall: I am thankful I received this as a gift. It's hard to get away from! I just love making new recordings and new sounds. My fiance may second guess her purchase at some point he he. What do you like most about it? I'd say everything
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GNX4 Tomorrow Is Today In A Digital Way For A Recording Guitarists / Singer / Vocalist and Harmonica Blowing Madmen ." submitted October 20, 2007

By a customer from netscape.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musdician , Recording engineer . And Chef extraordinaire !
Music Style: Eclectic man eclectic . Rock - Blues-Jazz - CW I love it all . I play also trumpet , drums and keyboard too .
Back to Product Information
Sound: Outstanding , breathless clean stuff or radical distortions alla Jimi Hendrix , Eric Johnson or Eric Clapton ! This unit is opening up new horizons for me . I play all kinds of genres it covers them all .Blues , Jazz , Country Western , Rock-N-Roll you name it . Recording is a breeze , no kidding around here . I can do all sorts of styles from a California Jump Blues to Chicago's Muddy Waters . I also blow harp ( blues harmonica ) and have found that this is not only a guitar lovers machine , it also applies to the harp in the same way and takes the harmonica to new and higher ground . I play a Godin LGXSA midi electric acoustic guitar into it via the guitar in and into the line inputs I input the Roland Gr33 midi guitar modules output that my Godin triggers - - It's a BAD BAD BOY ! Feature: I got the additional GNXFC it's worth getting it if you gig . Stomp boxes and amp & cabinet model are a dream . FXs are superb and extensive . The Ibanez Tube Screamer sounds really close to the original . Lexicon Reverb ! Delays wow ! Ease of Use: This unit is not impossible to understand and use if your already into stomp boxes and the like . However it took me some time to get into it fully as this is my first digital recorder , stomp box , FXs , and stand alone midi drum system . I rock with it now though . Read the manual I do and still re read it to further my proficiency on it's use . As mentioned it's a 2fer for me and my harmonica mic's and guitars . Just turn it up , tweak a few settings and viola ! Quality: Built like a Brick $#^!house . It's going the distance . Reliable as can be so far these 2 years . Road worthy yep it is . When it finally dies it will make a great boat anchor , I expect it's going to work a long time , and it looks killer too . Value: Oh YEAH ! ! ! ! Can beat the price for what you buy . It's : BIG BANG TIME FOR YOUR BUCKS HERE ! ! Manufacturer Support: Harmon Kardon is the parent company , just look up their history and see integrity all over the place . I dealt with them in the 70's , their parts supplying was reasonably fast and then later I worked on ordering Digitech pedal parts for the techs who fixed them in the audio repair shop I worked in . Parts we never an issue with this company . Firmware updates are timely too for it . So far it's needed no servicing . I call Digitech every time I need info on it's operation and they are fast to pick up my call once it's shot over from the receptionist of Harmon Kardon to the Digitech division in Utah . These guys ( they all sound so young :) are super cool and listen and give back solid answers to your questions . The Wow Factor: In the dark it's like the control console of "StarGate " with the whooooooosh being expected out of it at any moment . Yeah it's way cool , to look at too . It's fully functional no wasted engineering , it's a tight ship it is . Overall: Dunno , I like this sooooooo much I don't think of that at all of it's next replacement . Well maybe a " New and Improved " model with new significant stuff on it I don't know of yet . It took me 3 years of looking at first , the GNX3 ( I liked it but it wasn't enough ) and then the GNX4 came out , I waited a year after the GNX4 came out to see how it was received and then also reviewed in Harmony Central and other reviewers . I asked a lot of people their thoughts ( real guitar heroes pros )on this too . If lost or stolen I get another fast ! maybe I get one anyway for backup :)~
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Absolute best if you want feature packed modeler" submitted November 30, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Teacher, Musician
Music Style: Variety
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Tried one out before buying. This one was not talked about too much at the store. I don't think they knew how to use it. Sales guy was stering me on a new Line 6. I wanted a recorder. Told me the Line 6 records too. No, I need one on the device. I bought this GNX4. I was impressed with the sound. My guitar was clean and no buzzy beeish fizz. It has a speaker compensate control button. Feature: I'm not afraid of reading lol. The manual shows this has far more features than on the box. Recorder to the box or Computer. Comes with Software recording pack (others charge for it). Comes with cables and discs. The comp edit program is large interface and easy to use. GNX4 display and led's are bright. It's easy to control with knob array. No lcd menus :) Has the full +48v phantom power for a microphone. Has a drum machine with loops and different drum kits. Had teh XLR and Line in and out features I wanted for my mixer too. And it has a compact flash recorder with 8 track on the fly recording capability. Exactly what I wanted. USB options also are on it. Ease of Use: I was dialing sounds fast. Its easy to change the factory sounds. Has 80 user presets and 16 banks. Has 3 modes of opration. Sound does not drop off when you change a preset like my pod did. The manual is good and shows examples of connection and routing. Only learning curve was figuring out the assignments. Those were explained at their forum pretty good. It didn't take only a few minutes. It's easier to sort out with the pc editor. Quality: It was heavier than my POD. Has a metal frame and bottom. Pedal is cast and heavy. Movement is smooth. Looks like it's built for all uses. Value: This is not a new unit. But is the only one with the routing and recorder features around. No other modeler has the mutitrack in it and you have to use a computer. GNX4 does both. Manufacturer Support: Had some questions and emailed support. Had an answer in less than a day. So that was good. There's other web sites with information. The GNX4 is not new gear. With so many users it's fine to have their input to make this easy to use. My firmware was 1.3. That's the latest. There have been no bugs reported afaik. The Wow Factor: Built well, plays great. My recordings come out nice. The designs are cool and the color is good enough for me. Overall: GNX4 has been around for more than a year. It sounds great. It has all the options and gadgets I needed. I wanted a drum machine, a recorder and a modeler in one. I also found it plays MP3's. Didn't even look at that. That was another plus. Now I have backing track playback! Maybe time to try the model add on's. I can't say anything bad about the GNX4. It is a quality product with any feature for a musician to write songs and throw down ideas. You can do that anywhere with this. No other modeler pedal boxes let you be as free from a computer. Most of them are limited and proprietery. Grab yours before the product fades out of production. Digitech sales guy said this is the last of the Workstation pedals with on the fly features and multitrack.
