800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15GJ-KNBD
close [x]
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 8AM - 10PM (EST)
  • Sat 9AM - 6PM (EST)
  • Sun 1PM - 7PM (EST)

Rating and Reviews: MXR M101 Phase 90 Pedal

Plug in and freak out. The M-101 Phase 90 adds a shimmery velocity to leads or a dramatic swoosh to muted playing, and works well for many instruments.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"Classic Effect Pedal!!" submitted March 6, 2012

By Ricky R in Greenville, NC
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I've been playing guitar for about 3 years at home
Music Style: Blues-Rock, blues, R&B, Soul, Jazz Fusion
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: I love this pedal. I can easily see why so many guitarist chose to use this secret weapon. It helps make my guitar playing sound epic and timeless. Nice and sturdy little device with the classic orange color. I'm mad that I didn't decide to get the Phase 90 sooner! Buy this pedal and you won't regret it!!
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EVH SOUND" submitted April 30, 2012

By ERIC EVANS in SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: working cover bands
Music Style: Metal, hard rock, blues, rock, classic rock.
Back to Product Information
Overall: Been playing in cover bands for over 30 years... Love Van Halen, and this is "The ED Sound." It's the stomp box that really gives you that Van Halen sound. No need to spend more on the 5150 model, or a vintage version, as this more than fits the bill. I also use this on other (guitarists) tunes when I want a little "color" on my solos. Plus, the thing is indestructible, heavy duty metal, not a chepo, plastic box that could easily break.
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"The classic" submitted July 20, 2014

By Happydog P in New Orleans, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: You really don't need a vintage one. This one is as good as the ones "back in the day," and don't let anyone's nostalgia trip fool you. If you want the same phaser sound as Gilmour got on "Breathe," this will make it. The EVH sounds are already testified for by everyone else. You can spend a lot of money on an expensive box that claims to give you "the original sound," but this is the original sound. The rest of them? You're paying for extra knobs and fancy paint. Get this and make yourself happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"wow" submitted March 22, 2014

By chris horen in san tan valley, AZ
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: pro
Music Style: Metal
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Gr8 sound from a classic effects pedal !!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Phase 90 - what every guitar player needs" submitted October 5, 2004

Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: It is smooth phase sound with a very unique crunch to the sound that no other pedal really matches. The speeds are diverse, and easy to adjust with your foot on the fly Quality: the only problem is that the foam on the back of the pedal for traction peels off and breaks up pretty quickly. only bad if your hand is on the backside of the pedal alot. annoying, but no effect on performance. Value: best value of any effect i own Overall: i wont replace this pedal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"OI BUDDY LOOK ERE'... now that i have your attention plz read my comments" submitted June 22, 2005

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: guitarist
Music Style: rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Just like Dave Murray of Iron Maiden Feature: Just is Quality: Never find a better tone or sound Value: Reasonable price, should be lower so more people can purchase it and enjoy its brilliant sound Manufacturer Support: Brilliant The Wow Factor: Dont matter to me what it looks like because the sounds blows you over board! Overall: Make Dave Murray proud and buy this.. If your looking for new sounds with your guitar buy this!!!!
1 of 1 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"15 years of orphan phase love." submitted July 12, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Music Style: Punk, Blues, Metal, Rock, Some Jazz...you know, guitar stuff
Back to Product Information
SPOTLIGHT REVIEW
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: This pedal works seamlessly with both my distortion and my overdrive. it sounds really wierd with other modulation effects and that's really not my style, but you might like it that way. (it may be wierd, but it is definitly quality wierd and not noisy) With only a clean amp this pedal (at about 11 o'clock) will ad a nice quirky chuck to your playing with an almost chorus flavor to it. Distorted, this pedal will almost Wah for you when you bend. It's truly a great tool to have and I'd love to take this time to thank my dear friedn theo for letting me "borrow" it...15 years ago!!! I quess I can assume that it's mine after all this time----right??? Feature: I'm only giving this a 9 because it doesn't come with a power supply, but what does??? as I mentioned, this pedal was left at my home and calously abandoned 15 years ago. For free...it's the perfect pedal. One knob...one switch and a 9volt and you are dialed in folks. Quality: Dude..one word MXR. Lemme teel you a little story. I come from an area of New Jersey Known for the hardcore skater/ bmx/ punk underground. In the 80's, all the (now) big bands cam through a little wealthy town known as Montclair New Jersey, and they all played a little cafe/ sandwich shop called SOMETHING DIFFERENT. a legend had been passed down over the years that a fight broke out one night and a kid was hit in the head with an MXR pedal and is STILL a vegetable!!! Now...I'm not condoning pedal violence om anyway, but it's good to know that you can sound good AND walk the streets alone at night with your MXR pedal. Value: I don;t understand the nee for the phase 100....this pedal takes care of all your phasing needs and you will find more and more uses for it as you grow as a guitarist. Hell... it will even hold up your rocking chair when you get old and need a good stopper. Manufacturer Support: i will officially say N/A because this thing cannot be kill by conventional weapons or any know diseases. You will never need them and I guarantee that it's one angry dude that never gets phone calls. The Wow Factor: gotta tell ya...it's a quiet cool at best. It's ugly and only a mother could love it. It's totally orange, but it sounds like your best friend. When your girlfriend breaks up with you and you plug in with this little spud for the first time, you will forget all about her. I'd never change a thing about this pedal, and it's built like Brooke Shields on steroids...but orange. Overall: If the magic were to die, it would have happend for me already. I have gone through phases where I put ALL of my pedals away and just go straight through the amp, but this little guy always makes his way out of the tool box. You won't regret this sale. Even if you just want it for your Van Halen cover band...you will find it spreading into the rest of your songs like a beautiful little orage cancer.
5 of 7 people (71.43%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