23 of 25 people (92%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Nothing to Lose! It has Sounds and more" submitted June 1, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Musician
Music Style: Rock, originals
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds are good. I read the manual before I bought it. That helped me when it came in. I use this with a pair of Powered EV speakers. Then it's better to use it's features. I use the drums and recorder to jam with. Drum machines sound booo with a guitar amp. Those Ev's are clear so the GNX4 is pure. It rocks. Fav presets are Greaser and some I just turned the effects down since like POD's they are too high. Dynamics are there. To make it sound even better I use the guys' supermodel amp sims. Having only 2 gigs so far so great! Many complements on my sound and I can go in stereo which sounds even better. Explore some sites to see how other use it. That's what I did. Feature: Loaded loaded and loaded. It's unreal what is packed into this. A stereo effect processor, 3 amp channels, comp, stomps, gates, drums with 8 kits instead of 1, Compact Flash mem for 8 track recording. Over six hrs on a 2gb card, mp3's can be played back to jam with. Any patch can have assignments to control pedals a-b-c. The middle switches that would select a patch in other modes, does more than that. They have 3 types of functions. It's not hard to learn the modes and anyone tells me that I just think they won't sit down for 30 min with a manual. Like my dad who buys a dvr and expects it to just start on its own. There is some learning to do but don't dismiss what this can do for you. This comes with PC USB connection for editing sounds and recording with included protracks software. Cord is also included. Check the install of the software carefully and watch prompts. Doing that makes it easy. It took about 10 minutes to install on my cheap PC. Ease of Use: above explains it. Pretty easy for me but I've had a few multi boxes before this. Quality: Quality is very good. It's metal, it's built rugged enough for my feet. I like to keep it clean with a microfiber towel. Most of all seems reliable enough at my last gigs. Value: Value??? YES, so much is in this box Manufacturer Support: Support wasn't bad but it took 2days to get a resp back from tech support. So a 9 is fair. They answered my questions. The Wow Factor: Blue and Silver but nobody really looks at the floor as much as they use their ears. Overall: Great Sounds, you can add sound packs like I, or tweak away. The GNX4 has done good so far and I play my guitar and practice so much more since an amp is not needed. Decent set of headphones and you can record or jam anytime you want. Only expect what you put into it. RTM and you'll like it more.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"All I wanted" submitted November 5, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobby, ActiveP layer
Music Style: Alternative, Grunge, Metal, Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sound is great. Impressive features. I always wanted an all in one box and glad I found this. Prety touch responsive. caters to my playing goals and recording needs. Feature: Only option needed but not inc was a Compact Flash card. So many features to list. Too many I never realised. Now I use them since I know more about them. I'd say the recorder is the most useful 4 me. Ease of Use: Took a few hours. I was up and running with the editor in no time. The stomp models sounds are great. Delay and reverb are too. Has the whammy model. Works good. I learned to use it and program it from the book and the supermodel site on the net. Cool info there. I wasn't sure how I wanted to use it in the band. The information led me to use my amp and a powered speaker from Xlr outputs. It sounds awesome. Quality: Steel frame. Cast pedal. All good construction. Dependable. Value: For the price of all things it does, true bargain! Manufacturer Support: Much info to gather. Google is a good one. Digitech has a forum and has some very helpful users. The Wow Factor: Looks good and works great. Sounds great. Overall: Recently I tried the new Line 6 X3 and it had none of the features of the GNX4. It was plastic and cheap for the same price. I returned it. I think I'm good with the GNX4. Think I'll add that Ultimate sound kit instead. I read the GNX4 flagship remains as is and the recorder options will not be added to future gear. For now, I get cd quality recordings and make them in 10 minutes. It works good with Cubase software but comes with an LE version of Cakewalk. Any way, great choices are there to pick. Sounds incredible and has never had a glitch. Best stuff out there!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Student, Performer, or Instructor need this." submitted October 15, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Instructor, Musician
Music Style: I teach all of it, so I use it all.
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Mine was resealed so I got a discount. Rec'd it perfect health. No dings or scratches. All the plastic was on the pedal and disp. Plugged it in and it worked fine. A little buzz then I remembered those back switches had to be pushed in. After that- music to my ears! Didn't come with a flash card so I had to buy one at Comp Usa. I have an Atomic Reactor and the GNX4 sounds nice and clear with it. Recording's easy. I recorded a drum track from a couple preset loops, used a bass creation sim for a bass line and added guitars. I could have thrown on vocals too but I was lazy. It's capable of all that. You can edit tracks in the software it comes with. Took a few minutes to get my computer right. After that, it was pretty standard. When I was done I made an mp3 of my song. I saved it to the flash card. Couldn't figure out how to play the MP3 at first. It all came together after I talked to some guru at Digitech's forum. There was one little button I didn't read about. I was impressed with my quick recording! The GNX4 will do it all for you. From Bass simulations, Acoustic guitar simualtion. A pretty cool drum machine. It's all there. Feature: Didn't come with a Compact Flash card but it had everything else. Comes with a computer cord for USB, discs for an editor and recording software. Most useful are those simulators. I like the fact I can have a bass, acoustic, and regular style guitars with amp models. From what I read online, supermodels disc is in my future. More models to work with would be fine. Everything is there for any purpose you have. Ease of Use: I give a 9 here. All this gear today you have to read the books. Do some online research and you'll find answers too. The manual is good and its a mini novel to read if you get bored. It's clear if you've had one of these before, but for first timers not so much. Read that guide. Quality: Pretty heavy box. Steel frame. About what I expected. Thick plastic footswitches, but I have not heard of any problems from users. Value: You won't find all this stuff in other boxes. You'd need an Ipod or MP3 player, Drum machine, 8 track recorder device, mixer, and an amp modeler to do all it does in one box. Manufacturer Support: Emailed them about my PC problem. Fixed over the phone next day. The Wow Factor: The Most practical machine I've come across in 17 years of playing and teaching. Overall: Totally satisfied. Nothing else like it ! Since I teach guitar I need tracks fast. I don't have a pc in my lesson room so this worked out perfectly! I record my students and they have some quick ways to identify with their performance. After I walked in with mine, I showed it off to the drum instructor. He plays some guitar and bought one for himself. He too thinks it's a must have for his teaching. I think any student, professional, or instructor should have one of these. If you are a parent with a kid learning and you need your quiet time, this can be your freedom of kids thwanging their amps.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"My favorite all in one!" submitted February 23, 2008

By a customer from comcast.net
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Funk, Blues, Rock and Roll
Back to Product Information
Sound: Not one to compare since I thing some tools do one thing good. Others do it better. This one does what I want !! So that makes it work for all above. I hooked up to a pair of Yorkville powered speakers with 2-15's mid and horn. It sounds fantastic. Since the pod or new gt did not have a built in recorder. I record so I needed that part. Easy to do which makes me happier. Now I have all the tools in one box on the floor. Tone is great. Feature: Reading at the forums peaked my skills. So I d-load a manual before I bought it. This has a lot of tools and some hidden ones if you don't know what to look for. The parts its made of of are top duty. Metal with some plastic control dials. Accessories like Com Flash are needed. You can choose what size to use. Biggest it accepts is 2 gigabyte. Ease of Use: I read the book like I said. The pc edit program is easy to use. I loaded drivers and was ready to go. No problems. You can learn more with setting it up by using the edit as guide. Graphics are good and well documented. The drum machine has quite a few kits for sounds and drum loops to jam with. It accepts midi files and mp3 songs. Records in a wav file format. I like that its easy to dump those files in any recording DAW. Quality: Built of metal construction and durable parts. Should last a long time. I'd use it on the road. Power supply is durable and connections fit nice. Has good hardware for jacks and Xlr cables. Value: Nothing is made like it. Other devices do not have the option or accessory to be both stand alone recording, sound file playback like this. I'd have to say the value is there for sure with all the extra hardware. Manufacturer Support: I asled the support people about comp flash. They answered in a few hours. Good forum, flash tutorials to work with. Great support. Only part I added was optional model pack. There are so many sounds and models on that. Great stuff!! No repairs needed. All the computer software and recording software and optional models disc worked fine. No problems. I think I have the latest firmware in my GNX4 at 1.3. The Wow Factor: Design is cool. Appearance of the display and leds help to see it in dark rooms. Overall: With the options I added in model pack and flash cards, think it will be some time before I go shopping. This thing sounds fantastic. I did check out a pod x3 but those models sounded infereior to the GNX4. I have a model sound pack that ate my pod models for lunch!! If you want a GNX4, grab one. You won't be disappointed. It does so many things. It has the sounds, and the ways to mix with xlr and regular instrument jacks. Input jacks for cd, ext mixer, microphone input and 48 volt phantom power. Nothing was overlooked. Great product!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome" submitted April 22, 2007

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: many kinds hard rock
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Amazin for what it does! I've had for 4 months and still am learning so much more each time I use it. Works just as good live as it does recording. I use a new crown amp and custom ear candy cabinet. I had been using a POD Xt and the GNX4 is hands down 110% better. I love having XLR and Standard Guitar and line outputs. Great addition not found on other makers pedals. I am into hard rock so I found the hard rock pack perfect for my sounds. Man was I impressed! I can run stereo or mono or both with dual mixer output controls. Nice!! Feature: Has most of what you need. Buy a Compact Flash card and use the On Board recorder for backing trks and your orig work. Drum machine is decent but I like that I can save any midi drums and play them back on the GNX4. Another thing Digitech was smart in doing. I only wish the GNXFC optional switch controlled song no's but its easy enough to press the keypad. Ease of Use: Since protracks plus is included and its Cakewalk I use Sonar Studio and it works perfect. Manual is good but go to the supermodel site for video and Digitech site for other flash tutorials. There are more on the disc tho!! Call it a perk for helping the learning curve. Just like my other PC hardware and software read the manuals a few times and just work with the GNX4 to make sense. I had more problems learning my TC Connect than I did the GNX4. Having the recorder on board is for dummies like me which is good. Press record and just keep adding tracks. Import and edit. Easy as pie! Quality: Heavier than I thought. Pretty rugged. Value: Worth it? oh yeah! can't buy all the mp3 players, midi players, software and hardware for less than $500 Manufacturer Support: Had a problem with a USB driver and tech supt fixed on same day The Wow Factor: Some of my hardware is not real pretty. I don't care really. The GNX4 silver and blue is good. I like the large brightly lit display better than the pod teeny window. The matrix design for edits is easier than scrolling menus. Overall: I'll be satisfied for a long time.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Live, Recording, Practice, it has it all!" submitted December 7, 2006

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Every
Back to Product Information
Sound: Sounds are great! Read the reviews about Speaker Compensation. You need this ON. I have a Fender Princeton and with the GNX4, I have many tones to pick from. I tried this through a Spider amp at a local store and that was dumb. Modelers are not meant for modeling amps IMO. Once I hooked up to the Princeton, my guitar world changed. This fits any style of player. Xlr out's are convenient for my OMB option. With a pair of monitors, my mp3's and an amp. It's all I need. I've even made my own ryth backing tracks. So, I use it Live and it performs and even out performs other competition. On it's own the amp models are good. I've used them for a year. I did add the Classic model pack and am very very happy. Even my groupies like the sound I have! I too, recommend super model packs as an upgrade. Feature: Gobs of stuff in here. For me, the most useful is the recorder, and the ability to change Modes. I use this 2-3 times a week and have explored it's features. The model pack disc tutorial suggested Control Assignments and after having this a year, Wow was I missing something special. Control Assigns are the LIVE players best friend. I can change just about any parameter or combination of effects at once. Explore those and you will see what I mean! Ease of Use: It's fairly easy and tons of support is available. Free usage videos and other things to explain the features are great tools. Modifying tones with the editor is simple. The GUI Editor XEDIT is simple and self explanatory. Get familiar with the tool bars. You can save customs on the GNX4, or to the PC and recall them later. Up to 9 custom amp models on the GNX4 can be saved directly. With a Compact Flash card, you get the POWER. MP3, MIDI and WAV playback. There are modes to use for specific operations. The 5 switches on the unit change function from a Transport, to a Stompbox array, to a Bank array in preset mode. The manual is good. needs a little more explanations/examples. But then you have the video tutorials. Supermodel makers host videos for usage. You get more in the packs but that along with a nicely written POWER USERS GUIDE puts the usage learning curve to rest. Quality: Metal construction. Solid. I have played 2-3 times a week in the last year and have not had a single problem. Value: Worth it!!! every cent! Manufacturer Support: Digitech community is awesome. Not as "here you go" as some would like but better. They teach you!! Each player has their own "feel" to be applied with their skill. Learning the usage and features is worth its weight in gold. No service needed at this moment. I did upgrade to Editor Version 1.3 as suggested by the supermodel guys. The Wow Factor: It's not the most sexiest, but it does what needs to be done and then some. No fancy knobs but who cares. It sits on the floor. I'm all about what a device "does" more than what it looks like. Overall: The GNX4 is the mothership or modelers. It has all the tools necessary and is very functional from any level. I compared to a GT-8 and Other Competitors and found this to fit all applications better. This is a serious tool with tons of power and sound flexible options. I like it so much, I have a second as a backup. I use mine often for recording, playing live and just hacking jams. Drum machine, metronome, mp3, midi it has it all. Add the model pack from supermodels and you have a dream unit. This is my do-all machine and I recommend it as an inspirational tool, a LIVE tool, or for Home Recording. Pro Tracks is included as a PC recording option and it is a simple form of SONAR. I have Sonar 4, but Pro Tracks is plenty for most players.