MXR M101 Phase 90 Pedal Customer Review submitted October 27, 2005

Overall
Sound
Features
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
Sound: Man the sound is off the charts it makes it sound like a band is playing in unison this is a must pedal for all Electric Guitarist Feature: Fantastic Nice Distinctive color
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"MXR Phase 90" submitted May 4, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Hard, Bluesy Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Classic phaser sound. If you need reference, listen to Van Halen's "Erution" or "Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love". Very cool. Feature: It only has one knob, but you probably don't need a whole lot more. Other phaser pedals have controls for wavelengths, decay time and other effects. If you just want a phase sound, this is it. Ease of Use: One knob. Just step on it already. Quality: Nothing could possibly go wrong. This is an MXR pedal. Value: Both Ibanez and Digitech have phasers in the same price range (and some cheaper) whith more controls, but this is such a classic it is worth every cent. Manufacturer Support: Never needed it. The Wow Factor: Eddie Van Halen, Jimmy Page, Brian May, Dave Grohl, Slash (the list goes on) they all use this pedal. Why not you? Overall: This is one of the best phasers out there. This easy to use little orange box should have a spot as everyone's phaser pedal.
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Pay attn.to your boxes when you move." submitted January 11, 2004

By a customer from hotmail.com
Overall
Sound
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Music Style: classic rock,blues,aggressive to a point
Back to Product Information
Sound: the perfect van halen phase,back off the swoop during regular rythym play.Enhances chords and single notes great! Feature: no accessories,no led light,just basic,how i like it Quality: i owned an original phase 90,but was mistakenly thrown out during a move!It will take extra time to remove the 4 screws for the battery compartment.I add extra foam around the battery.(for my dist.+) Value: I know its a sought after item,but the price is a bit too high for something fairly simple in this day and age. Manufacturer Support: no The Wow Factor: I want my original back!!! Overall: If i had a new one,they would bury me with it.lol
2 of 3 people (66.67%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"IF YOU PLAY GUITAR, AT ANY LEVEL ITS A MUST HAVE PRODUCT!" submitted November 17, 2011

Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: ONE KNOB CONTROLS ALL MADE SIMPLE + EASY GREAT PRODUCT!!! Feature: GREAT ALL AROUND FOR ANY STYLE OF MUSIC! Ease of Use: LIKE I SAID i KNOW + YOUR PLAYING! Quality: MXR + BOSS ARE THE ONLY PEDALS THAT I WOULD BUY UNLESS I GOT IT FOR FREE! Value: GREAT PEDAL FOR GREAT PRICE! Manufacturer Support: YEARS AGO WHEN MXR INOVATIONS WAS THE OWNER, The Wow Factor: NO Overall: ONLY MY 1974 VINTAGE MXR BUD BOX IS BETTER!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 15GJ-KNBD. Llame Gratis en Español: 800-460-7976
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 5PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2014, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as You Pay installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as You Pay plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. zZounds gets you your gear fast

At zZounds, you‘ll get your gear fast and, usually, with free delivery. Because we have warehouses in New Jersey, Nevada and Mississippi, nearly 95 percent of Americans reside within our two-day shipping zones. Combine this with the fact that many of our best-selling products qualify for free two-day delivery and you get expedited shipping without the additional cost.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $249+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
on most orders $29+

Just $1.99 on
smaller orders

Really heavy stuff might cost you a
little more

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
We don't collect sales tax. Bonus!
Only NJ residents pay tax during checkout.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!