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"This product will help you attain Rock Guitar God status in every way possible!" submitted March 25, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: mostly metal and classic rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: I really had a hard time at first getting the sound that I wanted out of this product; that is why i gave it a 9. However, once i digested the manual that comes with it and experimented with all the different settings, this thing is a dream to operate! I have a double humbucker Ibanez and a Crate 120rfx amp. You have to be really careful when you hook up your gnx4 to your amp with the volume knobs, turn them off until you are ready, because the gnx4 takes my amp to a whole new level of volume, brother!@ exciting, clear tone. still tokk me a while to come up with what i like, ie metallica judas priest and the like. But the modern gain features and rectifiers rule on this processoe. I have been even able to come up with an acceptable strat sound a la Yngwie high gain stuff. This is also the ultimate practicing tool. Hook up your headphones plug it straight into the processor and that is it youve got the whole deal, drum kits. metronome . I f you really want to become a players player, this is the tool for you. I won;t go into the recording stuff cause I'm not into that but hte programs are good. So if you have the patience to learn about this product you will not be disappointed! Feature: This has everything you could imagine down to a talk box synth and microphone hookup. All the guitar style you could imagine are right here. you do need to buy your own flash card for recording and headphones; but the power source is top notch that comes with it. Ease of Use: The product is very easy to use once you are familiar with it. the pedals are very easy to switch and are user friendly. Quality: This thing is an absolute tank! I never fear setting it up in various places- just take care of it like any electronic device. I have had it four months and use it daily- no problems. Value: Best improvement on my playing i have ever bought. period. Manufacturer Support: Never used it. The Wow Factor: The foot pedal is rock solid, It is very well built and for what it is is an attractive piece. Overall: I will use this until it dies. I will probably get some footpedals like a quality flanger but that is just to lighten up my preset load on the gnx4.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Go to pedal! Wish I had one 10 years ago" submitted July 21, 2009

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: avid musician with gigs
Music Style: rock blues country alt grunge
Back to Product Information
Sound: Out of the box I had a buzzy sound but my bad. I didn't read the guide. Going into a mini pa you need speaker compensating buttons set to "on" After that, coolness! Factory sounds are good and dynamic. I had to lower the gain on the models and then used the stompbox models. That matched what I was looking for. What I found cool was the pickup simulation. Can get some cool textures with that active. Made my Stratocaster have some meat n potatoes! Feature: Quantity and Quality of features. Everything is in this box. Things to jam with, whammy, pitch shifter, bass guitar sim, drum machine, MP3 player, digital recorder, usb. You can buy an optional GNXFC that adds some things in record mode. It has hands free recording capability on the footswitches if you are in record mode, GNXFC won't really be required. Overall, quality is up there. Ease of Use: Some learning curve. I have a few other units like it so I knew what to do. Some of the audio options threw me, but nothing the manual didn't explain after a few min of reading. I recorded my voc's, acous guitar and elec guitar with drum machine. I was impressed with the sound quality and even made my own backing songs. Takes only a few minutes. Quality: Construction is good. I have a gig bag it fits in. No problems with switches or knobs. Value: Better for me. I paid less than most owners did he he Manufacturer Support: Forum, email suport good. I contacted them for Vista drivers and they informed me quickly. I didn't read the readme text notes! After all that, the editor worked as it should. The Wow Factor: This has a lot of features, workable sounds and more. It looks cool. Overall: I plan on having this piece for some years to come. I plan on adding model packs I see online. Since I play some small gigs by myself or with one other guy, I'll be using the GNX4 Workstation exclusively.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"You won't be Disappointed" submitted April 13, 2010

By a customer from live.com
Overall
Sound
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I have had the GNX4 for 4 years, I have had other pedal boards, but none can match the quality and reliability of the GNX4. Why Digitech discontinued this item is beyond me. There still is a user forum where you can talk to others, get help, and download other user presets on Digitechs web page. With the X-Edit 2 software that comes with the unit, you can pretty much design your own sound, the possibilities are unimaginable. I play 80s metal/Hard rock (AC/DC,Ozzy,Dio Ect..) But the unit is capable of just about any sound you would ever want or need. I would strongly suggest that if you purchase or have the GNX4, there is a guy who models AMPs,Cabinets, and famous guitar wizards sounds. He has a package of presets called "MFX SuperModels Ultimate Series" This is well worth it's price. Not to mention with purchase you get access to monthly free presets. And customer support is awesome. I use the GNX4 live all the time and sound is great, although I would suggest using a clean channel power amp and not a regular guitar amp switched over to the clean channel, for home use and recording this is fine, but not so much live. I use the GNX4 with Magix Music Studio 15 and it works great. I do wish however that the unit would have and utilize the VST,VSTi plugins format, as of now, as far as I know, there is no compatibility. Also loading presets or shall I say saving them to the unit and to the flash card is a pain both are capable of holding 80 presets, That's 160 total that you have to save 1 by 1 there is no batch save that I'm aware of. So over all I give the GNX4 9 out of 10 because of that reason. I also Paid $699.00 for my unit, And I'm not disappointed. This is a great buy, and as I said before it is now discontinued. Better get one while you can. I know I won't be offering mine for purchase.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Modeler convinces me" submitted December 31, 2007

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: alt, jazz, rock, blues, country
Back to Product Information
Sound: Kick Butt! I was totally surprised with how this sounds. Connected to a Yamaha Stereo mixer and PA at rehearsal. Our drummer went to a electronic kit so we can compact and control our sound better. I bought the GNX4 since audio options it has is what we need. First it was buzzy. I contacted a user at the forum. I knew I was doing something wrong. I was. Speaker Compensation button needed to be on. We tried again. Awesome sound. No buzz. I just love this in full stereo. I bought a Bose PAS and can't wait to try that. Some tweaking of volumes was needed. I handled that. Next I bought the Classic models for it. Went to our practice and the guys asked me what I did to the GNX4. First I was confused. Then they said WOW, that really sounds like an amp now. I used new Marshall, Vox and other models. everything fits like a glove and mixing with those electronic drums is nothing short of a ten minute setup for any show. Used to take us over an hour. Feature: GNX4 has many features I have not used yet, but will. My disc from super model has videos I watched helped with options and hardware. GNX4 does not come with a Compact Flash card. I had to buy one for $22. I just started the hands free recording which is fun. Ease of Use: USB Audio Interface, has a GUI edit program called Xedit. It's easy to use. Had some questions with Midi imports. Those were answered by the super-models maker although I should have gave a question for Digitech. They made it easy and I didn't have to read the manual. There is a learning curve. That was easy with the option disc I ordered. Video instruction is great with that. Most of the GNX4 uses are detailed. Quality: Had it out a few runs. I've moved it around from practice spaces and home. Always works fine. Great sign. Value: If I had to buy the devices GNX4 can do I'd be broke Manufacturer Support: Guys are great at Digitech, Workstation forum, and prosound supermodel guys are good too. I was shocked to get an return email at 2am PST. The Wow Factor: shave a point for not coming with flash card Overall: Every thing I need to do I can with my GNX4. I plan on jumping on the Ult and will have sounds forever ! The GNX4 has given my band new creative tools. I've been a tube snobby for some time but GNX4 and our need to turn down at gigs has converted me!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Convinced me !" submitted April 24, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: A liitle of everything
Music Style: A liitle of everything
Back to Product Information
Sound: I'm a tube guy and had to learn some stuff about these new digital guys. I wasn't overly impresed at first, but I'm picky. Some of the presets worked and others were iffy. It took some tweaks to work ok with my amp. I found out you have to that with any of these model preamp jobbies. I found they are better with a colorless amp. Had an old PA amp and then I knew what these others were hearing. You can't always run modelers on instrument inputs of amps. Learning something new. I run a Samson amp and a pair of single 12' cabs in stereo. WOW! Go to the forums and ask some users about their preferences. I give it a 9 since some say it can be improved and since I'm picky. Feature: The features are huge. More to learn about. I took advice from another reviewer here and just went a little each day. Editing with the computer is easier for me. The editor it comes with is fool proof. After a few adjustments they made more sense. The recorder is easy to use. One of the more features I was going for. Drum machine is cool. I didn't know it could play Mp3 files :). It's built rugged enough and made out of steel. pedal was tight but I loosened it for my touch. Ease of Use: Easy to get good sounds. Manual reference is good. This has many sound set ups for performing or recording. If you follow the guide it's real easy. Quality: Built solid. I have a padded case for mine. Value: There's a lot of things in this box. So much more than most think about. I have to say the value is great for what's in there. Manufacturer Support: Support is great. I had a usb driver problem for my daw s-ware. Digitech helped me fix it over the phone in 5 min. The Wow Factor: It's features is why I bought it. Overall: My GNX4 is couple months old. GNX4 has been a cool runner since it came out. I delayed purchase thinking something new may come. I will go for the super-model amp packs since I hear they are really great. Can't hurt to have more sounds to pick from :) GNX4 is only one of its kind. I love this thing! Plan on using it as long as I can play!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The Best" submitted January 16, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active player
Music Style: different styles
Back to Product Information
Sound: Awesome! Mine was a C-mas gift from my fiance. I could not be happier. The GNX4 and the model kit addition was under the tree! Having a pod xt she knew I was jaded about the fuzzies. She looked into other modelers and found this. How can I describe it? First, it has plenty of volume out and all the ways to connect it to any device are there. I started messing around with some settings and glory to my ears! I ran through my stereo PA and it was just incredible. Feature: Loaded Loaded Loaded! Audio options; anything needed is there including option for speaker di compensators. They are selectable from both audio routing which made me realize this is built for guitars. Expression pedal and the footswitches can be controlled and mapped to do other things. Record mode, switches are for that. Stompbox, like a pedal board. Preset mode, banks of presets. Ease of Use: I own modeler gear so this wasn't hard to figure out. Manual good. I had to work out a sound for my amp, but the presets through my stereo rack were fine as is. The disc she got me was great and 100 times better in explaining the functions, pc based editor better than any book. She was even surprised there were video demos. Quality: Tough as steel. It is solidly built. Value: For what she paid, I'd say so. Manufacturer Support: Upgraded my editor to 1.3. Easy to find and worked perfect. No driver problems. The Wow Factor: This is s guitar players dream tool. Overall: I plan on using this and the model packs for my recordings. It is easy to use, sounds better than my pod. No buzzy background gritty noise. I know to give Digitech a god chance and am very glad my fiance researched this pedal for me.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Can't be beat" submitted October 2, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active
Music Style: several Rock, Metal, Contemporary
Back to Product Information
Sound: First impression was so so. Took some internet hops to find out those speaker switches on back. DOH! It's alive!! I really liked some presets and used those as a start. Turned off the crazy effects. Then set how I liked it. Went to Office Max for a cheap Flash card. It should come with one but they are cheap enough. I didn't think about the drum kits in this. Sweet, plus you can add and edit your drums. I always thought model pedals were better for recording. GNX4 surprised me through my Traynor YC amp and with my guitars. Not much noise at all. Works for my styles of music. I write grunge original music and other stuff. Recorder is a musician tool that makes the GNX4 even better. Feature: Too many to list. If you add the pc computing software the list is longer. GNX4 can be audio interface for low latency recording. Pro Tracks bundle is good. I have Sonar 6 and it integrated no problem. Works in 3 modes. Preset>Stompbox>Record. The foot switches can be preset select, effects select, or a recorder transport. Great thinking on Digitech's part for the workstation. Ease of Use: Owning this now 4 months I took some time with it. I added MFX supermodels -what a GEM!!!!. That set came with long tutorial videos and heavily demonstrated GNX4, editor and techniques. The video training saved me many months of experiments. Without those examples laid out, I'd have had more manual reading. Who likes that? It works with Sonar and had no driver problems. The manual is basic and gives descriptions. Quality: After the first week, mine fell off a table and hit the face. I was freaking out. Small nick on the pedal but it worked fine. Built enough to fall a few feet on concrete! Value: For the money and some extra options its a great buy. You can record or just play around. The drum machine, Mp3 player, mic input and routing layouts are great for any situation. Manufacturer Support: Upgrades and editor are available at their site. No repairs yet! The Wow Factor: I don't care as long as it sounds great and does what it should. Chrome knob devices are out there if you prefer that. I prefer the flexibility above color or style. Overall: Love it and will for years. New products cut back on the features. If lost, stolen I'd buy a new one in a flash. GNX4 helps me be more of a music player and inspires me. I have an arsenal of amp models with MFX Series. No problem there. GNX4 is only one of its kind.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Still Impressed.....2 Years Later!" submitted November 19, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active/Recording Musician
Music Style: Rock, Hrad Rock/ Acoustic Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: I would ccharacterize the GNX4 with this all incompassing phrase...."I wanted it for years....I found it....I bought it....I've never been happier." That is as true a statement as one could make. I had been looking for this theing for years and one day I was in a pawn shop in Texas and found it. Two days later I bought it, and it's been two years and I'm still finding new ways to make my music and sound finally fit what I'm hearing in my head. Feature: I bought the GNX$ from a pawn shop so all it came with was the processor and the a/c adaptor. Everything else I have for it I found online. Ease of Use: It's so amazingly easy to sqeeze the greatest tones from this monster. I used the factory settings from nearly a year before I was even wanting to wonder into my own sound forest. Once I finally got the balls to make my tone trek the GNX4 was there for me every step of the way. Until now I've found it! I have made about 10 of my own presets and I primarily use just two. The GNX4 is still one of if not the best guitar decision I've ever made. Besides the actual decision to start playing guitar. Quality: The only problem I've ever had with the quality of this product is that after a year and a half of hours of playing it every day is that the expression pedal does not stay down on it's own anymore.....I'm currently contacting digitech now for help in that department. Value: When I bought the GNX4 for 299.99 at a pawn shop i was so willing and happy to find it for such a good price. I would have GLADLY paid the full 450.00 the music store around the corner was asking at a drop of a hat. Manufacturer Support: Digitech has been and continues to be the most amazingly easy and helpful tech support I've ever encountered. They helped me find downloads evern though I bought my GNX4 from a pawn shop missing hard/soft ware. The Wow Factor: Sex appeal is a 9.79 out of 10...The only reason I didn't give it a perfect to is because I want Digitech to keep working hard to out more amazing products like the GNX4 and never feel they've become too good for the little man....Like myself. Overall: I will be happy with this product until it literally stops working all together. Then I'll rush out and buy the model that's out at the time that most resimbles it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Must have and a great performers tool !" submitted October 4, 2006

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: active musician
Music Style: many, too many
Back to Product Information
Sound: This is a beast of a pedal. One awesome performer! I can get any tone I want. More on that below! I get to run this with XLR to board and my Guitar amp seperately. That's what I like. I can have choices of monitoring and use the recorder and cf card for my One man band thing! Sounds are good but can be much improved. When I was looking for help I was turned on to supermodels site. Somewhat skeptic, I ordered my model packs and WOW was I ever surprised. I can have any tone at my disposal! The video tutorials helped me even more to understand what at first was complex. It's awesome and like having an instructor on hand! My Live sound and recording is exactly what I needed! Feature: Accessories are USB cable and recording suite. I use all the features and none are bad. I like how the GNX4 performs. It sounds so much livelier and not as mid cut as the newer GNX3000 seemed. Most features, I didn't fully understand since I am a foot box user. I watched the videos and it all made sense. Ease of Use: Fairly simple from the sales point. It does take some time to learn but so did other pedals like this I tried and took back. Getting the purity from the GNX4 is pretty smooth. There's more to understand and you have to read the manual. Power Users book is a nice add on anyone should own if they have this. Video tutorials at the supermodel site really explain the inner power of the GNX4. Playable? All the time! Quality: It's buuilt like a tank. Mine dropped once on stage from 3 ft. It worked fine and maybe I was lucky. No dents, a little scratch. Nothing since has been a problem. Value: Very much worth it. Manufacturer Support: Digitech is cool about service but they are slow (to me). It took 4 days for a reply and todays standards are higher. They helped in a way, but I ended up emailing the mtprosound guys for help. I had an answer in less than an hour that fixed my problem. Since they service Harmon gear, I figured they might solve the problem for me. Turned out my PC was under rated to work with the GNX4 editor. I dloaded the parts I needed and it worked better. I bought a cheaper Dell 110 and it worked perfect. I guess a P3 with Win ME isn't the greatest. The Wow Factor: It's designed switches are simple enough for the mode you operate. I do like that. Color is not an big deal. Display is BIG. I like that over the other products that have a tiny display. Overall: This meets all my expectations. I had to learn a little to work the features but I did that with my cel phone. If I lost of broke it. I'd buy another one in a NY Minute!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MEETS EVERY TEST A-1" submitted December 13, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Country, Rosck, Blues, Classic, 80's
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Sound is fantastic. Works in every situation I've used it. One thing stands out are the dynamic notes. I love the effects too. Feature: Recording for on board required a compact flash as option. Feature for feature this thing is packed. Drum kits, Drum machine, MIDI File support and you can drag your audio mp3 files and rehearse with them too. I had a Tascam cd trainer and the GNX4 sounds and capability is far better. Ease of Use: Easy to work with. Editing is easy. I like the pc editor. There are places on the web to find more help. The owners manual is pretty clear. Craig Anderton Power User guide will be a big plus for any GNX4 player. Quality: Metal top and bottom. Durable switches. After using with my band many times it holds up well. I found a gig bag for it. Quality is good and it never crashed on me. Value: Easy worth the dollars spent. Manufacturer Support: Site has great information and helpful people. The Wow Factor: Color is fine. Display bright enough. I wouldn't say technical marvel in looks but in what it does you bet. Overall: I'll be satisfied for a long time. I had mine a year before finding the mfx models addon's which kicked this into a new dimension. I can't believe how many model amps and great ones at that are included. Anyone steals mine and they will have a problem. If I dropped it from an airplane I'd buy a new one for sure.
7 of 8 people (87.5%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Very nice pedal." submitted October 13, 2008

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Jazz, Rock, Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: Has the sound and effects shine. This does a great job in my band. It's simple to use and affordable. The mp3 player is a huge plus. Other machines I tested did not have features like this. Glad I jumped on. Feature: On Board Recorder, mp3 player (99songs) and the ability to rock out with my backing songs. PC editor is fine. Has pro track plus recording program but I use Cubase SX3. Not any problems and works as suggested. Ease of Use: This was odd at first try I admit. I figured it out using the matrix of the controls. It was cake with the pc edit. Quality: Nothing bad yet. Made of steel and plastic parts, but put together good enough to trust it. Used it on the road and it held up fwiw. I have a padded case for it. Value: Great Value Manufacturer Support: Called them for a file needed for my pc. They were prompt and freindly. The Wow Factor: What I expected. I'm happy. Overall: I'd buy it again. I love it. It can updated via USB if you need to. Has the in and outs I need for recording or playing with my amp. Can be upgraded models and cabinets by supermodels. Those fit well and are made to intergrate with GNX4. There are so many amps for this now ;)and I'd recommend having. I wish I knew I had to buy the compact flash. Really not a big deal since I found one at Target and was recording that same night.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Superb" submitted June 4, 2008

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Rock Alt Metal
Back to Product Information
Sound: This product sounds great. And a nice gear addition. The recorder is very good purpose tool. I went with the model packs for xtras. I have a Splawn amp and was surprised how good the sound was with my GNX4 in the rig. 8 track recorder and looper are inspiring for smaller gigs and recording on the fly.. Drum machine sounds are useable. It has an mp3 player too. I checked other floor pedals like this. Only the GNX4 did all the things I needed. Feature: Does not include a Flash card. All the features are useful and quiet. Since I don't like noisy pedals I was glad the GNX4 was so quiet. Ease of Use: There's a learning curve. Once you get some time with it, learning becomes less work. The manual gives information of the featrures and connections. Quality: I've had 11 gigs since Feb 08 and it has worked out great. Steel construction and heavy plastic knobs. Nothing looks cheap or breakable. Value: Worth it Manufacturer Support: I did have computer driver errors. Digitech support helped me sort. The Wow Factor: I didn't expect fancy. It's practical for me. Overall: What you get with a GNX4 is a workstation. Having a recorder and all the goodies is great.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Worth Buying for Guitar players who want to capture their ideas." submitted March 9, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Non-professional musician. Home Musician basically
Music Style: Rock, Jazz, Progressive, Blues, Classical
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
Sound: Had this unit only for 3-4 days so havent found much time to explore it properly. But I like the clean tone presets quite a lot. The distortion presets could have been better, but then ultimately its about getting your own sound. Somehow for some reason the distortion patches have a very high treble. Maybe its my amp but will know in some time. Incidentally I use an Ibanez RG 570 guitar and a local Amp made in Bombay, India. Feature: The little that I've used it, I think the recorder is something which is what makes this unit worthwhile for me. I've always wanted to lay down my ideas but never found a convenient way of doing it. Dont have a computer so couldnt do it earlier. But now I'm happy. Most useful thing is the switching between Channels in Stompbox mode. I can go from a clean tone to a completely different clean tone/ distorted tone just by switching channels. Thats cool. Would have loved it if Digitech had come out with a Rack Mount version of the same thing with a foot controller. Maybe thats the next step for Digitech to take. But as of now no other similar product in the market, so its the coolest thing around for now. I especially love it that I can just record my ideas without going through the pain of setting up my computer, buying a separate sound card, speakers etc. I can do eveything just using this unit. Have to test it out with a Mic and my keyboard of course, but for the guitar its cool. I wish the Company had included a Compact Flash card with the unit. I had to shell out extra money for the CF card, which didnt make me very happy. It increased the cost for me by another Rs. 4500 ($103) for a 1 GB Flash Card. Quality: Well I've got a Zoom GFX 8 and that definitely is much more sturdy than this one. But its better looking and more sleek than the Zoom GFX 8. But this one is much better in terms of the recorder and the channel switching. Definitely happy to buy it although cost me much more than the GFX 8. Could have been built a little more sturdily. Kind of worried that the buttons may crack or break from excessive use. I have a gig bag, so not that worried about taking it here and there. Value: It cost me quite a bomb here in Bombay, India. Cost me RS. 38500/- which translates to about 882 dollars. But this price includes duty etc. I think it has to be priced cheaper for India, otherwise not many people are gonna buy it. Its way unaffordable at the above price for most Guitar players in India. Manufacturer Support: Havent needed to call them so far. Not in the 3-4 days that I've used the product. The Wow Factor: Its nice to look at, quite sleek. Better looking than most floor processors I have seen. Of coure the look of a rack mount processor is something else altogether, which I'm kind of partial to. Wish someone would come out with the same features in a rack mount. Overall: I'd definitely buy another one if this got lost. But maybe not at the same price at which I bought it. I'll need to buy a good Mic to record vocals. It definitely helps to put down my ideas and store them on a CF card.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"GNX4 is a great tool" submitted April 29, 2006

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Hobbyist
Music Style: Blues, Rock, Reggae, Country
Back to Product Information
Sound: The sound can be almost anything that you want it to be ... the flexibility is enormous. Be cautious about running the GNX4 through just any old amp however .... you are getting excellent sound from the GNX4 (check it with good headphones)so dont ruin it with some half baked amp. The sound quality that comes through in the recording to Compact Flash card is the best that I have ever experienced .... no unintended noise at all (no moving parts, motors, disk drives and fans) .... the recording is direct to RAM on the Card. Feature: The GNX4 has so many great features it is hard ot know where to start .... however, what made me buy it at first was the built in recorder and drum machine and connectability to my PC ... then of course was the amp and effects and cab modelling. Ease of Use: The Power User's Guide is a necessary additional purchase in my opinion. I am still learning about the abilities of this amazing machine and will probably still be learning another year from now. But I am having endless hours of amazing enjoyment starting right out of the box. I also bought the separate recording footswitch bank (very very useful)and the carrying case for the whole unit. Quality: Seems that the GNX4 will last several years. Value: I would say "Yes", although I hate to admit that anything is "worth" the price that I have to pay for it. Manufacturer Support: Not needed any of this so far. The Wow Factor: The GNX4 is great. Overall: Lord, this would take too long to respond to.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Digitechgoodness!" submitted July 7, 2004

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Prog
Back to Product Information
Sound: Way better then the GNX2 I owned! This thing sounds great! I have Digitech's 2120 and the wormness of the GXN4 is very much like the tube driven 2120. Digitech also got the 1/4 output right this time for using your headamps FX loop, so it dont sound like crap as the GNX2 did. Also the XLR is great for useing in Sonar3. The factory sounds are ok some useful. EVH patch is very good. But play around to get your sound! I love the sound! Feature: To many to list, some I dont need too. This thing as just about everything you need to most your playing needs and then some. It comes with a USB cable and software. The drum player and onboard recorder I dont need but thats me. Digitech could have made a step down GNX4 without the drum and recorder stuff to keep cost down. One of the best parts and very smart on Digitech's part was independent volumes for each stereo pair. Digitech also fixed the footpedal and stomp pedals, the GNX2 was very stiff for wah not on this unit and the stomp swiches are more sensitve. Quality: Pretty damn good, I keep mine in a CORE case. Value: I havent seen a anyone else make something like this yet so I guess the price is was it is til someone does. I traded some old gear in and my GNX2 so it cost me $99 out of pocket. Manufacturer Support: I havent had to call them so dont know. Overall: As of right now, if I lost it I would get one again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"All In One Superb Value" submitted April 27, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Solo Musician
Music Style: Instrumental Rock & Blues (Satriani, Vai, Stevie Ray)
Back to Product Information
Sound: This has incredible modeling of effects, amps and guitarist. It is difficult to not get it right nowadays. Feature: Incredible that you can get an 8 track recorder, effects, modeling and the Whammy all in one for less than $1500. BUT, you can with this. The Whammy effect is the same as the actual. Quality: Excellent sound reproduction with the 24 bit processing. Value: I already mentioned the features for the price - Excellent. Manufacturer Support: Haven't needed it but the demo guy at the music store was very informative and knowledgeable of the product when demoing. Overall: This is great for the practicing musician, the recording artist or the hobbyist. For live performances and gigs, YOU HAVE TO USE THE PRESETS. Once you set them up, it is like having dozens of sound options at the stomp of a button.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A Dream Come True" submitted June 8, 2004

By a customer from MSN.COM
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: I have my own style.
Back to Product Information
Sound: IT IS THE GREATEST AND MOST BRILLIANT THING CREATED NEXT TO A GUITAR AND AN AMP!!! Feature: My pedal included 5 PC programs for recording and such. They are unbelievable. I used to record my band or myself playing guitar on my computer and you could always hear static. This pedal eliminates that static and extra noise. I know have a professional recording studio in the comfort of my own room. You can too.. you would be blown away. Quality: The product is unbelievably solid, and will not break unless you deliberately continue to smash it on the ground. To prevent scratches get a gig bag along with it. This pedal will be going every where with me for a long time. Value: I do not feel guilty spending the extra cash to purchase this extremely valuable workstation. Manufacturer Support: I didn't need to contact anyone; everything was perfect.. right down to the date of delivery. :) The Wow Factor: STRAIGHT SMOKIN'! Overall: I will never be bored of using this pedal, and i will never sell it. It is absolutely the greatest tool for any guitarist. If you are looking for recording equipment look no further! The GNX4 comes will all the software you need to produce professionaly recorded music and you can record it with the touch of a button.
2 of 2 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"dont trust it for live shows" submitted January 6, 2009

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: METAL
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: i got this in 2004 and it works great ! sounds great with the headphons on . i'v tryed to use this a few times live , it cant be done if your changing effects all the time for your set list , one time i went to turn the delay on and bam !!! the drum mechine cam on !!!! i S@#$ my sefl another time i hit the stomp box off and on i look down what the H#$% is it doing light lashing numbers rolling and when i got to stop my presets was gone and had to wait to the next song to go back to what i was useing ,dont trust it for live shows Feature: great needs a few more stomp boxs for the METAL HEAD dont trust it for live shows Ease of Use: the RP 7 line was alot and you could use live with no prob Quality: i'v owen better and seen better, dont trust it for live shows Value: stom box or rack mount ,dont trust it for live shows Manufacturer Support: had not need it so it gets a ten ,dont trust it for live shows The Wow Factor: dont trust it for live shows ,at the time i was looking at this i thought i would replace my DIGITHEC RP7 nope it still is the best and it is over 14 years old Overall: dont trust it for live shows
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Awesome product..." submitted March 30, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: All
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Excellent sound. I plugged this directly into the 1/4" input on the front of a 100W 2x12 amp and it sounds fine. Also the recordings sound excellent as well. Feature: This thing has SO many features it's incredible. Quality: Solid metal housing and pedal. I would prefer the foot switches were made of metal, but the plastic is very heavy duty and durable. Value: Well, it's a very expensive piece of equioment, but hey, the recording and all the other functions still save you money compared to buying everything separately. It should come with a padded gig bag for $500. Manufacturer Support: I called with a quick question and got right through. The Wow Factor: Looks very cool and definitely ehances practice, playing, and recording. Overall: Excellent product. Nothing else like it out there with all the features and capabilities.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15ZW-TD4S. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!